DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “bypass outlet conduit extends tangentially to the injection housing” as claimed in Claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 1
Line 12 recites “the bypass outlet conduit extends tangentially to the injection housing”. It is unclear from the specification how it is possible for the bypass outlet conduit to extend tangentially to the injection housing. A bypass outlet conduit that extends tangentially to the injection housing would be incapable of providing exhaust gas to the injection housing. Therefore, claim 1 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Regarding Claims 2 and 4-20
Claims 2 and 4-20 are rejected insofar as they are dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1
Line 12 recites “the bypass outlet conduit extends tangentially to the injection housing”. It is unclear how it is possible for the bypass outlet conduit to extend tangentially to the injection housing. A bypass outlet conduit that extends tangentially to the injection housing would be incapable of providing exhaust gas to the injection housing.
Regarding Claims 2 and 4-20
Claims 2 and 4-20 are rejected insofar as they are dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upadhyay et al., US 2018/0283248, in view of Miazgowicz et al., US 9,243,550.
Regarding Claim 1
Upadhyay discloses an exhaust gas system (Upadhyay, Figure 1) comprising:
a turbocharger (13) comprising a turbine (116) configured to be coupled to an engine-turbine exhaust gas conduit (36, exhaust manifold), the turbine (116) comprising:
a bypass inlet conduit (90, upstream of (92)) configured to receive exhaust gas provided by the engine-turbine exhaust gas conduit (36) (Upadhyay, Figure 1),
a bypass valve (92, wastegate actuator) coupled to the bypass inlet conduit (90, upstream of (92)) (Upadhyay, Figure 1), and
a bypass outlet conduit (90, downstream of (92)) coupled to the bypass valve (92), the bypass outlet conduit (90, downstream of (92)) centered on a bypass outlet conduit axis; and
an injection housing (104) coupled to the turbine (116), the injection housing (104) configured to receive reductant (via injector (135)) and is defined by a radius R [it is inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the injection housing would be cylindrical and therefore have a radius R] (Upadhyay, Figure 1).
However, Upadhyay does not explicitly disclose that either the bypass outlet conduit extends tangentially to the injection housing, or the bypass outlet conduit extends parallel to a first tangent of the injection housing, wherein the bypass outlet conduit axis is separated from the first tangent by a first radial distance T1, wherein the first radial distance T1 is at most 0.9R.
Miazgowicz teaches a bypass outlet conduit (202) that extends parallel to a first tangent of a passage (142) [the bypass outlet conduit (202) is coupled tangentially to a circumference (305) of the passage (142) and is therefore parallel to a first tangent of the passage (142) (Miazgowicz, Figure 3)], and that the bypass outlet conduit axis is separated from the first tangent by a first radial distance T1, wherein the first radial distance T1 is at most 0.9R (Miazgowicz, Column 6, Lines 23-44, Figure 4).
At the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the bypass outlet conduit of Upadhyay such that the bypass outlet conduit extends parallel to a first tangent of the injection housing, and that the bypass outlet conduit axis is separated from the first tangent by a first radial distance T1, wherein the first radial distance T1 is at most 0.9R as is taught by Miazgowicz in order to provide the advantage of producing a swirl within the injection housing.
Regarding Claim 4
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 1, wherein the injection housing is cylindrical [it is inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the injection housing would be cylindrical] (Upadhyay, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 1. Upadhyay further discloses that the bypass outlet conduit (90, downstream of (92)) is coupled to the injection housing (104 (Upadhyay, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 1. Upadhyay further discloses that the injection housing (104) is centered on an injection housing axis (Hx, annotated portion of Figure 1 of Upadhyay below) (Upadhyay, annotated portion of Figure 1 below); the injection housing axis (Hx) is intersected by a vertical axis (Vx, annotated portion of Figure 1 of Upadhyay below) that is orthogonal to the injection housing axis (Hx) (Upadhyay, annotated portion of Figure 1 below); the vertical axis (Vx) extends through a top surface of the injection housing (104) (Upadhyay, annotated portion of Figure 1 below); and as Miazgowicz teaches that the bypass outlet conduit axis is not parallel to the vertical axis (Miazgowicz, Column 6, Liens 9-44, Figures 4-5), it would have been obvious that the combination of Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teaches that the bypass outlet conduit axis is not parallel to the vertical axis to tailor the direction of the bypass gasses.
