Claims 21-40 are being treated on the merits.
Double Patenting
Claim 21-40 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,409,625. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are in regards to similar claim matter. Also, the current application is broader than the patented invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 27-31, 33 & 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuerst (USPN 7,234,251).
Regarding Claim 21, Fuerst discloses a method for making an outsole (Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23) comprising the steps of: providing a mold comprising a bottom lid (510), a middle lid (600), a toe cap lid (540), and a top lid (560); wherein said middle lid comprises a middle lid gap (gap, see annotated Figure 19 below); wherein said toe cap lid fits in said middle lid gap (Col. 10, lines 25-52, Figures 16-19); placing a first material on said bottom lid (Col. 10, line 59-Col. 11, line 4); pressing said first material between said middle lid and said bottom lid (Col. 10, line 59-Col. 11, line 4 & Col. 11, lines 35-61); placing said toe cap lid within said middle lid gap (Col. 11, lines 5-10 & Col. 11, lines 35-61); placing a second material on said toe cap lid (Col. 11, lines 5-12); pressing said second material between said toe cap and said top lid (Col. 11, lines 8-10).
Regarding Claim 22, Fuerst discloses wherein said bottom lid, middle lid and top lids are connected via a hinge (568).
Regarding Claim 27, Fuerst discloses a method for making an outsole (Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23) comprising the steps of: providing a mold comprising a bottom lid (510), a middle lid (600), a toe cap lid (540), and a top lid (560); wherein said bottom lid, middle lid and top lids are connected via a hinge (568); wherein said middle lid comprises a middle lid gap (gap, see annotated Figure 19 below); placing a first material on said bottom lid (Col. 10, line 59-Col. 11, line 4); pressing said first material between said middle lid and said bottom lid (Col. 10, line 59-Col. 11, line 4 & Col. 11, lines 35-61); placing a second material on said toe cap lid (Col. 11, lines 5-12); placing said toe cap lid and said second material into said middle lid gap (Col. 11, lines 5-10 & Col. 11, lines 35-61); placing said top lid on said middle lid (Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23).
Regarding Claim 28 , Fuerst discloses wherein said toe cap lid fits in said middle lid gap (Col. 10, lines 25-52, Figures 16-19).
Regarding Claim 29, Fuerst discloses said bottom lid comprises an inner and outer face (512 & 514), and wherein said inner face comprises a bottom lid cavity (516) where said first material is placed (Col. 10, line 59-Col. 11, line 4).
Regarding Claim 30, Fuerst discloses a steps of 2creating a patterns on said outsole (Figure 16-19, Col. 9, lines 48-59) and wherein said middle lid comprises a middle lid projection with a first pattern (Figures 16-19, smooth pattern) and said bottom lid cavity comprises a second pattern (518, Figures 16-19).
Regarding Claim 31, Fuerst disclose a step of encapsulating said second material within said first material (Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23).
Regarding Claim 33, Fuerst disclose a step of warming said mold (Col. 11, lines 20-29).
Regarding Claim 34, Fuerst discloses a step of heating said mold (Col. 11, lines 20-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuerst (USPN 7,234,251) in view of Nishi (US 2017/0318901).
Regarding Claim 23, Fuerst discloses warming a mold to a mold to approximately to 155 degrees (Col. 11, lines 20-29) for compression molding (Col. 12, line 20). Fuerst does not specifically disclose the steps of warming said mold to approximately 155 degrees Celsius before placing said first material on said bottom lid. However, Nishi discloses steps of warming a mold to approximately 155 degrees Celsius (Para. 108) before placing said first raw material on said mold (Para. 109 “hot-pressed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mold to be heated first, as taught by Nishi in order to allow pressing raw material into the mold and shaping the outsole.
Regarding Claim 24, Fuerst does not specifically disclose the step of heating said mold to between 250 to 300 degrees F after pressing said second raw material between said toe cap lid and said top lid (Col. 11, lines 20-34). However, Nishi discloses the step of heating a mold to between 165 to 200 degrees Celsius (Para. 108). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the temperature of the heating the mold, as taught by Nishi, in order to provide an adequate integration of material to form an outsole.
