DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the application filed on August 14th 2025, in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/2/26, 5/1/26 and 9/18/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 objected to because of the following informalities: it recites “competing” sending. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tano et al. US 2026/0181656.
Regarding claim 1, Tano discloses:
buffering a plurality of data packets comprising a first data packet and a second data packet (buffer a plurality of data packets – see abstract, paragraph 20); and
sending a first buffer report indicating a first buffer status of the first data packet and a second buffer status report indicating a second buffer status of the second data packet (send buffer status reports – see abstract, paragraphs 10, 17, 51 and Fig. 10);
wherein the first data packet and the second data packet differ in at least one of a service type, a first time to expiration, importance degrees of protocol data unit sets to which the first data packet and the second data packet belong, or types of the protocol data unit sets (packets belong to different services, have different priority, protocol types and timers – see abstract, paragraphs 15-17, 20, 112, 194 and Figs. 4 and 9).
Regarding claim 2, Tano discloses wherein sending the first buffer status report and the second buffer status report comprises sending a protocol data unit comprising the first buffer status report and the second buffer status report (use PDUs to communicate information across network – paragraphs 10, 117 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Tano discloses the first buffer status report comprises first data amount information and time information, wherein the first data amount information indicates a first data amount of the first data packet (BSR reports data size/amount and time information – abstract, paragraphs 20-25), wherein the time information indicates a second time within which sending of the first data packet needs to be completed (packets have timing and delay requirements for sending – see paragraphs 21, 92, 120, 124 and Fig. 9), wherein the second buffer status report comprises second data amount information, and wherein the second data amount information indicates a second data amount of the second data packet (repeat process, the UE “reports”, i.e. plural – see paragraphs 10, 17, 51, 105).
Regarding claim 4, Tano discloses wherein sending of the first data packet comprises completing sending of the first data packet within a first time range (packets have timing and delay requirements for sending – see paragraphs 21, 92, 120, 124 and Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Tano discloses receiving configuration information indicating the first time range (receive configuration thresholds – paragraphs 23, 126).
Regarding claim 6, Tano discloses receiving a first buffer status report indicating a first buffer status of a first data packet, and a second buffer status report indicating a second buffer status of a second data packet (RAN/network node receives the BSRs described above in the method of claim 1 – see abstract, paragraphs 10, 17, 20, 38, 40, 120 and Fig. 10);
determining, based on the first buffer status report, a first transmission resource of the first data packet (RAN grants/allocates resources based on the BSR – paragraphs 33, 119, 123 and Figs. 10-11); and
determining, based on the second buffer status report, a second transmission resource of the second data packet (RAN grants/allocates resources based on the BSR – paragraphs 33, 119, 123 and Figs. 10-11),
wherein the first data packet and the second data packet differ in at least one of a service type, a first time to expiration, importance degrees of protocol data unit sets to which the first data packet and the second data packet belong, or types of the protocol data unit sets (packets belong to different services, have different priority, protocol types and timers – see abstract, paragraphs 15-17, 20, 112, 194 and Figs. 4 and 9).
Regarding claims 7-10, they are dependent claims that correspond to previously presented dependent claims 2-5 respectively; thus they are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, it is an apparatus claim that directly corresponds to the method of claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons. Tano also discloses a memory and processor for performing the method (paragraph 187, Fig. 13).
Regarding claims 12-15, they are system claims that correspond to previously presented dependent claims 2-5 respectively; thus they are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, it is a system/apparatus claim that corresponds to the method of claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons. As explained above, Tano also discloses a memory and processor for performing the method (paragraphs 203-206, Fig. 14).
Regarding claims 17-20, they correspond to claims 7-10 respectively so they are also rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song et al. US 2017/0353950 A1 discloses a method for buffer status reporting including transmitting amounts of data, which allows the network node to assign resources (abstract, Figs. 2, 4).
Fan et al. US 2020/0374888 A1 discloses it is known in the art to send a BSR with a data volume (paragraph 3), and also transmitting data regarding remaining time to send data packets for purposes of meeting latency requirements (abstract, paragraphs 52-54).
Xin et al. US 2024/0080891 A1 discloses using BSRs to provide information regarding QoS requirements (i.e. time information), which improves resource allocations (abstract, paragraphs 6 and 34).
/JASON D RECEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458