In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
The application has claimed priority based on prior filed U.S. Application Serial No. 18246322 (now U.S. Patent No. 12416989) filed on March 22, 2023 which is dependent upon International Patent Application PCT/CN2022/089749 filed on April 28, 2022..
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 28, line 11 “two detection signal output terminals IN are shown in Fig. 14” should be “two detection signal output terminals IN are shown in Fig. 10 [[14]] .
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernstein et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110141052 in view of Xu et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190073079 and Oh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210041954.
Consider claim 1, Bernstein teaches a touch panel (see Bernstein figure 21, element 150), comprising: a base substrate (see Bernstein figure 21, element 50), at least one pressure detector (see Bernstein figure 21, element 34) and at least one actuator (see Bernstein figure 21, element 36, 40) arranged on the base substrate,
a driving circuit (see Bernstein figure 21, element 160),
a cover plate (see Bernstein figure 3, element 56 and paragraphs 0076-0078 where Uppermost layer 56 of member 24 may be formed from a smooth layer of glass or other suitable materials), and
a touch layer (see Bernstein figure 21, element 152, 154 and paragraph 0108 where touch pad array 150 may be formed from horizontal electrodes 154 and vertical electrodes 152 on substrate 50),
wherein the touch layer is configured to determine a touch location (see Bernstein paragraph 0108 where ouch sensor processing circuitry 158 can convert capacitance changes that are detected using electrodes 152 and 154 into position data (e.g., to locate the position of an external object such as a user's finger on touch pad member 24).),
wherein the cover plate can be actuated by the at least one actuator to generate vibration (see Bernstein paragraph 0071 where driving actuator 36 appropriately, vibrations or other movement in touch pad 24 may produce a desired tactile experience for the user (e.g., in the tips of fingers 26).),
wherein the at least one pressure detector (see Bernstein figure 21, element 34, 162) is electrically connected to the driving circuit (see Bernstein figure 21, element 162, 160)t, and
the driving circuit is electrically connected to the at least one actuator (see Bernstein figure 21, element 36, 40, figure 33, element 170, figure 34, element 170-178 and paragraphs 0108-0110, 0126, 0139, 0159 specifically for example paragraph 0126 where Drive signal generator 170, which may be implemented in dedicated hardware, resources in storage and processing circuitry 160 of FIG. 21, or other suitable resources, may supply actuator control signals for actuator 36),
wherein the driving circuit is configured to generate an actuation signal to control vibration amplitude and frequency of each actuator of the at least one actuator based on the touch location and detection signals of the at least one pressure detector, causing vibrations provided by each actuator on the cover plate (see Bernstein figure 21, element 36, 40, figure 33, element 170, figure 34, element 170-178 and paragraphs 0108-0110, 0126, 0139, 0159 specifically for example paragraph 0126 where Drive signal generator 170, which may be implemented in dedicated hardware, resources in storage and processing circuitry 160 of FIG. 21, or other suitable resources, may supply actuator control signals for actuator 36).
Bernstein does not appear to illustrate an actuator arranged on the base substrate. Bernstein teaches at paragraph 0098 that one or more actuators may be used to impart vertical movement to touch pad member so as to provide different degrees of tactile feedback in different locations (see Bernstein paragraph 0096-0099 specifically for example paragraph 0099 where Global movement may be imparted laterally, whereas localized movement may be imparted using vertically oriented sensors, different collections of one or more sensors, etc).
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches a touch input array including an array of actuators on a substrate so as to provide localized haptic feedback (see Xu figure 5a, element 521a and paragraph 0102-0107). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Bernstein with the teachings of Xu to have actuators to provide localized haptic feed back as suggested by Bernstein using known techniques with predictable results.
Bernstein is silent regarding causing vibrations provided by each actuator on the cover plate to be superimposed on each other, and making the vibration be enhanced at the touch location and be reduced elsewhere.
