DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malm et al. (US PGPub 2024/0199080) in view of Uy et al. (US PGPub 2021/0081099) and Cheng et al. (US PGPub 2023/0259321).
Regarding claim 1, Malm discloses a displaying method for a mowing operation area (fig. 4), comprising:
acquiring a mowing operation data of a mowing device ([0097], “receiving 410 a map of the operational area 205” and [0072], “the robotic work tool(s) 100 is exemplified by a robotic lawnmower, whereby the robotic work tool system 200 may be a robotic lawnmower system”), wherein the mowing operation data includes operation area parameters when the mowing device performs a mowing operation ([0075], “wherein a graphical representation of the map 120A of the operational area 205 is displayed”);
determining a target operation area based on the mowing operation data ([0097], “The method also comprises generating 440 a composite boundary 220C encompassing the first and the second temporary boundaries 220-1-4, wherein the composite boundary 220C is the boundary 220 the robotic work tool 100 operating in the operational area 205”); and
([0071], “The server 240 is configured to display an application interface, either on a display connected to the server 240, such as a display 250 (see FIG. 3A) of a User Equipment or a display of the robotic work tool 100” ; [0076] “The display shows the main boundary 220 --if any-- such as a magnetic boundary or a safety boundary encompassing the whole operational area 205.”).
While Malm discloses displaying a graphical representation of the map of the operational area on a display apparatus ([0075]), it has been known to size the map based on a window size of the display. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Uy discloses maximizing a display of the target operation area on a display apparatus according to a window size of the display apparatus ([0103], “mobile display navigation app 95 may render the one or more display regions (e.g., display regions 221-224) on the display screen 84 of the mobile user interface device 112 by bounding a corresponding view portion of each of the one or more display regions (e.g., display regions 221-224) to the full-size process plant display (e.g., full-size process plant display 204). For example, the mobile display navigation app 95 may access the full-size process plant display (e.g., full-size process plant display 204) from memory 90 and map the view portion, including zooming, panning, and/or positioning the view portion to the full-size process plant display (e.g., full-size process plant display 204). Accordingly, in such embodiments, while mobile display navigation app 95 would have accessed full-size process plant display 204 from memory 90, only the view portion of the display region (e.g., a first view portion of first display region 221 as shown for FIG. 3A or a second view portion of display region 222 as shown for FIG. 3B) would be shown on display screen 84”).
In view of the teachings of Malm and Uy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to maximize a display area as taught by Uy, within the method of Malm, for the purpose of improving a user’s experience by maximizing a display according to a window size so as to not have unused space on a display.
While the combination of Malm and Uy teaches map the view portion, including zooming, panning, and/or positioning the view portion to the full-size process plant display (Uy: [0103]), it has been known to enlarge display information to maximize a full screen of a display. In a similar field of endeavor of electronic devices, Cheng discloses determining a target operation area to be displayed on a window of a display apparatus ([0109], “The size information of the second display screen and the resolution of the second display screen may be used to determine a layout and resolution of the second electronic in full screen display”), wherein the target operation area comprises a plurality of first edges, the window comprises a plurality of second edges, and at least one of the plurality of first edges intersects with a corresponding one of the plurality of second edges (Cheng: [0108], “A gravity sensor of the second electronic device may obtain the landscape/portrait attribute of the second display screen, and determine whether the second display screen is currently in landscape display or portrait display. The landscape/portrait attribute of the second display screen may be used to determine whether a second virtual window on the second display screen is in landscape display or portrait display, and the second virtual window is a virtual window of the second electronic device in full screen display”); adjusting the at least one of the plurality of first edges to be parallel to the corresponding one of the plurality of second edges ([0124], “When the application is in a portrait mode, an aspect direction of the image sensor is anticlockwise rotated by 90 degrees, and it needs to clockwise rotate by 90 degrees at the application layer on a basis of an aspect of the image sensor, to ensure that the direction seen by the user is the forward direction”); and maximizing a display of the target operation area on a the display apparatus, by proportionally enlarging the adjusted target operation area until the at least one of the plurality of first edges is matched with the corresponding one of the plurality of second edges, according to a size of the window size of the display apparatus ([0117], “The second electronic device displays the second virtual window on the second display screen in full screen based on the AA Virtual Display, where the second virtual window displays the first application interface”).
