DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the steering member" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the estimated position" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stigall et al. (US 20160051323 A1) in view of Ryan et al. (US 20100286531 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stigall discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) a method comprising:
advancing a medical device 101 through a vessel (see [0127]), wherein the medical device includes a sensing assembly 175 (see [0049]-[0050]); and
sensing tissue properties (different tissue structures) adjacent to the sensing assembly within the vessel (see [0050]).
Stigall is silent regarding the tissue properties include different types of collagen.
However Ryan, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches a sensing assembly (see [0161]), sensing tissue properties adjacent to the sensing assembly within the vessel (see [0161]), wherein the tissue properties include different types of collagen (see [0161], collagen broadly is sensed which can include multiple types of collagen).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stigall to include collagen as one of the tissue properties sensed as taught by Ryan, for the purpose of measuring different pathiophysiological properties of the tissue (see Ryan [0161]).
Regarding claim 2, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) steering the medical device with the steering member based on the estimated position (see [0121]).
Regarding claim 4, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) the sensing assembly 175 includes an ultrasound transducer (see [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 5, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 4. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) emitting ultrasonic energy with the ultrasound transducer to sense the tissue properties (see [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) the sensing assembly includes an optical fiber (see [0049]).
Regarding claim 7, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) emitting light with the optical fiber to sense the tissue properties (see [0049], “optical coherence tomography” involves emitting light while sensing).
Regarding claim 8, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Stigall is silent regarding sensing the tissue properties with fluorescence spectroscopy.
However Ryan further teaches sensing the tissue properties with fluorescence spectroscopy (see [0019]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stigall to include fluorescence spectroscopy foe sensing the tissue properties as taught by Ryan, for the purpose of being able to provide pathophysiologic or morphologic features diagnosis of a plaque during a procedure without any significant additional cost, risk, or work for the physician (see Ryan [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Stigall discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) a medical device comprising:
a catheter 103 configured to be advanced within a vessel (see [0047]); and
a sensing assembly 175 provided with the catheter (see fig. 2 and [0047]),
the sensing assembly configured to sense tissue properties (different tissue properties) adjacent to the sensing assembly within the vessel (see [0050]).
Stigall is silent regarding the tissue properties include different types of collagen.
However Ryan, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches a sensing assembly (see [0161]), sensing tissue properties adjacent to the sensing assembly within the vessel (see [0161]), wherein the tissue properties include different types of collagen (see [0161], collagen broadly is sensed which can include multiple types of collagen).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stigall to include collagen as one of the tissue properties sensed as taught by Ryan, for the purpose of measuring different pathiophysiological properties of the tissue (see Ryan [0161]).
Regarding claim 12, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) the sensing assembly 175 includes an ultrasound transducer (see [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 13, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) the sensing assembly 175 includes an optical fiber (see [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) a core 161 disposed within the catheter 103 (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 14. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) the core 161 is fixed to the catheter (fixed via handle 121; see fig. 2 and [0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 14. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) the core 161 is moveable relative to the catheter 103 (see [0047]).
Regarding claim 17, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 16. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) the core 161 is removable from the catheter 103 (the core is moveable relative to the catheter and can be removed is disassembled).
Regarding claim 18, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 14. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) the sensing assembly 175 is coupled to the core 161 (via the handle 121, see fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 14. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) the core 161 includes a penetrating tip 169 at a distal end thereof (see fig. 2 and [0047]).
Regarding claim 20, Stigall as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11. Stigall further discloses (fig. 1-2, 23-25, and 27) a steering member configured to steer the catheter within the vessel (“steering wire”, see [0121]; [0127] discloses that “any device shown herein or any device with any combination of features shown herein may be used in the method 2701 for crossing a CTO according to the invention”).
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selmon et al. (US 6,010,449) in view of Ryan.
Regarding claim 1, Selmon discloses (fig. 1-3) a method comprising:
advancing a medical device 40 through a vessel (see fig. 1 and col. 8 ln. 66 – col. 9 ln. 20), wherein the medical device includes a sensing assembly 208 (see col. 8 ln. 15-31); and
sensing tissue properties (environment) adjacent to the sensing assembly within the vessel (see col. 8 ln. 32-53).
Selmon is silent regarding the tissue properties include different types of collagen.
However Ryan, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches a sensing assembly (see [0161]), sensing tissue properties adjacent to the sensing assembly within the vessel (see [0161]), wherein the tissue properties include different types of collagen (see [0161], collagen broadly is sensed which can include multiple types of collagen).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Selmon to include collagen as one of the tissue properties sensed as taught by Ryan, for the purpose of measuring different pathiophysiological properties of the tissue (see Ryan [0161]).
Regarding claim 9, Selmon as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Selmon further discloses (fig. 1-3) the medical device includes a catheter 50, and wherein the sensing assembly 208 is moveable relative to the catheter 50 (see col. 8 ln. 15-31).
Regarding claim 10, Selmon as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 9. Selmon further discloses (fig. 1-3) the sensing assembly 208 is coupled to a core 200 (see fig. 3 and col. 8 ln. 15-31), wherein the core 200 is moveable within a lumen of the catheter 50 (see col. 8 ln. 15-31).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,408,934 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the instant claims is claimed in the claims of 12,408,934 as outlined below:
Claims of instant application
Claims of 12,408,934
1
1
2
1
3
1
4
2
5
2
6
3
7
3
8
4
Claims 1-5, 11, 12, 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,579 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the instant claims is claimed in the claims of 12,016,579 as outlined below:
Claims of instant application
Claims of 12,016,579
1
10
2
10
3
10
4
10
5
10
11
1
12
1
14
1
15
8
16
9
17
9
18
1
19
10
20
2
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if a terminal disclaimer is filed or the claims rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious estimating the position of the medical device within the vessel passed on tissue properties where the tissue properties are different types of collagen.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE H MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771