Claim 25, 26, 32, & 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuerst (USPN 7,234,251) in view of Laska (US 2007/0107257).
Regarding Claims 25 & 32, Fuerst does not disclose placing a third material between said toe cap lid and said second material. However, Laska disclose the use of multiple different molding material including at least three different sections (Para. 28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to include a third material, as taught by Laska, in order to provide various sections having different materials for the purpose of providing various characteristics. Therefore, the combination of Fuerst and Laska discloses a third material between said toe cap lid and said second material.
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Fuerst and Laska disclose said third material selected from the group consisting of metal, wood, hard plastics, and combinations thereof (Fuerst, Col. 10, line 60-63 & Col. 13, lines 3-16 & Laska, Para. 22-24).
Regarding Claim 35, Fuerst discloses a method for making an outsole (Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23) comprising the steps of: providing a mold comprising a bottom lid (510), a middle lid (600), a toe cap lid (540), and a top lid (560); wherein said bottom lid, middle lid and top lids are connected via a hinge (568); wherein said middle lid comprises a middle lid gap (gap, see annotated Figure 19 below); wherein said toe cap lid fits in said middle lid gap (Col. 10, lines 25-52, Figures 16-19); placing a first material on said bottom lid (Col. 10, line 59-Col. 11, line 4); pressing said first material between said middle lid and said bottom lid (Col. 10, line 59-Col. 11, line 4 & Col. 11, lines 35-61) by rotating said middle lid about said hinge (Col. 9, line 60-Col. 10, line 3 & Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23); placing a second material on said toe cap lid (Col. 11, lines 5-12); placing said toe cap lid and said second material into said middle lid gap (Col. 11, lines 5-10 & Col. 11, lines 35-61); opening said mold and removing said outsole (Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23). Fuerst does not disclose placing a third material on said second material and said third material between said toe cap lid and said top lid by rotating said top lid about said hinge; pressing said first and third materials by securing said mold in a closed position. However, Laska disclose the use of multiple different molding material including at least three different sections (Para. 28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to include a third material, as taught by Laska, in order to provide various sections having different materials for the purpose of providing various characteristics. Therefore, the combination of Fuerst and Laska disclose a third material on said second material and said third material between said toe cap lid and said top lid by rotating said top lid about said hinge; pressing said first and third materials by securing said mold in a closed position (Fuerst, Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23 & Laska, Para. 28).
Regarding Claim 36, the combination of Fuerst and Laska disclose said top lid further comprises a top lid cavity (566) which mates with said toe cap lid (Figure 16-19).
Regarding Claim 37, the combination of Fuerst and Laska disclose the steps of molding said first and third materials into a monolithic unit and encapsulating said second material within said monolithic unit (Fuerst, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 11, line 14 & Laska, Para. 28).
Regarding Claim 38, the combination of Fuerst and Laska disclose said step of opening said mold and removing said outsole (Fuerst, Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23) further comprises the steps of: opening said top lid (Fuerst, Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23; removing said toe cap lid (Fuerst, Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23;opening said middle lid (Fuerst, Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23; and removing said outsole (Fuerst, Figures 16-19, Col. 10, line 52-Col. 12, line 23.
Claims 39 & 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuerst (USPN 7,234,251) in view of Laska (US 2007/0107257) in further view of Nishi (US 2017/0318901).
Regarding Claims 39 & 40, Fuerst does not specifically disclose the step of heating said mold is completed by heating said mold to between 165 to 200 degrees Celsius for approximately 800 seconds. However, Nishi discloses the step of heating a mold to between 165 to 200 degrees Celsius (Para. 108) for approximately 5 minutes to 30 minutes (Examples 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the temperature and duration of the heating the mold, as taught by Nishi, in order to provide an adequate integration of material to form an outsole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732