DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “a combined osteotome and depth stop assembly”, it is unclear within the body of the claim which structural limitations are a part of the osteotome and which are a part of the depth stop assembly. For the purpose of examination, the shank and body are considered a part of the osteotome and the interface and tubular key are a part of the depth assembly.
Claims 10-19 are rejected based on claim dependency on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CREPS (WO 2007/065978) in view of Drews et al (US 2010/0062389) and Wirth, Jr et al (US 5,882,151)
Regarding claim 1 and 4, CREPS discloses depth stop for drilling a hole to a predetermined depth and orientation in a host material (tubular guide 7, slide 6),
an interface (6) connectable to the shank of a surgical drilling tool (see figure 1), said interface (6) having a partially tubular shape defining an interior region (see figure 1, lower portion 6a being cylindrical and the upper end 6b being frustoconical, resulting in a partially tubular structure, inner surface/area of slide 6 which holds the shank 2c is interpreted as the inner structure ), said interface extending axially between top and bottom ends thereof (see figure 1), said interface including a cap flange (stop 6b) adjacent said top end(cylindrical end portion 6c), a skirt (tubular portion 6a) extending axially from said cap flange toward said bottom end (see figure 1), and
a tubular key (7) having an inner diameter and an outer diameter (see figure 1), said key extending between an upper end and a lower end (see figure 1), a stop ring (7a) formed at said lower end (see figure 1).
CREPS fails to disclose said skirt is tapered and said interface includes a lateral pocket (50) extending continuously therethrough from said top end to said bottom end and intersecting said interior region to enable connection of said interface to the shank with a lateral coupling motion and said skirt has a tapered lower portion in which a widest diameter thereof is adjacent said cap flange, said inner diameter of said key being sized for interference fit surrounding said widest diameter of said tapered lower portion of said skirt.
Drews discloses a depth stop (first and second sleeves 4 and 10, par 21) having an interface (second sleeve 10) connectable to the shank of a surgical drilling tool (see figures 7-8), said interface having a partially tubular shape (see figures 7-8) defining an interior region (26), said interface extending axially between top and bottom ends thereof (see figure 1), said interface including a cap flange (annular collar 38) adjacent said top end (see figure 2),and a skirt (lower end 11) extending axially from said cap flange toward said bottom end (figure 2), that teaches said interface (10) includes a lateral pocket extending continuously therethrough from said top end to said bottom end and intersecting said interior region to enable connection of said interface to the shank with a lateral coupling motion (see figure 1, par 23 discloses the sleeve 10 having an axial slit which enables the sliding sleeve to be laterally moved or clipped onto the drill).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CREPS to have the interface includes a lateral pocket (50) extending continuously therethrough from said top end to said bottom end and intersecting said interior region to enable connection of said interface to the shank with a lateral coupling motion as taught by Drew for the purpose of allowing the shank to be inserted and removed laterally during operation.
Additionally, Wirth discloses a depth stop (130 col 1, lines 9-11) an interface (collet sleeve 60) connectable to the shank of a surgical drilling tool (see figure 1 and col 6, lines 31-33), said interface having a partially tubular shape (see figure 5/6 and col 6, lines 35-37) defining an interior region (axial aperture 62), said interface extending axially between top and bottom ends thereof (see figures 3-5) and a tubular key (main sleeve body 14) that teaches said interface including a tapered skirt (outer skirt 66 which is tapered) extending axially from said cap flange toward said bottom end (see figures 4-5), wherein said interface includes a lateral pocket (longitudinal slot 64) extending continuously therethrough from said top end to said bottom end and intersecting said interior region (see figure 3-5), said skirt has a tapered lower portion(66) in which a widest diameter thereof is adjacent said cap (see figures 4-5) flange, said inner diameter of said key (14) being sized for interference fit surrounding said widest diameter of said tapered lower portion of said skirt (see figure 2 and col 6, lines 57-63) for the purpose of having the interface contract inwardly around the shaft of the drill while descending into the final stop position (col 7, lines 5-10).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CREPS/Drew to have said skirt has a tapered lower portion in which a widest diameter thereof is adjacent said cap flange, said inner diameter of said key being sized for interference fit surrounding said widest diameter of said tapered lower portion of said skirt as taught by Wirth for the purpose of having the interface constrict inward as the drill approaches the stop depth aiding in guidance and providing feedback to the stop position.
Claims 2, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CREPS in view of Drew and Wirth as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huwais (WO 2018/071863).
Regarding claim 2-3 and 5-7, CREPS/Drew/Wirth disclose the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 1, but fail to disclose said skirt includes a relief disposed adjacent said cap flange, said inner diameter of said key being sized for a clearance fit surrounding said relief (claim 2), said relief is disposed directly adjacent said cap flange (claim 3), a spur disposed on said interior region (claim 5), spur has a generally C-shape (claim 6) and said skirt has a relief disposed directly adjacent said cap flange, said relief being axially aligned with said spur (claim 7).
