DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to application filed 8/15/2025. It is noted that application is a continuation of 18/027,547 filed 10/13/2023 (now US Patent No. 12412655) which is a 371 of PCT/US21/62591 filed 12/09/2021 that claims priority to Provisional Application No. 63/123,977 filed 12/10/2020. Claim 1 is pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement dated 11/13/2025 has been acknowledged and considered.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 12,412,655 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,558,558. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the currently pending claims and the previously patented claims teach –
Housing with at least one compartment; plurality of medical supplies in the compartment (’655: claim 1 and ‘558 claim 1)
user interface providing an interactive query flow to assist treatment (’655: claim 1 and ‘558 claim 1)
Sensor(s) adapted to detect removal of a medical item (’655: claim 1 and ‘558 claim 1)
Processor/memory coupled to UI/sensors/communications, configured to:
present inquiries; receive user input; present treatment instructions based on input (‘655: claim 1 and ‘558 claim 1)
determine sensor detected removal (’655 claim 1 and ‘558 claim 1)
transmit a status/output signal based on detected removal (’655: claim 1 and ‘558 claim 1)
Because the pending claims recite the same or an obvious variant of the inventions claimed in the ’655 patent and ‘558 patent, they are not patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freeman (2023/0025409).
As per claim 1, Freeman teaches a portable medical treatment and guidance apparatus for assisting a user in treating a patient, the apparatus comprising:
a housing having at least one compartment (Freeman; paras. [0015], [0031], Figs 1A-1B, 2A teaches a portable case/housing with compartments);
a plurality of medical supplies housed within the at least one compartment (Freeman paras. [0024]-[0026] teaches multiple medical supplies stored in the case (e.g., gloves, dressings, CPR equipment, AED electrodes);
a user interface configured to provide an interactive query flow for assisting the user in providing medical treatment (Freeman; paras. [0069] – [0074], [0078] and FIGS. 4A–4D teach Interactive query flow user interface presenting prompts and guiding treatment)
at least one sensor adapted to detect removal of at least one medical item of the plurality of medical supplies (Freeman; paras. [0089]–[0093] teach sensors to detect item presence/removal; modalities include optical/photodetectors, image sensors, Hall/magnetic, capacitive, weight/force, proximity, RFID/NFC…)
at least one processor and memory mechanically coupled to the housing and communicatively coupled to the user interface, the at least one sensor, and communications circuitry (Freeman; FIG. 2A; Paras. [0031]–[0033], [0164]–[0172] teach Processor/memory in the case coupled to interface, sensors, and radios), the at least one processor and memory configured to:
present via the user interface at least one inquiry as part of the interactive query flow (Freeman; FIGS. 4A–4D; Paras. [0069]–[0074]) teaches user interface that presents inquiries/prompts) , receive at least one user input via the user interface in response to the at least one inquiry (Freeman; paras. [0069] – [0074] teaches receiving user input advancing the flow, present via the user interface instructions for administering medical treatment based on the at least one user input (Freeman; Figs. 5-10, paras. [0069] – [0074] teaches presenting treatment instructions/screens), determine whether the at least one sensor has detected removal of the at least one medical item (Freeman; paras. Fig. 14 and para. [0191]) teaches determining, based on electrical/sensor signals, that an item (e.g., electrodes) was removed), and transmit an output signal based on the detected removal of the at least one medical item to provide a status indication regarding the portable medical treatment and guidance apparatus (Freeman; Fig. 11, para [0172] teaches communications circuitry transmits status/notifications and paras. [0089] [0093] teaches inventory/status tied to detected removal).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ukrainsky (2022/0181019), teaches a medical diagnostic kit. Ukrainsky para. [0009] teaches a medical diagnostic kit to facilitate telemedicine and conduct in-depth screenings and medical exams using hospital-grade, diagnostic equipment deployed by trained health care professionals. The medical diagnostic kit is configured to store medical data, for example, the patient's vital signs, sonograms, electrocardiograms (ECGs), auscultation sounds, camera images, etc., securely in an internal storage device for a later upload
Dai (CN 210844587 U), the closest foreign reference of record, teaches a medical resistance heating device. The device comprises a temperature controller and a temperature sensor. The device comprises a tray where the multiple surgical tools can be heated and disinfected at the same time.
Kibira (19.), the closest Non Patent Literature of record teaches modeling for optimal ambulance patient compartment layout. These designs must target the patient compartment arrangement including the locations of cabinets, sharps disposal, equipment, and supplies.
LINH GIANG "MICHELLE" LE
PRIMARY EXAMINER
Art Unit 3686
/LINH GIANG LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686