DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Siomina et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 9,462,529).
Consider claim 1; Siomina discloses a first base station comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions that (col. 9, lines 47-59), when executed by the one or more processors (col. 9, lines 47-59), cause the first base station at least to:
receive (col. 6, lines 38-42), from a second base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) a reporting configuration for reporting to the second base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) one or more measurements comprising a wireless device (e.g. user equipment) trajectory based on a first condition being satisfied (col. 6, lines 38-42; col. 11, lines 62-66), wherein the first condition indicates to report the wireless device (e.g. user equipment) trajectory after a first number of visited cells within the first base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) (col. 6, lines 28-31, 50-56);
receive (col. 6, lines 28-31, 38-42), from the second base station [e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB (col. 6, lines 28-31)], a handover request message for a wireless device comprising an identifier of the wireless device [e.g. a specific user equipment (col. 6, lines 28-31, 38-42)]; and
send (col. 6, lines 24-26, 45-56), to the second base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) and based on the first condition being satisfied for the wireless device (e.g. user equipment) (col. 6, lines 24-26, 45-56), an information update message comprising the wireless device (e.g. user equipment) trajectory for the wireless device (e.g. user equipment) (col. 6, lines 24-26, 45-56).
Consider claim 2; Siomina discloses the first number of visited cells within the first base station comprises: one cell; or two or more cells (col. 6, lines 50-56).
Consider claim 3; Siomina discloses the first number of visited cells within the first base station comprises a number of serving cells (col. 6, lines 50-55), of the wireless device (col. 6, lines 50-55), within the first base station from which the wireless device has performed a handover to a subsequent serving cell (col. 6, lines 28-31, 50-55).
Consider claim 4; Siomina discloses the reporting is further conditioned on a second condition indicating to report the one or more measurements after a transition of the wireless device to a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or to an RRC idle state (col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 1).
Consider claim 5; Siomina discloses the reporting is further conditioned on a third condition indicating to report the one or more measurements (col. 6, lines 50-56) after a handover from the first base station to a third base station (col. 1, lines 38-42; col. 6, lines 28-31).
Consider claim 6; Siomina discloses one or more measurement configurations (col. 11, lines 62-66).
Consider claim 7; Siomina discloses the one or more measurement configurations indicate to the first base station to determine the one or more measurements (col. 11, lines 62-66).
Consider claim 8; Siomina discloses sending (col. 6, lines 45-56), by the first base station to the second base station [e.g. radio node/eNodeB (col. 6, lines 45-56)], one or more second messages comprising a second measurement identifier [e.g. positioning measurement (col. 6, lines 45-56)].
Consider claim 9; Siomina discloses the first base station to receive [e.g. radio node/eNodeB (col. 6, lines 28-31)], from the second base station [e.g. radio node/eNodeB (col. 6, lines 28-31)], one or more third messages (col. 6, lines 28-31), for preparing a handover of a wireless device (e.g. user equipment) from the second base station to the first base station [e.g. radio node/eNodeB (col. 6, lines 28-31)], comprising an identifier of the wireless device [e.g. a specific user equipment (col. 6, lines 38-42)].
Consider claim 10; Siomina discloses a second base station comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions that (col. 9, lines 47-59), when executed by the one or more processors (col. 9, lines 47-59), cause the second base station at least to:
Send (col. 6, lines 38-42; col. 11, lines 62-66), to a first base station (e.g. network node) (col. 6, lines 38-42; col. 11, lines 62-66), one or more first messages comprising one or more reporting configurations (col. 6, lines 38-42; col. 11, lines 62-66), wherein:
the one or more reporting configurations indicate to the first base station to report to the second base station one or more measurements for a wireless device based on a first condition being satisfied col. 6, lines 38-42; col. 11, lines 62-66), wherein the first condition indicates to report a wireless device trajectory after a first number of visited cells within the first base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) (col. 6, lines 28-31, 50-56); and
receive, from the first base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) and based on the first condition being satisfied for the wireless device (e.g. user equipment) (col. 6, lines 24-26, 45-56), an information update message comprising the wireless device (e.g. user equipment) trajectory for the wireless device (e.g. user equipment) (col. 6, lines 24-26, 45-56).
Consider claim 11; Siomina discloses the first number of visited cells within the first base station comprises: one cell; or two or more cells (col. 6, lines 50-56).
Consider claim 12; Siomina discloses the one or more first messages comprise a first measurement identifier [e.g. positioning measurement (col. 6, lines 45-56)], wherein the first measurement identifier is configured by the second base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) (col. 11, lines 62-66).
Consider claim 13; Siomina discloses the reporting is further conditioned on a second condition indicating to report the one or more measurements after a transition of the wireless device to a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or to an RRC idle state (col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 1).
Consider claim 14; Siomina discloses the reporting is further conditioned on a third condition indicating to report the one or more measurements (col. 6, lines 50-56) after a handover from the first base station to a third base station (col. 1, lines 38-42; col. 6, lines 28-31).
Consider claim 15; Siomina discloses one or more measurement configurations (col. 11, lines 62-66).
Consider claim 16; Siomina discloses the one or more measurement configurations indicate to the first base station to determine the one or more measurements (col. 11, lines 62-66).
Consider claim 17; Siomina discloses sending (col. 6, lines 45-56), by the first base station to the second base station [e.g. radio node/eNodeB (col. 6, lines 45-56)], one or more second messages comprising a second measurement identifier [e.g. positioning measurement (col. 6, lines 45-56)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 9,462,529) in view of Centonza et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2013/0115949).
Consider claim 18; Siomina discloses a method comprising:
receiving (col. 11, lines 62-66), by a wireless device (e.g. user equipment) from a second base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) (col. 11, lines 62-66), a message comprising one or more configuration parameters (col. 11, lines 62-66) for a handover of the wireless device (e.g. user equipment) to a cell of a first base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) (col. 6, lines 28-31) after the second base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) receives a measured trajectory of a first wireless device (e.g. user equipment) in response (col. 6, lines 45-56) to a first condition indicating to report the measured trajectory after a first number of visited cells within the first base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) is fulfilled (col. 6, lines 38-42); and
performing (col. 6, lines 28-31, 45-56), based on the one or more configuration parameters (col. 11, lines 62-66), the handover to the cell of the first base station (e.g. network node/radio node/eNodeB) (col. 6, lines 28-31, 45-56). Siomina discloses the claimed invention except: a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message; transmitting, to the second base station and after receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, an RRC reconfiguration complete message.
In an analogous art Centonza discloses a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (par. 7, lines 36-39); transmitting, to the second base station (par. 7, lines 40-43) and after receiving the RRC reconfiguration message (par. 7, lines 36-39), an RRC reconfiguration complete message (par. 7, lines 40-43).
It is an object of Siomina’s invention to provide a method for cell change information. It is an object of Centonza’s invention to provide a method for handovers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Siomina by including a RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Centonza, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 18; Siomina discloses the first number of visited cells within the first base station comprises: one cell; or two or more cells (col. 6, lines 50-56).
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 18; Siomina discloses the first number of visited cells within the first base station comprises a number of serving cells (col. 6, lines 50-55), of the wireless device (col. 6, lines 50-55), within the first base station from which the wireless device has performed a handover to a subsequent serving cell (col. 6, lines 28-31, 50-55).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646