DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0287427; hereinafter referenced as Kim’427; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kim’427 discloses a display substrate (110), comprising:
a base substrate (DS2), comprising a pixel array region (DA) and a peripheral region (NDA), (fig. 1, [0030]); and
a first scan driving circuit (140), a second scan driving circuit (150), a first power line (i.e. VSS1 applied to first gate driving circuit 140) and a second power line (i.e. VSS1 applied to second gate driving circuit 150), a first signal line group (i.e. clocks CKVB1 and CKV1 applied to first gate driving circuit 140), and a second signal line group (i.e. start signal STV applied to first and second gate driving circuits 140 and 150), which are in the peripheral region (NDA) and located on a first side (i.e. outer side of the display area DA) of the base substrate (DS2), (figs. 1 and 5-6, [0060-0061 and 0073-0074]),
wherein the first scan driving circuit (140) comprises a plurality of cascaded first shift registers (SRC1-SRCn-1), (fig. 5, [0060]);
the second scan driving circuit (150) comprises a plurality of cascaded second shift registers (SRC2-SRCn), (fig. 6, [0073]);
the first power line (i.e. VSS1 applied to first gate driving circuit 140) is configured to provide a first power voltage to the plurality of cascaded first shift registers (SRC1-SRCn-1) in the first scan driving circuit (140), (fig. 5, [0061]);
the second power line (i.e. VSS1 applied to second gate driving circuit 150) is configured to provide a second power voltage to the plurality of cascaded second shift registers (SRC2-SRCn) in the second scan driving circuit (150), (fig. 6, [0074]);
the first signal line group (i.e. clocks CKVB1 and CKV1 applied to first gate driving circuit 140) comprises at least one timing signal line (i.e. CKVB1 and CKV1) configured to provide at least one timing signal to the plurality of cascaded first shift registers (SRC1-SRCn-1) in the first scan driving circuit (140), (fig. 5, [0061]);
the second signal line group (i.e. start signal STV applied to first and second gate driving circuits 140 and 150) comprises a first trigger signal line (i.e. STV applied to first gate driving circuit 140) configured to be connected to a first-stage first shift register (SRC1) of the plurality of cascaded first shift registers (SRC1-SRCn-1) in the first scan driving circuit (140) and to provide a first trigger signal (STV) to the first-stage first shift register (SRC1), (fig. 5, [0061]);
the first trigger signal line (i.e. STV applied to first gate driving circuit 140) is between the first power line (VSS1) and the pixel array region (i.e. display area DA is to the right of the first gate driving circuit 140), (figs. 1 and 5, [0037 and 0061]);
the second signal line group (i.e. start signal STV applied to first and second gate driving circuits 140 and 150) further comprises a second trigger signal line (i.e. STV applied to second gate driving circuit 150) configured to be connected to a first-stage second shift register (SRC2) of the plurality of cascaded second shift registers (SRC2-SRCn) in the second scan driving circuit (150) and to provide a second trigger signal (STV) to the first-stage second shift register (SRC2), (fig. 6, [0074]); and
the second trigger signal line (i.e. STV applied to second gate driving circuit 150) is between the second power line (VSS1) and the pixel array region (i.e. display area DA is to the left of the second gate driving circuit 150), (figs. 1 and 6, [0037 and 0074]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim’427 discloses a display device (fig. 1), comprising the display substrate (110) according to claim 1, (fig. 1, [0029-0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’427 in view of Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0189075; hereinafter referenced as Kim’075; already of record).
Regarding claim 2, Kim’427 discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Kim’427 does not mention wherein the second signal line group is on a side of the first scan driving circuit adjacent to the pixel array region.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim’075 teaches wherein the second signal line group (173a) is on a side (left side) of the first scan driving circuit (150) adjacent to the pixel array region (AA), and the first signal line group (175) is on a side (right side) of the first scan driving circuit (150) opposite to the side of the first scan driving circuit where the second signal line group is located, (fig. 5, [0087, 0096 and 0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’427, by specifically providing the second signal line group is on a side of the first scan driving circuit adjacent to the pixel array region, as taught by Kim’075, for the purpose of preventing defects from occurring by static electricity while driving a gate driving circuit, [0009].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’427 in view of Sakamoto et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0327057; already of record).
Regarding claim 4, Kim’427 discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Kim’427 does not mention wherein the first trigger signal line and the second trigger signal line are juxtaposed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sakamoto teaches wherein the first trigger signal line (GSP_O) and the second trigger signal line (GSP_E) are juxtaposed (i.e. GSP_O and GSP_E are near each other), (fig. 11, [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’427, by specifically providing the two gate start signal near each other, as taught by Sakamoto, for the purpose of the width of the direct-current power supply potential trunk wiring line can be made narrower, [0041].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’427 in view of Lee et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0066211; already of record).
Regarding claim 5, Kim’427 discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Kim’427 does not mention a third power line.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches further comprising a third power line (VSS2), wherein the third power line (VSS2) is configured to provide a third power voltage to the plurality of cascaded first shift registers (ST1-ST4) in the first scan driving circuit (100), (fig. 3, [0085 and 0098]);
the first power line (VSS1) and the third power line (VSS2) are configured to provide a same first power voltage (i.e. VSS1 and VSS2 may be equal to each other), [0098].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are allowed.
Claims 3, 6-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Rejection Under U.S.C. 103
In claim 1, applicant’s representative argues that the reference of Kim’427 does not teach the limitation “a second scan driving circuit, a first power line and a second power line, a first signal line group, and a second signa line group, which are in the peripheral region and located on a first side of the base substrate…the second trigger signal line is between the second power line and the pixel array region.”
However, after careful reconsideration of the prior art, the examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reason. Since the claimed limitation is still broad and does not specify which side “a fist scan driving circuit, a second scan driving circuit, a first power line and a second power line a first signal line group, and a second signal line group” are with respect to the base substrate. Hence, the examiner can interpret the term “side” to be on the outer side of the base substrate (DS2).
In other words, Kim’427 teaches a first scan driving circuit (140), a second scan driving circuit (150), a first power line (i.e. VSS1 applied to first gate driving circuit 140) and a second power line (i.e. VSS1 applied to second gate driving circuit 150), a first signal line group (i.e. clocks CKVB1 and CKV1 applied to first gate driving circuit 140), and a second signal line group (i.e. start signal STV applied to first and second gate driving circuits 140 and 150), which are in the peripheral region (NDA) and located on a first side (i.e. all are located on the outer side of the display area DA) of the base substrate (DS2), (figs. 1 and 5-6, [0060-0061 and 0073-0074])…
the second trigger signal line (i.e. STV applied to second gate driving circuit 150) is between the second power line (VSS1) and the pixel array region (i.e. display area DA is to the left of the second gate driving circuit 150), (figs. 1 and 6, [0037 and 0074]). Therefore, the reference of Kim’427 still reads onto the current claimed limitations as broadly interpreted by examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/LONG D PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623