In view of the teachings of Malm, Uy and Cheng it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to display information in a full screen display as taught by Cheng, within the information being the robotic map of Malm and Uy, for the purpose of improving a user’s experience by displaying the information in a manner in which the user can easily see it based on the orientation of a device.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein the determining the target operation area based on the mowing operation data comprises:
determining at least one reference operation area based on the operation area parameters, wherein the at least one reference operation area is used to indicate an operation area in which the mowing device performs a current mowing operation (Malm: [0054], “The robotic lawnmower 100 may be arranged to communicate with a user equipment (not shown but will be regarded as being an example of a server, as an example of a connected device) as discussed in relation to FIG. 2 below for providing information regarding status, location, and progress of operation to the user equipment as well as receiving commands or settings from the user equipment. Alternatively or additionally, the robotic lawnmower 100 may be arranged to communicate with a server (referenced 240 in FIG. 2) for providing information regarding status, location, and progress of operation as well as receiving commands or settings”);
determining, when there are a plurality of the reference operation areas, the target operation area based on the plurality of the reference operation areas (Malm: [0097], “receiving 410 a map of the operational area 205 and receiving 420 a first temporary boundary 220-1-4 and receiving 430 a second temporary boundary 220-1-4”); and
determining, when there is a single reference operation area, the target operation area based on the single reference operation area (Malm: [0097], “The method also comprises generating 440 a composite boundary 220C encompassing the first and the second temporary boundaries 220-1-4, wherein the composite boundary 220C is the boundary 220 the robotic work tool 100 operating in the operational area 205”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein the determining, when there are the plurality of the reference operation areas, the target operation area based on a plurality of the reference operation areas comprises:
merging the plurality of the reference operation areas to obtain a first operation area; and determining a minimum bounding rectangle of the first operation area as the target operation area (Malm: [0097], “The method also comprises generating 440 a composite boundary 220C encompassing the first and the second temporary boundaries 220-1-4, wherein the composite boundary 220C is the boundary 220 the robotic work tool 100 operating in the operational area 205”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein the determining the minimum bounding rectangle of the first operation area as the target operation area comprises:
determining a second operation area enclosing the first operation area and having a convex polygon shape (Malm: fig. 3C, 220C line enclosing the two rectangles shown in fig. 3B); determining a plurality of third operation areas, wherein each third operation area covers the second operation area and has a rectangular shape, and each side of the plurality of third operation areas overlaps with the second operation area at least one point; and determining, from the plurality of third operation areas, one of the plurality of third operation areas with a smallest area as the target operation area (Malm: [0083]-[0085], “FIG. 3C shows an example of a composite boundary overlaid over the (sub-) boundaries. As can be seen the composite boundary 220C follows the (sub-) boundaries. In some embodiments, and as shown, the composite boundary is at a distance D from the enclosed boundary. This is to ensure that the composite boundary encloses all the boundaries. The distance may be positive—indicating a distance outside the (union of) the boundaries, as is shown in FIG. 3C. The distance may also be negative—indicating a distance outside the (union of) the boundaries. In some embodiments, the distance is different for different segments. In some embodiments, the distance is different for different types of boundaries as is indicated in FIG. 3C where one distance D1 is used for stay out boundaries, one distance D2 is used for transport paths and one distance D3 is used for work area boundaries. In some alternative or additional embodiments a distance is determined as an absolute distance for example 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, or 1.5 meters or any range there inbetween. In some alternative or additional embodiments a distance is determined as a relative distance for example 1, 5 or 10 percent or any range there inbetween of the size of the enclosed area.”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein the merging the plurality of the reference operation areas to obtain the first operation area comprises:
connecting at least two corners between two adjacent reference operation areas among the plurality of the reference operation areas to obtain a plurality of first line segments; and smoothing the plurality of the first line segments to obtain the first operation area (Malm: fig. 3C, the two rectangles on the sides are connected in the middle area).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein the determining the second operation area enclosing the first operation area and having the convex polygon shape comprises:
