DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 recites “wherein one or more working parameters comprise” at Ln. 1, but should recite --wherein the one or more working parameters comprise--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1, Ln. 6, “photobiomodulation module,” which is being interpreted to mean “one or more diodes or other light sources (e.g., lasers) to emit visible (e.g., red) or infrared (IR) light for photobiomodulation therapy” (Present Specification at Para. [0089]) and functional equivalents thereof.
Claims 3-12 and 15-21 recite a similar element, which is being interpreted similarly.
Claim 1, Ln. “an attachment means for securing to a user or a region of clothing worn by the user,” which is being interpreted to mean “a strap, a cap, a belt, a clip, one or more elements that fully or partially encircle a region of a body of the user, one or more wearable garments, one or more elements that are worn over one or more regions of a torso or extremities of the user, one or more wearable elements that wrap around one or more abdominal organs of the user, one or more elements placed over a head of the user, and one or more elements placed over a neck of the user” (Present Specification at Para. [0006]) and functional equivalents thereof.
The Examiner notes that the language “for securing to a user or a region of clothing worn by the user” is being interpreted to mean that the function of the recited “attachment means” is securing the attachment means to either a user or a region of clothing worn by the user.
Claim 10 recites a similar element, which is being interpreted similarly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 recites “wherein the attachment means are adapted to be placed on a side of the region of the clothing opposite to the first photobiomodulation module.” It is unclear what placement the phrase” “a side of the region of the clothing opposite to the first photobiomodulation module” is intended to convey, and the scope of Claim 10 is thus indefinite.
Para. [00176] appears pertinent to the above limitation, and states “…connectors 90 may be worn outside clothing and may be connected to one or more modules 20 that are worn inside the clothing. Thus, in some embodiments, module(s) 20 and connector 90 are on opposite sides of clothing 54 during use.” Claim 10 is thus being interpreted to require that the attachment means and the first photobiomodulation module are positioned on opposite sides of the clothing.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 recites “wherein one or more working parameters comprise one or more of: … working parameters….” This circular definition of the term “working parameters” renders the scope of Claim 13 indefinite.
As Claim 13 recites its elements in the alternative, the above indefiniteness issue does not impact the Examiner’s interpretation of Claim 13.
This rejection could be overcome by simply deleting the term “working parameters” from the alternatively recited elements which the recite “one or more working parameters” may comprise.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 recites “wherein at least one working parameter of the second photobiomodulation module is different than a working parameter of the first photobiomodulation module.” Claim 18 depends vicariously from Claim 12, and draws antecedence from the Claim 12 term “one or more working parameters” which are associated with the “first photobiomodulation module.” It is unclear in what sense the “a working parameter of the first photobiomodulation module” relates to the “one or more working parameters” which are associated with the “first photobiomodulation module” of Claim 12.
For purposes of this Office Action, Claim 18 is being interpreted to mean that at “at least one working parameter of the second photobiomodulation module” is a different parameter from at least one of the “one or more working parameters” which are associated with the “first photobiomodulation module,” such as would be satisfied by the inclusion of multiple such “working parameters” in both devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 12, 13-15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0310883 A1 to Lin et al. (“Lin”).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Lin discloses:
A system for delivering a photobiomodulation therapy, the system comprising: (Title, “Wearable safety lasing light therapy device;” Para. [0059]);
Lin’s “light therapy” is such “photobiomodulation” as claimed. See Lin at Para. [0059], “The said light therapy is a photobiomodulation therapy which uses the light therapy beam to stimulate muscles or tissues around a joint to repair damages and alleviate pain.”
a wearable device comprising: an attachment means for securing to a user or a region of clothing worn by the user, (Fig. 8, “belt strap 400;” Paras. [0056] through [0057]; see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, below);
The Examiner makes note of the interpretation set forth above under the “Claim Interpretation” heading with respect to the term “an attachment means….” Lin’s “belt strap 400” is “a belt,” and is thus such “an attachment means…” as claimed.
and a first module attachment site; (Fig. 8, “Mount 410;” see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, above);
and a first photobiomodulation module (Para. [0039], “…the backlight light source 23 faces the front surface 110 of the shell 100…;” Para. [0040], “… the backlight light source 23 further includes four light-emitting diodes (LEDs);” Fig. 8, “shell 100” and its “backlight light source 23” component; see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, above);
As explained above, the element “photobiomodulation module” is being interpreted to mean “one or more diodes or other light sources (e.g., lasers) to emit visible (e.g., red) or infrared (IR) light for photobiomodulation therapy” (Present Specification at Para. [0089]) and functional equivalents thereof.
Lin’s “shell 100” includes “backlight light source 23” therein. Lin’s “backlight light source 23 … includes four light-emitting diodes (LEDs).” Lin’s “shell 100” is such a “photobiomodulation module” as claimed.
adapted to reversibly attach to the first module attachment site. (Para. [0056], “…a belt strap 400 may be used together with the present invention. The belt strap 400 includes a mount 410, and the mount 410 is used for mounting the shell 100, allowing the shell 100 to be connected to the belt strap 400;” Para. [0057], “With reference to FIG. 8 , in another embodiment, the belt strap 400 includes two mounts 410 for mounting two of the wearable safety lasing light therapy devices of the present invention. The mounts 410 of the belt strap 400 are capable of mounting the shell 100 in multiple quantities,…;” Fig. 8, “shell 100” is shown as detached from “mount 410;” see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, above);
The term “reversibly attach” is being interpreted in accordance with the Present Specification to mean that the attachment itself is reversible (i.e., that the “first photobiomodulation module” is not permanently attached to “the first module attachment site”). See Present Specification at Para. [00141] in support of this interpretation (“One or more modules 20 may be permanently or reversibly attached at one or more module attachment sites 14….” (emphasis added)).
