DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jurik et al. (US 2018/0224087 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jurik et al. teaches a lens mounting system, comprising:
a lens support (30);
a lens array (figure 3) comprising a plurality of lenses (34), the lens array having a plurality of tabs (see figure 3 where lenses 34 have a tab extending from a side thereof) configured to physically couple the lens array (lenses 34) to the lens support (30); and
a fastener (within apertures 32 of 30; see figure 3) configured to mechanically couple one tab of the plurality of tabs to the lens support (30), wherein each lens (34) of the lens array is configured to receive an individual light beam in a light receiving portion (bottom portion of lens 34) of the lens (34) and the tabs are located outside the light receiving portions (see figure 3) of the lenses (34) of the lens array.
Regarding claim 2, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 1, wherein the lens array (lenses 34 form an array; see figure 3) comprises a single optical element comprising a plurality of lens areas (see figure 3), each lens area configured to form one lens (34) of the plurality of lenses (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 1, wherein each lens of the plurality of lenses (34; figure 3) is a physically separate optical element and each lens of the plurality of lenses (34; figure 3) includes one tab of the plurality of tabs (see figure 3 where each lens 34 has a tab extending on a side thereof).
Regarding claim 4, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 1, wherein the lens array (see array of lenses 34 in at least figure 3) comprises a plurality of adjacent lenses (see figure 3 where lenses 34 are adjacent each other), each of the plurality of adjacent lenses (34) configured to receive the individual light beam and emit an individual output light beam (light source within aperture 32; figure 3; see abstract of Jurik et al. where LED and lens is disclosed).
Regarding claim 5, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 4, further comprising a lens mask (36), configured to cover one or more edges of the adjacent lenses (34; see figure 3), the lens mask (36) configured to reduce one or both of spilled and reflected light between the adjacent lenses (34) with covered edges.
Regarding claim 6, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 5, wherein the lens mask comprises a light blocking layer (see paragraph [0025] and [0026] where coating is disclosed) applied to a light input side of the lens array (34) , the light blocking layer comprising a paint, a dye, a foil, or a film layer (see paragraph [0025] and [0026] where coating is disclosed).
Regarding claim 7, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 4, wherein each lens of the plurality of adjacent lenses (34; figure 3) comprises a rounded outer perimeter and an edge configured to abut another lens of the plurality of adjacent lenses (see figure 3 where lenses 34 abut each other), wherein the lenses (34) of the plurality of adjacent lenses (see figure 3) are configured to form a unbroken circle of lenses (see figure 3 where lenses 34 are unbroken circle of lenses).
Regarding claim 8, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 7, wherein each lens of the plurality of adjacent lenses (34; see figure 3) comprises a rounded inner perimeter (see lenses 34 in figure 3), the rounded inner perimeters of the lenses of the plurality of adjacent lenses (34; figure 3) configured to form a central aperture in the lens array (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 8, wherein each lens (34) of the plurality of adjacent lenses (figure 3) comprises an inner perimeter and the lens array comprises a central lens (see figure 3 where a central lens is shown) configured to abut all the inner perimeters of the plurality of adjacent lenses (34; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 9, further comprising a lens mask (36), configured to cover one or more edges of the plurality of adjacent lenses (34; see figure 3 where when 36 is placed over lenses 34, the edges of the adjacent lenses will be covered) and the central lens (see center lens of plurality of lenses 34), the lens mask configured to reduce one or both of spilled and reflected light between the adjacent lenses (34) and the central lens (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Jurik et al. teaches the lens mounting system of claim 10, wherein the lens mask comprises a light blocking layer applied to a light input side of the lens array (lens array 34), the light blocking layer comprising a paint, a dye, a foil, or a film layer (see paragraph [0025] and [0026] where coating is disclosed).
Regarding claim 12, Jurik et al. teaches a luminaire comprising:
a lens mounting system (figure 3), comprising:
a lens support (lens carrier 30);
a lens array (figure 3) comprising a plurality of lenses (lenses 34; paragraph [0021]), the lens array having a plurality of tabs (see sides of 34 in figure 3 where tabs extend therefrom) configured to physically couple the lens array to the lens support (32); and
a fastener (inner surface of 30) configured to mechanically couple one tab of the plurality of tabs to the lens support (30),
wherein: each lens (34) of the lens array (figure 3) is configured to receive an individual light beam in a light receiving portion of the lens and emit a corresponding individual output light beam (see abstract of Jurik et al. where lens and LED is disclosed); and the tabs are located outside the light receiving portions of the lenses (34) of the lens array (see figure 3 where lenses 34 have tabs extending from a side thereof);
an array of LED optical modules (see abstract of Jurik et al.), each LED optical module of the array of LED optical modules (see figure 3 where each lens 34 corresponds with aperture 32) emitting the individual light beam received by a corresponding lens (34) of the plurality of lenses (figure 3); and
a control system (see paragraph [0014]) configured to move the lens mounting system relative to the array of LED optical modules (paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 13, Jurik et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 12, further comprising a data link (14) configured to electrically couple to an external device (15) and receive signals therefrom, wherein: the control system is configured to: receive a command via the data link (14), the command indicating a desired beam angle (see paragraph [0015]); and move the lens mounting system in response to the command to a desired position relative to the array of LED optical modules to cause the lenses of the lens array to emit individual output light beams of the desired beam angle (see paragraph [0014 where movement of luminaire system is disclosed).
Regarding claim 14, Jurik et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 13, further comprising one or more motors (paragraph [0014] mechanically coupled to the lens mounting system (10) and electrically coupled to the control system, wherein the control system is configured to operate the one or more motors to move the lens mounting system to the desired position relative to the array of LED optical modules (see paragraph [0014] and [0015]).
Regarding claim 15, Jurik et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 12, wherein the lens mounting system (10) is a first lens mounting system of a plurality of lens mounting systems (see figure 3) and the array of LED optical modules is a first array of a plurality of arrays of LED optical modules (see abstract of Jurik et al), wherein each array of LED optical modules is aligned with an associated lens mounting system of the plurality of lens mounting systems (see figure 3 where the lens is associated with an LED within aperture 32).
Regarding claim 16, Jurik et al. teaches the luminaire of claim 15, wherein the control system is configured for one of individual and collective movement of at least some of the lens mounting systems (see paragraph [0014] relative to their associated array of LED optical modules (see paragraph [0014]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Joergensen (US 2015/0159829 A1) teaches a light collector with a plurality of merged lenslets. Li (US 2009/0034269 A1) teaches a lamp comprising a plurality of lenses corresponding to an LED.
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875