Huwais discloses depth stop for drilling a hole to a predetermined depth and orientation in a host material (telescopic stop 154, see par 70 and abstract) comprising an interface (indexing gauge 170) connectable to the shank of a surgical drilling tool (see figure 21), said interface having a partially tubular shape (see figure 20), said interface including a cap flange (gripping flange 104) adjacent said top end (see figure 20), and a tubular key (key 156) having an inner diameter and an outer diameter, said key extending between an upper end and a lower end (see figure 20) that teaches said skirt includes a relief (180) disposed adjacent said cap flange (104, see figure 24), said inner diameter of said key being sized for a clearance fit surrounding said relief (see figure 24, where the inner diameter of the barb 186 contacts the space in between the ribs pointed out as 180), said relief (first relief 180) is disposed directly adjacent said cap flange (see figure 24), a spur (spur 178) disposed on said interior region (see figure 20), spur has a generally C-shape (see figure 20), and said relief being axially aligned with said spur (see figure 20) for the purpose of registering the stop to the osteotome and the interface to the key in a locked vertical position (par 70).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CREPS/Drew/Wirth to have said skirt includes a relief disposed adjacent said cap flange, said inner diameter of said key being sized for a clearance fit surrounding said relief (claim 2), said relief is disposed directly adjacent said cap flange (claim 3), a spur disposed on said interior region (claim 5), spur has a generally C-shape (claim 6) and said skirt has a relief disposed directly adjacent said cap flange, said relief being axially aligned with said spur (claim 7) as taught by Huwais for the purpose of registering the stop to the osteotome and the interface to the key in a locked vertical position.
Regarding claim 8, CREPS/Drew/Wirth disclosed the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 1. CREPS discloses at least one irrigation window (vents 8/9) disposed in said key (see figure 1) but fails to disclose the irrigation window is axially elongated or exposes said bottom end of said interface therethrough.
However, Huwais teaches at least one axially elongated irrigation window (vane slots 160) is disposed in said key (figure 20), said axially elongated irrigation window exposing said bottom end of said interface therethrough (see figure 2) for the purpose of allowing a sufficient flow-through of irrigating fluid even when the key 156 is not spinning (par 79).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify CREPS/Drew/Wirth to have the window axially elongated in order to expose said bottom end of said interface therethrough as taught by Huwais for the purpose of allowing a sufficient flow-through of irrigating fluid even when the key 156 is not spinning .
Claims 9-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CREPS in view of Huwais and Drew.
Regarding claim 9, CREPS discloses a combined osteotome (drilling tool 2) and depth stop assembly (tubular guide 7, slide 6, par 12 discloses the drill being for the drilling of bone) for forming a hole of predetermined depth and orientation in a host material (see par 12) comprising a shank (2c) establishing a longitudinal axis of rotation (par 21), said shank having an elongated cylindrical shape defining a shank diameter and extending between an upper distal end and a lower transition end (figure 1), transition (the upper surface of the drill 2b that meets with the shaft 2c, see figure 1) formed at said transition end of said shank, said transition having a diameter greater than said shank diameter (see figure 1), a body (drill 2b) extending from said transition (see figure 1), said body having an apical end remote from said shank (end having branch conduits 4a), an interface (7/6) connectable to the shank (see figure 1), said interface having a partially tubular shape defining an interior region (see figure 1, lower portion 6a being cylindrical and the upper end 6b being frustoconical, resulting in a partially tubular structure, inner surface/area of slide 6 which holds the shank 2c is interpreted as the inner structure ), said interface extending axially between top and bottom ends thereof (see figure 1), said interface including a cap flange (6b) adjacent said top end (6c), a skirt (6a) extending axially from said cap flange toward said bottom end (see figure 1), and
a tubular key (7) having an upper end and a lower end (see figure 1), a stop ring (contact surface 7a, see par 24) formed at said lower end (see figure 1), said key having an inner diameter and an outer diameter (see figure 1).
CREPES fails to disclose an annular groove disposed at a predetermined intermediate axial location along said shank between said distal and transition ends, said transition being domed, said body including a plurality of flutes disposed about said body, the interface being selectively connectable to said shank with a lateral coupling motion, a lateral pocket extending continuously through interface from said top end to said bottom end and intersecting said interior region to enable the lateral coupling motion connection of said interface to said shank, a spur disposed on said interior region and configured to engage with said groove in said shank, and said skirt having a relief disposed adjacent said cap flange.
