DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1- 19 are pending in this application.
Claim 8 has been amended. Claims 18- 19 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
First Argument (page 8) under Remarks
… Youn does not teach using a threshold determined from the transform- related information to adjust a quantized coefficient to a non-zero value based on that threshold.
Thus, even if Youn's threshold values were regarded as "quantized coefficient thresholds," Youn does not teach adjusting a quantized coefficient to a non-zero value based on such a threshold. Youn's threshold is used to determine whether processing may be skipped; it is not used to determine or control the value of an adjusted non-zero quantized coefficient.
Nor does Shimada cure this deficiency. Shimada uses a predetermined non-zero coefficient, while Youn uses its threshold for a bypass determination rather than for adjusting a quantized coefficient. The cited combination therefore does not teach the claimed relationship of "adjusting quantized coefficients at the M locations based on the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations."
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Youn [0022] teaches the threshold values are computed for each coefficient of the block, and [0059] teaches the threshold determination as a function of the quantization parameter and position of the transform function. There for Youn teaches the threshold as a function of the quantized coefficient.
Shimada teaches adjusting the quantized coefficient based on a condition. Specifically modifying the coefficients at specified located based on the determination that the coefficient is zero. Youn teaches using the threshold to determine if the coefficient at M locations is zero. Therefor it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the conditional adjustment of a quantized coefficient, where the conditional is the determination of the coefficient as zero, to add the teachings of Youn that determines the coefficient as zero based on a threshold that is a function of the quantized coefficient in order to reduce the computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]) with reasonable expectation of success.
Second Argument (page 8) under Remarks
Further, the rationale stated in the Office Action for combining Youn with Shimada is to reduce computations for coefficients that would be quantized to zero. Youn achieves that objective by bypassing transform and quantization when zero coefficients are predicted. The Office Action does not explain why this teaching would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shimada's predetermined coefficient insertion so that the inserted non-zero coefficient is instead selected or adjusted based on Youn's threshold values.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Youn teaches that video coding is computationally intensive and includes a transform step, a quantization (Q) step, an inverse transform and inverse quantization and in some cases, all of the coefficients may be quantized to zero. Shimada finds the all zero condition only after the transformation step; however Youn determines the all zero condition before the transformation step, therefore saving computation power. Therefor it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the conditional adjustment of a quantized coefficient, where the conditional is the determination of the coefficient as zero, to add the teachings of Youn that determines the coefficient as zero based on a threshold that is a function of the quantized coefficient in order to reduce the computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]) with reasonable expectation of success.
Third Argument (page 8-10) under Remarks
The cited references, however, do not teach the additional limitations now required by amended claim 8.
Shimada's coefficient adder changes a coefficient to a predetermined non-zero value, such as 1. Nothing in the cited portions of Shimada teaches that the non-zero coefficient is selected or adjusted based on a quantized coefficient threshold, …
Fang does not remedy these deficiencies. Fang describes inserting a non-zero coefficient, such as +1 or -1, when quantized transform coefficients are zero, and separately describes determining a final QP value based on a threshold QP value. …
Therefore, even if Shimada and Fang were combined as alleged, the combination would still not teach that the obtained quantized coefficient block is an adjusted quantized coefficient block obtained by adjusting a coefficient in an all-zero quantized coefficient block to a non-zero value based on a quantized coefficient threshold, where the non-zero quantized coefficient does not exceed that threshold and the threshold is determined based on a base coefficient matrix used to transform the transform unit.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 8, 16 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Fourth Argument (page10) under Remarks
Claims 2-4, 7, 10-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Shimada in view of Youn and further in view of Hsu (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0237221). Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection. Claims 2-4 and 7 depend, directly or indirectly, from independent claim 1, and claims 10-12 and 15 depend, directly or indirectly, from independent claim 9. Hsu does not cure the deficiencies of the combination of Shimada and Youn discussed above with respect to independent claims 1 and 9. Therefore, claims 2-4, 7, 10- 12, and 15 are patentable over the alleged combination of Shimada, Youn, and Hsu for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to independent claims 1 and 9. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
See response to first argument above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5- 6, 9, 13- 14, and 18- 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi Shimada (US 20070217508 A1) (hereinafter Shimada) in view of Jeongnam Youn (US 20080151999 A1) (hereinafter Youn):
