DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0301933 A1) in view of Bhat et al. (US 2020/0212721 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Lee discloses, in figure 1, a power transmission apparatus (110, 120) comprising: a plurality of coils (111, 112, 113) used for wireless power transmission to a power receiving apparatus (115) (Par 0088), the plurality of coils including a first coil (111) and a second coil (112) disposed at a position closer to the first coil (111) than a position separated from the first coil by a specific distance (See Fig. 1; second coil 112 is disposed at a distance closer to the first coil 111 than a distance separated from the first coil 111 and third coil 113) (Par 0087-0090); a detection unit (Fig. 2; 210) configured to detect an object by outputting one or more signals (117, 127; Par 0088) for object detection from one or more of the plurality of coils (111, 112, 113) (Par 0093; “In the selection phase 210, the transmitter may transmit an analog ping signal of a very short pulse and sense whether there is an object in the active area of the interface surface based on the change in current of the transmission coils.”); a receiving unit configured to receive a Signal Strength packet (116) after the detection unit detects the object (Par 0088; “the wireless power transmitter may sequentially transmit detection signals 117 through a primary detection signal transmission procedure, which is indicated by reference numeral 110, and identify transmission coils 111 and 112 receiving a signal intensity indicator or signal strength indicator 116 from the wireless power receiver 115”); a power transmission unit configured to wirelessly transmit power to the power receiving apparatus (115) using at least one of the plurality of coils (111, 112, 113) based on the Signal Strength packet (Par 0090); and a control unit (Fig. 2; 210) configured to perform control such that a signal for detecting the object is not output via the second coil (112) during the wireless power transmission to the power receiving apparatus (115) via the first coil (111) (Par 0087, 0090; “the wireless power transmitter sequentially transmits predetermined detection signals 117, 127 for sensing presence of a wireless power receiver through the respective transmission coils, for example, digital ping signals, in a predefined order,” thus detection signal is not output via the second coil 112 during wireless power transmission via the first coil 111 because the wireless power transmitter sequentially transmits predetermined detection signals 117, 127 in a predefined order and the wireless power transmitter selects a transmission coil exhibiting the best alignment based on the signal strength indicator 126 received by each of the first transmission coil 111 and the second transmission coil 112 and performs wireless charging using the selected transmission coil).
Lee does not disclose wherein, when there are a plurality of power receiving apparatuses, the power transmission unit wirelessly transmits power to a first power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the first power receiving apparatus, and wirelessly transmits power to a second power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the second power receiving apparatus.
However, Bhat discloses, in figure 1, wherein, when there are a plurality of power receiving apparatuses (210, 260), the power transmission unit (110) wirelessly transmits power to a first power receiving apparatus (210) included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil (121) corresponding to the first power receiving apparatus (210) (Par 0048), and wirelessly transmits power to a second power receiving apparatus (260) included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil (122) corresponding to the second power receiving apparatus (260) (Par 0050).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee’s wireless power transmitter by including wherein, when there are a plurality of power receiving apparatuses, the power transmission unit wirelessly transmits power to a first power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the first power receiving apparatus, and wirelessly transmits power to a second power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the second power receiving apparatus as taught by Bhat in order to reduce or eliminate zones in which an electromagnetic field may not be strong enough to transfer power to the wireless power receiving apparatus on the charging surface (Bhat; Par 0038).
In regards to claim 2, Lee and Bhat disclose the power transmission apparatus according to Claim 1. Lee further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the specific distance is a distance at which a voltage or a current in the second coil (112) does not fluctuate due to a voltage or a current in the first coil (111) when the signal for detecting the object is output from the first coil (Par 0087, 0090; “the wireless power transmitter sequentially transmits predetermined detection signals 117, 127 for sensing presence of a wireless power receiver through the respective transmission coils, for example, digital ping signals, in a predefined order,” thus a voltage or a current in the second coil 112 does not fluctuate due to a voltage or a current in the first coil 111 when the signal for detecting the object is output from the first coil because the detection signal is not being output via the second coil 112 due to a sequential predefined order. The wireless power transmitter sequentially transmits predetermined detection signals 117, 127 in a predefined order and the wireless power transmitter selects a transmission coil exhibiting the best alignment based on the signal strength indicator 126 received by each of the first transmission coil 111 and the second transmission coil 112 and performs wireless charging using the selected transmission coil).
In regards to claim 4, Lee and Bhat disclose the power transmission apparatus according to Claim 1. Lee further discloses, in figure 1, wherein, in a case where the power transmission unit performs wireless power transmission to the power receiving apparatus (115) by using the first coil (111; Par 0088), a signal for object detection (117, 127; Par 0088) is outputted from a coil (113) disposed at a position separated from the first coil (111) by a distance more than the specific distance (Par 0087-0090; transmission coil 113 center is disposed at a distance separated from the first transmission coil 111 center by a distance more than the specific distance).
In regards to claim 5, Lee and Bhat disclose the power transmission apparatus according to Claim 1. Lee further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the signal for detecting the object is an analog ping (Par 0093) defined in a wireless power consortium (WPC) standard (Par 0083, 0091).