Figure 1: Annotated Portion of Figure 1 of Upadhyay
Regarding Claim 8
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 1. Upadhyay further discloses that the injection housing (104) is centered on an injection housing axis (Hx, annotated portion of Figure 1 of Upadhyay above) (Upadhyay, annotated portion of Figure 1 above); the injection housing axis (Hx) is intersected by a vertical axis (Vx, annotated portion of Figure 1 of Upadhyay above) that is orthogonal to the injection housing axis (Hx) (Upadhyay, annotated portion of Figure 1 above); the vertical axis (Vx) extends through a top surface of the injection housing (104) (Upadhyay, annotated portion of Figure 1 above); and as Miazgowicz teaches that the bypass outlet conduit axis is parallel to a vertical axis of the passage (142) (Miazgowicz, Column 6, Lines 9-44, Figures 4-5), it would be obvious that the combination of Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teaches that the bypass outlet conduit axis is parallel to a vertical axis to tailor the direction of the bypass gasses.
Regarding Claim 9
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 1. Upadhyay further discloses a dosing module (135) coupled to the injection housing (104), the dosing module (135) having an injector (135) configured to provide the reductant into the injection housing (104), the injector (135) being centered on an injector axis (Upadhyay, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 17
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 9. Upadhyay further discloses that the injector (135) is downstream of the bypass outlet conduit (90, downstream of (92)) (Upadhyay, Figure 1).
Claim(s) 2, 6, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upadhyay et al., US 2018/0283248, in view of Miazgowicz et al., US 9,243,550, and further in view of Ogilvie, WO 2022/129923 A1.
Regarding Claim 2
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 1. However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet conduit are integrated in the turbine.
Ogilvie teaches a turbine of a turbocharger (Ogilvie, Column 10, Line 33) that includes a bypass conduit [transports bypass flow (520a, 520b)] and a bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 28 – Page 29, Line 1, Figure 7a). Ogilvie further teaches that the bypass conduit transports the bypass flow (520a, 520b) between the diffuser (504) and the turbine housing (506) to divert flow around the turbine wheel (508) via the bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] [therefore, the bypass conduit and bypass valve are integrated in the turbine] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 34 – Page 29, Line 7, Figure 7a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the bypass structure of Upadhyay such that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet conduit are integrated in the turbine as is taught by Ogilvie, since an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 6
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 1. However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose that the bypass outlet conduit is integrated within the turbine.
Ogilvie teaches a turbine of a turbocharger (Ogilvie, Column 10, Line 33) that includes a bypass conduit [transports bypass flow (520a, 520b)] and a bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 28 – Page 29, Line 1, Figure 7a). Ogilvie further teaches that the bypass conduit transports the bypass flow (520a, 520b) between the diffuser (504) and the turbine housing (506) to divert flow around the turbine wheel (508) via the bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] [therefore, the bypass conduit and bypass valve are integrated in the turbine] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 34 – Page 29, Line 7, Figure 7a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the bypass structure of Upadhyay such that the bypass outlet conduit is integrated within the turbine as is taught by Ogilvie, since an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 18
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 17. However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet valve are integrated in the turbine.
Ogilvie teaches a turbine of a turbocharger (Ogilvie, Column 10, Line 33) that includes a bypass conduit [transports bypass flow (520a, 520b)] and a bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 28 – Page 29, Line 1, Figure 7a). Ogilvie further teaches that the bypass conduit transports the bypass flow (520a, 520b) between the diffuser (504) and the turbine housing (506) to divert flow around the turbine wheel (508) via the bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] [therefore, the bypass conduit and bypass valve are integrated in the turbine] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 34 – Page 29, Line 7, Figure 7a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the bypass structure of Upadhyay such that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet conduit are integrated in the turbine as is taught by Ogilvie, since an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Claim(s) 10, 12-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upadhyay et al., US 2018/0283248, in view of Miazgowicz et al., US 9,243,550, and further in view of Greber et al., US 2017/0089246.
Regarding Claim 10
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 9. However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose that the bypass outlet conduit axis extends parallel to the injector axis.
Greber teaches a dosing module (15) coupled to the injection housing and configured to dose reactant into the injection housing (Greber, Figures 19-22), wherein an injector axis (axis from dosing module (15)) intersects the injection housing axis (L) (Greber, [0216], Figures 19-21).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Upadhyay/Miazgowicz such that the injector axis intersects the injection housing axis as is taught by Greber as being well known in the art in order to efficiently mix reductant with exhaust gas upstream of the SCR to optimize the performance of the SCR. Therefore, the combination of Upadhyay, Miazgowicz, and Greber teaches that the bypass outlet conduit axis extends parallel to the injector axis.