In the same field of endeavor, Oh teaches causing vibrations provided by each actuator on a cover plate to be superimposed on each other, and making the vibration be enhanced at the touch location and be reduced elsewhere (see Oh paragraphs 0113, 0130) so as to selectively generate vibration only at a place where an actual touch input is made, thereby realizing a precise haptic operation.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Bernstein with the teachings of Oh to have vibrations provided by each actuator on a cover plate to be superimposed on each other, and making the vibration be enhanced at the touch location and be reduced elsewhere so as to selectively generate vibration only at a place where an actual touch input is made, thereby realizing a precise haptic operation using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 9, Bernstein as modified by Xu and Oh teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein an orthographic projection of each pressure detector of the at least one pressure detector on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of a corresponding actuator of the at least one actuator on the base substrate (see Xu, figure 5A, Element 521a, 506 and paragraphs 0099-0102)..
Consider claim 10, Bernstein as modified by Xu and Oh teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the at least one pressure detector and the at least one actuator are arranged in different layers (see Xu, figure 5A, Element 521a, 506 and paragraphs 0099-0102).
Consider claim 19, Bernstein as modified by Xu and Oh teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the touch panel is divided into a touch area (see Bernstein figure 21, element 154, 152 touch pad electrodes) and a frame area surrounding the touch area (see Bernstein figure 21 area outside of touch pad electrodes),
wherein the at least one pressure detector and/or the at least one actuator are located in the frame area (see Bernstein paragraph 0108 and figure 21, element 34, 36 located at corners and edge of substrate 50 outside of touch pad electrode area).
Consider claim 20, Bernstein as modified by Xu and Oh teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the at least one pressure detector is arranged in the touch layer (see Bernstein paragraphs 0054, 0066, 0108 figure 21, element 154, 152 touch pad electrodes).
Claim(s) 2, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernstein et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110141052, Xu et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190073079 and Oh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210041954 in view of Stacy et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100128002, Hsu et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220137766.
Consider claim 2, Bernstein as modified by Xu and Oh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Bernstein is silent regarding wherein a ratio of a quantity of the at least one actuator and a quantity of the at least one pressure detector is in a range of 1:4 to 2:1.
In a related field of endeavor, Stacy teaches arranging force sensors and actuators in zones so as to provide feedback to specific zones (see Stacy figure 3, element 77, figure 6, element 140, figure 7, element 740, 37 and paragraphs 0050-0063 specifically for example paragraphs 0052, 0059, 0062-0063 where force sensors 740 are shown in FIG. 7 in a rosette pattern, although any other suitable pattern may be utilized, including, for example, single force sensor patterns, multiple force sensor patterns, multi-directional patterns, stacked or planar configurations, patterns of other shapes, and so forth. Multiple actuators 37 may be utilized. While the embodiments described herein illustrate particular implementations of the portable electronic device, other modifications and variations to these embodiments are within the scope of the present disclosure. For example, the size and shape of many of the features, including the patterns of the touch sensors and the force sensors, may vary while still providing the same functions. Notice that various patterns are disclosed to provide the same functions).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Bernstein/Xu to have any suitable ratio of actuator and pressure detector so as to provide desired tactile feedback and give a user a greater level of accuracy and sense of control using known techniques with predictable results.
The prior art is replete with various example configurations having different ratio of actuators to force sensors. For example, in the same field of endeavor, Hsu teaches 1:4 (see Hsu figure 3, element 28, 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have modified Bernstein/Xu to have the recited ratio of actuator and pressure detector using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 8, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh, Stacey and Hsu teaches all the limitations of to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the at least one pressure detector and the at least one actuator are arranged in a same layer (see Hsu figure 10, element 14, 16, 28).
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernstein et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110141052, Xu et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190073079 and Oh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210041954 in view of Uttermann et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160306423 and Hsu et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220137766.