Regarding Claim 1, Shimada teaches an image processing method (a method image processing [0031]), comprising:
determining a quantized coefficient block obtained by quantizing a transform unit of an image (quantized results obtained by quantizing the DCT coefficients of each transformed block of the picture [0065]- [0066]; fig 1-3; fig. 1 showing 1 orthogonal transformer, 2 quantizer, and 20a transformation coefficient/qp controller);
when quantized coefficients in the quantized coefficient block are all zeros (determining whether all of the quantized DCT coefficients of the block are zero [0060]; [0066]; the quantized result by the quantizer 2 is inputted into the coefficient adder 51, and the coefficient adder 51, in order to cause at least any one of rows of DCT coefficients all of them being zero to be not zero, adds a predetermined coefficient a (a< >O) [0074] ( refer to ( 1) and ( 2) in FIG. 3: controlling step ),
adjusting quantized coefficients at the M locations (adjusting the all zero quantized coefficients by setting the DC component of color difference Cb to 1 [0062]; [0074]), wherein the adjusted quantized coefficients at the M locations are non-zero (changing any one of the DCT coefficients to a non-zero value [0062]), and residual coefficients in a reconstructed residual coefficient block obtained by dequantizing and inversely transforming an adjusted quantized coefficient block are all zeros (the results of inversely quantizing and inversely transforming being all zero even when the coefficient is set to 1. all of the rows of the DCT coefficients are zero by the inverse orthogonal transformer 4, between the cases when the coefficient addition is performed and when the coefficient addition is not performed. [0068]; [0075]- [0076]).
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches determining quantized coefficient thresholds at M locations in the quantized coefficient block (threshold values computed for each coefficient position of the block [0022]; [0059]) based on a base coefficient matrix (the maximum coefficient thresholds derived from the transform matrix [0043]; [0047]), wherein the base coefficient matrix is used to transform the transform unit (the transform matrix C used to transform the transform block [0012]; [0043]); and
performing the adjusting based on the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations (per-position threshold values that indicate when a coefficient is quantized to zero [0053]; [0060]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Regarding Claim 5, Shimada in view of Youn teach the method according to claim 1. Youn further teaches wherein the transform unit comprises a first transform unit in a first column of coding units or a last transform unit in a last column of coding units in multi-row and multi-column coding units corresponding to the image (the non-zero coefficient inserted at a transform unit of the first coding block of each row. The frame is partitioned into multiple rows of LCUs with first and last LCUs in each row [0005]; [0045]; [0100]; [0114]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Regarding Claim 6, Shimada in view of Youn teach the method according to claim 1. Shimada further teaches wherein when M is 1 (a single one of the DCT coefficients changed to a non-zero value [0062]), adjusting the quantized coefficients at the M locations based on the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the AP determination performed after the coefficient adder changes the all-zero quantized coefficients to non-zero [0063]; [0074]), comprises:
adjusting a quantized coefficient in a first column of a first row in the quantized coefficient block (the DC component of the color difference block set to 1 [0062]; [0074])
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches based on a quantized coefficient threshold in the first column of the first row in the quantized coefficient block (the threshold value determined for the first row, first column position of the coefficient block [0059]- [0060]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Regarding Claim 9, Shimada teaches an encoder (encoder [0050])
determine a quantized coefficient block obtained by quantizing a transform unit of an image (quantized results obtained by quantizing the DCT coefficients of each transformed block of the picture [0065]- [0066]; fig 1-3; fig. 1 showing 1 orthogonal transformer, 2 quantizer, and 20a transformation coefficient/qp controller); and
when quantized coefficients in the quantized coefficient block are all zeros (determining whether all of the quantized DCT coefficients of the block are zero [0060]; [0066]; the quantized result by the quantizer 2 is inputted into the coefficient adder 51, and the coefficient adder 51, in order to cause at least any one of rows of DCT coefficients all of them being zero to be not zero, adds a predetermined coefficient a (a< >O) [0074] ( refer to ( 1) and ( 2) in FIG. 3: controlling step ), and adjust quantized coefficients at the M locations (adjusting the all zero quantized coefficients by setting the DC component of color difference Cb to 1 [0062]; [0074]), wherein none of the adjusted quantized coefficients at the M locations is 0 (changing any one of the DCT coefficients to a non-zero value [0062]), and residual coefficients in a reconstructed residual coefficient block obtained by dequantizing and inversely transforming an adjusted quantized coefficient block are all zeros (the results of inversely quantizing and inversely transforming being all zero even when the coefficient is set to 1. all of the rows of the DCT coefficients are zero by the inverse orthogonal transformer 4, between the cases when the coefficient addition is performed and when the coefficient addition is not performed. [0068]; [0075]- [0076]).