Lin’s “shell 100” is shown at Fig. 8 as detached from “mounts 410.” Lin states that “belt strap 400 may be used together with the present invention,” and that “mount 410 is used for mounting the shell 100, allowing the shell 100 to be connected to the belt strap 400.” Lin further states that “The mounts 410 of the belt strap 400 are capable of mounting the shell 100….” Fig. 9 depicts “shell 100” in its “mounted” configuration.
The language of Lin’s Paras. [0056] and [0057] in combination with Lin’s depictions of “shell 100” at Figs. 8 and 9 strongly suggests that Lin’s “shell 100” is freely detachable from Lin’s “mounts 410” (i.e., detachable at will, such that “shell 100” can be used on its own with “belt 400”).
Regardless, Lin’s “shell 100” is clearly not integrally formed with Lin’s “mounts 410.” Accordingly, Lin’s “shell 100” is not “permanently attached” to either Lin’s “belt 400” or “mounts 410.” In accordance with Para. [00141] of the Present Specification, Lin’s “shell 100” is thus “reversibly attached” to Lin’s “first module attachment site.”
Notably, Claim 1 recites “adapted to reversibly attach” (emphasis added). Lin’s “shell 100” is “adapted to reversibly attach” to Lin’s “mounts 410” by virtue of not being formed integrally with Lin’s “mounts 410.”
Regarding Claim 2, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses:
wherein the attachment means comprises one of: a strap, a cap, a belt, a clip, one or more elements that fully or partially encircle a region of a body of the user, one or more wearable garments, one or more elements that are worn over one or more regions of a torso or extremities of the user, one or more wearable elements that wrap around one or more abdominal organs of the user, one or more elements placed over a head of the user, and one or more elements placed over a neck of the user (Fig. 8, “belt strap 400;” Paras. [0056] through [0057]).
Lin’s “attachment means” is a belt (i.e., “belt strap 400”).
Regarding Claim 5, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses:
wherein the wearable device is adapted to be secured to the user at one or more of: a head region, a neck region, a chest region, a belly region, a back region, an abdominal region, one or more arm regions, and one or more leg regions. (Para. [0059], “The belt strap 400 may be fixed on the knee 500, or elsewhere such as a neck, a shoulder, an elbow, a wrist, a waist, or an ankle of the user for conducting the light therapy for bodily alleviations.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses:
further comprising a sensor on the first photobiomodulation module (Paras. [0036] through [0037], describing “proximity sensing module 40” and the various embodiments of sensors in may employ; Claim 1, reciting that the “proximity sensing module [is] mounted within the shell;” Claim 3, “wherein the proximity sensing module is an optical sensor;” Claim 4, “wherein the proximity sensing module is a resistive sensor;” Claim 5, “wherein the proximity sensing module is a capacitive proximity sensor…”).
Regarding Independent Claim 12, Lin teaches:
A method for delivering a photobiomodulation therapy to a user, the method comprising: (Title, “Wearable safety lasing light therapy device;” Para. [0059], “The said light therapy is a photobiomodulation therapy which uses the light therapy beam to stimulate muscles or tissues around a joint to repair damages and alleviate pain.”);
As can be seen from Lin’s Para. [0059], use of Lin’s device in accordance with its intent results in such a method for delivering a photobiomodulation therapy to a user as claimed.
programming a first photobiomodulation module to deliver photobiomodulation at one or more working parameters, (Paras. [0045] through [0049]; Para. [0040], “When the processing module 10 enters the emission mode, the processing module 10 controls the backlight light source 23 to generate blue light;” Fig. 8, “shell 100” is such a “photobiomodulation module” as claimed and includes “light source 23;” see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, above at Claim 1);
As explained above, the element “photobiomodulation module” is being interpreted to mean “one or more diodes or other light sources (e.g., lasers) to emit visible (e.g., red) or infrared (IR) light for photobiomodulation therapy” (Present Specification at Para. [0089]) and functional equivalents thereof.
Lin’s “shell 100” includes “backlight light source 23” therein. Lin’s “backlight light source 23 … includes four light-emitting diodes (LEDs).” Lin’s “shell 100” is such a “photobiomodulation module” as claimed.
The Examiner notes that the “first photobiomodulation module” of Claim 12 is being interpreted in a similar manner to that explained above at Claim 1.
The term “working parameters” is being interpreted in accordance with its description at Paras. [00122] through [00126] of the Present Specification, wherein “Examples of such working parameters” are listed. Among the listed “working parameters” are “emitted wavelength(s)” and “therapy duration.”
Lin’s “processing module 10 controls the backlight light source 23 to generate blue light,” and thus “program[s]” Lin’s “first photobiomodulation module to deliver photobiomodulation at one or more working parameters,” said “one or more working parameters” being the “emitted wavelength(s)” of Lin’s “blue light.”