Consider claim 3, Bernstein as modified by Xu and Oh teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the at least one actuator comprises a plurality of actuators (see Bernstein paragraph 0096 where More than one actuator may be used to impart movement to touch pad 24 one or more actuators may be used to impart vertical movement to touch pad member 24), and
Bernstein is silent regarding the plurality of actuators are arranged in an array comprising at least two rows and at least two columns, wherein every four actuators that are directly adjacent constitute a sub-array which is parallelogram, and orthographic projections of the four actuators constituting the sub-array on the base substrate define a sub-region as vertices, wherein an orthographic projection of each of the at least one pressure detector on the base substrate is in a corresponding sub-region.
In the same field of endeavor, Uttermann teaches patterns of alternating haptic structures and force sensing elements so as to detect force received at different locations and output haptic localized haptic output (see Uttermann figure 20B, element 1430, 1420 and paragraphs 0200-0208). Uttermann does not specifically discuss sub-region.
In the same field of endeavor, Hsu teaches using multiple pressure sensors and actuators so as to provide multiple pressure sensitive input regions having corresponding actuating feedback when touched (see Hsu figure 6, element 40, 42, 44, 46, 48, 50, 52, 54, 62, 64, 66 and paragraph 0025).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Bernstein with the teachings of Uttermann and Hsu to have the recited features by merely rearranging pressure sensors and actuators according to a desired localization of haptic feedback and touch sensitivity so as to provide multiple pressure sensitive input regions and localized haptic output when touched using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 4, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh, Uttermann and Hsu teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches wherein each sub-region corresponds to one pressure detector of the at least one pressure detector, wherein an orthographic projection of the one pressure detector on the base substrate is at a geometric center of the corresponding sub-region (see Uttermann figure 20B where force sensing element 1430 is at the center of four haptic structures 1420).
Consider claim 5, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh, Uttermann and Hsu teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches wherein each sub-region corresponds to two pressure detectors, wherein an arrangement direction of orthographic projections of the two pressure detectors on the base substrate is parallel to a row direction or a column direction of the array of the plurality of actuators (see Uttermann figure 20B where force sensing element 1430 are arranged in rows and columns).
Consider claim 6, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh, Uttermann and Hsu teaches all the limitations of claim 5 and further teaches wherein the sub-region is divided into two regions by its midline, and the orthographic projections of the two pressure detectors on the base substrate are respectively at geometric centers of the two regions (see Uttermann figure 20B where force sensing element 1430 is at the center of four haptic structures 1420).
Consider claim 7, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh, Uttermann and Hsu teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches wherein each sub-region corresponds to four pressure detectors, wherein the four pressure detectors constitute a parallelogram as vertices, wherein, extension directions of two sets of opposite sides of the parallelogram are respectively parallel to a row direction and a column direction of the array of the plurality of actuator (see Uttermann figure 20B where force sensing element 1430 are arranged in rows and columns)..
Claim(s) 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernstein et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110141052, Xu et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190073079 and Oh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210041954 in view of Uttermann et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160306423.
Consider claim 11, Bernstein as modified by Xu and Oh teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein each pressure detector of the at least one pressure detector comprises an input terminal (see Bernstein figure 21, element 34, 164, 162 and paragraph 0108 where Force sensors 34 may supply force signals to force sensor processing circuitry 162 via path 164)
the driving circuit comprises at least one detection signal output terminal and at least one detection signal receiving terminal (see Bernstein figure 21, element 162 and figure 33, element 162 which receives input from force sensor 34 and outputs data to drive signal generator 170),
wherein the input terminal of each pressure detector is electrically connected to a corresponding detection signal output terminal of the driving circuit (see Bernstein figure 21, element 34, 164, 162 and paragraph 0108 where Force sensors 34 may supply force signals to force sensor processing circuitry 162 via path 164), and
Bernstein does not appear to explicitly disclose the output terminal of each pressure detector is electrically connected to a corresponding detection signal receiving terminal of the driving circuit. Bernstein does disclose that a force sensor may be a piezoelectric sensor (see Bernstein figure 33, element 34 and paragraph 0056, 0081, 0083) and that actuator may be formed of piezoelectric materials (see Bernstein paragraph 0089).
