Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 1-5 fail to include the proper cross sectional shading as set forth in MPEP 608.02(IX). For example, figure 1 fails to include any cross sectional shading while the cross sectional views in figure 2 indicate that the glass run body 2 and the sealing part 3 are made from a metal.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “[t]o provide” on line 1 can be easily implied and, therefore, should be deleted.
On line 2, “difficult to come apart” is grammatically awkward. It is suggested the applicant amend the abstract to recite that the glass-run body and the sealing part are more difficult to separate to avoid confusion.
On line 3, “a glass-run body” is confusing since it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the glass-run body set forth above or if the applicant is attempting to set forth a glass-run body in addition to the one set forth above.
. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Recitations such as “a front door and a rear door” on line 6 of claim 1 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the door set forth above or if the applicant is attempting to set forth front and rear doors in addition to the door set forth above.
Recitations such as “a vehicle-interior side” on lines 2-3 of claim 3 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the vehicle-interior side set forth above or if the applicant is attempting to set forth a vehicle-interior side in addition to the one set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morihara (US 2021/0229539) in view of Nozaki et al. (US 2002/0178656).
Morihara discloses a corner structure (not numbered, but shown in figure 1) of a glass run 20 configured to be attached to an automobile, the structure comprising:
a glass-run body 15 (fig. 1) configured to be attached to a periphery of a door of the automobile; and
a sealing part 13 (fig. 1) configured to fill a parting portion which is present between a front door and a rear door of the automobile, or a parting portion which is present between the rear door and a vehicle body of the automobile,
wherein the glass-run body 15 and the sealing part 13 are integrally molded as set forth on lines 3-8 of paragraph 67.
Morihara is silent concerning a hollow sealing part.
However, Nozaki et al. discloses a sealing part 102 (fig. 12) wherein the sealing part 102 is hollow as shown in figure 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the sealing part 13 of Morihara with a hollow construction, as taught by Nozaki et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to increase the flexibility of the sealing part so as to form a more effective seal between the sealing part and the vehicle.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morihara in view of Nozaki et al. as applied to claim 1 above. Morihara, as modified above, is silent concerning a core removal hole.
However, Nozaki et al. further discloses sealing part 102 having a core removal hole (labeled below) configured to be positioned on a vehicle-interior side of the automobile, the core removal hole being configured to allow removal of a core 103 inserted in the sealing part 102.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Morihara, as modified above, with a core and a core removal hole, as taught by Nozaki et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to accurately control the integral molding of the glass run body with the sealing part while allowing for the removal of the core to reduce the weight of the corner structure while improving the sealing capabilities of the corner structure.
With respect to claim 3, the sealing part 102 has a slit 107 configured to be positioned on a vehicle-interior side of the automobile, the slit 107 extending in a longitudinal direction of the sealing part 102 as shown in figure 12, and the slit 107 and the core removal hole are connected also shown in figure 12.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morihara (US 2021/0229539) in view of Nozaki et al. (US 2002/0178656).
Morihara discloses a method of manufacturing a corner structure (not numbered, but shown in figure 1) of a glass run 20 configured to be attached to an automobile, the method comprising:
forming, by extrusion molding, a sealing part 13 configured to fill a parting portion which is present between a front door and a rear door of the automobile, or a parting portion which is present between the rear door and a vehicle body of the automobile; and
placing the sealing part 13 formed by the extrusion molding in a molding die for shaping the corner structure of a glass-run body, to integrally mold the glass-run body and the sealing part 13 as set forth on lines 3-8 of paragraph 67.
Morihara is silent concerning a hollow sealing part.
However, Nozaki et al. discloses a sealing part 102 (fig. 12) wherein the sealing part 102 is hollow as shown in figure 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the sealing part 13 of Morihara with a hollow construction, as taught by Nozaki et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to increase the flexibility of the sealing part so as to form a more effective seal between the sealing part and the vehicle.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634