DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 15-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 16-20 of copending Application No. 19/262,006 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because this instant application claims obvious additional coding details such as reconstruction.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deng et al. (herein after will be referred to as Deng) (US 20250080718).
Regarding claim 1, Deng discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform an encoding method, the encoding method comprising: [See Deng [0006]]
determining to code a current block in a current picture in a geometric partition mode (GPM); [See Deng [0118] If geometric partitioning mode is used for the current CU.]
determining whether to apply a sample based bi-directional optical flow (S-BDOF) motion refinement on at least a first GPM partition of the current block, the first GPM partition having a bi-predictive motion vector; [See Deng [0402, 0474] For example, at least one prediction sample of a GPM prediction block may be refined by a bi-directional optical-flow based motion refinement (e.g., BDOF or BIO) technique in which a pixel-wise motion refinement performed on top of block-wise motion compensation in a case of bi-prediction.]
applying the S-BDOF motion refinement on one or more samples in the first GPM partition when to apply the S-BDOF motion refinement on the first GPM partition is determined; [See Deng [0402, 0474] For example, at least one prediction sample of a GPM prediction block may be refined by a bi-directional optical-flow based motion refinement (e.g., BDOF or BIO) technique in which a pixel-wise motion refinement performed on top of block-wise motion compensation in a case of bi-prediction.]
reconstructing the current block with the one or more samples being reconstructed based on the S-BDOF motion refinement; encoding the current block into coded information in a bitstream based on the one or more samples that are reconstructed based on the S-BDOF motion refinement; and transmitting the bitstream. [See Deng [Fig. 2] video encoder with prediction and transmission means.]
Regarding claim 2, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Deng discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Furthermore, Deng discloses
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: determine to apply the S-BDOF motion refinement on each GPM partition of the current block that has a bi-predictive motion vector. [See Deng [0198] Both the two parts of a GPM block is coded from bi-prediction. Also, see [0402, 0474], For example, at least one prediction sample of a GPM prediction block may be refined by a bi-directional optical-flow based motion refinement (e.g., BDOF or BIO) technique in which a pixel-wise motion refinement performed on top of block-wise motion compensation in a case of bi-prediction.]
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (US 20250080718) in view of Deng et al. (herein after will be referred to as Deng ‘445) (US 20240340445).
Regarding claim 6, Deng discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Furthermore, Deng does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: decode a flag from the coded video bitstream, the flag indicating whether to apply the S-BDOF motion refinement to each partition with a bi-predictive motion vector, the flag being signaled in at least one of a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), a picture header (PH), and a slice header.
However, Deng ‘445 does disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: decode a flag from the coded video bitstream, the flag indicating whether to apply the S-BDOF motion refinement to each partition with a bi-predictive motion vector, the flag being signaled in at least one of a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), a picture header (PH), and a slice header. [See Deng ‘445 [0508] Whether to and/or how to apply the disclosed methods are signaled at sequence level/group of pictures level/picture level/slice level/tile group level, such as in sequence header/picture header/SPS/VPS/DPS/DCI/PPS/APS/slice header/tile group header. Also, see [0471] BDOF with motion refinement is applied to GPM mode…..BDOF is also applied for subblock based motion vector refinement. BDOF process is applied to the video unit is signaled via a syntax element such as a video unit level flag.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Deng to add the teachings of Deng ‘445, in order to improve upon the coding effiency and coding effectiveness [See Deng ‘445 [0008]].
Regarding claim 13, Deng discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Furthermore, Deng does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: decode a block level syntax element associated with the current block, the block level syntax element indicating at least one of: applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to both GPM partitions of the current block; not applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to any GPM partitions of the current block; applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to the first GPM partition only; and applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to a second GPM partition of the current block only.
However, Deng ‘445 does disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: decode a block level syntax element associated with the current block, the block level syntax element indicating at least one of: applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to both GPM partitions of the current block; not applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to any GPM partitions of the current block; applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to the first GPM partition only; and applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to a second GPM partition of the current block only. [See Deng ‘445 [0471] BDOF with motion refinement is applied to GPM mode…..BDOF is also applied for subblock based motion vector refinement. BDOF process is applied to the video unit is signaled via a syntax element such as a video unit level flag.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, Deng discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Furthermore, Deng does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: decode a block level syntax element associated with the current block, the block level syntax element indicating at least one of: applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to both GPM partitions of the current block; not applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to any GPM partitions of the current block; and applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to a GPM partition of the current block that uses a first GPM merge index, without applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to another GPM partition of the current block.
However, Deng ‘445 does disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: decode a block level syntax element associated with the current block, the block level syntax element indicating at least one of: applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to both GPM partitions of the current block; not applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to any GPM partitions of the current block; and applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to a GPM partition of the current block that uses a first GPM merge index, without applying the S-BDOF motion refinement to another GPM partition of the current block. [See Deng ‘445 [0471] BDOF with motion refinement is applied to GPM mode…..BDOF is also applied for subblock based motion vector refinement. BDOF process is applied to the video unit is signaled via a syntax element such as a video unit level flag.]
Regarding claim 19, see examiners rejection for claim 6 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4-5 and 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under double patenting, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486