DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/14/2026 and 09/05/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 13-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDS document Browne et al. (WO 2009/021550; “Browne”).
Browne discloses, in figs. 7-8:
Claim 1: A feed network, comprising: a support frame (p. 8, ¶1, “U-shaped PCB 9”); and a signal transmission circuit (p. 8, ¶3, “tracks 71 of the feed harness”, “radiating elements 10”) deployed on the support frame (9), wherein the signal transmission circuit comprises a plurality of functional units (see Examiner’s note below; feedlines 71 and radiating elements 10 both perform a function) that are interconnected (p.8, ¶3, a phase shifting device is electrically connected in the breaks 73 in the tracks 71 thereby providing the electrical connection between the radiating elements 10 and the feed “harness”) and are not located on a same plane (U-shape).
Examiner’s note: a functional unit is interpreted broadly to include any element of the feed network that performs a function.
Claim 2: The feed network according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of functional units (71, 10) are respectively deployed on a plurality of surfaces of the support frame (PCB 9); and the plurality of surfaces are not coplanar (U-shape).
Claim 3: The feed network according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of surfaces (PCB 9) comprise at least one of a curved surface or a plane (planar surfaces shown in fig. 8).
Claim 6: The feed network according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of functional units (71, 10) comprise a first functional unit (10); and the first functional unit is deployed on different surfaces in the plurality of surfaces (Traces 10 on PCB 9 are shown as being deployed on different surfaces of the PCB).
Claim 7: The feed network according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of functional units (71, 10) are connected via a transmission line (fig. 7 shows functional units 71 connected via a transmission line); and the transmission line is deployed on the support frame (PCB).
Claim 13: An antenna device (title, dual polarized antenna), comprising: a feed network, comprising: a support frame (PCB 9); and a signal transmission circuit (71, 10) deployed on the support frame, wherein the signal transmission circuit (71, 10) comprises a plurality of functional units that are interconnected (p. 8, ¶3) and are not located on a same plane (U-shape).
Claim 14: The antenna device, according to claim 13, wherein the plurality of functional units (71, 10) are respectively deployed on a plurality of surfaces of the support frame (PCB 9); and the plurality of surfaces are not coplanar (U-shape).
Claim 15: The antenna device, according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of surfaces comprise
Claim 18: The antenna device, according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of functional units (71, 10) comprise a first functional unit (10); and the first functional unit is deployed on different surfaces in the plurality of surfaces (Traces 10 on PCB 9 are shown as being deployed on different surfaces of the PCB).
Claim 19: The antenna device, according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of functional units are connected via a transmission line (fig. 7 shows functional units 71 connected via a transmission line); and the transmission line is deployed on the support frame (PCB).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDS document Gao et al. (CN111969335; “Gao”).
Gao discloses (figs. 1-3):
Claim 1 A feed network (abstract, dual-polarized 2D end-fire antenna with sum-difference feed network), comprising: a support frame (p. 1, cylindrical carrier structure 2 which comprises inner cylindrical carrier structure 21 and outer cylindrical carrier structure 22, and conical carrier structure 1); and a signal transmission circuit (p. 1, 5, 51, 413, 415-416 for transmitting a signal to fire antenna units 41-44) deployed on the support frame (2,1), wherein the signal transmission circuit comprises a plurality of functional units (see Examiner’s note above; p. 1, difference feed network 5, annular coupler networks 51; p. 2, microstrip lines 413, 415, 416) that are interconnected (see fig. 1) and are not located on a same plane.
Claim 2: The feed network according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of functional units (5, 51, 413, 415, 416) are respectively deployed on a plurality of surfaces (21, 22, 1) of the support frame; and the plurality of surfaces (21, 22 and 1) are not coplanar.
Claim 3: The feed network according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of surfaces (21, 22, 1) comprise at least one of a curved surface or a plane.
Claim 4: The feed network according to claim 2, wherein the support frame is a hollow structure (inner cylindrical structure 21 and outer cylindrical structure 22; p.2, “the circular metal reflecting plate is fixed inside the conical carrier structure 1”); and the plurality of surfaces comprise at least one of an inner surface (21) or an outer surface (22) of the support frame.
