Note that the elected embodiment does not have support the elected species and at least claims 10, and 19 in the priority document 63/684122.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed features must be shown, without entering any new matter: all of the tether in claims 12 and 19 including the combination, all of the fasteners in claim 16 including the claimed combinations.
Claims 5-7, 9, 18, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration. Applicant made the election of Group I, directed to a sleeve with spine attachment, with traverse and to the embodiment in figures 5A-5C, with traverse, in the response dated 03/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant traverses that the inventions groups I, II and III. Applicant asserts that the Patent Office has not offered any basis for the restriction of Group IV from Groups I, II, and III, and the Patent Office has offered only the conclusory statement that "each subcombination has separate utility," without explaining what such separate utility might be. Mere conclusory statements cannot support a restriction requirement The Applicant respectfully traverses the need for the species election, as the required species elections are in excess of any need to streamline prosecution and avoid unwarranted examination or search burdens.
Applicant is noted:
35 U.S.C. 121.
“If two or more independent and distinct inventions are claimed in one application, the Director may require the application to be restricted to one of the inventions.”
MPEP 803 [R-3] Restriction — When Proper
Under the statute, the claims of an application may properly be required to be restricted to one of two or more claimed inventions only if they are able to support separate patents and they are either independent (MPEP § **> 802.01, § 806.06, and § 808.01<) or distinct (MPEP § 806.05 - § *> 806.05(j)<).
MPEP, Form-Paragraph-Chapter-800
¶ 8.01 Election of Species; Species Claim(s) Present
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species [1]. The species are independent or distinct because [2]:
…..
Examiner Note:
1. In bracket 1, identify the species and/or grouping(s) of patentably indistinct species from which an election is to be made. The species may be identified as the species of figures 1, 2, and 3, for example, or the species of examples I, II, and III, respectively. (emphasis added)
The examiner submits regarding the restriction, it is noted that when there are more than one invention, 35 U.S.C. 121 allows the application to be restricted to one of the inventions.
Regarding the subcombination, as set forth above, Group I is very specific to class 402/73, now class b42f13/0093-13/10, and there are 5703 references to go through.
Group II directed to pockets structure classified in 150/112-117, 190/109-111, now a45c13/02-2013/28, and there are 5703 references to go through.
Group III directed to attachment with another to be searched in class 150/111 and 190/108 ,now A45C7/0045 , and there are 1817 references to go through.
Group IV directed to the closing structure, to be searched in classes 150/118, 190/119, 903, and a45c3/00, and there are 5786 references to go through.
Clearly there is burden of search on the examiner.
Regarding the species, the examiner submits there are numerous species of strap and attachments, each claimed species must be search in various classes including A45C13/00, B42F, and fastener class in class 224 now A42F, and there is a burden of search/examination on the examiner and note the MPEP allows the examiner to list the species according to disclosed embodiments as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The recitation “at least one tether is selected from the group consisting of a strap, a cable, a cord, a wire, a ring, a track, and combinations thereof.” Claim 12 is dependent to claim 10 which requires a first end of the tether to the first support section of the articulated spine and at a second end of the tether to the second support section of the articulated spine such that the at least one tether extends over at least a portion of the first support section, across the flexion region, and over at least a portion of the second support section. The specification does not describe at least the ring capable of limitations in claim 10. Also, there is no disclosure of any combinations that enable to one or ordinary skill in the art. See drawing objections above.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “the at least one fastener is equal in number to the at least one sleeve guide” is confusing. Note that claim 1 recites a plurality of sleeves with the sleeves would have more fasteners than the sleeve guide, please explain.
Claim 14 recites “the sleeve.” The antecedent basis in claim 1 is a plurality of sleeves. It’s unclear what sleeve of the plurality sleeves is the sleeve. Should be changed to “each sleeve”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodrigues (11503888).
(29) Alternatively, the walls 1-6 of the case 11 could be made of a metal alloy or plastic. These more rigid materials may require an alternative closure device, such as latches. In addition, the case 11 could have a different shape than that of a rectangular parallelepiped.
Regarding claim 1, Rodrigues a baggage sleeve packing system (fig.14 , comprising a support structure, including: an articulated spine (the hinged portion at 15B) including a first support section (311) attached adjacent to a second support (311) section via a flexion region (15B) along a length of the articulated spine; and at least one sleeve guide (316) disposed on or in the articulated spine; and a plurality of sleeves (100A-AA), each of the plurality of sleeves including: at least one storage compartment; and a binding edge (154) along a length of the sleeve, the binding edge comprising at least one fastener (118/118A) reversibly attachable to the at least one sleeve guide, wherein, while remaining attached to the support structure via the at least one fastener and the at least one sleeve guide, at least one of the plurality of sleeves is transferable from being disposed adjacent to the first support section of the articulated spine to being disposed adjacent to the second support section of the articulated spine.
Regarding claim 2, note there is a plurality of sleeve guides (18/18A) arranged along the length of the articulated spine.
Regarding claim 3, note the each of the plurality of sleeves each has a forward face and
a rearward face, at least one of the forward face or the rearward face including the at least one storage compartment as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, note there are 8 fasteners 118 and 8 sleeve guides in fig. 14. Also noted that the claim is a comprising type and does not exclude other fasteners and/or guide in other embodiments.
Regarding claim 17, note the support sections are rigid as cited above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigues in view of Roegner (5897209).
Rodrigues meets all claimed limitations except for the flexion region is positioned over a sidewall of the baggage. Roegner teaches that it is known in the art to provide a flexion region 50 positioned over a sidewall of the baggage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a flexion region 50 positioned over a sidewall Rodrigues to provide added protection to the wall of the luggage.
Claims 10-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigues in view of Griesinger (911125). Rodrigues meets all claimed limitations except for the claimed tether.