Huwais teaches the shank (40) having an annular groove (45) disposed at a predetermined intermediate axial location along said shank between said distal and transition ends, a domed transition (46, see figure 20 and par 46 discloses the transition can be domed or tapered shape) formed at said transition end of said shank, said domed transition having a diameter greater than said shank diameter (see figure 20), a plurality of flutes (52) disposed about said body (see figure 20), a spur (178) disposed on said interior region and configured to engage with said groove in said shank (see figure 20 and 25, see par 70), and said skirt having a relief (180) disposed adjacent said cap flange (see figure 24) for the purpose of registering the stop to the osteotome and the interface to the key in a locked vertical position (par 70), facilitate its hydrodynamic affects and to manage heat (par 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify CREPS to have an annular groove disposed at a predetermined intermediate axial location along said shank between said distal and transition ends, said transition being domed, said body including a plurality of flutes disposed about said body and a spur disposed on said interior region and configured to engage with said groove in said shank, and said skirt having a relief disposed adjacent said cap flange as taught by Huwais for the purpose of registering the stop to the osteotome and the interface to the key in a locked vertical position and facilitate its hydrodynamic affects and to manage heat.
Drews discloses teaches said interface (10) includes a lateral pocket extending continuously through interface from said top end to said bottom end and intersecting said interior region to enable the lateral coupling motion connection of said interface to said shank (see figure 1, par 23 discloses the sleeve 10 having an axial slit which enables the sliding sleeve to be laterally moved or clipped onto the drill).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CREPS to have the interface includes a lateral pocket extending continuously therethrough from said top end to said bottom end and intersecting said interior region to enable connection of said interface to the shank with a lateral coupling motion as taught by Drew for the purpose of allowing the shank to be inserted and removed laterally during operation.
Regarding claim 10, CREPS further discloses said bottom end of said interface (6) is spaced apart from said transition (upper surface of drill 2) with said interface connected to said shank (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Huwais further teachers said relief is axially aligned with said spur (see figure 24) for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claim 13, Huwais further teaches spur (178) has a C-shape (see figure 20) for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claim 14, Huwais further teaches said annular groove (45) in said shank is formed with inset corners (par 45), and said spur (178) is seated in-between said inset corners of said groove (par 70) for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claim 15, Huwais further teaches a jig (188) configured to be secured relative to a target drilling location in the host material (figure 25 and par 83), said jig including a guide bushing (190), said guide bushing having a semi-cylindrical alignment valley (192, see par 83) adapted to receive said key (see figure 24) for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claim 16, Huwais further discloses said alignment valley (192) includes an internal abutment step (194), for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claim 17, Huwais further teaches said internal abutment step (194) has a full annular surface adapted to engage said stop ring of said key (see figure 24 and par 83).
Regarding claim 18, Huwais further teaches said relief (180) is disposed directly adjacent said cap flange (figure 24), for the reasons set forth above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CREPS in view of Huwais and Drews as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of TRAAUTMANN (US 2,402,353)-.
Regarding claim 11, CREPS discloses at least one irrigation window (8/9) disposed in said key(7), but fails to disclose said axially elongated irrigation window exposing said domed transition therethrough with said interface connected to said shank.
TRAATMAN discloses a combined depth stop (2) with a drill (countersink element 1) forming a hole of predetermined depth and orientation in a host material (col 1, lines 56-60), a shank (5/3) establishing a longitudinal axis of rotation, said shank having an elongated cylindrical shape defining a shank diameter and extending between an upper distal end and a lower transition end (figure 1), a transition (see annotated figure 2) formed at said transition end of said shank (see figure 2), said transition having a diameter greater than said shank diameter (see figure 1-3), an interface (bearing sleeve 8) connectable to said shank(see figures 1-3) and a tubular key (stop member 14) having an upper end and a lower end, a stop ring stop face 17) formed at said lower end, said key having an inner diameter and an outer diameter (see figure 1-3) that teaches at least one axially elongated irrigation window (18) disposed in said key (see figure 1), said axially elongated irrigation window exposing said domed transition therethrough with said interface connected to said shank (see figure 1 and annotated figure 2).
Annotated figure 2
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CREPS/Huwais/Drew to have said axially elongated irrigation window exposing said domed transition therethrough with said interface connected to said shank as taught by TRAATMAN for the purpose of allowing the irrigation along the entire length of the drill body.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CREPS in view of Huwais and Drews as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wirth.
Regarding claim 11, CREPS/Huwais/Drew fail to disclose said skirt has a tapered lower portion in which a widest diameter thereof is adjacent said cap flange, said inner diameter of said key being sized for interference fit.