Lin additionally discloses such “programming” of “therapy duration” (see Lin at Paras. [0045] through [0049], describing operation of Lin’s device with respect to “working time;” Para. [0047], “The working time threshold actually corresponds to how long a timed light therapy program lasts.”).
attaching a first wearable device to a first location on a body of the user, (Para. [0059], “The user of the present invention may freely arrange the belt strap 400 in any position the user sees fit. The belt strap 400 may be fixed on the knee 500, or elsewhere such as a neck, a shoulder, an elbow, a wrist, a waist, or an ankle of the user for conducting the light therapy for bodily alleviations.”);
Lin’s “belt strap 400” is such a “first wearable device” as claimed.
attaching the first photobiomodulation module to a first location of the first wearable device, (Para. [0057], “With reference to FIG. 8, … the belt strap 400 includes two mounts 410 for mounting two of the wearable safety lasing light therapy devices of the present invention. The mounts 410 of the belt strap 400 are capable of mounting the shell 100 in multiple quantities…;” Fig. 8, “shell 100” attaches to “mounts 410” of “belt strap 400” at a location defined by individual of “mounts 410;” see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, above at Claim 1);
delivering photobiomodulation through the first photobiomodulation module at the one or more working parameters. (Para. [0040], “When the processing module 10 enters the emission mode, the processing module 10 controls the backlight light source 23 to generate blue light;” Para. [0045], “In the emission mode, the processing module 10 controls the light emission module 30 to generate continuous waves or pulses of the light therapy beam;” Para. [0046], “When the processing module 10 determines that the working time is less than the working time threshold, the processing module 10 continues generating the laser beam;” Para. [0059], “The said light therapy is a photobiomodulation therapy…”).
Regarding Claim 13, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 12 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses:
wherein one or more working parameters comprise one or more of: an on/off status of a therapy, an emitted wavelength(s), a wavelength distribution and/or bandwidth, a power output, an irradiance, a fluence, a pulse frequency, a pulse width, a duty cycle, a coherence, a beam divergence, a polarization, a spot size, a beam diameter, a beam profile, a delivery mode, an incidence angle, a number and/or type of emitters that are operational, a cooling mechanism(s), a therapy duration, an on/off status of a display, information displayed on a screen, an on/off status of a user interface, a type of information displayed on a user interface, and for one or more sensors in use: an on/off status, a type, working parameters, a sampling frequency, an energy output, and an energy consumption (Para. [0040], “When the processing module 10 enters the emission mode, the processing module 10 controls the backlight light source 23 to generate blue light;” Paras. [0045] through [0049], describing operation of Lin’s device with respect to “working time;” Para. [0047], “The working time threshold actually corresponds to how long a timed light therapy program lasts.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 12 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses:
further comprising adjusting at least one of the one or more working parameters (Paras. [0045] through [0049]; Paras. [0040] and [0043]);
Lin’s Paras. [0045] through [0049] describe “adjusting” Lin’s “working parameter” of “therapy duration.
Li describes an embodiment wherein Li’s “timed light therapy program” which “for instance, lasts for 10 minutes” (Li at Para. [0047]) “will start from the beginning in order to fully execute the timed light therapy program” upon movement-based contact interruption, thereby extending (i.e., “adjusting”) therapy duration (see Lin at Para. [0048]).
Lin’s Paras. [0040] and [0043] describe “adjusting” Lin’s “working parameter” of “emitted wavelength(s).”
Lin adjusts between blue light and green light based on degree of contact, thereby “adjusting” emitted wavelengths.
Regarding Claim 15, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 14 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses:
wherein the adjusting of the one or more working parameters is performed by one or more of: a manual process through a user interface, an automatic process performed by the first photobiomodulation module, an automatic process performed by an application loaded on an electronic device in communication with the first photobiomodulation modules or one or more sensors in use during the photobiomodulation therapy, responsive to detecting a magnetic attachment to the first photobiomodulation modules, and using data from the one or more sensors (Paras. [0045] through [0049]; Paras. [0040] and [0043]).
As noted above, Lin’s Paras. [0045] through [0049] describe “adjusting” Lin’s “working parameter” of “therapy duration.”
Lin describes an embodiment wherein Li’s “timed light therapy program” which “for instance, lasts for 10 minutes” (Lin at Para. [0047]) “will start from the beginning in order to fully execute the timed light therapy program” upon movement-based contact interruption, thereby extending (i.e., “adjusting”) therapy duration (see Lin at Para. [0048]).
Lin adjustment is carried out by Lin’s “processing module 10” (see Lin at Para. [00148], “…the processing module 10 determines …;” “… the processing module 10 starts counting the working time again…”). Lin describes its “working time” related processes as “automatic” at Para. [0046]. Further, as no manual intervention is involved, Lin’s process is automatic.
Lin’s “processing module” is part of Lin’s “shell 100” (see, e.g., Lin at Abstract, “…inside the shell, … a processing module is electrically connected to the proximity sensing module, the power switch, and a light emission module…”), and is thus “performed by the first photobiomodulation module.”
Lin’s Paras. [0040] and [0043] describe “adjusting” Lin’s “working parameter” of “emitted wavelength(s).”
Lin adjusts between blue light and green light based on degree of contact, thereby “adjusting” emitted wavelengths. This adjustment is again performed by Lin’s “processing module,” without manual intervention, and is accordingly such a “an automatic process performed by the first photobiomodulation module” as claimed.