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (the processor and memory storing instruction executed by the processor [0068]- [0069]; [0073]), cause the encoder to:
determine quantized coefficient thresholds at M locations in the quantized coefficient block (threshold values computed for each coefficient position of the block [0022]; [0059]) based on a base coefficient matrix (the maximum coefficient thresholds derived from the transform matrix [0043]; [0047]), performing the adjusting based on the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations (per-position threshold values that indicate when a coefficient is quantized to zero [0053]; [0060]).
wherein the base coefficient matrix is used to transform the transform unit (the transform matrix C used to transform the transform block [0012]; [0043]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Regarding Claim 13, Shimada in view of Youn teach the encoder according to claim 9. Youn further teaches wherein the transform unit comprises a first transform unit in a first column of coding units or a last transform unit in a last column of coding units in multi-row and multi-column coding units corresponding to the image (the non-zero coefficient inserted at a transform unit of the first coding block of each row. The frame is partitioned into multiple rows of LCUs with first and last LCUs in each row [0005]; [0045]; [0100]; [0114]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Regarding Claim 14, Shimada in view of Youn teach the encoder according to claim 9. Shimada further teaches wherein when M is 1 (a single one of the DCT coefficients changed to a non-zero value [0062]), and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the encoder to:
adjust a quantized coefficient in a first column of a first row in the quantized coefficient block (the DC component of the color difference block set to 1 [0062]; [0074])
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches based on a quantized coefficient threshold in the first column of the first row in the quantized coefficient block (the threshold value determined for the first row, first column position of the coefficient block [0059]- [0060]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Regarding Claim 18, Shimada in view of Youn teach the method according to claim 9. Shimada further teaches wherein the quantized coefficients at the M locations in the adjusted quantized coefficient block ([0062], and [0074] teach the quantized coefficient at a single location of the all zero block, the DC component of color difference Cb, being adjusted by the coefficient adder) are not greater than set limit ([0074]- [0075] teach the adjusted coefficient set to 1 within the range where the result of the inverse DCT becomes zero).
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches wherein the base coefficient matrix comprises a discrete cosine transform matrix ([0003], [0011], and [0043] teaches the transform matrix C of the DCT performed by the transform module).
the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations ([0022], [0053], and [0060] teach per position threshold values that indicates when a coefficient is quantized to zero).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Regarding Claim 19, Shimada in view of Youn teach the encoder according to claim 9. Shimada further teaches wherein the quantized coefficients at the M locations in the adjusted quantized coefficient block ([0062], and [0074] teach the quantized coefficient at a single location of the all zero block, the DC component of color difference Cb, being adjusted by the coefficient adder) are not greater than set limit ([0074]- [0075] teach the adjusted coefficient set to 1 within the range where the result of the inverse DCT becomes zero).