Wirth teaches said skirt has a tapered lower portion(66) in which a widest diameter thereof is adjacent said cap (see figures 4-5) flange, said inner diameter of said key (14) being sized for interference fit surrounding said widest diameter of said tapered lower portion of said skirt (see figure 2 and col 6, lines 57-63) for the purpose of having the interface contract inwardly around the shaft of the drill while descending into the final stop position (col 7, lines 5-10).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CREPS/Huwais/Drew to have said skirt has a tapered lower portion in which a widest diameter thereof is adjacent said cap flange, said inner diameter of said key being sized for interference fit as taught by Wirth for the purpose of having the interface contract inwardly around the shaft of the drill while descending into the final stop position.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 AND 10-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,402,864. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, see below:
Regarding claim 1, the patent discloses a depth stop for use with a drilling tool for forming a hole of predetermined depth and orientation in a host material, said depth stop comprising:
an interface connectable to the shank of a surgical drilling tool, said interface having a partially tubular shape defining an interior region, said interface extending axially between top and bottom ends thereof, said interface including a cap flange adjacent said top end, a tapered skirt extending axially from said cap flange toward said bottom end, wherein said interface includes a lateral pocket extending continuously therethrough from said top end to said bottom end and intersecting said interior region to enable connection of said interface to the shank with a lateral coupling motion,, and
a tubular key having an inner diameter and an outer diameter, said key extending between an upper end and a lower end, a stop ring formed at said lower end (claim 1, col 10, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 2, the patent discloses he said skirt includes a relief disposed adjacent said cap flange, said inner diameter of said key being sized for a clearance fit surrounding said relief (claim 4).
Regarding claim 3, the patent discloses said relief is disposed directly adjacent said cap flange (claim 4).
Regarding claim 4, the patent discloses said skirt has a tapered lower portion in which a widest diameter thereof is adjacent said cap flange, said inner diameter of said key being sized for interference fit surrounding said widest diameter of said tapered lower portion of said skirt (claim 9).
Regarding claim 5, the patent discloses further including a spur disposed on said interior region (claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, the patent discloses said spur has a generally C-shape (claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, the patent discloses said skirt has a relief disposed directly adjacent said cap flange, said relief being axially aligned with said spur. (claim 4)
Regarding claim 8, the patent discloses at least one axially elongated irrigation window is disposed in said key, said axially elongated irrigation window exposing said bottom end of said interface therethrough (claim 5).
Regarding claim 9, the patent discloses combined osteotome and depth stop assembly for forming a hole of predetermined depth and orientation in a host material, comprising:
a shank establishing a longitudinal axis of rotation, said shank having an elongated cylindrical shape defining a shank diameter and extending between an upper distal end and a lower transition end, an annular groove disposed at a predetermined intermediate axial location along said shank between said distal and transition ends, a domed transition formed at said transition end of said shank, said domed transition having a diameter greater than said shank diameter,
a body extending from said domed transition, said body having an apical end remote from said shank, a plurality of flutes disposed about said body,
an interface selectively connectable to said shank with a lateral coupling motion, said interface having a partially tubular shape defining an interior region, said interface extending axially between top and bottom ends thereof, a lateral pocket extending continuously through interface from said top end to said bottom end and intersecting said interior region to enable the lateral coupling motion connection of said interface to said shank, a spur disposed on said interior region and configured to engage with said groove in said shank, said interface including a cap flange adjacent said top end, a skirt extending axially from said cap flange toward said bottom end, said skirt having a relief disposed adjacent said cap flange, and
a tubular key having an upper end and a lower end, a stop ring formed at said lower end, said key having an inner diameter and an outer diameter (claim 10, col 10, line 46 – col 11, 10).
Regarding claim 10, the patent discloses said bottom end of said interface is spaced apart from said domed transition with said interface connected to said shank (claim 11).
Regarding claim 11, the patent further including at least one axially elongated irrigation window disposed in said key, said axially elongated irrigation window exposing said domed transition therethrough with said interface connected to said shank (claim 12).
Regarding claim 12, the patent further discloses said relief is axially aligned with said spur (claim 15).
Regarding claim 13, the patent discloses wherein said spur has a C-shape (claim 16).
Regarding claim 14, the patent discloses wherein said annular groove in said shank is formed with inset corners, and said spur is seated in-between said inset corners of said groove (claim 17).
Regarding claim 15, the patent discloses further including a jig configured to be secured relative to a target drilling location in the host material, said jig including a guide bushing, said guide bushing having a semi-cylindrical alignment valley adapted to receive said key (claim 18).
Regarding claim 16, the patent discloses wherein said alignment valley includes an internal abutment step (claim 19).
Regarding claim 17, the patent discloses said internal abutment step has a full annular surface adapted to engage said stop ring of said key (claim 20).
Regarding claim 18, the patent discloses said relief is disposed directly adjacent said cap flange (claim 21).
Regarding claim 19, the patent discloses wherein said skirt has a tapered lower portion in which a widest diameter thereof is adjacent said cap flange, said inner diameter of said key being sized for interference fit surrounding said widest diameter of said tapered lower portion of said skirt (claim 22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Santamarina et al (US 2010/0260565) which discloses an interface (450) with a tapered lower portion and a cap (see figure 19A).
/S.N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 9/18/2026