DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 have been examined. Claims 21-22, 25-29, 32-36 and 39-40 are rejected. Claims 23-24, 30-31 and 37-38 are objected to.
Claim Objections
Claims 23-24, 30-31 and 37-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 28-29 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. PGPub 2017/0149681) in view of Diamantopoulos et a. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0239209).
Regarding claims 21, 28 and 35, Chen teaches A method comprising: after completing an initial resource configuration of a host, obtaining host resource update information configured by a user, (Chen, see figs. 6A-7; see paragraphs 0107-0109 the system determines configuration details for each node of the application as defined by the topology determined at step 605. In embodiments, the configuration details include data defining the amount of resource currently provisioned (initial resource configuration) to the node (e.g., “Node Setting”) and the target usage ratio (“Target Usage”) of the node...determines actual resource usage for each node of the application...; see paragraph 0016 monitoring and assessment of a multi-tier application environment against real-time load and user demand within the application,...; see also paragraph 0104 obtains user concurrent usage data from the application (e.g., application 105) and determines whether usage has increased or decreased. The user concurrent usage data may include data defining a number of users currently using the application, which number may be assigned to I1 (ConcurrentAppUsers).)
wherein the host resource update information indicates a network resource that needs to be allocated to the host, and (Chen, see figs. 6A-7; see paragraph 0112 when it is determined that the ratio of “Node Usage” to “Model Setting” does not equal the value of “Target Usage”, this indicates that utilization of the node is not equal to the target utilization....value determined at step 650 and the adjustment requested at step 655 may increase or decrease the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node,...)
during a running process of the host, adjusting, based on the host resource update information, a network resource allocated to the host, (Chen, see figs. 6A-7; see paragraphs 0112-0113 an API service call to the service provider computer device to adjust the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node, ... the adjustment requested at step 655 may increase or decrease the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node, depending on whether the actual usage (usage in running an application)... whether there are any additional nodes associated with the application...analyze for this particular application...; see abstract an actual usage of the computing resource by the multi-tiered application; and adjusting, by the computing device, an allocation of the computing resource to the multi-tiered application based on the actual usage and the modeled setting.)
wherein the network resource allocated to the host is configured to be used to perform data transmission with the host or carry a data processing task that needs to be executed by the host. (Chen, see figs. 6A-7; see paragraphs 0112-0113 an API service call to the service provider computer device to adjust the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node, ... the adjustment requested at step 655 may increase or decrease the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node, depending on whether the actual usage (usage in running an application)... whether there are any additional nodes associated with the application...analyze for this particular application...; see abstract an actual usage of the computing resource by the multi-tiered application; and adjusting, by the computing device, an allocation of the computing resource to the multi-tiered application based on the actual usage and the modeled setting.)
However, Chen does not explicitly teach the host is in a composable disaggregated infrastructure (CDI)-based computing system that further includes the network resource; and
Diamantopoulos teaches the host is in a composable disaggregated infrastructure (CDI)-based computing system that further includes the network resource; and (Diamantopoulos, see figs. 1A-1C; see paragraphs 0020-0022 equipped with a composable disaggregated infrastructure 15, which includes specialized, network-attached hardware components 20 (or NHCs for short)….dynamically allocate computerized resources... enabled by the NHCs 20 of the composable disaggregated infrastructure 15... certain tasks required for the containers 9 to execute at the system 5 are offloaded to the NHCs 20 of the composable disaggregated infrastructure 15...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen and Diamantopoulos to provide the technique of the host is in a composable disaggregated infrastructure (CDI)-based computing system that further includes the network resource of Diamantopoulos in the system Chen in order to allow the system to be flexibly reconfigured to meet the needs of the users (Diamantopoulos, see paragraph 0024).
Regarding claims 22, 29 and 36, Chen-Diamantopoulos teaches further comprising providing at least one of: network resource occupation information indicating usage status of network resources in the computing system; or host configuration information indicating network resources allocated to the host, wherein the at least one of the network resource occupation information or the host configuration information is configured to be used for presentation to the user. (Chen, see figs. 6A-7; see paragraphs 0112-0113 an API service call to the service provider computer device to adjust the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node, ... the adjustment requested at step 655 may increase or decrease the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node, depending on whether the actual usage (usage in running an application)... whether there are any additional nodes associated with the application...analyze for this particular application...; see abstract an actual usage of the computing resource by the multi-tiered application; and adjusting, by the computing device, an allocation of the computing resource to the multi-tiered application based on the actual usage and the modeled setting.)
Claims 25-27, 32-34 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Diamantopoulos in view of Tsirkin et al. (U.S. 2023/0305875).
Regarding claims 25, 32 and 39, Chen-Diamantopoulos teaches all of the features of claims 21, 28 and 35. However, Chen-Diamantopoulos does not explicitly teach wherein: the network resource comprises a plurality of intelligent network interface cards, wherein each intelligent network interface card of the plurality of intelligent network interface cards comprises a processor core and a virtual network interface card; and
the method further comprises completing the initial resource configuration of the host by: allocating the virtual network interface card on the intelligent network interface card to the host, wherein the virtual network interface card is configured to perform data transmission with the host; or configuring a control plane function that needs to be undertaken by the processor core, wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of managing the virtual network interface card, carrying the data processing task that needs to be executed by the host, or scheduling, for the virtual network interface card, data that needs to be transmitted.