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches wherein the base coefficient matrix comprises a discrete cosine transform matrix ([0003], [0011], and [0043] teaches the transform matrix C of the DCT performed by the transform module).
the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations ([0022], [0053], and [0060] teach per position threshold values that indicates when a coefficient is quantized to zero).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Claims 2- 4, 7, 10- 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi Shimada (US 20070217508 A1) (hereinafter Shimada) in view of Jeongnam Youn (US 20080151999 A1) (hereinafter Youn) further in view of Pohsiang Hsu (US 20070237221 A1) (hereinafter Hsu):
Regarding Claim 2, Shimada in view of Youn teach the method according to claim 1. Shimada further teaches the quantized coefficients at the M locations in the adjusted quantized coefficient block are not greater than the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the adjusted coefficient set to 1 within the range where the result of the inverse DCT becomes zero [0074]- [0075]), and dequantized transform coefficients of the quantized coefficients at the M locations in the adjusted quantized coefficient block are not greater than the transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the dequantized value of the adjusted coefficient yielding the all zero inverse DCT result [0068]; [0076]).
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches determining transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations based on the base coefficient matrix (maximum transform coefficient values derived from the transform matrix for each position [0043]; [0047]); and
determining the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations based on the transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the final zero quantization thresholds determined from equation (12) maximum transform coefficient values [0052]- [0053]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Youn does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hsu teaches determining the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations based on a dequantization formula (the zero cut-off threshold selected based on the reconstructed value of quantized coefficient level 1 [0253]), a minimum quantized parameter (the threshold determination using a minimum QP for the quantizer [0254]; [0257]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada in view of Youn to further add the teachings of Hsu as above, in order to reduce blocking artifacts and improve visual quality (Hsu [0248]).
Regarding Claim 3, Shimada in view of Youn and Hsu teach the method according to claim 2. Shimada further teaches wherein after adjusting the quantized coefficients at the M locations based on the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the AP determination performed after the coefficient adder changes the all-zero quantized coefficients to non-zero [0063]; [0074]), the method further comprises:
determining a quantized parameter threshold of the quantized coefficient block (determining the maximum quantization parameter value where the result of the inverse DCT becomes zero by the table lookup [0075]) based on a minimum quantized coefficient (the coefficient set to 1, the minimum non-zero value, as the basis for the maximum QP determination [0074]- [0074]); and
determining a second quantized parameter based on the quantized parameter threshold and a first quantized parameter (the coded QP determined by comparing the threshold derived QP with the original QP and selecting the smaller one [0063]; [0076]), wherein the first quantized parameter is used to quantize a transform coefficient block of the transform unit (the DCT coefficients of the transform block quantized using a quantization parameter [0051]; [0065]), the second quantized parameter is used to dequantize the adjusted quantized coefficient block (the adjusted quantized results inputted to the inverse quantizer and inversely quantized [0061]; [0068]), and a value of the second quantized parameter does not exceed the quantized parameter threshold (the coded QP set within the range where the inversely transformed results are zero by selecting the smaller value [0028]; [0076]).
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches determining a quantized parameter threshold of the quantized coefficient block based on the transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the per position maximum transform coefficient thresholds determined for each quantization parameter [0047]; [0059]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Youn does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hsu teaches determining a quantized parameter threshold of the quantized coefficient block based on the dequantization formula (the threshold QP determined based on the reconstructed value of the quantized coefficient level 1 [0253]- [0254]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada in view of Youn to further add the teachings of Hsu as above, in order to reduce blocking artifacts and improve visual quality (Hsu [0248]).
Regarding Claim 4, Shimada in view of Youn and Hsu teach the method according to claim 3. Youn further teaches wherein the transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations comprise values at the M locations in the base coefficient matrix (the per position threshold values comprising the maximum transform matrix values in the i and j directions [0047]; [0057]; [0060]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Regarding Claim 7, Shimada in view of Youn and Hsu teach the method according to claim 3. Shimada further teaches obtaining a bitstream of the image based on the adjusted quantized coefficient block (entropy coding the adjusted coefficient block and outputting it as the encoder’s compressed stream [0061]; [0067]) and the second quantized parameter (the smaller QP value is set as the QP value to be coded and entropy coded into the output [0059]; [0059]; the obtained quantization parameter value (qpc), a quantization parameter value (qp1) of brightness corresponding to the quantization parameter value (qpc) is further obtained from the following Table 2 by means of table lookup, and by comparing the value of the quantization parameter of the brightness (qp1) and the value of the quantization parameter with respect to the former MB (qpA), the smaller one (either value can be naturally selected in the case of having the same value) is set as the QP value to be coded [0076]).
