DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 19/300729 filed 8/15/2025.
Domestic Applications
Applicant currently claims domestic benefit from provisional application 62/438201 filed 12/22/2016. However, the provisional application disclosure doesn’t seem to support the “solenoid temperature” disclosure of the present invention. Therefore, the benefit date of 12/22/2016 will not be considered as the earliest filing date during examination at this time.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 11/18/25 has been considered (in part). The foreign patents JP2006132574 and JP2007064414 have not been considered due to failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because there is no concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each of those references listed that is not in the English language.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“a first rotatable member engageable to a second member (function) by a friction element, (generic placeholder)” in claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-27, 30, 35-31 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claims 25 and 35 recite the limitation “a known characteristic of the metal”. It is unclear as to what the “known characteristic” is referring to or what the characteristic actually is, please clarify and amend accordingly.
-Claims 25 and 35 recite the limitation "the metal" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation not being recited (introduced) in claims 21 and 31 from which these claims depend from.
-Claims 25 and 35 recite the limitation "the controller" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation not being recited (introduced) in claims 21 and 31 from which these claims depend from.
-Claim 27 recites the limitation "the voltage". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation not being recited (introduced) in claim 21 from which this claim depend from.
-Claims 30 and 40 recite the limitation "a known temperature determination point" in line 3. It is unclear as to what the “known temperature” is referring to, please clarify and amend accordingly.
-Claim 30 recites the limitation "the voltage". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation not being recited (introduced) in claim 21 from which this claim depend from.
-Claim 37 recites the limitation "the voltage". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation not being recited (introduced) in claim 31 from which this claim depend from.
-Claim 40 recites the limitation "the voltage". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation not being recited (introduced) in claim 31 from which this claim depend from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al 20130018557. Wilson discloses a transmission, comprising: a first rotatable member (36) engageable to a second member (38) by a friction element (18), wherein the friction element is engaged by a shift actuator (22) controlled by a solenoid ([0063]); and a friction element control logic (60) including a solenoid temperature circuit that determines an operating temperature of the solenoid ([0094], [0105]), a solenoid control circuit (66, 72, 74, 76) that operates the solenoid in response to the operating temperature of the solenoid, wherein the solenoid control circuit operates the solenoid by providing an electrical current to the solenoid (via 72, 74, 76), such that a target temperature of the solenoid is not exceeded (does not exceed highest calibrated temperature, [0084]).
Claim(s) 31-38 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurmaniak et al 20100198538. Kurmaniak discloses a transmission, comprising: a first rotatable member (12) engageable to a second member (14) by a friction element (50), wherein the friction element is engaged by a shift actuator (54) controlled by a solenoid ([0011]); and a friction element control logic (describes use of a controller, [0021], line 8; [0022], last two lines and [0026], lines 18-20) including a solenoid temperature circuit that determines an operating temperature of the solenoid ([0002], [0004]), a solenoid control circuit that operates the solenoid in response to the operating temperature of the solenoid, wherein the solenoid control circuit operates the solenoid by providing an electrical current to the solenoid (via calibration control, [0025]-[0026], [0031]), such that a target temperature of the solenoid is not exceeded (does not exceed calibrated temperature).
As to claim 32, wherein the solenoid temperature circuit determines the operating temperature of the solenoid according to a determination of the solenoid temperature in response to an electrical current value of the solenoid and an electrical resistance value of the solenoid ([0031]).
As to claim 33, wherein the electrical current value of the solenoid is a determined current value of the solenoid ([0031]).
As to claim 34, wherein the solenoid temperature circuit determines the solenoid temperature in response to a steady state voltage applied to the solenoid ([0002], [0004]).
As to claim 35, wherein the solenoid exhibits a resistance response to temperature according to a known characteristic of the metal in the solenoid coil (well known in art to use aluminum or copper as coil material which always exhibits resistance to heat), wherein a resistance-temperature curve is calibrated and stored in the controller and accessible to the solenoid temperature circuit such that the solenoid temperature circuit determines the operating temperature of the solenoid in response to an electrical current value of the solenoid and an electrical resistance value of the solenoid ([0031]).
As to claim 36, wherein at least one of the electrical current value and the electrical resistance value are determined by the solenoid temperature circuit ([0031]).
As to claim 37, wherein the solenoid temperature circuit determines the voltage drop across the solenoid (via what is described in [0021] based on measuring for voltages, it would be obvious for circuit to determine voltage drop across solenoid).
As to claim 38, wherein the solenoid temperature circuit determines a current through the solenoid with a solid state current meter in a circuit to the solenoid ([0021], lines 6-8).