In the same field of endeavor, Uttermann teaches using the same piezoelectric material to detect force and provide a haptic response so as to reduce a number of components (see Uttermann paragraph 0173). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Bernstein to have used a same piezoelectric material to detect force and provide a haptic response so as to reduce a number of components using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 12, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh and Uttermann teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches wherein the input terminal of each pressure detector is electrically connected to a same detection signal output terminal of the driving circuit (see Bernstein paragraph 0102 where Touch pad member 24 may be driven by actuator 36 in any suitable direction (laterally, vertically, at an angle, using both lateral and vertical displacement schemes simultaneously, etc.), and paragraphs 0069, 0113-0115 where force sensors 34 at all four corners of touch pad member 24 is that this allows force signals from multiple sensors to be gathered and processed in parallel. The force sensor signals may be averaged and Uttermann paragraph 0062 where when multiple haptic structures are used, or when a haptic structure includes multiple sections that may be driven individually, each actuator of each haptic structure, or each section of the haptic structure, may be actuated simultaneously, substantially simultaneously, or sequentially. And paragraphs 0166-0173).
Consider claim 13, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh and Uttermann teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches wherein each pressure detector comprises a capacitive device, the capacitive device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and an insulator between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the first electrode is used as the input terminal of each pressure detector, and the second electrode is used as the output terminal of each pressure detector (see Bernstein figure 8, element 34 and paragraph 0085).
Consider claim 14, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh and Uttermann teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches wherein each pressure detector comprises a piezoelectric device, the piezoelectric device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode and a piezoelectric material layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the first electrode is used as the input terminal of each pressure detector, and the second electrode is used as the output terminal of each pressure detector (see Bernstein paragraph 0081 where Force sensors 34 may be formed from piezoelectric devices, structures that exhibit changes in resistance, capacitance, or inductance as force is applied, or any other suitable force sensing structures, paragraph 0102 where Touch pad member 24 may be driven by actuator 36 in any suitable direction (laterally, vertically, at an angle, using both lateral and vertical displacement schemes simultaneously, etc.), and paragraphs 0069, 0113-0115 where force sensors 34 at all four corners of touch pad member 24 is that this allows force signals from multiple sensors to be gathered and processed in parallel. The force sensor signals may be averaged and Uttermann paragraph 0062 where when multiple haptic structures are used, or when a haptic structure includes multiple sections that may be driven individually, each actuator of each haptic structure, or each section of the haptic structure, may be actuated simultaneously, substantially simultaneously, or sequentially. And paragraphs 0166-0173).
Consider claim 15, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh and Bernstein teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches wherein each pressure detector comprises a piezoresistive device, the piezoresistive device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode and a piezoresistive material layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the first electrode is used as the input terminal of each pressure detector, and the second electrode is used as the output terminal of each pressure detector (see Bernstein paragraph 0081 where Force sensors 34 may be formed from piezoelectric devices, structures that exhibit changes in resistance, capacitance, or inductance as force is applied, or any other suitable force sensing structures.