Regarding Claim 17, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 12 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses:
further comprising attaching a second photobiomodulation module to a second location of the first wearable device and delivering photobiomodulation using the second photobiomodulation module (Para. [0057]; Para. [0058], “The two mounts 410 are respectively fixed on two sides of the knee 500. Each of the two mounts 410 holds the shell 100, allowing the opening 121 of the shell 100 to aim at acupuncture points of the knee 500 for light therapies. As the first sensor 41 and the second sensor 42 touch the skin of the knee 500, the processing module 10 determines to receive the trigger signal from the proximity sensing module 40, and further allowing the light emission module 30 to generate the light therapy beam to alleviate pain from the knee 500 of the user.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 17 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses:
wherein at least one working parameter of the second photobiomodulation module is different than a working parameter of the first photobiomodulation module. (Para. [0040], “When the processing module 10 enters the emission mode, the processing module 10 controls the backlight light source 23 to generate blue light;” Paras. [0045] through [0049], describing operation of Lin’s device with respect to “working time;” Para. [0047], “The working time threshold actually corresponds to how long a timed light therapy program lasts;” Para. [0058], “The two mounts 410 are respectively fixed on two sides of the knee 500. Each of the two mounts 410 holds the shell 100…”).
Lin uses two of “shell 100” with one being such a “first photobiomodulation module” as claimed and the other such a “second photobiomodulation module” as claimed. See Lin at Para. [0058]; Fig. 8, see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8 above.
As noted above, Lin’s “shell 100” has two “working parameters:” therapy duration and emitted wavelength (see Rejection of Claim 13 above, elaborating; see also Rejection of Claim 12, elaborating). Lin’s “first photobiomodulation module” and “second photobiomodulation module” are both separate of Lin’s “shell 100” (i.e., they are identical). Accordingly, both Lin’s “first photobiomodulation module” and “second photobiomodulation module” have two “working parameters:” therapy duration and emitted wavelength.
By virtue each Lin’s “first photobiomodulation module” and “second photobiomodulation module” having two “working parameters,” at least one working parameter of the second photobiomodulation module is different than a working parameter of the first photobiomodulation module as claimed. That is, “at least one working parameter of the second photobiomodulation module” (e.g., therapy duration) “is different than a working parameter of the first photobiomodulation module” (e.g., therapy duration is different than emitted wavelength).
Regarding Claim 20, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 17 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses
wherein the first photobiomodulation module delivers photobiomodulation to one or more of: a brain region, a skin region, a scalp region, one or more hair follicles, on or more eyes, regions of an oral cavity, a jaw region, a neck region, a spine region, a shoulder region, an elbow region, a wrist region, one or more hands, one or more feet, one or more fingers, a chest region, a heart region, one or more lung regions, a liver region, one or more kidney regions, a bladder regions, a uterus region, a prostate region, a pelvic floor region, a colon region, a rectum region, a perineum region, one or more reproductive organs, one or more skeletal muscles, one or more cardiac muscles, one or more joints, one or more tendons, and one or more bones (Para. [0058], “The two mounts 410 are respectively fixed on two sides of the knee 500. Each of the two mounts 410 holds the shell 100, allowing the opening 121 of the shell 100 to aim at acupuncture points of the knee 500 for light therapies;” Para. [0059], “The belt strap 400 may be fixed on the knee 500, … for conducting the light therapy…. The said light therapy is a photobiomodulation therapy which uses the light therapy beam to stimulate muscles or tissues around a joint to repair damages and alleviate pain.”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TW M565039 U (“TW ‘039”) as evidenced by aslms.org, "Photobiomodulation," accessed online 10/26/2026 via https://www.aslms.org/topic/photobiomodulation/; updated June 27, 2016.
Regarding Independent Claim 11, TW ‘039 discloses:
A computer-implemented method of delivering photobiomodulation therapy to a user, the method comprising: (TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Pg. 4 pf 13, First Paragraph, “The processing unit 16 uses the power provided by the power supply unit 11 to drive the laser emission unit 14 to emit a laser;” TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Abstract, “This creation discloses a patch-type laser electrotherapy device and a laser emitter.”);
TW ‘039 considers its “laser electrotherapy device” a “Low Level Laser Therapy (LLLT)” device (see TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Pg. 2 of 13, Second Paragraph; TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Pg. 7 of 13, Third Paragraph, “…the user …can use different wavelengths and power lasers to perform LLLT…”). “Low level laser therapy” is another term for “photobiomodulation.” See, e.g., aslms.org, "Photobiomodulation," accessed online 10/26/2026 via https://www.aslms.org/topic/photobiomodulation/; updated June 27, 2016 at Pg. 2 of 8, Last Paragraph.
TW ‘039’s “processing unit 16” is a computer which implements such a method as claimed.
identifying one or more photobiomodulation modules configured to deliver an individualized photobiomodulation therapy to the user through a wearable device; (TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Abstract; TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Pg. 7 of 13, Third Paragraph, “…the use of different laser emitting units 34 can provide lasers of different wavelengths and powers. … the user …can use different wavelengths and power lasers to perform LLLT…;” Figs. 5 and 6; see Annotated Figs. 5 and 6, below);
TW ‘039 identifies its “one or more photobiomodulation modules” via the processor-implemented “open circuit detection control unit” described at TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Abstract.
identifying one or more module attachment sites configured to reversibly couple to the one or more photobiomodulation modules; (TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Abstract; Fig. 6, “conductive connections C3 and C4;” see Annotated Figs. 5 and 6, above);
TW ‘039 identifies its “one or more module attachment sites” via the processor-implemented “open circuit detection control unit” described at TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Abstract.