As to claim 40, wherein the voltage provided to the solenoid is varied to assist in determining the operating temperature of the solenoid to provide a voltage value that is at a known temperature determination point for the solenoid ([0004] via plural voltage measurement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 200460837 (with machine translation) in view of Wilson and Kurmaniak. As to claim 21, JP discloses a transmission, comprising: an input shaft (15) configured to couple to a prime mover (1); a countershaft (32) having a first plurality of gears mounted thereon; a main shaft (33) having a second plurality of gears mounted thereon; an output shaft (4) selectively providing a torque output to a driveline; a clutch (36/37) configured to selectively couple the input shaft to the main shaft by rotatably coupling at least one of the second plurality of gears to the main shaft, wherein the clutch is engaged by a shift actuator (20) controlled by a solenoid (MVH, MVF, MVG); and a clutch control logic (9), however, JP doesn’t disclose the logic including a solenoid temperature circuit that determines an operating temperature of the solenoid, a solenoid control circuit that operates the solenoid in response to the operating temperature of the solenoid, wherein the solenoid control circuit operates the solenoid by providing an electrical current to the solenoid, such that a target temperature of the solenoid is not exceeded.
Wilson discloses a transmission and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a clutch control logic (60) with a solenoid temperature circuit that determines an operating temperature of the solenoid ([0094], [0105]), a solenoid control circuit (66, 72, 74, 76) that operates the solenoid in response to the operating temperature of the solenoid, wherein the solenoid control circuit operates the solenoid by providing an electrical current to the solenoid (via 72, 74, 76), such that a target temperature of the solenoid is not exceeded (does not exceed highest calibrated temperature, [0084]).
Kurmaniak discloses a transmission and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a clutch control logic (describes use of a controller, [0021], line 8; [0022], last two lines and [0026], lines 18-20) with a solenoid temperature circuit that determines an operating temperature of the solenoid ([0002], [0004]), a solenoid control circuit that operates the solenoid in response to the operating temperature of the solenoid, wherein the solenoid control circuit operates the solenoid by providing an electrical current to the solenoid (via calibration control, [0025]-[0026], [0031]), such that a target temperature of the solenoid is not exceeded (does not exceed calibrated temperature).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the clutch control logic in JP with a solenoid temperature circuit as recited in view of Wilson and Kurmaniak to diagnosis and correct performance health of clutch assembly during its operation which increases long term operating efficiency of transmission.
As to claim 22, JP in view of Kurmaniak discloses wherein the solenoid temperature circuit determines the operating temperature of the solenoid according to a determination of the solenoid temperature in response to an electrical current value of the solenoid and an electrical resistance value of the solenoid ([0031] in Kurmaniak).
As to claim 23, JP in view of Wilson and Kurmaniak discloses wherein the electrical current value of the solenoid is a determined current value of the solenoid ([0031] in Kurmaniak and [0074], actual current in Wilson).
As to claim 24, JP in view of Kurmaniak discloses wherein the solenoid temperature circuit determines the solenoid temperature in response to a steady state voltage applied to the solenoid ([0002], [0004] in Kurmaniak).
As to claim 25, JP in view of Kurmaniak discloses wherein the solenoid exhibits a resistance response to temperature according to a known characteristic of the metal in the solenoid coil (well known in art to use aluminum or copper as coil material which always exhibits resistance to heat), wherein a resistance-temperature curve is calibrated and stored in the controller and accessible to the solenoid temperature circuit such that the solenoid temperature circuit determines the operating temperature of the solenoid in response to an electrical current value of the solenoid and an electrical resistance value of the solenoid ([0031] in Kurmaniak).
As to claim 26, JP in view of Wilson and Kurmaniak discloses wherein at least one of the electrical current value and the electrical resistance value are determined by the solenoid temperature circuit (Figures 4, 5, 8-11 in Wilson and [0031] in Kurmaniak).
As to claim 27, JP in view of Kurmaniak discloses wherein the solenoid temperature circuit determines the voltage drop across the solenoid (via what is described in [0021] in Kurmaniak, based on measuring for voltages, it would be obvious for circuit to determine voltage drop across solenoid).
As to claim 28, JP in view of Kurmaniak discloses wherein the solenoid temperature circuit determines a current through the solenoid with a solid state current meter in a circuit to the solenoid ([0021], lines 6-8 in Kurmaniak).
As to claim 30, JP in view of Kurmaniak discloses wherein the voltage provided to the solenoid is varied to assist in determining the operating temperature of the solenoid to provide a voltage value that is at a known temperature determination point for the solenoid ([0004] via plural voltage measurement in Kurmaniak).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29 and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 29 in combination with the limitations as written in claim 21, exactly)……. wherein the solenoid temperature circuit further determines the operating temperature of the solenoid in response to a thermal model of the solenoid, including a cooldown estimate of the solenoid to provide an estimated temperature of the solenoid when active voltage is not being provided to the solenoid.
-(as to claim 39 in combination with the limitations as written in claim 31, exactly)……. wherein the solenoid temperature circuit further determines the operating temperature of the solenoid in response to a thermal model of the solenoid, including a cooldown estimate of the solenoid to provide an estimated temperature of the solenoid when active voltage is not being provided to the solenoid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Kanazawa et al 20120259522 (Figure 1) discloses a transmission and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a clutch control logic (31) with a solenoid temperature circuit that determines an operating temperature of the solenoid ([0051]) and a solenoid control circuit that operates the solenoid in response to the operating temperature of the solenoid (Figure 3e).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 September 19, 2026