DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5, 7-10, 12-13, 15, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Altman et al. (US Pub: 2005/0150697 A1).
As to claim 1, Altman discloses a system that generates a virtual reality (VR) image (i.e. the system of Altman is said to be a “a virtual reality game accessory” which help generate images for the user to see in the virtual reality gaming environment with hard ware such as “If the positional element moves over a locus such as that indicated by dotted curve 16 then a suitable application may trace a corresponding curve 18 on the computer screen. Likewise the positional element may be used to write directly on the screen”) (see Fig. 1A, [0134], [0203]), the system comprising:
a device including a digitizer that, in operation, detects a position indicated by an electronic pen (i.e. the computer of Altman is said to include “another feature may include the ability to measure the angle of the mobile unit useful for instance in digital stylus applications suitable angle sensor for incorporation into pointing device 14 may comprise a tilt gauge, digitizer and driving circuit. In a further embodiment, two position indicators such as ultrasonic loudspeakers may be placed at either end of the pointing device, each transmitting in a manner that renders the signals distinguishable. The angle of the pointing device may then be derived by calculating each of the positions and performing simple geometry between them) (see Fig. 2, [0292]);
a tracking device that (i.e. the microphone 36 on the computer device base station 30) (see Fig. 4, [0276]), in operation, detects a position of a tracker of the electronic pen for inputting a position in a VR space (i.e. the tracker is the speaker 26 which outputs sound for the mobile unit in the case the Pen of figure 2) (see Fig. 2, 4, [0276]), the tracking device being positioned above the digitizer) (i.e. as seen in figures 1-4 the microphone 36 is shown to be position above the general device of the base station to capture the sound be outputted as seen in figure 4 as which out opening this would be functionally hindered) (see Fig. 1-4, [0276]); and
a computer that, in operation, generates a VR image of the electronic pen in the VR space based on a posture of the electronic pen in a three-dimensional space detected by tracking the tracker of the electronic pen using the tracking device, and the position indicated by the electronic pen detected by the digitizer. (i.e. as the display for the computer in Altman is able to run the virtual reality gaming application and therefore able to display virtual images based on the pen input by the user in three-dimensional coordinate for the 3-D of the virtual reality system) (see Fig. 1-6, [0245, 0276]).
As to claim 11, Altman teaches a method for generating a virtual reality (VR) image (i.e. the computer implementation method of Altman is said to be a “a virtual reality game accessory” which help generate images for the user to see in the virtual reality gaming environment with hard ware such as “If the positional element moves over a locus such as that indicated by dotted curve 16 then a suitable application may trace a corresponding curve 18 on the computer screen. Likewise the positional element may be used to write directly on the screen”) (see Fig. 1A, [0134], [0203]), comprising:
detecting a position indicated by an electronic pen using a device including a digitizer (i.e. the computer of Altman is said to include “another feature may include the ability to measure the angle of the mobile unit useful for instance in digital stylus applications suitable angle sensor for incorporation into pointing device 14 may comprise a tilt gauge, digitizer and driving circuit. In a further embodiment, two position indicators such as ultrasonic loudspeakers may be placed at either end of the pointing device, each transmitting in a manner that renders the signals distinguishable. The angle of the pointing device may then be derived by calculating each of the positions and performing simple geometry between them) (see Fig. 2, [0292]);
detecting a position of a tracker of the electronic pen using a tracking device for inputting a position in a VR space; and generating a VR image of the electronic pen in the VR space based on a posture of the electronic pen in a three-dimensional space detected by tracking the tracker and the position indicated by the electronic pen detected by the digitizer (i.e. as the display for the computer in Altman is able to run the virtual reality gaming application and therefore able to display virtual images based on the pen input by the user in three-dimensional coordinate for the 3-D of the virtual reality system) (see Fig. 1-6, [0245, 0276]).
As to claim 4, Altman teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the computer, in operation, displays the VR images of the electronic pen in the VR space on a display unit (i.e. Altman teaches in figure 1 the ability to use a computer display to display the input of the electronic pen based on user input in a virtual reality gaming environment) (see Fig. 1, [0134, 0202-0224]).
As to claim 6, Altman teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the tracker of the electronic pen includes a light-emitting diode (LED) that, in operation, emits light (i.e. the pen unit of figure 2 embodiment clearly shows a LED device 28 which emits light for the user to see) (see Fig. 2, [0249]).
As to claim 14, Altman teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the computer, in operation, displays the VR images of the electronic pen in the VR space on a display unit (i.e. Altman teaches in figure 1 the ability to use a computer display to display the input of the electronic pen based on user input in a virtual reality gaming environment) (see Fig. 1, [0134, 0202-0224]).
As to claim 16, Altman teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the tracker of the electronic pen includes a light-emitting diode (LED) that, in operation, emits light (i.e. the pen unit of figure 2 embodiment clearly shows a LED device 28 which emits light for the user to see) (see Fig. 2, [0249]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art Price et al. (US Pub: 2019/0250703) is cited to teach another type sensory and display system implementing a three-dimension Digitizer system having angular tracking capacity in figures 1-3 embodiments. The prior art Devam et al. (US Pub: 2019/0206134 A1) is cited to teach another type of computer processor based rendering of sensory input that digitizes use movement data in figures 1-6 embodiments.
/CALVIN C MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 July 11, 2026