Consider claim 16, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh and Uttermann teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein each actuator of the at least one actuator comprises an input terminal see Bernstein figure 21, element 166 and paragraph 0108 where Force sensors 34 may supply force signals to force sensor processing circuitry 162 via path 164. Force sensor processing circuitry 162 may process raw sensor signals to determine the amount of force that is present on each of sensors 34 (e.g., due to forces applied to the touch pad by the user). Driver circuitry 166 (e.g., an audio amplifier or other output driver) may be used to supply drive signals to actuator 36. When driven in this way, actuator 36 may impart movement to the touch pad via coupling structures such as structure 40 and paragraph 0110 where Once raw sensor signals have been processed, appropriate actions may be taken (e.g., by applying a drive signal to actuator 166 using hardware such as driver circuit 166). ) and an output terminal (see Bernstein figure 33, element 34 and paragraph 0056, 0081, 0083, 0089 and Uttermann paragraph 0173),
the driving circuit comprises at least one actuation signal output terminal (see Bernstein figure 21, element 166 and figure 33, element 162, 170 which receives input from force sensor 34 and outputs data to drive signal generator 170 and Uttermann paragraph 0173) and
wherein the input terminal of each actuator is electrically connected to a corresponding actuation signal output terminal of the driving circuit (see Bernstein figure 21, element 162, 166 and figure 33, element 162, 166, 170 which receives input from force sensor 34 and outputs data to drive signal generator 170 and Uttermann paragraph 0173), and
Bernstein is silent regarding the output terminal of each actuator is electrically connected to the ground terminal of the driving circuit. In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches piezoelectric actuation element connected to a reference voltage such as ground so as to apply a potential across a piezoelectric element to provide an actuation signal (see Xu paragraph 0187 where One or more signal lines (e.g., signal trace 1080) may be conductively coupled with the conductive pad 1055, the first electrode 1053 and/or the second electrode 1054 to transmit actuation signals to each haptic actuator 1051. Accordingly, a potential may be applied across the piezoelectric element 1052—a reference voltage may be provided to the second electrode 1054; and an actuation signal may be provided to the first electrode 1053. In some embodiments, the first electrode 1053 may be coupled to a reference voltage and the second electrode 1054 may be coupled to an actuation signal. In various embodiments the reference voltage may be ground. The signal trace 1080 may couple the input electrodes 1060a, 1060b, the haptic actuators 1051, and/or other components of the electronic device 990 to one or more additional components of the electronic device 990. In some embodiments, the signal trace 1080 is coupled to processing circuitry disposed in the interior volume of the electronic device 990).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Bernstein to provide a ground signal so as to provide an actuation signal to a piezoelectric material using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 17, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh and Uttermann teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the actuator comprises a piezoelectric device, the piezoelectric device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and a piezoelectric material layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the first electrode is used as the input terminal of the actuator, and the second electrode is used as the output terminal of the actuator (see Bernstein paragraph 0081 where Force sensors 34 may be formed from piezoelectric devices, structures that exhibit changes in resistance, capacitance, or inductance as force is applied, or any other suitable force sensing structures.
Consider claim 18, Bernstein as modified by Xu, Oh and Uttermann teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the driving circuit comprises at least one detection signal output terminal, at least one detection signal receiving terminal, at least one actuation signal output terminal (see Bernstein figure 21, element 162 and figure 33, element 162 which receives input from force sensor 34 and outputs data to drive signal generator 170 and Uttermann paragraph 0173), and a ground terminal (see Xu paragraph 0187),
wherein the at least one detection signal output terminal and the at least one detection signal receiving terminal are electrically connected to the at least one pressure detector (see Bernstein figure 21, element 34, 162, 166 and figure 33, element 34, 162, 166, 170 which receives input from force sensor 34 and outputs data to drive signal generator 170 and Uttermann paragraph 0173), and
the at least one actuation signal output terminal and the ground terminal (see Xu paragraph 0187) are electrically connected to the at least one actuator (see Bernstein figure 21, element 34, 162, 166 and figure 33, element 34, 162, 166, 170 which receives input from force sensor 34 and outputs data to drive signal generator 170 and Uttermann paragraph 0173),
wherein the at least one detection signal output terminal and the at least one detection signal receiving terminal are located at a first edge of the touch panel (see Bernstein figure 21 where processing circuitry are illustrated at a bottom side of a touch panel), and
the at least one actuation signal output terminal and the ground terminal are located at a second edge of the touch panel,
Bernstein is silent regarding having output terminals located at opposite sides of a touch panel. However it would have been an obvious to provide output terminals located at opposite sides of a touch panel, since it has been held that mere rearrangement parts of an invention in a way that does not modify the operation of the device is not a patentable improvement. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Weber et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100328229 (tactile feedback), Maruyama et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20060028095 (piezoelectric device), Frescas et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190354222 (triboelectric sensor with haptic feedback), Harris et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150331966 (vibratory panel device), Harris, U.S. Patent No. 9041662 (touch sensitive device).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625