TW ‘039’s are clearly “configured to reversibly couple to the one or more photobiomodulation modules” by virtue of their ability to detach inadvertently, which inadvertent detachment problem TW ‘039 seeks to address by the methodology described at its Abstract.
receiving a connection signal indicating that the one or more photobiomodulation modules are coupled to the one or more module attachment sites; (TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Abstract, “The open circuit detection control unit is electrically connected to the first and second conductive attachment units. The processing unit is electrically connected to the power supply unit, the laser emission unit and the open circuit detection control unit. When the open circuit detection control unit detects that the circuit is in an open circuit state, the laser emitting unit stops emitting lasers.”);
TW ‘039 receives such a signal provided it its “open circuit detection control unit” does not “detect[] that the circuit is in an open circuit state.” TW ‘039 performs the same function as claimed, but describes it inversely.
and delivering photobiomodulation using the one or more photobiomodulation modules. (TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Abstract, “…the laser emitted by the laser emitting unit is irradiated to the living body;” TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Pg. 7 of 13, Third Paragraph).
TW ‘039 delivers photobiomodulation using its one or more photobiomodulation modules provided it its “open circuit detection control unit” does not “detect[] that the circuit is in an open circuit state.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0310883 A1 to Lin et al. (“Lin”) as applied to Claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of US 10,639,495 B1 to Nelson et al. (“Nelson).
Regarding Claim 3, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin additionally discloses:
further comprising a second module attachment site and a second photobiomodulation module (Para. [0057]; Fig. 8, two “shell 100” and two “mount 410” are depicted; see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, above at Claim 1);
adapted to reversibly attach to the second module attachment site, (Para. [0056]; Para. [0057]; Fig. 8, “shell 100” is shown as detached from “mount 410;” see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, above at Claim 1);
The term “reversibly attach” is being interpreted as explained above with respect to the same term as used in Claim 1.
Lin’s “second photobiomodulation module” is “adapted to reversibly attach to the second module attachment site” for the same reasons as explained above with respect to the similar Claim 1 limitation pertaining to Lin’s identical “first photobiomodulation module.”
Lyn does not disclose:
the second photobiomodulation module being synchronized according to at least one working parameter of the first photobiomodulation module.
Nelson describes “Photobiomodulation therapy systems and methods” (Title). Nelson is analogous art.
Nelson teaches:
the second photobiomodulation module being synchronized according to at least one working parameter of the first photobiomodulation module (Col. 7, Ln. 49-56, “To ensure that the light therapy devices 12 operate in the same way, some embodiments feature a lead mode 70 and a follow mode 80. A light therapy device 12 that is configured to be in the lead mode 70 may send operation instructions to all other light therapy devices 12 in the system 10. A light therapy device 12 that is configured to be in the follow mode 80 may receive operation instructions from a light therapy device 12 that is in the lead mode 70;” Col. 9, Ln. 15-18, “Generally, light therapy devices 12 in the lead mode 70 may send instructions to other light therapy devices 12 in the follow mode 80 to operate in the same way.”).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin with the teachings of Nelson (i.e., to implement such a “lead mode” as taught by Nelson in Lin’s first photobiomodulation module and such a and “follow mode” as taught by Nelson in Lin’s second photobiomodulation module, thereby causing the second photobiomodulation module to be synchronized according to at least one working parameter of the first photobiomodulation module) in order to enable individual photobiomodulation modules “to act as one cohesive system to more effectively provide treatment for a patient” (Nelson at Col. 5, Ln. 42-44).
Regarding Claim 21, Claim 21 is substantively similar to Claim 3. The combination of Lin and Nelson renders obvious the entirety of Claim 21 for the same reasons as explained above with respect to Claim 3.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0310883 A1 to Lin et al. (“Lin”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of TW M565039 U (“TW ‘039”) as evidenced by aslms.org, "Photobiomodulation," accessed online 10/26/2026 via https://www.aslms.org/topic/photobiomodulation/; updated June 27, 2016.
Regarding Claim 4, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin does not disclose:
wherein the first photobiomodulation module is adapted to detect attachment of the first photobiomodulation module to the first module attachment site.
TW ‘039 describes a “Patch-mounted Laser Electrotherapy Device And Laser Emitter” (Title) in the context of “Low Level Laser Therapy (LLLT).” TW ‘039 is analogous art. 1
TW ‘039 teaches:
wherein the first photobiomodulation module is adapted to detect attachment of the first photobiomodulation module to the first module attachment site. (TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Abstract, “The laser emitting unit is fixed to the living body through the first and second conductive attachment units, and the laser emitted by the laser emitting unit is irradiated to the living body. The open circuit detection control unit is electrically connected to the first and second conductive attachment units. The processing unit is electrically connected to the power supply unit, the laser emission unit and the open circuit detection control unit. When the open circuit detection control unit detects that the circuit is in an open circuit state, the laser emitting unit stops emitting lasers.”).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin with the teachings of TW ‘039 (i.e., to modify Lin’s “shell 100” (i.e., Lin’s “first photobiomodulation module”) such that it is adapted to detect attachment of the first photobiomodulation module to the first module attachment site in the manner of TW ‘039, for example by inclusion of such circuitry as described by TW ‘039 and concomitant configuration of Lin’s “processing module 10”) in order to “prevent the emitted laser from irradiating the eyes of others when it falls off” (TW ‘039 Machine Translation at Abstract).