Claim 5: The feed network according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of surfaces comprise at least two curved surfaces (1, 2) with different curvatures (inner 21 and outer 22 cylindrical structures have different radii of curvature, and cone 1 has multiple radii of curvature).
Claim 7: The feed network according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of functional units (5, 51, 413, 415, 416) are connected via a transmission line (p.2, port connecting line set 53); and the transmission line (53) is deployed on the support frame (on outer cylindrical structure 22).
Claim 8: The feed network according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of functional units (5, 51, 413, 415, 416) are connected via a connector (p. 2, feed port set 54); and the connector (54) is deployed on the support frame.
Claim 9: The feed network according to claim 1, wherein the signal transmission circuit is deployed on one curved surface (21, 22) of the support frame.
Claim 13: An antenna device (abstract, dual-polarized 2D end-fire antenna with sum-difference feed network), comprising: a feed network, comprising: a support frame (2, 21,22,1); and a signal transmission circuit (5, 51, 413, 415-416 for transmitting a signal to fire antenna units 41-44) deployed on the support frame, wherein the signal transmission circuit comprises a plurality of functional units (5, 51, 413, 415-416 for transmitting a signal to fire antenna units 41-44) that are interconnected and are not located on a same plane.
Claim 14: The antenna device, according to claim 13, wherein the plurality of functional units (5, 51, 413, 415, 416) are respectively deployed on a plurality of surfaces (21, 22, 1) of the support frame; and the plurality of surfaces are not coplanar (21, 22 and 1).
Claim 15: The antenna device, according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of surfaces (21, 22, 1) comprise at least one of a curved surface or a plane.
Claim 16: The antenna device, according to claim 14, wherein the support frame is a hollow structure (inner cylindrical structure 21 and outer cylindrical structure 22; p.2, “the circular metal reflecting plate is fixed inside the conical carrier structure 1”), and the plurality of surfaces comprise at least one of an inner surface (21) or an outer surface (22) of the support frame.
Claim 17: The antenna device, according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of surfaces comprise at least two curved surfaces (1,2) with different curvatures.
Claim 19: The antenna device, according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of functional units (5, 51, 413, 415, 416) are connected via a transmission line (p.2, port connecting line set 53); and the transmission line (53) is deployed on the support frame (on outer cylindrical structure 22).
Claim 20: The antenna device, according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of functional units (5, 51, 413, 415, 416) are connected via a connector (p. 2, feed port set 54); and the connector is deployed on the support frame (on inner cylindrical carrier 21).
Claim(s) 1, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDS document Fa et al. (CN 112751148B; “Fa”).
Fa discloses (figs. 3):
Claim 1: A feed network (abstract, “electrically tunable antenna” which includes a network for feeding the tunable antenna of figs. 9-11), comprising:
a support frame (p. 9 shielding case 3, top dielectric plate 2 and bottom dielectric slab 1); and
a signal transmission circuit (p. 9, transmission lines 14 and 21, coupling lateral strip line 22) deployed on the support frame, wherein the signal transmission circuit comprises a plurality of functional units (see Examiner’s note above; transmission lines 14 & 21, strip line 22) that are interconnected (p. 8, ¶1, “The phase shifter structure is characterized in that the projections of the two fixed transmission lines 14 on the top surface of the bottom dielectric slab 1, the projection of the transverse strip line 22 and the projection of the two movable transmission lines 21 on the bottom surface of the bottom dielectric slab 1 form a continuous uninterrupted phase shifting transmission line”) and are not located on a same plane (14 and 21 are not on the same plane, as shown in fig. 3).
Claim 11: The feed network according to claim 1, wherein the support frame (3, 2, 1) comprises: a peripheral frame (shielding case 3 and bottom dielectric slab 1); and a movable member (top dielectric plate 2), wherein the movable member (2) is located in a cavity (shielding cavity formed by 3 and coupling lines 13 of 1) of the peripheral frame (p. 8, ¶3, the top dielectric plate 2 can be controlled to move in the longitudinal direction); the movable member (2) is capable of moving in the cavity; the plurality of functional units (14, 21, 22) comprise a first transmission unit (14) and a second transmission unit (21, 22); the first transmission unit (14) is deployed on at least one of an inner surface (1); and the second transmission unit (21,22) is disposed on a surface of the movable member (2).