Tsirkin teaches wherein: the network resource comprises a plurality of intelligent network interface cards, wherein each intelligent network interface card of the plurality of intelligent network interface cards comprises a processor core and a virtual network interface card; and (Tsirkin, see figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0060 a sequence 400 of data transmission...operation 402 the vNIC 126B of SC VM 120B can transmit data (e.g., one or more network data packets) to the auxiliary vNIC 127A of SP VM 120A...copying the data packets from a memory space allocated to vNIC 126B to a memory space allocated to auxiliary vNIC 127A...; see paragraph 0070 provide access to computing resources (e.g., processing and memory resources) to the VMs and their constituent virtual devices (e.g., vNICs)...processor to determine and allocate memory resources to one or more vNICs of an SP VM and one or more vNICs of a SC VM, including regulating mutual access to the respective buffers of each of the vNICs....)
the method further comprises completing the initial resource configuration of the host by: allocating the virtual network interface card on the intelligent network interface card to the host, wherein the virtual network interface card is configured to perform data transmission with the host; or configuring a control plane function that needs to be undertaken by the processor core, wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of managing the virtual network interface card, carrying the data processing task that needs to be executed by the host, or scheduling, for the virtual network interface card, data that needs to be transmitted. (Tsirkin, see figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0060 a sequence 400 of data transmission...operation 402 the vNIC 126B of SC VM 120B can transmit data (e.g., one or more network data packets) to the auxiliary vNIC 127A of SP VM 120A...copying the data packets from a memory space allocated to vNIC 126B to a memory space allocated to auxiliary vNIC 127A...; see paragraph 0070 provide access to computing resources (e.g., processing and memory resources) to the VMs and their constituent virtual devices (e.g., vNICs)...processor to determine and allocate memory resources to one or more vNICs of an SP VM and one or more vNICs of a SC VM, including regulating mutual access to the respective buffers of each of the vNICs....)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen-Diamantopoulos and Tsirkin to provide the technique of the network resource comprises a plurality of intelligent network interface cards, wherein each intelligent network interface card of the plurality of intelligent network interface cards comprises a processor core and a virtual network interface card; and completing the initial resource configuration of the host by: allocating the virtual network interface card on the intelligent network interface card to the host, wherein the virtual network interface card is configured to perform data transmission with the host; or configuring a control plane function that needs to be undertaken by the processor core, wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of managing the virtual network interface card, carrying the data processing task that needs to be executed by the host, or scheduling, for the virtual network interface card, data that needs to be transmitted of Tsirkin in the system of Chen-Diamantopoulos in order to improve system utilization and enhancing workload mobility and protection (Tsirkin, see paragraph 0002).
Regarding claims 26, 33 and 40, Chen-Diamantopoulos-Tsirkin teaches wherein allocating the virtual network interface card on the intelligent network interface card to the host comprises: allocating a plurality of virtual network interface cards to the host, (Tsirkin, see figs. 2 and 4A-4B; see paragraph 0052 can configure or add a primary vNIC to the SP VM, at block 204. Further, at block 204, the processing logic can configure the SP VM with another vNIC dedicated for communicating with the SC VM. For example, at block 204 the processing logic can assign a vNIC to the SC VM and can also set up an auxiliary vNIC in the SPVM to receive data packets transmitted by the vNIC of the SC VM...)
wherein the plurality of virtual network interface cards comprise two virtual network interface cards on different intelligent network interface cards. (Tsirkin, see figs. 2 and 4A-4B; see paragraph 0052 can configure or add a primary vNIC to the SP VM, at block 204. Further, at block 204, the processing logic can configure the SP VM with another vNIC dedicated for communicating with the SC VM. For example, at block 204 the processing logic can assign a vNIC to the SC VM and can also set up an auxiliary vNIC in the SPVM to receive data packets transmitted by the vNIC of the SC VM...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 25, 32 and 39 is also applied to claims 26, 33 and 40.
Regarding claims 27 and 34, Chen-Diamantopoulos-Tsirkin teaches wherein adjusting, based on the host resource update information, the network resource allocated to the host comprises: (Chen, see figs. 6A-7; see paragraph 0112 when it is determined that the ratio of “Node Usage” to “Model Setting” does not equal the value of “Target Usage”, this indicates that utilization of the node is not equal to the target utilization....value determined at step 650 and the adjustment requested at step 655 may increase or decrease the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node,...)
adjusting, based on the host resource update information, the virtual network interface cards allocated to the host; or adjusting, based on the host resource update information, the control plane function that needs to be undertaken by the processor core. (Chen, see figs. 6A-7; see paragraphs 0112-0113 an API service call to the service provider computer device to adjust the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node, ... the adjustment requested at step 655 may increase or decrease the amount of resource that is provisioned to the node, depending on whether the actual usage (usage in running an application)... whether there are any additional nodes associated with the application...analyze for this particular application...; see abstract an actual usage of the computing resource by the multi-tiered application; and adjusting, by the computing device, an allocation of the computing resource to the multi-tiered application based on the actual usage and the modeled setting.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPub 2022/0398215, which describes techniques for transparent remote memory access over network protocol;
U.S. PGPub 2021/0058343, which describes techniques for maintaining bandwidth utilization in the presence of packet drops; and
U.S. PGPub 2013/0173597, which describes an approach for allocating computing resources based on a confidence level associated with responses to queries.
/MENG VANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443