DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1, 6, 7 and (corresponding system, computer readable medium and device) claims 8, 13, 14, 15, 20, 21, 22 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 18-20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,413,812. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Application
Patent 12,413,812
1. A method comprising:
determining, during outputting of content, based on data received from one or more sensors, a reaction of a primary user that indicates a first presence of one or more secondary users of the content; and
in response to the first presence, modifying, based on the determined reaction satisfying one or more criteria, the outputting of the content.
18. A method comprising:
determining, during outputting of content, based on data received from one or more sensors, a reaction of a primary viewer that indicates a first presence of one or more secondary viewers of the content; and
in response to the first presence, modifying, based on the determined reaction satisfying one or more criteria, the outputting of the content.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors comprise a heart-rate sensor configured to detect a heart-rate of the primary user, and wherein the reaction of the primary user that indicates the first presence of the one or more secondary users is based on fluctuations of the heart-rate of the primary user.
19. The method of claim 18, wherein the one or more sensors comprise a heart-rate sensor configured to detect a heart-rate of the primary viewer, and wherein the reaction of the primary viewer that indicates the first presence of one or more secondary viewers is based on fluctuations of the heart-rate of the primary viewer.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors comprise a camera, and wherein the reaction of the primary user that indicates the first presence of the one or more secondary users comprises the primary user gazing away from the content being outputted for greater than a threshold amount of time.
20. The method of claim 18, wherein the one or more sensors comprise a camera, and wherein the reaction of the primary viewer that indicates the first presence of one or more secondary viewers comprises the primary viewer gazing away from the content being outputted for greater than a threshold amount of time.
Claims 1-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,413,812. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims are broader in every aspect than the patent claims and it’s, therefore, an obvious variant thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-19, 21-26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dhiman et al. (hereinafter ‘Dhiman’, Patent No. 11,368,751).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15 and 22, Dhiman teaches a system (Fig. 4) (with corresponding device, method and non-transitory computer readable media) comprising:
a computing device (400, 401, Fig. 4); and one or more sensors (418, 420, Fig. 4);
wherein the computing device is configured to:
determine, during outputting of content, based on data received from the one or more sensors, a reaction of a primary user that indicates a first presence of one or more secondary users of the content (col. 5 line 45 to col. 6 line 64; col. 7 lines 9-49); and
in response to the first presence, modify, based on the determined reaction satisfying one or more criteria, the outputting of the content (col. 7 lines 20-49; col. 21 lines 9-46), and
wherein the one or more sensors are configured to:
send data to the computing device (col. 6 lines 14-64).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16 and 23, Dhiman teaches wherein the modifying the outputting of the content comprises one or more of:
stopping the outputting of audio of the content; reducing a volume of audio of the content; stopping the outputting of video of the content; or outputting alternative content that is different from the content (col. 21 lines 9-20).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 17 and 24, Dhiman teaches further comprising:
determining a first portion of the content associated with one or more predefined types of content, and wherein the modifying the outputting of the content comprises outputting, instead of the first portion, a second portion of the content (col. 21 lines 9-20. Bostick: [0017]; [0036]; [0039]; [0040]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18 and 25, Dhiman teaches further comprising:
based on the determined reaction and based on determining that metadata associated with the content comprises one or more key words associated with one or more predefined types of content, generating additional metadata indicating that the content is provocative and a time associated with the reaction of the primary user to the first presence (col. 6 lines 35-64; col. 7 line 20 to col. 8 line 24; col. 21 lines 9-46, where upon user’s reaction to incoming of a second user and the metadata attached to each frame or segments, the content and relationship table is modified).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19 and 26, Dhiman teaches wherein the first presence comprises one or more of:
the one or more secondary users coming within a predefined distance of the primary user, a door opening, or a light being turned on or off (col. 6 lines 14-64).
Regarding claims 7, 14, 21 and 28, Dhiman teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise a camera, and wherein the reaction of the primary user that indicates the first presence of the one or more secondary users comprises the primary user gazing away from the content being outputted for greater than a threshold amount of time (col. 3 line 57 to col. 4 line 13).
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhiman et al. (hereinafter ‘Dhiman’, Patent No. 11,368,751) in view of Rajanna et al. (hereinafter ‘Rajanna’, Pub. No. 2023/0038347).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20 and 27, Dhiman teaches all the limitations of the claim it depends on. On the other hand, Dhiman does not explicitly teach
wherein the one or more sensors comprise a heart-rate sensor configured to detect a heart-rate of the primary user, and wherein the reaction of the primary user that indicates the presence of one or more secondary users is based on fluctuations of the heart-rate of the primary user.
However, in an analogous art, Rajanna teaches a system for modifying the content of the media content based on the users’ reactions. Rajanna teaches that the system determines the reaction of users, and therefore, their presence while watching content using different methods. The measurement of heart rate data of the users help to determine their reactions ([0051]; [0057]; [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dhiman’s invention with Rajanna’s feature of using the heart rate of the users to indicate their presence and reactions to the content for the benefit of more accurately understand when and what the reaction is to the content from the users.
Conclusion
/OMAR S PARRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421