Claim 12: The feed network according to claim 11, wherein the feed network further comprises: a plurality of connection ports (p. 11, ¶2, “a notch is respectively disposed at the positions of the tow coupling lines 13 opposite to the signal input terminal P1 and the signal output terminal P2, so that the signal input terminal P1 and the signal output terminal are wired), wherein the plurality of connection ports are configured to separately connect (signal input terminal P1 and signal output terminal P2) the signal transmission circuit to a radiating element (p. 11, final para., the antenna signal is to be phase-shifted is input into the phase-shifting transmission line connected to the signal input end P1) and a signal processing unit (p. 12, a power divider which processes a signal); the plurality of connection ports (P1, P2) are deployed on the support frame (signal input P1 and output P2 are arranged on the top surface of the bottom dielectric slab 1); and the plurality of connection ports
Claim 13: An antenna device (title, phase shifter and electrically tunable antenna), comprising: a feed network, comprising: a support frame (1,2,3); and a signal transmission circuit (14, 21,22) deployed on the support frame, wherein the signal transmission circuit comprises a plurality of functional units (14, 21,22) that are interconnected and are not located on a same plane.
Claim 1: Wang discloses (figs. 1 & 3) A feed network (abstract, “simplified feed network”), comprising: a support frame (p. 5, cavity 1); and a signal transmission circuit (p. 6, “the phase-shifting conductor strip 22, the power divider and the signal input line 3 are located in the cavity 1. Together they form the transmission line inside the phase shifter. In the above phase shifter structure, the signal input line 3 is electrically connected to the phase shifter input port 201”. The signal input line 3 is connected to the phase shifter input port 201 via first transfer post 202, as shown fig. 1) deployed on the support frame (1), wherein the signal transmission circuit comprises a plurality of functional units (3, 201) that are interconnected and are not located on a same plane (the signal input line 3 and the phase shifter input port 201 are on different planes) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
IDS document Fa et al. (CN 112751148B; “Fa”) discloses wherein the plurality of functional units comprise a phase shift circuit (p. 8, ¶1, “the two fixed transmission lines 14, the two movable transmission lines 21 and the transverse strip line 22 are coupled to form a phase-shifting transmission line together”).
However, Fa does not teach, or suggest, wherein the feed network further comprises a phase shift medium; the phase shift medium covers the support frame; and the phase shift medium is capable of moving relative to the support frame under control of the phase shift circuit.
IDS document Browne et al. (WO 2009/021550; “Browne”) discloses that the plurality of functional units comprise a phase shifting circuit (p.8, ¶3, a phase shifting device is electrically connected in the breaks 73 in the tracks 71 thereby providing the electrical connection between the radiating elements 10 and the feed “harness”).
However, Browne does not teach, or suggest, wherein the feed network further comprises a phase shift medium; the phase shift medium covers the support frame; and the phase shift medium is capable of moving relative to the support frame under control of the phase shift circuit.
IDS document Wang et al. (WO 2022/041621; “Wang”) discloses a phase shift medium (dielectric plates 21), wherein the plurality of functional units comprise a phase shift circuit (e.g. phase shifting conductor strip 22); and the phase shift medium is capable of moving relative to the support frame (p. 6, “the dielectric phase shifting unit 2 is provided with a phase shifting conductor strip 22 and a dielectric plate 21, the medium plate 21 moves along the lateral direction Y of the cavity 1”).
Wang does not teach, or suggest, the phase shift medium covers the support frame, or that the phase shift medium is capable of moving under control of the phase shift circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yu (US 2024/0275042) – phase shifter with adjustable output mode has movable sliding plate sides.
Liu (US 2017/0069941) – dielectric phase shifter comprising a cavity, and a dielectric element slidably mounted in the receiving space.
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845