CTNF 19/299,824 CTNF 80433 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This communication is in reply to 08/26/2025. Claimed priority is granted from Application Number15/860,301, now Patent Number 10644984, with a priority date of 12/23/2014. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2025 and 08/13/2026 was filed on and after the mailing date of the original application on 10/14/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12 and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMaughan et al., US 2014/0237047 A1 (hereinafter McM), in view of Lakshmanamurthy et al., US 2013/0083794 A1 (hereinafter Lak) . Regarding claim 1, the combination McM-Lak discloses: An apparatus comprising: processing circuitry to ( McM; 0023 and 0024; 0033, and 0038; Figs. 8 and 9 ): broadcast a protocol message having instructions to computing devices ( McM, 0040, 0017 and 0038); broadcast transport of a command for execution by the relevant noses ); and receive an aggregated status message from an aggregated computing device associated with and representing the computing devices ( McM, 0023-0024 aggregates results at the command server. The receipt from a separate aggregation intermediary is missing I the teaching of McM. However, Lak teaches intermediary collection, aggregation, and return to the requester; see 0035, 0039-0044; Figs 5-7 ), wherein the aggregated status message identifies passing or failing of execution of the instructions by the computing devices ( McM, 0050 expressly returns command-execution success/failure; the combined completion status is returned by Lak and is used as aa retained modification .) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place McM’s software response-grouping function in an intervening network computing node, which returns the grouped execution-status results to the command server and retain McM’s result semantics and node identifiers. Lak expressly moves aggregation into an intermediary to reduce requester complexity and response traffic. An artisan in the art would realize that placement would have been offered the concrete benefit of reducing messages and aggregation work reaching MCM’s command server. It would have predictably worked because the intermediary processes the same returned results before forwarding them. By this rationale, claim 1 is rejected. Regarding claims 2, 5-7, 10-12, and 15, the combination McM-Lak discloses: 2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: identify, based on the aggregated status message, first one or more computing devices that passed at executing the instructions; and identify, based on the aggregated status message, second one or more of the computing devices that failed at executing the instructions ( Identify successful and failed devices. McM, 0023-0024, and 0050 preserves device identities with execution results. Retain that information through Lak’s intermediary ). 5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is coupled to a memory and comprises one or more of application processing circuitry or graphics processing circuitry ( Memory coupled application or graphics processing circuitry. Lak 0015, 0024-0025; Fig. 3 supplies processor/memory hardware. Using its programmable processor implementation to execute McM’s software supplies the application-processing alternative ). 6. A method comprising ( McM; 0023 and 0024; 0033, and 0038; Figs. 8 and 9 ): broadcasting, by a computing device, a protocol message having instructions to computing devices ( McM, 0023-0024 aggregates results at the command server. The receipt from a separate aggregation intermediary is missing I the teaching of McM. However, Lak teaches intermediary collection, aggregation, and return to the requester; see 0035, 0039-0044; Figs 5-7 ); and receiving an aggregated status message from an aggregated computing device associated with and representing the computing devices ( McM, 0023-0024 aggregates results at the command server. The receipt from a separate aggregation intermediary is missing I the teaching of McM. However, Lak teaches intermediary collection, aggregation, and return to the requester; see 0035, 0039-0044; Figs 5-7 ), wherein the aggregated status message identifies passing or failing of execution of the instructions by the computing devices ( McM, 0050 expressly returns command-execution success/failure; the combined completion status is returned by Lak and is used as aa retained modification .) 7. The method of claim 6, further comprising: identifying, based on the aggregated status message, first one or more computing devices that passed at executing the instructions; and identifying, based on the aggregated status message, second one or more of the computing devices that failed at executing the instructions ( Identify successful and failed devices. McM, 0023-0024, and 0050 preserves device identities with execution results. Retain that information through Lak’s intermediary ). 10. The method of claim 6, wherein the computing device comprises processing circuitry coupled to a memory, the processing circuitry having one or more of application processing circuitry or graphics processing circuitry ( Memory coupled application or graphics processing circuitry. Lak 0015, 0024-0025; Fig. 3 supplies processor/memory hardware. Using its programmable processor implementation to execute McM’s software supplies the application-processing alternative ). 11. At least one computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed, cause a computing device to perform operations comprising (McM, 0017 and 0024 supplies software execution; Lak, 0053, extraction-bearing non-transitory storage): broadcasting a protocol message having instructions to computing devices ( McM, 0023-0024 aggregates results at the command server. The receipt from a separate aggregation intermediary is missing I the teaching of McM. However, Lak teaches intermediary collection, aggregation, and return to the requester; see 0035, 0039-0044; Figs 5-7 ); and receiving an aggregated status message from an aggregated computing device associated with and representing the computing devices ( McM, 0023-0024 aggregates results at the command server. The receipt from a separate aggregation intermediary is missing I the teaching of McM. However, Lak teaches intermediary collection, aggregation, and return to the requester; see 0035, 0039-0044; Figs 5-7 ), wherein the aggregated status message identifies passing or failing of execution of the instructions by the computing devices ( McM, 0050 expressly returns command-execution success/failure; the combined completion status is returned by Lak and is used as aa retained modification .) 12. The computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: identifying, based on the aggregated status message, first one or more computing devices that passed at executing the instructions; and identifying, based on the aggregated status message, second one or more of the computing devices that failed at executing the instructions ( Identify successful and failed devices. McM, 0023-0024, and 0050 preserves device identities with execution results. Retain that information through Lak’s intermediary ). 15. The computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the computing device comprises processing circuitry coupled to a memory, the processing circuitry having one or more of application processing circuitry or graphics processing circuitry ( Memory coupled application or graphics processing circuitry. Lak 0015, 0024-0025; Fig. 3 supplies processor/memory hardware. Using its programmable processor implementation to execute McM’s software supplies the application-processing alternative ) . Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-34 AIA Claim s 1, 6, 11 and 2, 7, 12 are respectively rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1, 7, 17, and 6, 12, 22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,860,153 B2 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach command-device, medium, and method claims include broadcast and aggregated execution status, with additional caching and specific success/failure encoding . 08-34 AIA Claim s 7, 14 and 20 are respectively rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 2, 9, 16 and 6, 13, 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,407,596 B2 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because : the y both teach closely corresponding broadcast/receive arrangements, additionally requiring response retrieval and specified aggregation . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite: “The first one or more computing devices” and “the second one or more computing devices” which are not introduced in the dependency chain. Define the groups expressly, or revise dependency if intended. The Examiner asserts indefiniteness from that drafting defect and determines their meaning not to be reasonably clear. Appropriate correction is requested. Applicant is advised to review the entire application for similar errors and correct the same. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. 07-05-01 AIA The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The medium language of claims 11-15 must be construed against par. 0015 of the specification, which expressly includes transitory media. If that construction encompasses propagating signals, a statutory-category rejection is appropriate. Applicant is advised to amend the claims, considering the “having stored thereon” clause to add “non-transitory” to reinforce the hardware implementation and overcome the rejection . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-4, 8-9, and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim , but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. CONCLUSION Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jude Jean-Gilles whose telephone number is 571-272-3914. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri, from 9:00AM-5:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tonia Dollinger can be reached on 571-272-4170. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUDE JEAN GILLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459 November 2, 2026 Application/Control Number: 19/299,824 Page 2 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 19/299,824 Page 3 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 19/299,824 Page 5 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 19/299,824 Page 6 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 19/299,824 Page 7 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 19/299,824 Page 8 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 19/299,824 Page 9 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 19/299,824 Page 10 Art Unit: 2459