DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2018/0203497 (Sagneri).
Regarding claim 1, Sagneri teaches an electronic device (Fig. 9A-B shows a powered device 2000) comprising: an interface (Fig. 9A shows cord 104) [0056] connected to an external power supply device (Fig. 9A shows an interface connected to power module 1000) capable of supplying power in a plurality of power supply modes [0097] and configured to communicate with the external power supply device (power module 1000 communicate with device 2000 to negotiate a power, voltage and/or current to provide) [0097-98]; memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the interface and the memory (electronic devices such as cellular telephones and laptop computers have a processor comprising memory comprising storage media, storing instructions communicatively coupled to USB i.e. interface) [0028, 0083, 0098-99], wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (Fig. 10 shows instructions executed) [0101], cause the electronic device to:
receive, from the external power supply device, power information corresponding to a plurality of power supply modes when a connection of the external power supply device is detected through the interface (Fig. 10 shows step S1 wherein powered device 2000 receive from power module 1000, power information corresponding to a plurality of power supply modes when connection is detected) [0097-98, 0101],
based on the power information, set, among the plurality of power supply modes, the interface to supply power in a first power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is a maximum (Fig. 10 shows step S2 wherein based on power information, set among the plurality of power supply modes, select a power delivery level) [0100-102], determine power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the first power mode, and in the first power mode [0104], set the interface to supply power in a second power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the first power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during a set first time [0020-21, 0083-84, 0102] is less than first power that is set corresponding to the first power mode (Fig. 10 shows steps S4-S6 teaching set the cord 104 i.e. interface to supply power in a second power mode in which a magnitude of a power being supplied is smaller according to new power delivery level selection) [0103-106].
Regarding claim 6, Sagneri teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to set the interface to supply power in the first power mode when an operation mode of the electronic device is changed (Fig. 10 shows electric device to set the cord 104 to supply power in first power mode when an operation mode of the electronic device is changed) [0103-106].
Regarding claim 7, Sagneri teaches further comprising: a battery that is charged based on power that is input through the interface (device 2000 include mobile device with a battery that is charged based on power that is input through cord 104) [0098-99], wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: determine whether to recharge the battery based on an amount of charge of the battery, and set the interface to supply power in the first power mode when it is determined that the battery is to be recharged [0097, 0101-0103].
Regarding claim 8, Sagneri teaches a method of supplying power, the method comprising: when a connection of an external power supply device is detected through an interface receiving, from the external power supply device (Fig. 9A shows cord 104 i.e. an interface connecting device 2000 to power module 1000) [0099], power information corresponding to a plurality of power supply modes (power module 1000 communicate with device 2000 to negotiate a power, voltage and/or current to provide) [0097-98];
based on the power information, setting, among the plurality of power supply modes, the interface to supply power in a first power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is a maximum (Fig. 10 shows step S2 wherein based on power information, set among the plurality of power supply modes, select a power delivery level) [0100-102];
determining power consumed by an electronic device while receiving power in the first power mode (Fig. 10 shows determining power consumed by device 2000 while receiving power) [0101-103]; and
in the first power mode, setting the interface to supply power in a second power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the first power mode [0104] when power consumed by the electronic device during a set first time is less than first power that is set corresponding to the first power mode (Fig. 10 shows steps S4-S6 teaching set the cord 104 i.e. interface to supply power in a second power mode in which a magnitude of a power being supplied is smaller according to new power delivery level selection) [0020-21, 0083-84, 0102-106],
wherein the interface is connected to the external power supply device capable of supplying power in a plurality of power supply modes and is configured to communicate with the external power supply device (Fig. 9A shows cord 104 is connected to device 1000 capable of supplying power in a plurality of power supply modes and is configured to communication with the device 1000) [0097-0099].
Regarding claim 13, Sagneri teaches further comprising setting the interface to supply power in the first power mode when an operation mode of the electronic device is changed (Fig. 9A shows cord 104 supply power when an operation mode of the device 1000 is changed) [0098, 0104].
Regarding claim 14, Sagneri teaches wherein the electronic device (Fig. 9A shows device 1000) comprises a battery (device 1000 having a battery) [0099] that is charged based on power that is input through the interface (device 1000 is charged based on power input through cord 104) [0097-98], and wherein the method further comprises: determining whether to recharge the battery based on an amount of charge of the battery; and setting the interface to supply power in the first power mode when it is determined that the battery is to be recharged [0083, 0099-0100].