when two second interior angles are adjacent to a first interior angle of the first operation area, and both of the two second interior angles are less than 180°, connecting first distal vertices of two edges forming the first interior angle, so as to determine a first edge of the second operation area, wherein the first interior angle is greater than 180° among a plurality of the interior angles of the first operation area, and the first distal vertices refers to vertices located away from the first interior angle; when two second interior angles are adjacent to the first interior angle of the first operation area, and at least one of the two second interior angles is greater than 180°, connecting a first distal vertex of a first line segment forming the first interior angle, to a second distal vertex of a second line segment forming the second interior angle which is greater than 180°, so as to determine a second edge of the second operation area, wherein the first line segment is a line segment away from the second interior angle which is greater than 180°, and the second line segment is a line segment away from the first interior angle, and the second distal vertex refers to a vertex away from the second interior angle; and determining the second operation area based on a plurality of the first edge and the second edge corresponding to a plurality of the interior angles (Malm: [0083], “FIG. 3C shows an example of a composite boundary overlaid over the (sub-) boundaries. As can be seen the composite boundary 220C follows the (sub-) boundaries. In some embodiments, and as shown, the composite boundary is at a distance D from the enclosed boundary. This is to ensure that the composite boundary encloses all the boundaries. The distance may be positive—indicating a distance outside the (union of) the boundaries, as is shown in FIG. 3C. The distance may also be negative—indicating a distance outside the (union of) the boundaries. In some embodiments, the distance is different for different segments. In some embodiments, the distance is different for different types of boundaries as is indicated in FIG. 3C where one distance D1 is used for stay out boundaries, one distance D2 is used for transport paths and one distance D3 is used for work area boundaries”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein the determining the plurality of the third operation areas enclosing the second operation area and having the rectangular shape comprises:
determining a plurality of vertices of the second operation area; and determining a plurality of the third operation areas enclosing the second operation area and having the rectangular shape according to the plurality of the vertices (Malm: fig. 3C, shows three rectangles near D1, D2 and D3).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein before the merging the plurality of the reference operation areas to obtain the first operation area, the method further comprises:
determining whether all of the plurality of the reference operation areas are displayed within the window; and scaling the mowing operation area to display all the plurality of the reference operation areas within the window when not all of the plurality of reference operation areas are displayed within the window (Uy: [0103], “in such embodiments, while mobile display navigation app 95 would have accessed full-size process plant display 204 from memory 90, only the view portion of the display region (e.g., a first view portion of first display region 221 as shown for FIG. 3A or a second view portion of display region 222 as shown for FIG. 3B) would be shown on display screen 84”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein the determining the target operation area based on the single reference operation area comprises:
determining a minimum bounding rectangle of the single reference operation area as the target operation area (Malm: [0080], “a composite boundary 220C is generated automatically as a boundary encompassing all the boundaries. In some embodiments the composite boundary is generated as the union of the (sub-) boundaries. In some embodiments the composite boundary is generated as the envelope of the (sub-) boundaries”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses a mowing system (Malm: figs 1 and 2), comprising, a display apparatus (Malm: [0071], display of the robotic work tool 100), a processor, a memory, a communication interface, and one or more programs stored in the memory and configured to be performed by the processor (Malm: [0051], “The controller 110 may be implemented using instructions that enable hardware functionality, for example, by using executable computer program instructions in a general-purpose or special-purpose processor that may be stored on the memory 120 to be executed by such a processor. The controller 110 is configured to read instructions from the memory 120 and execute these instructions to control the operation of the robotic lawnmower 100 including, but not being limited to, the propulsion and navigation of the robotic lawnmower”), wherein the program comprises instructions for performing the steps of the method for displaying a mowing operation area, the method comprising steps of claim 1 and therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claims 13-19 are system claims drawn to the method of claims 2-8 respectively and are therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein a shape of the target operation area is a first rectangle, the first rectangle comprises the plurality of first edges, a shape of the window is a second rectangle, the second rectangle comprises the plurality of second edges, and the maximizing a display of the target operation area on the display apparatus, by proportionally enlarging the adjusted target operation area until the at least one of the plurality of first edges is matched with the corresponding one of the plurality of second edges, according to a size of the window comprises:
maximizing a display of the target operation area on the display apparatus, by proportionally enlarging the adjusted target operation area until at least two of the plurality of first edges coincide with corresponding two of the plurality of second edges, according to a size of the window (Cheng: [0117], “The second electronic device displays the second virtual window on the second display screen in full screen based on the AA Virtual Display, where the second virtual window displays the first application interface”).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Malm, Uy and Cheng further discloses wherein the target operation area is partially located outside the window, and the adjusting the at least one of the plurality of first edges to be parallel to the corresponding one of the plurality of second edges comprises:
completely locating the target operation area within the window by adjusting the at least one of the plurality of first edges to be parallel to the corresponding one of the plurality of second
edges (Cheng: [0124], “When the application is in a portrait mode, an aspect direction of the image sensor is anticlockwise rotated by 90 degrees, and it needs to clockwise rotate by 90 degrees at the application layer on a basis of an aspect of the image sensor, to ensure that the direction seen by the user is the forward direction”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629