The Examiner notes that such a modification would align with Lin’s stated “safety” purpose, which aims to prevent Lin’s light therapy beam “shooting directly into the eyes of the user” (see Lin at Para. [0060]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0310883 A1 to Lin et al. (“Lin”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of KR 20240060187 A (“KR ‘187”) as evidenced by aslms.org, "Photobiomodulation," accessed online 10/26/2026 via https://www.aslms.org/topic/photobiomodulation/; updated June 27, 2016.
Regarding Claim 6, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin does not disclose:
further comprising a charging case adapted for storing and charging the first photobiomodulation module.
KR ‘187 describes “a composite treatment device including a low-power light energy treatment device and an ultrasonic treatment device that can effectively perform pain treatment for musculoskeletal rehabilitation” (KR ‘187 Machine Translation at Abstract) in the context of photobiomodulation (KR ‘187 Machine Translation at Pg. 2 of 17, Third Paragraph). KR ‘187 is analogous art.
KR ‘187 teaches:
further comprising a charging case adapted for storing and charging the first photobiomodulation module (KR ‘187 Machine Translation at Pg. 11 of 17, Fifth Paragraph, “Using this charging device 400, the user can easily charge the low-output optical energy treatment device 200 or the ultrasonic treatment device 300 by inserting it into the charging case 440 through the insertion hole 411 and placing it there. and can be stored;” Fig. 6 “charging case 440” of “charging device 400”).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin with the teachings of KR ‘187 (i.e., to additionally include in Lin’s device such a charging case as taught by KR ‘187 adapted for storing and charging Lin’s first photobiomodulation module, which photobiomodulation module is battery powered2) because such a modification entails merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. That is, Lin teaches such a device as recited by Claim 1, and KR ‘187 teaches a charging case for a similarly functioning device. The only difference is actual lack of combination of such a charging case as taught by KR ‘187 with the device of Lin.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Per the proposed combination, Lin’s battery powered device would operate exactly as it does by Lin’s disclosure, with the only difference being Lin’s battery powered device would be charged by a charging case rather than by unspecified means. KR ‘187’s charging case would perform its function of charging and storage unaltered.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Notably, Lin’s “photobiomodulation module” is battery powered3, and is easily amendable to use with such a charging case.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0310883 A1 to Lin et al. (“Lin”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 6,312,451 B1 to Streeter (“Streeter”) as evidenced by aslms.org, "Photobiomodulation," accessed online 10/26/2026 via https://www.aslms.org/topic/photobiomodulation/; updated June 27, 2016.
Regarding Claim 7, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin does not disclose:
wherein one or more working parameters of the first photobiomodulation module are tunable
Streeter describes a “Low level laser therapy apparatus for treatment of various tissue injuries…” (Abstract). Streeter is analogous art.4
Streeter teaches:
wherein one or more working parameters of the first photobiomodulation module are tunable (Abstract, “…the apparatus includes a handheld laser probe coupled to a control unit for selecting and controlling laser energy dosage from about 1 joule/point to about 10 joules/point;” Col. 2, Ln. 17-19).
The Examiner notes that “energy output” is listed as an example of “working parameters” at Paras. [00122] through [00126] of the Present Specification. Streeter’s device “control[s] laser energy dosage” (Streeter at Abstract) via “a Switch, knob or the like” (Streeter at Col. 2, Ln. 17-19). Streeter thus teaches “wherein one or more working parameters of the first photobiomodulation module are tunable.”
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin with the teachings of Streeter (i.e., to modify the device of Lin such that it features such “a Switch, knob or the like” for “controlling laser energy dosage” as taught by Streeter) in order to facilitate “varying dosages for treatment of a range of tissue injuries” (Streeter at Col. 1, Ln. 50-51; Col. 1, Ln. 53-55).
Regarding Claim 8, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin does not disclose:
wherein one or more working parameters of the first photobiomodulation module are programmable using a wireless or a wired connection to the first photobiomodulation module
Streeter describes a “Low level laser therapy apparatus for treatment of various tissue injuries…” (Abstract). Streeter is analogous art, as explained above at Claim 7.
Streeter teaches:
wherein one or more working parameters of the first photobiomodulation module are programmable using a wireless or a wired connection to the first photobiomodulation module (Abstract, “…the apparatus includes a handheld laser probe coupled to a control unit for selecting and controlling laser energy dosage from about 1 joule/point to about 10 joules/point;” Col. 2, Ln. 17-19; Col. 3, Ln. 10-14; Fig. 1, “dosage selection element 44”).
Streeter’s “laser energy dosage” is such a “working parameter” as claimed, as explained above at Claim 7.
Streeter’s “laser energy dosage” is adjustable via “a Switch, knob or the like,” and is thus “programmable.”
Streeter’s “Switch, knob or the like” (“dosage selection element 44” in Fig. 1) is “linked to the control circuit for pre-selecting the dosage level” (Col. 3, Ln. 10-14). Fig. 1 depicts “dosage selection element 44” as being so-linked to “probe 12” (i.e., Streeter’s “photobiomodulation module”) via “cord 40.”
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin with the teachings of Streeter (i.e., to modify the device of Lin such that it features such “a Switch, knob or the like” for “controlling laser energy dosage” as taught by Streeter, adopting Streeter’s configuration such that one or more working parameters of the first photobiomodulation module are programmable using a wired connection to the first photobiomodulation module) in order to facilitate “varying dosages for treatment of a range of tissue injuries” (Streeter at Col. 1, Ln. 50-51; Col. 1, Ln. 53-55).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0310883 A1 to Lin et al. (“Lin”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2013/0301034 A1 to Olds et al. (“Olds”).