Regarding Claim 10, Shimada in view of Youn teach the encoder according to claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor. Shimada further teaches the quantized coefficients at the M locations in the adjusted quantized coefficient block are not greater than the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the adjusted coefficient set to 1 within the range where the result of the inverse DCT becomes zero [0074]- [0075]), and dequantized transform coefficients of the quantized coefficients at the M locations in the adjusted quantized coefficient block are not greater than the transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the dequantized value of the adjusted coefficient yielding the all zero inverse DCT result [0068]; [0076]).
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches determine transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations based on the base coefficient matrix (maximum transform coefficient values derived from the transform matrix for each position [0043]; [0047]); and
determine the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations based on the transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the final zero quantization thresholds determined from equation (12) maximum transform coefficient values [0052]- [0053]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Youn does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hsu teaches determine the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations based on a dequantization formula (the zero cut-off threshold selected based on the reconstructed value of quantized coefficient level 1 [0253]), a minimum quantized parameter (the threshold determination using a minimum QP for the quantizer [0254]; [0257]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada in view of Youn to further add the teachings of Hsu as above, in order to reduce blocking artifacts and improve visual quality (Hsu [0248]).
Regarding Claim 11, Shimada in view of Youn and Hsu teach the encoder according to claim 10, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor. Shimada further teaches after adjusting the quantized coefficients at the M locations based on the quantized coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the AP determination performed after the coefficient adder changes the all-zero quantized coefficients to non-zero [0063]; [0074]),
determine a quantized parameter threshold of the quantized coefficient block (determining the maximum quantization parameter value where the result of the inverse DCT becomes zero by the table lookup [0075]) based on a minimum quantized coefficient (the coefficient set to 1, the minimum non-zero value, as the basis for the maximum QP determination [0074]- [0074]); and
determine a second quantized parameter based on the quantized parameter threshold and a first quantized parameter (the coded QP determined by comparing the threshold derived QP with the original QP and selecting the smaller one [0063]; [0076]), wherein the first quantized parameter is used to quantize a transform coefficient block of the transform unit (the DCT coefficients of the transform block quantized using a quantization parameter [0051]; [0065]), the second quantized parameter is used to dequantize the adjusted quantized coefficient block (the adjusted quantized results inputted to the inverse quantizer and inversely quantized [0061]; [0068]), and a value of the second quantized parameter does not exceed the quantized parameter threshold (the coded QP set within the range where the inversely transformed results are zero by selecting the smaller value [0028]; [0076]).
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches determine a quantized parameter threshold of the quantized coefficient block based on the transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations (the per position maximum transform coefficient thresholds determined for each quantization parameter [0047]; [0059]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Youn does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hsu teaches determining a quantized parameter threshold of the quantized coefficient block based on the dequantization formula (the threshold QP determined based on the reconstructed value of the quantized coefficient level 1 [0253]- [0254]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada in view of Youn to further add the teachings of Hsu as above, in order to reduce blocking artifacts and improve visual quality (Hsu [0248]).
Regarding Claim 12, Shimada in view of Youn and Hsu teach the encoder according to claim 11. Youn further teaches wherein the transform coefficient thresholds at the M locations comprise values at the M locations in the base coefficient matrix (the per position threshold values comprising the maximum transform matrix values in the i and j directions [0047]; [0057]; [0060]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Youn as above, in order to reduce computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]).
Regarding Claim 15, Shimada in view of Youn and Hsu teach encoder according to claim 11. Shimada further teaches obtain a bitstream of the image based on the adjusted quantized coefficient block (entropy coding the adjusted coefficient block and outputting it as the encoder’s compressed stream [0061]; [0067]) and the second quantized parameter (the smaller QP value is set as the QP value to be coded and entropy coded into the output [0059]; [0059]; the obtained quantization parameter value (qpc), a quantization parameter value (qp1) of brightness corresponding to the quantization parameter value (qpc) is further obtained from the following Table 2 by means of table lookup, and by comparing the value of the quantization parameter of the brightness (qp1) and the value of the quantization parameter with respect to the former MB (qpA), the smaller one (either value can be naturally selected in the case of having the same value) is set as the QP value to be coded [0076]).
