DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art reference Pitschet’s or Pitsch et al., Examiner notes that applicant appears to argue citations that were not used in the previous rejection and cites Columns and lines that are unclear what the applicant is referring to since it is a publication reference that uses paragraph numbers and not Columns or lines.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the prior art reference does not disclose a faucet body with an inlet pipe as claimed, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted above applicant does not argue any of the previous citations used in the previous office action to cite the faucet body, but instead appears to argue their own interpretation which is considered moot. The prior art does disclose the claimed inlet pipe as is rejected below.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the prior art reference does not disclose a faucet body having a bottom portion connected to the water inlet pipe connecting component and outlet pipe, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted above applicant does not argue any of the previous citations used in the previous office action to cite the faucet body, but instead appears to argue their own interpretation which is considered moot. The prior art does disclose the claimed faucet body bottom portion as is rejected below.
In regards to applicant’s argument of distinction 3, it is unclear what the applicant is referring to since no such rejection was made. The prior art reference Ding was never used to teach a mounting ring.
Since the following grounds of rejection are being maintained, the instant Office action has been made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7-8, 10-11, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “a faucet body” and “a water inlet pipe” appear to be introduced as separate independent limitations of the valve body, but it is unclear how the two limitations can be independent limitations since applicant claims “the water inlet pipe is connected between the faucet body and the water inlet pipe connecting component” and also claims “the water inlet pipe connecting component is connected to a bottom portion of the faucet body”, which is unclear how the inlet pipe connecting component can be connected to a bottom portion of the faucet body if the water inlet pipe is between the two limitations. For the purpose of the examination it will be interpreted as it is disclosed in applicant’s specification wherein the faucet body and inlet pipe are a single integral component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pitsch et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0220439).
Regarding claim 1, Pitsch et al. disclose a single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10) of a faucet (30), comprising: a faucet body (cited below); a water outlet pipe (76); a water inlet pipe (pipe structure of chamber 80 as recited in paragraph 62, Figure 6b); and a water inlet pipe connecting component (integrally connected threaded ring at 88); wherein the faucet body (cited below) defines a first water inlet channel (top channel portion of 80) and a first water outlet channel (86); wherein the water outlet pipe (76) is connected to the faucet body (Fig. 6b), and the water outlet pipe (76) comprises a second water outlet channel (cited below) communicated with the first water outlet channel (Fig, 6b); wherein the water inlet pipe (Fig. 6b) is connected between the faucet body (cited below) and the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88); the water inlet pipe (Fig. 6b) comprises a second water inlet channel (lower channel portion of 80) communicated with the first water inlet channel (Fig. 6b); wherein the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88) and the water outlet pipe (76) are connected to a bottom portion (paragraph 64, Fig. 6b) of the faucet body (cited below), and the water outlet pipe (76) is partially disposed (Fig. 6b) below the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88); wherein the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88) comprises a connecting ring (ring of threads at 88) and a connecting thread (88), the connecting ring is hollow (Fig. 6b), the connecting thread (88) is disposed on an inner surface of the connecting ring (Fig. 6b), the connecting ring and the connecting thread (88) are made of metal (integrally form metal structure, paragraph 60), the connecting ring (at 88) is disposed (Fig. 6b) on the faucet body (cited below), and an internal space (cited below) of the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88) is communicated with the second water inlet channel (lower channel portion of 80); wherein the single coupled valve body comprises a mounting component (54), and the mounting component (54) comprises a mounting ring (Fig. 6b) and mounting threads (paragraph 60); wherein the mounting ring is hollow (Fig. 6b), the mounting threads (paragraph 60) are disposed on an outer surface (62) of the mounting ring, the mounting ring is connected to the faucet body (cited below) and is disposed around the faucet body (cited below), the mounting component (54) and the faucet body (cited below) jointly define a valve core mounting groove (72), and the valve core mounting groove (72) communicates the first water inlet channel (top channel portion of 80) with the first water outlet channel (86); wherein the mounting component (54) comprises a first mounting portion (cited below), a second mounting portion (Cited below), and a third mounting portion (cited below); wherein the first mounting portion (cited below), the second mounting portion (cited below), and the third mounting portion (cited below) are sequentially disposed (Fig. 6b); wherein the first mounting portion (cited below) is disposed (Fig. 6b) above the faucet body (Cited below), the first mounting portion (cited below) and the faucet body (cited below) jointly define the valve core mounting groove (72), the second mounting portion (cited below) is connected to the faucet body (cited below), the third mounting portion (cited below) is disposed below the faucet body (cited below), and the third mounting portion (cited below) and the faucet body (cited below) jointly define a groove structure (cited below).
