Claims 36-42 are presented for examination.
Applicants’ drawings, information disclosure statements, and preliminary amendment filed August 14, 2025 have been received and entered.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,874,647 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented application teaches an immediate release pharmaceutical composition comprising rifaximin, HPMC-AS, poloxamer 407, croscarmellose sodium, microcrystalline cellulose, colloidal silicon dioxide, and magnesium stearate (A product), and the present application teaches a method of use claims containing the pharmaceutical composition in an immediate release tablet unit dosage form comprising an amorphous sold dispersion comprising rifaximin and an inert carrier matrix (the inert carrier is hydrophilic and polymer(s)), and one or more ingredients selected from the groups consisting of a dissolution enhancer, a filler, a glidant, and a lubricant of the patented application therein which makes the pharmaceutical composition claims of the patented application an obvious variation of the present claims.
Note in the patented application, HPMC-AS is a hydrophilic polymer (an inert carrier). Also note in the patented application that the rifaximin, polymer and menthol are mixed and then spray dried.
Claims 36-42 are not allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,129,817 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented application teaches a method of preventing complications of liver disease in a subject having liver cirrhosis comprising administering to the subject a pharmaceutical composition comprising from about 16 wt % to about 18 wt % rifaximin; from about 16 wt % to about 18 wt % HPMC-AS; from about 1 wt % to about 2 wt % poloxamer 407; from about 8 wt % to about 10 wt % croscarmellose sodium; from about 49 wt % to about 51 wt % microcrystalline cellulose; from about 0.15 wt % to about 0.25 wt % colloidal silicon dioxide; and from about 0.45 wt % to about 0.55 wt % magnesium stearate, wherein the total amount of rifaximin is 40 mg wherein the pharmaceutical composition is an immediate release composition in the form of a tablet, and the present application teaches a method of preventing complications of liver disease in a subject having liver cirrhosis comprising administering to the subject an immediate-release tablet comprising: (a) an amorphous solid dispersion comprising 40 mg of rifaximin and an inert carrier matrix; and (b) one or more ingredients selected from the group consisting of a dissolution enhancer, a filler, a glidant, and a lubricant with same complications of liver disease as the patented application.
Note in the patented application, HPMC-AS is a hydrophilic polymer (an inert carrier). Also note in the patented application that the rifaximin, polymer and menthol are mixed and then spray dried.
Claims 36-42 are not allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,311,521 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented application teaches a method of preventing complications of liver disease in a subject having liver cirrhosis comprising administering to the subject an immediate release pharmaceutical composition comprising from about 16 wt % to about 18 wt % rifaximin; from about 16 wt % to about 18 wt % HPMC-AS; wherein the total amount of rifaximin is 40 mg wherein the pharmaceutical composition is in the form of a tablet, and the present application teaches a method of preventing complications of liver disease in a subject having liver cirrhosis comprising administering to the subject an immediate-release tablet comprising: (a) an amorphous solid dispersion comprising 40 mg of rifaximin and an inert carrier matrix; and (b) one or more ingredients selected from the group consisting of a dissolution enhancer, a filler, a glidant, and a lubricant with same complications of liver disease as the patented application.
Note in the patented application, HPMC-AS is a hydrophilic polymer (an inert carrier). Also note in the patented application that the rifaximin, polymer and menthol are mixed and then spray dried.
Claims 36-42 are not allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,660,292 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented application teaches an immediate release pharmaceutical composition comprising rifaximin, and HPMC-AS in tablet form and the present application teaches a pharmaceutical composition in immediate release tablet unit dosage form comprising an amorphous sold dispersion comprising rifaximin and an inert carrier matrix (the inert carrier is hydrophilic and polymer(s)), and one or more ingredients selected from the groups consisting of a dissolution enhancer, a filler, a glidant, and a lubricant.
Note in the patented application, HPMC-AS is a hydrophilic polymer (an inert carrier). Note in the patented application, the immediate release pharmaceutical composition also contains one or more ingredients selected from the groups consisting of a dissolution enhancer, a filler, a glidant, and a lubricant.
Also note in the patented application that the rifaximin, polymer and menthol are mixed and then spray dried.
Claims 36-42 are not allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of copending Application No. 18/958,759 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising rifaximin, HPMC-AS, poloxamer, croscarmellose sodium, microcrystalline cellulose, colloidal silicon dioxide, and magnesium stearate in tablet form and is immediate release (A product), and the present application teaches a method of use claims containing the instant pharmaceutical composition of the copending application therein which makes the composition claims of the copending application an obvious variation of the present claims.
Note in the copending application, HPMC-AS is a hydrophilic polymer (an inert carrier). Note in the copending application, the immediate release pharmaceutical composition also contains one or more ingredients selected from the groups consisting of a dissolution enhancer, a filler, a glidant, and a lubricant.
