DETAILED ACTION.
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 08/12/2025, wherein claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) were submitted on 08/12/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11 and 14-19 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 2023/0015300) hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claims 1 and 18-19, Xu discloses a method of video processing, and an apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform a method, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor (Xu [0092], [0149], [0012], [0036], [0040]) to perform a method comprising:
generating, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, a prediction or reconstruction of the video unit by applying a fractional block vector to the video unit; and performing the conversion based on the prediction or reconstruction of the video unit (Xu [0010]-[0017], [0101], [0112]-[0113], [0046], [0062], [0069], [0133]: a motion vector MV for a current block can have x component and y component, each of which has a fractional MV precision, such as ¼ of a sample size in the current block; [0133]: at least one sample in current block is reconstructed based on motion information that includes the MV and prediction is performed; Fig. 10, [0127]-[0133]: fractional MV precision can be used intra prediction) .
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein a precision of the fractional block vector is 1/2N, wherein N is an integer larger than 0, and/or wherein one or two components of the fractional block vector are fractional, and/or wherein whether to and/or how to use the fractional block vector are indicated in the bitstream, and/or wherein amplitudes of the fractional block vector are indicated directly (Xu [0101], [0112]-[0113]: a motion vector MV for a current block can have x component and y component, each of which has a fractional MV precision. The MV can have fractional MV precision of ½, ¼ or 1/16, hence, 1/2N).
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein a determination of whether a block vector is integer or precision of the block vector, or which integer block vector is used to derive the fractional block vector is indicated, or wherein the determination of whether the block vector is integer or precision of the block vector, or which integer block vector is used to derive the fractional block vector is derived, or wherein the determination of whether the block vector is integer or precision of the block vector, or which integer block vector is used to derive the fractional block vector is in a combination of indication and derivation (Xu [0103]: use_integer_mv_flag equals to 1 indicates that an integer MV precision is used for the MVD, hence whether a block vector is integer or precision of the block vector is used is indicated).
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein an adaptive block vector resolution or precision is used, wherein the fractional block vector is allowed to be used (Xu [0103]-[0105]: integer MV precision or fractional MV precision can be used based on the flag user_integer_mv_flag, hence adaptive block vector precision is used).
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein the fractional block vector is used for one or more video units (Xu [0010]-[0017], [0101], [0112]-[0113], [0046], [0062], [0069], [0133]: a motion vector MV for a current block can have x component and y component, each of which has a fractional MV precision, such as ¼ of a sample size in the current block).
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 6.
Xu discloses wherein the fractional block vector is used to construct at least one of: an IBC advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) candidate list, or an IBC merge candidate list, and/or wherein the fractional block vector is rounded to integer block vector and used, and/or wherein the fractional block vector is used to update a history based motion vector prediction (HMVP) table for IBC, and/or wherein a rounded block vector of the fractional block vector is used, and/or wherein the fractional block vector is not used to update the HMVP table for IBC, and/or wherein the fractional block vector is used for other coding tool, and/or wherein a block vector candidate list is constructed for IntraTMP, and/or wherein a HMVP table is used for IntraTMP, and the fractional block vector is stored in the HMVP table for IntraTMP, and/or wherein a fractional block vector of luma component is used for chroma component, and/or wherein one or more block vectors at different positions of luma video units are used.
(Xu [0103]-[0104], [0118]-[0120]: AMVP mode can be used; [0128]-[0130]: fractional MV precision can be used for AMVP mode, merge mode)
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein the fractional block vector is allowed to be used with a coding tool (Xu [0103]-[0104], [0118]-[0120]: AMVP mode can be used; [0127]-[0130]: fractional MV precision can be used for AMVP mode, merge mode, intra prediction and inter prediction).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Xu discloses wherein the fractional block vector is not allowed to be used with one or more the IBC coding tool or the IntraTMP coding tool (Xu [0105]-[0107]: the flag use_integer_mv_flag is equal to 1 indicates that the integer MV precision is used using equations 5-8, which are used for intra block copy, hence fractional block vector is not allowed to be used with the IBC in this case).
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein whether to and/or how to use the fractional block vector depend on colour component or colour format (Xu [0103]: fractional MV precision can be used for luma MV as in Equations (1)-(4)).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 14.
Xu discloses wherein the fractional block vector is used to all colour components, and/or wherein the fractional block vector is used for luma component, but not for chroma components, and/or wherein whether to and/or how to use the fractional block vector for a first component depends on whether to use the fractional block vector for a second component (Xu [0103], [0111]: fractional MV precision can be used for luma MV and chroma MV associated with a chroma PB).
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream (Xu [0010], [0127]: encoding wherein fractional MV precision is used).
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (Xu [0010], [0127]: encoding wherein fractional MV precision is used).
2. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadono et al. (U.S. 2006/0268989) hereinafter Kadono.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises:…”
A bit stream generated by a method, the method comprising… is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 18 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Kadono which recites a generated bitstream is stored in a storage medium as in [0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2023/0015300) hereinafter Xu, in view of Xiu et al. (US 2021/0250592) hereinafter Xiu.
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein one or more interpolation filters are used for the fractional block vector to generate the prediction or reconstruction.