Regarding claim 7, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein the faucet body (cited above) and the water outlet pipe (76) are made of metal (paragraphs 60 and 65).
Regarding claim 8, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein the faucet body (cited above) and the water outlet pipe (76) are welded together or integrally formed (integrally formed, paragraph 64); and/or the faucet body (cited above) and the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88) are directly or indirectly welded together (integrally formed), or the faucet body (cited above) and the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88) are integrally formed (Fig. 6b).
Regarding claim 10, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein an inner diameter (Fig. 6b) of the connecting ring (at 88) is greater than an inner diameter (Fig. 6b) of the water inlet pipe (at portion 84); and/or (interpreted as or) an outer diameter (Fig. 6b) of the connecting ring (at 88) is greater than an outer diameter (Fig. 6b) of the water inlet pipe.
Regarding claim 11, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein the faucet body (cited above) and the water outlet pipe (76) are welded together or integrally formed (paragraph 64); and/or the water inlet pipe (74) and the faucet body are welded together or integrally formed (paragraph 64); and/or the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88) and the water inlet pipe (at 80) are welded together or integrally formed (paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 16, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein the mounting threads (paragraph 60) comprise a first thread (threads on the cited first mounting portion) and a second thread (threads on the cited second mounting portion), and the first thread and the second thread are separated by a blocking structure (cited above).
Regarding claim 17, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein a third thread (inner threads cited above) is disposed on an inner surface (Fig. 6b) of the first mounting portion (integrally connected to form the cited first mounting portion).
Regarding claim 18, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein the faucet body (cited above) and the mounting component are made of metal (paragraph 60), and the faucet body and the mounting component are welded together or integrally formed (integrally formed, Fig. 6b).
Regarding claim 19, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88) is connected to a central area (at 80, Fig. 6b) of the faucet body (cited above), and the water outlet pipe (76) is connected to a non-central area (Fig. 6b) of the faucet body.
Regarding claim 20, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein the water outlet pipe (76) is made of metal (paragraph 65); wherein a relationship between an outer surface of the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88) and an outer surface of the water outlet pipe (76) comprises any of the following: the outer surface of the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88) and the outer surface of the water outlet pipe (76) are spaced apart (Fig. 6B) from each other; the outer surface of the water inlet pipe connecting component is attached to the outer surface of the water outlet pipe; the outer surface of the water inlet pipe connecting component is directly connected to the outer surface of the water outlet pipe; and the outer surface of the water inlet pipe connecting component is connected to the outer surface of the water outlet pipe through metal reinforcing ribs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitsch et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0220439) in view of Ding (U.S. Patent No. 12,116,759).
Regarding claim 14, Pitsch et al. disclose the single coupled valve body (Figs. 1-10), wherein the faucet body (cited above) is limited within the mounting ring (ring of 62), and the mounting ring (Fig. 6b) is disposed around a first portion of the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 88); wherein the mounting ring (ring of 62) is disposed around a first portion (Fig. 6b) of the water outlet pipe (76) to enable a second portion (Fig. 6b) of the water outlet pipe (76) being exposed outside the mounting ring (Fig. 6b), but lacks disclosure of a second portion of the water inlet pipe connecting component being exposed outside the mounting ring.
Ding teaches a single coupled valve body (2) comprising a faucet body (2134) connected to a mounting a ring (214), wherein the faucet body (2134) has an inlet pipe connecting component (at 2131, Fig. 3), and wherein the mounting ring (214) is disposed around a first portion (Fig. 3) of the inlet pipe connecting component (at 2131) to enable a second portion (Fig. 3) of the water inlet pipe connecting component (at 2131) to be exposed outside (Fig. 3) the mounting ring (214).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design of the water inlet pipe connecting component and mounting ring of Pitsch et al, to a design exposing a portion of the water inlet pipe connecting component as taught by Ding, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753