Claims 8, and 16- 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi Shimada (US 20070217508 A1) (hereinafter Shimada) in view of Xue Fang (US 20190238849 A1)(hereinafter Fang) further in view of Jeongnam Youn (US 20080151999 A1) (hereinafter Youn):
Regarding Claim 8, Shimada teaches an image processing method (a method image processing [0031]), comprising:
, wherein the quantized coefficient block comprises a non-zero quantized coefficient (the coefficient block comprising a DCT coefficient changed to non-zero value [0062]), the quantized coefficient block is an adjusted quantized coefficient block obtained by adjusting (the quantized result being adjusted by the coefficient adder and the adjusted block being output for entropy coding and inverse quantization [0061]; [0074]), …, a quantized coefficient in an all-zero quantized coefficient block (changing one of the quantitated coefficients of a block whose quantized DCT coefficients are all zero [0060]; [0066]) to the non-zero quantized coefficient (adjusting the zero coefficient to the non-zero value 1 by setting the DC component of color difference Cb to 1 [0062]; [0074]) , and the non-zero quantized coefficient is not greater than a set limit(the adjusted coefficient set to 1 within the range where the result of the inverse DCT becomes zero [0074]- [0075]) …;
wherein residual coefficients in the reconstructed residual coefficient block are all zeros (the results of inversely quantizing and inversely transforming being all zero even when the coefficient is set to 1. all of the rows of the DCT coefficients are zero by the inverse orthogonal transformer 4, between the cases when the coefficient addition is performed and when the coefficient addition is not performed. [0068]; [0075]- [0076]).
Shimada does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Fang teaches obtaining a quantized coefficient block and a second quantized parameter based on a bitstream of an image (the decoding device entropy decoding the bitstream to generate the quantized coefficients and determining the final QP value from delta QP value [0115]; [0176]); and
dequantizing the quantized coefficient block based on the second quantized parameter, to obtain a reconstructed transform coefficient block (the decoder decodes the quantization parameter, producing the reconstructed transform coefficient block [0115]; [0180]); and
inversely transforming the reconstructed transform coefficient block, to obtain a reconstructed residual coefficient block (inverse transform applied to transform coefficients to produce residual blocks [0180]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Fang as above, in order to reduce the amount of data used to represent the coefficients (Fang [0062]).
Fang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youn teaches adjustment based on a quantized coefficient threshold (per-position threshold values that indicate when a coefficient is quantized to zero [0022]; [0053]; [0060]), …, the quantized coefficient threshold (per-position threshold values that indicate when a coefficient is quantized to zero [0022]; [0053]; [0060]), wherein the quantized coefficient threshold is determined based on a base coefficient matrix (the maximum coefficient thresholds derived from the transform matrix [0043]; [0047]) used to transform a transform unit of the image (transform matrix C used to transform the transform block of the input frame [0012]; [0043]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada in view of Fang to modify the conditional adjustment of a quantized coefficient, where the conditional is the determination of the coefficient as zero, to add the teachings of Youn that determines the coefficient as zero based on a threshold that is a function of the quantized coefficient in order to reduce the computations of coefficients quantized to zero (Youn [0003]) with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 16, Shimada in view of Fang and Youn teach the method according to claim 8. Fang further teaches wherein the quantized coefficient block is obtained by performing entropy decoding on the bitstream of the image (the quantized coefficients generated by entropy decoding the bitstream [0176]; [0180]]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Fang as above, in order to reduce the amount of data used to represent the coefficients (Fang [0062]).
Regarding Claim 17, Shimada in view of Fang and Youn teach the method according to claim 8. Fang further teaches wherein the second quantized parameter is parsed from the bitstream of the image (the delta QP value encoded for the LCU parsed from the bitstream and the final QP value is determined and used to perform inverse quantization [0115]; [0176]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Shimada to add the teachings of Fang as above, in order to reduce the amount of data used to represent the coefficients (Fang [0062]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486