Regarding Claim 10, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin does not disclose:
wherein the attachment means are adapted to be placed on a side of the region of the clothing opposite to the first photobiomodulation module
Olds describes “A light-monitoring apparatus” (Title) which is “a wearable micro light sensor that can be about the size and shape of a tie tack or a U.S. quarter” and “can be worn attached to a wearer's clothing, much like a tie tack or pin” (Olds at Para. [0033]). Olds is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, and is thus analogous art.
In order for a reference to be "reasonably pertinent" to the problem, it must "logically [] have commended itself to an inventor's attention in considering his problem." In re ICON Health and Fitness, Inc., 496 F.3d 1374, 1379-80 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (quoting In re Clay, 966 F.2d 656,658, 23 USPQ2d 1058, 1061 (Fed. Cir. 1992)). “The question of whether a reference is reasonably pertinent often turns on how the problem to be solved is perceived. If the problem to be solved is viewed in a narrow or constrained way, and such a view is not consistent with the specification, the scope of available prior art may be inappropriately limited.” MPEP 2141.01(a).
The problem faced by the inventor of the Present Invention is that “Conventional PBM therapies cannot be easily applied to specific regions of the body…” and “cannot be placed consistently and securely on the abdomen and tailored to individual patients” (Present Specification at Para. [0080], further noting with respect to the above that “The devices described herein solve the above technical problems with technical solutions.”). Olds solves a similar problem (see, e.g., Olds at Para. [0035], noting that Olds’s device can “allow the user to wear the device in different ways depending on factors such as attire, environment, and activity on a particular day.”). Although Olds device is “used by an individual to monitor cumulative light exposure from both natural and artificial sources, e.g., in the treatment of seasonal or non-seasonal depression” (Olds at Abstract), Olds’s purpose is similar to the sort of light monitoring required for dosing photobiomodulation.
An inventor seeking to solve the identified problem would have looked to Olds in an attempt to find a solution to his problem that “Conventional PBM therapies cannot be easily applied to specific regions of the body…” and “cannot be placed consistently and securely on the abdomen and tailored to individual patients” (Present Specification at Para. [0080]) because Olds’s similarly electromechanically-structured device presents a solution to securing body-worn electronics.
Olds teaches:
wherein the attachment means are adapted to be placed on a side of the region of the clothing opposite to the first photobiomodulation module (Para. [0036], “…a first magnetic material 36' … is embedded into the integrative light monitor, and a second magnetic material 36'' … to which the first magnetic material 36' can be magnetically secured can be positioned on an opposite side of clothing fabric (e.g., against the inside of a shirt pocket or opening or the underside of a collar) to allow the first magnetic material on the integrative light monitor to be magnetically secured thereto through the fabric.”).
As explained above, Claim 10 is being interpreted to require that the attachment means and the first photobiomodulation module are positioned on opposite sides of the clothing.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Lin with the teachings of Olds (i.e., to modify Lin’s attachment means (i.e., “mounts 410”) such that they are magnetic material positioned on the skin-facing side of Lin’s “belt strap 400” in the manner of Olds’s attachment mechanism) because such a modification entails a mere simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The prior art contained a device (i.e., Lin’s device) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (Lin’s mechanical attachment means, i.e., “mounts 410” positioned in the same side of Lin’s clothing as Lin’s photobiomodulation module) with other components (i.e., an attachment means positioned on an opposite side of the clothing from the photobiomodulation module).
The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. For example, Olds teaches an attachment means positioned on an opposite side of the clothing from its associated electronic component, which attachment means functions via magnetic coupling.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. That is, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted Lin’s “mounts 410” with such magnetic material positioned on the skin-facing side of Lin’s “belt strap 400” in the manner of Olds’s, and the results would have been predictable: Lin’s photobiomodulation module would be secured magnetically to Lin’s “belt strap 400” rather than mechanically.
Claim 10 is alternatively rejected, and Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0310883 A1 to Lin et al. (“Lin”).
Regarding Claim 10, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Lin does not disclose:
wherein the attachment means are adapted to be placed on a side of the region of the clothing opposite to the first photobiomodulation module
As explained above, Claim 10 is being interpreted to require that the attachment means and the first photobiomodulation module are positioned on opposite sides of the clothing.
However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin such that the attachment means and the first photobiomodulation module are positioned on opposite sides of the clothing because such a modification entails mere rearrangement of parts (i.e., rearranging Lin’s “mounts 410” such that they are set back slightly beyond the boundary of Lin’s “belt strap 400,” thereby rendering Lin’s attachment means and photobiomodulation module positioned on opposite sides of Lin’s clothing). Such rearrangement of parts is a common practice which the court has held normally requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C), citing In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). The functioning of Lin’s device would not be altered per such a modification.
The Present Specification discusses the above limitation at Para. [00176]. No mention of criticality is made with respect to the claimed arrangement. Further supporting the Examiner’s position, the Present Specification envisions both Lin’s arrangement and that of Claim 10 as alternative embodiments.
Regarding Claim 16, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 12 as explained above.
Lin does not disclose:
further comprising attaching the first photobiomodulation module to a second location of the first wearable device.