In regards to claim 7, Lee discloses, in figure 1, a control method of a power transmission apparatus (110, 120), the control method comprising: performing wireless power transmission to a power receiving apparatus (115) (Par 0088) using at least one of a plurality of coils (111, 112, 113) including a first coil (111) and a second coil (112) disposed at a position closer to the first coil (111) than a position separated from the first coil by a specific distance (See Fig. 1; second coil 112 is disposed at a distance closer to the first coil 111 than a distance separated from the first coil 111 and third coil 113) (Par 0087-0090); and detecting an object by outputting one or more signals (117, 127; Par 0088) for object detection from one or more of the plurality of coils (111, 112, 113) (Par 0093; “In the selection phase 210, the transmitter may transmit an analog ping signal of a very short pulse and sense whether there is an object in the active area of the interface surface based on the change in current of the transmission coils.”); receiving a Signal Strength packet (116) after the object is detected (Par 0088; “the wireless power transmitter may sequentially transmit detection signals 117 through a primary detection signal transmission procedure, which is indicated by reference numeral 110, and identify transmission coils 111 and 112 receiving a signal intensity indicator or signal strength indicator 116 from the wireless power receiver 115”); wirelessly transmitting power to the power receiving apparatus (115) using at least one of the plurality of coils (111, 112, 113) based on the Signal Strength packet (Par 0090): and performing control such that a signal for detecting the object is not output via the second coil (112) during the wireless power transmission to the power receiving apparatus (115) via the first coil (111) (Par 0087, 0090; “the wireless power transmitter sequentially transmits predetermined detection signals 117, 127 for sensing presence of a wireless power receiver through the respective transmission coils, for example, digital ping signals, in a predefined order,” thus detection signal is not output via the second coil 112 during wireless power transmission via the first coil 111 because the wireless power transmitter sequentially transmits predetermined detection signals 117, 127 in a predefined order and the wireless power transmitter selects a transmission coil exhibiting the best alignment based on the signal strength indicator 126 received by each of the first transmission coil 111 and the second transmission coil 112 and performs wireless charging using the selected transmission coil).
Lee does not disclose wherein, when there are a plurality of power receiving apparatuses, power is wirelessly transmitted to a first power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the first power receiving apparatus, and wirelessly transmits power to a second power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the second power receiving apparatus.
However, Bhat discloses, in figure 1, wherein, when there are a plurality of power receiving apparatuses (210, 260), power is wirelessly transmitted to a first power receiving apparatus (210) included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil (121) corresponding to the first power receiving apparatus (210) (Par 0048), and wirelessly transmits power to a second power receiving apparatus (260) included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil (122) corresponding to the second power receiving apparatus (260) (Par 0050).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee’s wireless power transmitter by including wherein, when there are a plurality of power receiving apparatuses, power is wirelessly transmitted to a first power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the first power receiving apparatus, and wirelessly transmits power to a second power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the second power receiving apparatus as taught by Bhat in order to reduce or eliminate zones in which an electromagnetic field may not be strong enough to transfer power to the wireless power receiving apparatus on the charging surface (Bhat; Par 0038).
In regards to claim 8, Lee discloses, in figure 1, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function (Par 0280-0281) as a power transmission apparatus (110, 120) comprising: performing wireless power transmission to a power receiving apparatus (115) (Par 0088) using at least one of a plurality of coils including a first coil (111) and a second coil (112) disposed at a position closer to the first coil (111) than a position separated from the first coil by a specific distance (See Fig. 1; second coil 112 is disposed at a distance closer to the first coil 111 than a distance separated from the first coil 111 and third coil 113) (Par 0087-0090); and detecting an object by outputting one or more signals (117, 127; Par 0088) for object detection from one or more of the plurality of coils (111, 112, 113) (Par 0093; “In the selection phase 210, the transmitter may transmit an analog ping signal of a very short pulse and sense whether there is an object in the active area of the interface surface based on the change in current of the transmission coils.”); receiving a Signal Strength packet (116) after the object is detected (Par 0088; “the wireless power transmitter may sequentially transmit detection signals 117 through a primary detection signal transmission procedure, which is indicated by reference numeral 110, and identify transmission coils 111 and 112 receiving a signal intensity indicator or signal strength indicator 116 from the wireless power receiver 115”); wirelessly transmitting power to the power receiving apparatus (115) using at least one of the plurality of coils (111, 112, 113) based on the Signal Strength packet (Par 0090); and performing control such that a signal for detecting the object is not output via the second coil (112) during the wireless power transmission to the power receiving apparatus (115) via the first coil (111) (Par 0087, 0090; “the wireless power transmitter sequentially transmits predetermined detection signals 117, 127 for sensing presence of a wireless power receiver through the respective transmission coils, for example, digital ping signals, in a predefined order,” thus detection signal is not output via the second coil 112 during wireless power transmission via the first coil 111 because the wireless power transmitter sequentially transmits predetermined detection signals 117, 127 in a predefined order and the wireless power transmitter selects a transmission coil exhibiting the best alignment based on the signal strength indicator 126 received by each of the first transmission coil 111 and the second transmission coil 112 and performs wireless charging using the selected transmission coil).
Lee does not disclose wherein, when there are a plurality of power receiving apparatuses, power is wirelessly transmitted to a first power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the first power receiving apparatus, and wirelessly transmits power to a second power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the second power receiving apparatus.
However, Bhat discloses, in figure 1, wherein, when there are a plurality of power receiving apparatuses (210, 260), power is wirelessly transmitted to a first power receiving apparatus (210) included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil (121) corresponding to the first power receiving apparatus (210) (Par 0048), and wirelessly transmits power to a second power receiving apparatus (260) included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil (122) corresponding to the second power receiving apparatus (260) (Par 0050).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee’s wireless power transmitter by including wherein, when there are a plurality of power receiving apparatuses, power is wirelessly transmitted to a first power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the first power receiving apparatus, and wirelessly transmits power to a second power receiving apparatus included in the plurality of power receiving apparatuses via a coil corresponding to the second power receiving apparatus as taught by Bhat in order to reduce or eliminate zones in which an electromagnetic field may not be strong enough to transfer power to the wireless power receiving apparatus on the charging surface (Bhat; Par 0038).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836