Regarding Claim 12
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 9. Miazgowicz further teaches that the bypass outlet conduit axis (303) is provided at an angle (302) less than, equal to, or greater than substantially 90 degrees (Miazgowicz, Column 6, Lines 9-22, Figure 4). However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose that the bypass outlet conduit axis intersects the injector axis and is separated from the injector axis by a radial angle α.
Greber teaches a dosing module (15) coupled to the injection housing and configured to dose reactant into the injection housing (Greber, Figures 19-22), wherein an injector axis (axis from dosing module (15)) intersects the injection housing axis (L) (Greber, [0216], Figures 19-21).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Upadhyay/Miazgowicz such that the injector axis intersects the injection housing axis as is taught by Greber as being well known in the art in order to efficiently mix reductant with exhaust gas upstream of the SCR to optimize the performance of the SCR. Therefore, the combination of Upadhyay, Miazgowicz, and Greber teaches that the bypass outlet conduit axis intersects the injector axis and is separated from the injector axis by a radial angle α, as the two axes are not in parallel with each other they would intersect.
Regarding Claim 13
Upadhyay, Miazgowicz, and Greber teach the exhaust gas system of claim 12. While Upadhyay, Miazgowicz, Greber do not explicitly disclose that the radial angle is between 45 degrees and 180 degrees, Miazgowicz teaches that the bypass outlet conduit axis (303) is provided at an angle (302) less than, equal to, or greater than substantially 90 degrees (Miazgowicz, Column 6, Lines 9-22, Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the radial angle between 45 and 180 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 15
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 9. Upadhyay further discloses that the injection housing (104) is centered on an injection housing axis (Hx, annotated portion of Figure 1 of Upadhyay above). However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose that the injector axis intersects the injection housing axis.
Greber teaches an injection housing centered on an injection housing axis (L); a dosing module (15) coupled to the injection housing and configured to dose reactant into the injection housing (Greber, Figures 19-22), wherein an injector axis (axis from dosing module (15)) intersects the injection housing axis (L) (Greber, [0216], Figures 19-21).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Upadhyay/Miazgowicz such that the injector axis intersects the injection housing axis as is taught by Greber as being well known in the art in order to efficiently mix reductant with exhaust gas upstream of the SCR to optimize the performance of the SCR.
Regarding Claim 16
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 9. Upadhyay further discloses that the injection housing (104) is centered on an injection housing axis (Hx, annotated portion of Figure 1 of Upadhyay above). However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose that the injector axis does not intersect the injection housing axis.
Greber teaches an injection housing centered on an injection housing axis (L); a dosing module (15) coupled to the injection housing and configured to dose reactant into the injection housing (Greber, Figures 19-22), wherein an injector axis (axis from dosing module (15)) does not intersect the injection housing axis (L) (Greber, [0216], Figures 20 and 22).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Upadhyay/Miazgowicz such that the injector axis does not intersect the injection housing axis as is taught by Greber as being well known in the art in order to efficiently mix reductant with exhaust gas upstream of the SCR to optimize the performance of the SCR.
11. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upadhyay et al., US 2018/0283248, in view of Miazgowicz et al., US 9,243,550, and further in view of Hepburn et al., US 2011/0146267.
Regarding Claim 19
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 9. However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose the injector is upstream of the bypass outlet conduit.
Hepburn teaches a reductant injector (80) upstream of a bypass outlet conduit (Hepburn, [0025], Figure 1).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Upadhyay/Miazgowicz such that the injector is upstream of the bypass outlet conduit as Greber teaches that it well known in the art to inject reductant further upstream of a SCR catalyst in order to improve mixing of reductant with exhaust gases.
Claim(s) 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upadhyay et al., US 2018/0283248, in view of Miazgowicz et al., US 9,243,550, in view of Greber et al., US 2017/0089246, and further in view of Ogilvie, WO 2022/129923 A1.
Regarding Claim 11
Upadhyay, Miazgowicz, and Greber teach the exhaust gas system of claim 10. However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet conduit are integrated in the turbine.