(13) Leaves may be removed or inserted with great ease by disengaging the ends of the straps from the studs and drawing the straps endwise until the joints 15 therein are brought to that part of the book where the leaves are to be removed or inserted. Then pull the joints above the leaves until a sufficient length of each strap has been drawn up to permit the disconnection of the joints, which being done the changes in leaves may, be made, the strap sections again joined and the straps once more pulled taut and their ends connected to the stud 7.
Griesinger teaches that it is known in the art to provide at least one tether (fig. 3) attached at a first end of the tether to the first support section (1) of the articulated spine and at a second end of the tether to the second support section (1) of the articulated spine such that the at least one tether extends over at least a portion of the first support section, across the flexion region (2 at 15), and over at least a portion of the second support section, and the at least one of the plurality of sleeves is transferable from the first support section of the articulated spine to the second support section of the articulated spine by sliding (attachment holes 22) along the at least one tether. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least one tether attached at a first end of the tether to the first support section of the articulated spine and at a second end of the tether to the second support section of the articulated spine such that the at least one tether extends over at least a portion of the first support section, across the flexion region, and over at least a portion of the second support section, and the at least one of the plurality of sleeves is transferable from the first support section of the articulated spine to the second support section of the articulated spine by sliding (attachment holes 18 of the sleeves) along the at least one tether to provide an alternative attachment construction.
Regarding claim 11, the first end of the tether in Griesinger is reversibly attached to the first support section of the articulated spine and the second end of the tether is reversibly attached to the second support section via the snap at 7/14 (spring socket 14/ stud 7).
Regarding claim 12, note the device in Griesinger comprises at least a strap.
Regarding claim 13, note Griesinger teaches a plurality of tethers spaced out from one another along the length of the articulated spine.
Regarding claim 19, Rodrigues teaches a baggage sleeve packing system, comprising: a support structure, including: an articulated spine (the hinged portion at 15B ) including a first support section attached adjacent to a second support section via a flexion region along a length of the articulated spine; and a plurality of sleeve guides (316) disposed on or in the articulated spine and spaced out from one another along the length of the articulated spine; and a plurality of sleeves, each of the plurality of sleeves including: at least one storage compartment; and a binding edge along a length of the sleeve, the binding edge comprising a plurality of fasteners (118) reversibly attachable to the plurality of sleeve guides, wherein while remaining attached to the support structure via the plurality of fasteners and the plurality of sleeve guides, at least one of the plurality of sleeves is transferable from being disposed adjacent to the first support section of the articulated spine to being disposed adjacent to the second support section of the articulated spine; the baggage sleeve packing system is configured for being disposed in a piece of baggage such that the flexion region is positioned over a sidewall of the baggage; the plurality of sleeve guides (316). Rodrigues meets all claimed limitations except for the sleeve guides includes a plurality of tethers. As set forth above, Griesinger teaches that it is known in the art to provide at least one tether (fig. 3) attached at a first end of the tether to the first support section (1) of the articulated spine and at a second end of the tether to the second support section (1) of the articulated spine such that the at least one tether extends over at least a portion of the first support section, across the flexion region (2 at 15), and over at least a portion of the second support section, and the at least one of the plurality of sleeves is transferable from the first support section of the articulated spine to the second support section of the articulated spine by sliding (attachment holes 22) along the at least one tether. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least one tether attached at a first end of the tether to the first support section of the articulated spine and at a second end of the tether to the second support section of the articulated spine such that the at least one tether extends over at least a portion of the first support section, across the flexion region, and over at least a portion of the second support section, and the at least one of the plurality of sleeves is transferable from the first support section of the articulated spine to the second support section of the articulated spine by sliding (attachment holes 18 of the sleeves) along the at least one tether to provide an alternative attachment construction.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigues in view of Griesinger, and further in view of Chan (12029297). Rodrigues teaches a plurality of loop fasteners. Rodrigues meets all claimed limitations except for the each of the plurality of loop fasteners permanently attached to the sleeve at a first end of the loop fastener and reversibly attached to the sleeve at a second end of the loop fastener (claim 14), and at least one fastener reversibly attachable to the at least one sleeve guide is selected from the group consisting of at least one snap fastener, at least one clip fastener, at least one zipper fastener, at least one hook and loop fastener, at least one magnetic fastener, and combinations thereof.
.
In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3C, an end of the strip portion 24 is fixed to the ridge portion 23, and the other end is detachably connected to the ridge portion 23 by buttons, magnets, Velcro, or other similar attachment means.
Chan teaches that it is known in the art to provide a fastener for a sleeve with a loop fastener permanently attached to the sleeve at a first end of the loop fastener and reversibly attached to the sleeve at a second end of the loop fastener.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a each of the loop in Rodrigues permanently attached to the sleeve at a first end of the loop fastener and reversibly attached to the sleeve at a second end as taught by Chan of the loop fastener to enable one to take out the sleeve easily.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigues in view in view of Chan (12029297). Rodrigues teaches a plurality of loop fasteners. Rodrigues meets all claimed limitations except for the least one fastener reversibly attachable to the at least one sleeve guide is selected from the group consisting of at least one snap fastener, at least one clip fastener, at least one zipper fastener, at least one hook and loop fastener, at least one magnetic fastener, and combinations thereof. As set forth above, Chan teaches that it is known in the art to provide a fastener for a sleeve with a loop fastener permanently attached to the sleeve at a first end of the loop fastener and reversibly attached to the sleeve at a second end of the loop fastener.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide each of the loop in Rodrigues permanently attached to the sleeve at a first end of the loop fastener and reversibly attached to the sleeve at a second end as taught by Chan of the loop fastener to enable one to take out the sleeve easily.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733