However, Lin teaches a configuration wherein two of Lin’s “photobiomodulation modules” (i.e., Lin’s “shell 100”) are attached to two locations of a single of Lin’s “belt strap 400” (see Lin at Para. [0059] with reference to Lin’s Fig. 9, “The two mounts 410 are respectively fixed on two sides of the knee 500. Each of the two mounts 410 holds the shell 100…”). That is, Lin uses identical “photobiomodulation modules” (i.e., identical of Lin’s “shell 100”) which attach at identical of Lin’s “mounts 410.” While Lin does not expressly disclose interchanging first and second of Lin’s “shell 100” in the configuration of Lin’s Para. [0059] and Fig. 9, Lin’s identical shells configured for attachment at identical “mounts 410” renders Lin’s configuration readily amenable to such interchanging.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lin such that it comprises attaching the first photobiomodulation module to a second location of the first wearable device because such a modification entails a mere rearrangement of parts (i.e., rearranging Lin’s first and second photobiomodulation modules in the configuration of Lin’s Para. [0059] and Fig. 9 such that their positions are reversed). Such rearrangement of parts is a common practice which the court has held normally requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C), citing In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). The functioning of Lin’s device would not be altered per such a modification.
The Present Specification describes the methodology Claim 16 at Para. [0128]. No mention is made of criticality, and no particular benefit of such interchanging is discussed.
Regarding Claim 19, Lin discloses the entirety of Claim 12 as explained above.
Lin does not disclose:
further comprising attaching a second photobiomodulation module to a first location of a second wearable device and delivering photobiomodulation using the second photobiomodulation module.
That is, Lin teaches only a single wearable device delivering photobiomodulation.
However, Lin teaches that Lin’s wearable device (i.e., Lin’s “belt strap 400”) may be positioned in a variety of locations (see Lin at Para. [0059], “The belt strap 400 may be fixed on the knee 500, or elsewhere such as a neck, a shoulder, an elbow, a wrist, a waist, or an ankle of the user for conducting the light therapy for bodily alleviations.”).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin such that two of Lin’s “belt straps” and Lin’s associated light therapy components (see Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, above) are used at two different of Lin’s suggested locations because such a modification entails mere duplication of parts (i.e., duplication of Lin’s “belt straps” and Lin’s associated light therapy components). Such duplication of parts is a common practice which the court has held normally requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), citing In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Pursuant to such a modification, Lin’s methodology would entail attaching a second photobiomodulation module to a first location of a second wearable device and delivering photobiomodulation using the second photobiomodulation module as claimed (i.e., the second photobiomodulation module would be akin to the first photobiomodulation module as depicted in Annotated Figs. 3 and 8 above, and would be positioned on a second “belt strap 400” positioned, e.g., at an elbow). Each of Lin’s duplicated devices would function precisely as it does on its own post-modification, and neither would be altered in function. Such a modification is consistent with Lin’s teachings at Para. [0059] that “[t]he user of the present invention may freely arrange the belt strap 400 in any position the user sees fit,” and would provide the additional benefit of delivering therapy to two body parts rather than one.
The Present Specification describes the above embodiment at Paras. [00130] through [00131]. No mention is made of criticality, and no benefit beyond the expected provision of additional therapy to a second site is described.
Art Deemed Relevant Although Not Relied Upon
The Examiner makes note of the following prior art, which is deemed relevant to the present invention although it is not relied upon in any foregoing rejection:
US 11,247,068 B2 describes a “device for treating various external and internal body conditions by using LED Light Therapy, Laser Light Therapy, Photo-Bio-Modulation Therapy (PBMT), Photodynamic Therapy (PDT), UV based light therapy and/or any other suitable light therapy” (Col. 1, Ln. 8-10). Claim 18 recites “… the plurality of devices are connected to each other via a wired or wireless communication means, … the plurality of respective controlling units is further enabled to synchronously allocate a plurality of separate treatment portions to the plurality of respective devices and prevent overlap of the light projected from the plurality of respective light projection units.” This teaching appears pertinent to Claims 3 and 21.
Chung H, Dai T, Sharma SK, Huang YY, Carroll JD, Hamblin MR. "The nuts and bolts of low-level laser (light) therapy." Ann Biomed Eng. 2012;40(2):516–33. doi: 10.1007/s10439-011-0454-7 describes dosimetry in low-level laser (light) therapy at Pg. 6-7, which appears pertinent to the “working parameters” recited by many pending claims.
US 2022/0323782 A1 describes a “A wearable photobiomodulation device … with an integral or detachable illumination module” (Abstract), and appears pertinent to Independent Claims 1 and 12.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J. MUTCHLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
1 The Examiner notes that “low level laser therapy” is another term for “photobiomodulation.” See, e.g., aslms.org, "Photobiomodulation," accessed online 10/26/2026 via https://www.aslms.org/topic/photobiomodulation/; updated June 27, 2016 at Pg. 2 of 8, Last Paragraph.
2 See Lin at Para. [0031] (“…the control circuit board 200, the light emission circuit board 300, and the battery 50 are mounted respectively within the shell 100…”); Lin at Para. [0032] (“The battery 50 is electrically connected to the processing module 10 and the light emission module for providing electricity.”).
3 See Lin at Para. [0031]; Para. [0032].
4 The Examiner notes that “low level laser therapy” is another term for “photobiomodulation.” See, e.g., aslms.org, "Photobiomodulation," accessed online 10/26/2026 via https://www.aslms.org/topic/photobiomodulation/; updated June 27, 2016 at Pg. 2 of 8, Last Paragraph.