Ogilvie teaches a turbine of a turbocharger (Ogilvie, Column 10, Line 33) that includes a bypass conduit [transports bypass flow (520a, 520b)] and a bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 28 – Page 29, Line 1, Figure 7a). Ogilvie further teaches that the bypass conduit transports the bypass flow (520a, 520b) between the diffuser (504) and the turbine housing (506) to divert flow around the turbine wheel (508) via the bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] [therefore, the bypass conduit and bypass valve are integrated in the turbine] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 34 – Page 29, Line 7, Figure 7a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the bypass structure of Upadhyay such that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet conduit are integrated in the turbine as is taught by Ogilvie, since an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 14
Upadhyay, Miazgowicz, and Greber teach the exhaust gas system of claim 13. However, Upadhyay and Miazgowicz do not explicitly disclose that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet conduit are integrated in the turbine.
Ogilvie teaches a turbine of a turbocharger (Ogilvie, Column 10, Line 33) that includes a bypass conduit [transports bypass flow (520a, 520b)] and a bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 28 – Page 29, Line 1, Figure 7a). Ogilvie further teaches that the bypass conduit transports the bypass flow (520a, 520b) between the diffuser (504) and the turbine housing (506) to divert flow around the turbine wheel (508) via the bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] [therefore, the bypass conduit and bypass valve are integrated in the turbine] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 34 – Page 29, Line 7, Figure 7a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the bypass structure of Upadhyay such that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet conduit are integrated in the turbine as is taught by Ogilvie, since an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upadhyay et al., US 2018/0283248, in view of Miazgowicz et al., US 9,243,550, in view of Hepburn et al., US 2011/0146267, and further in view of Ogilvie, WO 2022/129923 A1.
Regarding Claim 20
Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the exhaust gas system of claim 19. However, Upadhyay, Miazgowicz, and Hepburn do not explicitly disclose that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet conduit are integrated in the turbine.
Ogilvie teaches a turbine of a turbocharger (Ogilvie, Column 10, Line 33) that includes a bypass conduit [transports bypass flow (520a, 520b)] and a bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 28 – Page 29, Line 1, Figure 7a). Ogilvie further teaches that the bypass conduit transports the bypass flow (520a, 520b) between the diffuser (504) and the turbine housing (506) to divert flow around the turbine wheel (508) via the bypass valve [wastegate (not shown)] [therefore, the bypass conduit and bypass valve are integrated in the turbine] (Ogilvie, Page 28, Line 34 – Page 29, Line 7, Figure 7a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the bypass structure of Upadhyay such that the bypass inlet conduit, bypass valve, and bypass outlet conduit are integrated in the turbine as is taught by Ogilvie, since an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objection(s) has been withdrawn. However, Applicant’s amendments to the claims have initiated a new drawing objection.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objection(s) has been withdrawn. However, Applicant’s amendments to the claims have initiated new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Applicant's arguments, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Miazgowicz does not disclose the distinguishing features over Upadhyay as Miazgowicz teaches that compressed air in an exhaust gas system can be re-introduced into a compressor inlet in a tangential manner (Miazgowicz contains no teachings regarding how exhaust gases on the turbine side of an engine system should be handled). The Examiner is not convinced. Miazgowicz is relied upon to teach a bypass flow at an axis parallel to a first tangent in order to provide the advantage of producing a swirl within the injection housing. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The Applicant further argues that the operating conditions of Upadhyay and Miazgowicz are different and there is no suggestion in Miazgowicz that the operating conditions of the exhaust gases on the turbine side of the engine system require tangential delivery. The Examiner is not convinced. The conditions of Miazgowicz may not require tangential delivery, however, providing tangential delivery to enhance swirling within the system of Upadhyay would improve exhaust gas performance.
The Applicant further argues that Miazgowicz does not motivate the skilled person to modify Upadhyay as claimed, and would instead modify Upadhyay to include the compressor re-circulation arrangement of Miazgowicz. The Examiner is not convinced. Miazgowicz is relied upon to teach a bypass flow at an axis parallel to a first tangent in order to provide the advantage of producing a swirl within the injection housing. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The Applicant further argues that Ogilvie, Greber, and Hepburn do not cure the aforementioned deficiencies with regard to Upadhyay and Miazgowicz. Ogilvie, Greber, and Hepburn are not required to cure deficiencies as Upadhyay and Miazgowicz teach the claimed limitations.
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741