Xiu discloses one or more interpolation filters are used for the fractional block vector to generate the prediction or reconstruction (Xiu [0039]: interpolation filter can be used with fractional block vector for prediction).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Xu, and further incorporate having one or more interpolation filters are used for the fractional block vector to generate the prediction or reconstruction, as taught by Xiu, to improve coding efficiency (Xiu [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein the coding tool comprises an IBC coding tool or an IntraTMP coding tool.
Xiu discloses wherein the coding tool comprises an IBC coding tool or an IntraTMP coding tool (Xiu [0039]-[0040]: fractional block vector may be permitted and used for IBC-coded CU).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Xu, and further incorporate having wherein the coding tool comprises an IBC coding tool or an IntraTMP coding tool, as taught by Xiu, to improve coding efficiency (Xiu [0027]).
4. Claims 5, 8, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2023/0015300) hereinafter Xu, in view of Lai et al. (WO 2024/153198) hereinafter Lai.
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Xu discloses wherein one or more interpolation filters are used for the fractional block vector to generate the prediction or reconstruction.
However, Lai discloses one or more interpolation filters are used for the fractional block vector to generate the prediction or reconstruction (Lai [0076]: interpolation filter can be used with fractional block vector for prediction).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Xu, and further incorporate having one or more interpolation filters are used for the fractional block vector to generate the prediction or reconstruction, as taught by Lai, to improve coding efficiency (Lai [0196]).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 7.
Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein the fractional block vector is directly used, if the fractional block vector is used for IBC or IntraTMP, and/or wherein the other coding tool comprises IntraTMP, and/or wherein the fractional block vector is used to construct the block vector candidate list.
However, Lai discloses wherein the fractional block vector is directly used, if the fractional block vector is used for IBC or IntraTMP, and/or wherein the other coding tool comprises IntraTMP, and/or wherein the fractional block vector is used to construct the block vector candidate list (Lai [0076], [0214]: fractional block vector BV can be used for IntraTMP coding mode, hence the other coding tool comprises IntraTMP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Xu, and further incorporate having wherein the fractional block vector is directly used, if the fractional block vector is used for IBC or IntraTMP, and/or wherein the other coding tool comprises IntraTMP, and/or wherein the fractional block vector is used to construct the block vector candidate list, as taught by Lai, to improve coding efficiency (Lai [0196]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein the coding tool comprises an IBC coding tool or an IntraTMP coding tool.
However, Lai discloses the coding tool comprises an IBC coding tool or an IntraTMP coding tool (Lai [0076], [0214]: fractional block vector BV can be used for IntraTMP coding mode or IBC mode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Xu, and further incorporate having the coding tool comprises an IBC coding tool or an IntraTMP coding tool, as taught by Lai, to improve coding efficiency (Lai [0196]).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 11.
Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein the IBC coding tool comprises at least one of: an IBC AMVP mode, an IBC merge mode, an IBC template matching (TM) merge mode, an IBC-merge block vector difference (MBVD) mode, a reconstruction-reordered IBC (RR-IBC) mode, an IBC-combined inter and intra prediction (IBC-CIIP) mode, an IBC-local illumination compensation (IBC-LIC) mode, an IBC-geometric partitioning mode (IBC-GPM) mode, or a direct block vector (DBV) mode.
However, Lai discloses the IBC coding tool comprises at least one of: an IBC AMVP mode, an IBC merge mode, an IBC template matching (TM) merge mode, an IBC-merge block vector difference (MBVD) mode, a reconstruction-reordered IBC (RR-IBC) mode, an IBC-combined inter and intra prediction (IBC-CIIP) mode, an IBC-local illumination compensation (IBC-LIC) mode, an IBC-geometric partitioning mode (IBC-GPM) mode, or a direct block vector (DBV) mode (Lai [0091], [0098], [0198], [0154]: adaptive BV resolution and fractional vector precision can be used for IBC merge or IBC AMVP mode; [0154]: fractional-pel precision can be applied for IBC-MBVD).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Xu, and further incorporate having the IBC coding tool comprises at least one of: an IBC AMVP mode, an IBC merge mode, an IBC template matching (TM) merge mode, an IBC-merge block vector difference (MBVD) mode, a reconstruction-reordered IBC (RR-IBC) mode, an IBC-combined inter and intra prediction (IBC-CIIP) mode, an IBC-local illumination compensation (IBC-LIC) mode, an IBC-geometric partitioning mode (IBC-GPM) mode, or a direct block vector (DBV) mode, as taught by Lai, to improve coding efficiency (Lai [0196]).
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses all limitations of claim 11.
Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein the IntraTMP coding tool comprsies at least one of: an IntraTMP, a multiple-candidate IntraTMP, an IntraTMP fusion, or a filtering based IntraTMP.
However, Lai discloses wherein the IntraTMP coding tool comprsies at least one of: an IntraTMP, a multiple-candidate IntraTMP, an IntraTMP fusion, or a filtering based IntraTMP (Lai [0076], [0214]: fractional block vector BV can be used for IntraTMP coding mode; [0182], [0209]: a flag can be used to indicate whether fractional-pel resolution is allowed for IntraTMP or not, or for IBC).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Xu, and further incorporate having wherein the IntraTMP coding tool comprsies at least one of: an IntraTMP, a multiple-candidate IntraTMP, an IntraTMP fusion, or a filtering based IntraTMP, as taught by Lai, to improve coding efficiency (Lai [0196]).
Conclusion
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486