Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12445599 (18351297). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102A1 as being anticipated by US 20120275522 A1-Kim et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, a radius associated with a first block vector predictor (BVP) candidate of a plurality of BVP candidates ([0047]-0069]);
based on a distance between the first BVP candidate and a second BVP candidate of the plurality of BVP candidates being less than or equal to the radius ([0047]-0069]),
comparing a cost of the first BVP candidate to a cost of the second BVP candidate ([0061]);
based on the cost of the second BVP candidate being less than the cost of the first BVP candidate, including the second BVP candidate in a list of BVP candidates ([0062]); and
coding, based on the list of BVP candidates, a current block of content ([0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the radius indicates a threshold represented in units of pixels ([0047]-0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the cost of the first BVP candidate ([0061]); and determining the cost of the second BVP candidate ([0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, for at least one BVP candidate of the plurality of BVP candidates, a distance between the first BVP candidate and the at least one BVP candidate ([0069]).
Regarding claim 8, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 2 and are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 3 and are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 5 and are applicable for claim 12.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120275522 A1-Kim et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Kim”), in view of US 20190246113 A1-XU et al (hereinafter referred to as “XU”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1),
Kim fails to disclose wherein: the cost of the first BVP candidate is a first template matching cost; and the cost of the second BVP candidate is a second template matching cost.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses wherein: the cost of the first BVP candidate is a first template matching cost ([0126-0133]); and the cost of the second BVP candidate is a second template matching cost ([0126-0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to disclose wherein: the cost of the first BVP candidate is a first template matching cost; and the cost of the second BVP candidate is a second template matching cost as taught by XU, to improve the accuracy of block vector prediction ([0115]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1),
Kim fails to disclose wherein the list of BVP candidates is one of: a merge list for merge mode; or an advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) list for AMVP mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses wherein the list of BVP candidates is one of: a merge list for merge mode ([0112], merge mode based on merge list); or an advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) list for AMVP mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to disclose wherein the list of BVP candidates is one of: a merge list for merge mode; or an advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) list for AMVP mode as taught by XU, to improve the accuracy of block vector prediction ([0115]).
Regarding claim 11, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 4 and are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 7 and are applicable for claim 14.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120275522 A1-Kim et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Kim”), in view of US 20060083440 A1-Chen2.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1),
Kim fails to disclose wherein the distance between the first BVP candidate and the second BVP candidate is the Euclidian distance between an endpoint of the first BVP candidate and an endpoint of the second BVP candidate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen2 wherein the distance between the first BVP candidate and the second BVP candidate is the Euclidian distance between an endpoint of the first BVP candidate and an endpoint of the second BVP candidate ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to disclose wherein the distance between the first BVP candidate and the second BVP candidate is the Euclidian distance between an endpoint of the first BVP candidate and an endpoint of the second BVP candidate as taught by Chen2, to enhance image resolution ([0063]).
Regarding claim 13, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 6 and are applicable for claim 13.
Conclusion
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487