Also note in the copending application that the rifaximin, polymer and menthol are mixed and then spray dried.
Claims 36-42 are not allowed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 36-42 of copending Application No. 19/299,544 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application teaches a pharmaceutical composition in an immediate release tablet comprising: (a) an amorphous solid dispersion comprising 40 mg of rifaximin and an inert carrier matrix; and (b) one or more ingredients selected from the groups consisting of a dissolution enhancer, a filler, a glidant, and a lubricant (A product), and the present application teaches a method of use claims containing the instant pharmaceutical composition of the copending application therein which makes the composition claims of the copending application an obvious variation of the present claims.
Note in the copending application, HPMC-AS is a hydrophilic polymer (an inert carrier). Note in the copending application, the immediate release pharmaceutical composition also contains one or more ingredients selected from the groups consisting of a dissolution enhancer, a filler, a glidant, and a lubricant.
Also note in the copending application that the rifaximin, polymer and menthol are mixed and then spray dried.
Claims 36-42 are not allowed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 36 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AU 2016203925 A1, hereby known as Jahagirdar et al.
Jahagirdar et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising rifaximin with at least one or two entities wherein one entity is an immediate release (see the abstract). Note page 2, line 28 teaches the composition used to increase patient compliance to the treatment of hepatic encephalopathy (a complication of liver disease), also page 39, claim 19. Note page 10, lines 12-16 teaches the solubilizing agent, also known as dissolution enhancer such as surfactants and cyclodextrins. Note page 11, lines 1-2 teaches the pharmaceutically acceptable excipients include by are not limited to binders, diluents, lubricants, glidants, surface-active agents (also page 38, claim 9). Note page 11, lines 7-14 teaches the binders such as microcrystalline cellulose, and inert carrier matrix such as hydrophilic polymers such as HPMC and povidone. Note page 11, lines 16-19 teaches the fillers; lines 21-23 teaches the lubricants; and lines 25-28 teaches the glidants. Note page 12, lines 9-10 the composition is formulated into tablets. Note page 39, claim 16 teaches the dosage amount of rifaximin with a range of 20 to 2400 mg (40 mg of the present application’s dosage amount is within the range).
Clearly, the cited reference teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising 40 mg of rifaximin and an inert carrier matrix such as hydrophilic polymers (HPMC and povidone) in an immediate-release tablet to treat hepatic encephalopathy; therefore, applicants’ instant method is unpatentable.
Note treatment can provide prevention because treating existing conditions halts progression and complication, improving long-term health and preventing further spread or severity. Treatment effectively prevents the worsening, recurrence, or spread of the complication, making to a critical part of overall health management.
Claims 36 and 38-41 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AU 2016203925 A1, hereby known as Jahagirdar et al. in view of Bajaj, “Review article: potential mechanisms of action of rifaximin in the management of hepatic encephalopathy and other complications of cirrhosis”, Alimentary Pharmacology & Therapeutics, Vol. 43, No. Supplement 1, pages 11-26 (2016).
Jahagirdar et al. were discussed above supra a pharmaceutical composition comprising rifaximin with at least one or two entities wherein one entity is an immediate release (see the abstract). Note page 2, line 28 teaches the composition used to increase patient compliance to the treatment of hepatic encephalopathy (a complication of liver disease), also page 39, claim 19. The references also taught one or more ingredients selected from the group consisting of a dissolution enhancer, a filler, a glidant, and a lubricant. Note the immediate release composition is formulated into tablets and the active agent, rifaximin’s dosage amount taught on page 39, claim 16 teaches the dosage amount of rifaximin with a range of 20 to 2400 mg (40 mg of the present application’s dosage amount is within the range).
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach rifaximin prevents other complications of liver disease in a subject having liver cirrhosis. However, the secondary reference, Bjaj, teaches on page 12, second column, first paragraph, teaches prophylactic therapy is recommended in patients who have had a previous episode of hepatic encephalopathy (HE). Note page 12, second column, third paragraph teaches the role of rifaximin in the management of hepatic encephalopathy and other complications of cirrhosis. Also note page 23, under FUTURE DIRECTIONS, lines 6-13, clearly teaches a phrase 2, dose-ranging study is underway to assess a new formulation (soluble solid dispersion) for the prevention of complications of liver cirrhosis, including efficacy in reducing the rates of hospitalization attributed to complications of liver disease, all-cause mortality rates and incidences of overt hepatic encephalopathy (H), spontaneous bacterial peritonitis (SBP), variceal bleeding and hepatorenal syndrome (HRS).
Claims 36 and 38-41 are not allowed.
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629