Regarding claim 15, Sagneri teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that (electric device such as laptop comprising processor having one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions) [0028, 0083], when executed by at least one processor of an electronic device (Fig. 9A shows device 2000) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations, the operations comprising:
when a connection of an external power supply device (Fig. 9A shows an interface connected to power module 1000) is detected through an interface receiving (Fig. 9A shows cord 104 acting as an interface), from the external power supply device (Fig. 9A shows cord 104 connecting device 2000 to power module 1000), power information corresponding to a plurality of power supply modes (plurality of power supply modes available) [0097]; based on the power information, setting, among the plurality of power supply modes (Fig. 10 shows steps S1-S2 wherein based on power information, selecting among the plurality of power supply modes) [0100-101], the interface to supply power in a first power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is a maximum (Fig. 10 shows step S2 wherein based on power information, set among the plurality of power supply modes, select a power delivery level in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is maximum) [0100-102];
determining power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the first power mode (Fig. 10 shows steps S3 determining power consumed by device 1000 while receiving power) [0099-0101, 0104]; and
in the first power mode, setting the interface to supply power in a second power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the first power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during a set first time is less than first power that is set corresponding to the first power mode (Fig. 10 shows steps S4-S6 teaching set the cord 104 i.e. interface to supply power in a second power mode in which a magnitude of a power being supplied is smaller according to new power delivery level selection) [0083, 0102-106],
wherein the interface is connected to the external power supply device capable of supplying power in a plurality of power supply modes and is configured to communicate with the external power supply device (Fig. 9A shows cord 104 is connected to device 1000 capable of supplying power in a plurality of power supply modes and is configured to communication with the device 1000) [0097-0099].
Regarding claim 20, Sagneri teaches the operations further comprising setting the interface to supply power in the first power mode when an operation mode of the electronic device is changed (Fig. 9A shows cord 104 supply power when an operation mode of the device 1000 is changed) [0098, 0104].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0203497 (Sagneri) in view of US 2017/0093158 (Perper).
Regarding claim 2, Sagneri does not teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: determine power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the second power mode, and in the second power mode, set the interface to supply power in a third power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the second power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during the set first time is less than second power that is set corresponding to the second power mode.
However, Perper teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: determine power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the second power mode [0040, 0061], and in the second power mode, set the interface to supply power in a third power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the second power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during the set first time is less than second power that is set corresponding to the second power mode (AD i.e. electric device such as laptop changes modes from HPM to LPM as the real time power consumptions changes during a pre-defined period) [0040, 0113].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: determine power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the second power mode, and in the second power mode, set the interface to supply power in a third power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the second power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during the set first time is less than second power that is set corresponding to the second power mode as taught by Perper in order to optimize the time efficiency of supplying power to the electric device.
Regarding claim 9, Sagneri does not teach further comprising: determining power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the second power mode; and setting the interface to supply power in a third power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the second power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during the set first time in the second power mode is less than second power that is set corresponding to the second power mode.
However, Perper teaches further comprising: determining power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the second power mode; and setting the interface to supply power in a third power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the second power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during the set first time in the second power mode is less than second power that is set corresponding to the second power mode (AD i.e. electric device such as laptop changes modes from HPM to LPM as the real time power consumptions changes during a pre-defined period) [0040, 0113].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determining power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the second power mode; and setting the interface to supply power in a third power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the second power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during the set first time in the second power mode is less than second power that is set corresponding to the second power mode as taught by Perper in order to optimize the time efficiency of supplying power to the electric device.
Regarding claim 16, Sagneri does not teach the operations further comprising: determining power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the second power mode; and setting the interface to supply power in a third power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the second power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during the set first time in the second power mode is less than second power that is set corresponding to the second power mode.
However, Perper teaches the operations further comprising: determining power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the second power mode; and setting the interface to supply power in a third power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the second power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during the set first time in the second power mode is less than second power that is set corresponding to the second power mode (AD i.e. electric device such as laptop changes modes from HPM to LPM as the real time power consumptions changes during a pre-defined period) [0040, 0113].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the operations further comprising: determining power consumed by the electronic device while receiving power in the second power mode; and setting the interface to supply power in a third power mode in which a magnitude of power capable of being supplied is smaller than that of the second power mode when power consumed by the electronic device during the set first time in the second power mode is less than second power that is set corresponding to the second power mode as taught by Perper in order to optimize the time efficiency of supplying power to the electric device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 10-12, 17-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836