DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo et al. (WO 2022/060373 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo et al. teaches a luminaire comprising:
an enclosure (604; figure 6) comprising a display panel (602; see figure 6) mounted in an external surface of the enclosure (604; figure 6);
a head (610) mechanically coupled to the enclosure (604), the head (610) configured for rotation (see figure 7 and 8 where head 610 is rotated) relative to the enclosure and to emit a light beam (616); and
a control system (figure 2; 220) located in one or both of the head and the enclosure, the control system configured to:
receive a display command (see paragraph [0011]) via a data link (see cable in figure 2) and, in response, cause the display panel (202; see figure 2) to display visual content specified in the display command (see paragraph [0011]), the visual content comprising pixel values for all pixels of the display panel (202).
Regarding claim 2, Kuo teaches the luminaire of claim 1, wherein the control system is further configured to receive via the data link an orientation command and, in response, rotate the head relative to the enclosure to an orientation specified in the orientation command (see paragraph [0020] where the controller 220 causes the arm 210 to rotate about the hinge 228 via operation of the motor 224).
Regarding claim 3, Kuo et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 1, wherein the visual content is stored visual content stored in non-volatile memory (see paragraph [0037]) of the control system and the display command comprises an identifier of the stored visual content (see paragraph [0010] where display member is disclosed).
Regarding claim 4, Kuo et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 1, wherein the display command comprises the visual content (see paragraph [0010] where color profile is disclosed).
Regarding claim 5, Kuo et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 1, wherein the visual content comprises a single pixel value for all pixels of the display panel (see paragraph [0011] where matching the color presets of the display device is disclosed).
Regarding claim 6, Kuo et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 5, wherein the single pixel value comprises a color that is a same color as a light beam emitted from the luminaire or is based on the color of the light beam emitted from the luminaire (see paragraphs [0010], [0024] and [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Kuo et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 1, wherein the display command comprises one or more display parameters of the display panel, the one or more display parameters including one or more of brightness, contrast, gamma, image rotation, color hue, color saturation, color intensity, and color temperature (see paragraph [0010] where luminosity ranges, display mode, etc. is disclosed and paragraph [0030] where OSD or display manager application is disclosed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (WO 2022060373 A1) in view of Cha Nam Goo et al. (KR20170059068A).
Regarding claim 7, Kuo et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a video input configured to receive direct input of the visual content in a video signal
Cha Nam Goo et al. teaches a display panel (200) comprising video input configured to receive direct input of the visual content in a video signal (see page 6, lines 35-37 where controller 250 controls the panel driver 220 to turn on a plurality of subpixels in a group unit according to an input video signal, thereby displaying a desired image on the display panel 200). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kuo et al. to explicitly teach a video input as taught by Cha Nam Goo et al. in order to share the user profile to other luminaire devices or video effects and display a desired image on the display panel (see page 6, lines 35-37 of the translation of Cha Nam Goo et al.).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the relied upon embodiments of figures 2 and 10 of Kuo et al. (WO 2022060373 A1) in view of the embodiment described in paragraphs [0001], [0009], [0010] of Kuo et al. (WO 2022060373 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kuo et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the display command comprises the visual content and information specifying a portion of the visual content to display in the display panel.
However, paragraph [0009] a display device to present content visually and paragraph [0010] discloses source image data. Paragraph [0001] also discloses a display device may produce a visual representation of an image by operating light-emissive circuitry represented as a number of pixels based on processed image data.Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the relied upon embodiment of figure 2 and 10 to specify only portion of an image as described in paragraphs [0001], [0009] and [0010] of Kuo et al. as users may want to adjustable lighting options when changing between modes of operation (see paragraph [0010] of Kuo et al).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jurik et al. (US 2012/0063135 A1), Ronen et al. (US 2013/0271977 A1), Jurik et al. (US 2018/0224087 A1), Evans (Us 12,038,162 B1) disclose rotatable luminaires comprising light emitting diodes (LEDs).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875