DETAILED ACTION
Accordingly claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 16, 18, 20, 21 and 25 has been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No new claims have been added. Therefore, claims 1-30 remains pending in this application. It also includes remarks and arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recites “a plurality of smart battery modules connected in series, wherein the plurality of smart battery modules is configured to provide a common output voltage” is indefinite and not understood how a series connection of the plurality of smart battery modules is configured to provide a common output voltage? The common output voltage is a sum of the output voltages outputted by each smart battery module which means that their respective outputs are connected in parallel or in common to each other in order to produce a common output voltage of their respective sums.
Further, claim 1, recites “a plurality of smart battery modules connected in series, wherein the plurality of smart battery modules is configured to provide a common output voltage” and later in the claim recites “wherein each of the smart battery modules comprises: terminals for outputting an output voltage to a device external to the smart module”. It is not understood or clear how the series connected plurality of smarty battery modules is configured to provide a common output voltage and also via respective terminals outputs an output voltage to a device external to the smart module. The common output voltage is a different voltage from the output voltage. Therefore it appears that the plurality smart battery modules is providing two different output voltages in the electrical power supply system or how does the output voltage to the device external to the smart module results in the common output voltage?
Furthermore, claim 1, recites “a controller operably coupled to a-the semiconductor stage and configured to control the semiconductor stage for regulating voltage conversation of the DC voltage into the output voltage; and a control unit operably coupled to the controller of each smart battery module and configured to set an output voltage or current setpoint or limit for each controller individually or configured to set an output voltage or current setpoint or limit for all controllers collectively, the respective controllers of the smart battery modules is are configured to carry out real-time monitoring of a state of its respective smart battery module in the plurality of smart battery modules string, and the respective controllers of the smart battery modules are further configured to set the output voltage or the current setpoint or the limit for each controller based on an energy level remaining in the battery assembly. It is not clear or understood how the respective controllers is configured to set the output voltage or the current setpoint or the limit for each controller based on energy level remaining in the battery assembly when the respective controllers in each of the smart battery module aren’t operably connected to each other. The only recitation of operably connections within each of the respective smart battery modules is between the control unit and controller which appears to have redundant functionality based on both configured to set an output voltage, current setpoint or limit. Therefore, the examiner will interpret the respective claim and limitations as best understood in the applied rejection below.
Claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because the claims are dependent upon base claim 1.
Claim 16, recites “a plurality of smart battery modules, wherein the plurality of smart battery modules is configured to provide a common output voltage; wherein each of the smart battery modules comprises, terminals for outputting an output voltage to a device external to the smart battery module”. It is not understood or clear how the series connected plurality of smarty battery modules is configured to provide a common output voltage and also via respective terminals outputs an output voltage to a device external to the smart module. The common output voltage is a different voltage from the output voltage. Therefore it appears that the plurality smart battery modules is providing two different output voltages in the electrical power supply system or how does the output voltage to the device external to the smart module results in the common output voltage?
Claims 17-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because the claims are dependent upon base claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mousavi et al. (US 2022/0393486).
Regarding claim 1, Mousavi et al. discloses an electrical power supply system [see Fig. 1, modular energy system 100] for an electric [see 0163] or hybrid aircraft comprising:
a plurality of smart battery modules connected in series, [see Fig. 1A-1C 108-1 thru 108N and Fig. 7A-7E and 0125], wherein the plurality of smart battery modules is configured to provide a common output voltage [such as through the configuration of the plurality of strings in series connected smart modules, see Fig. 1A-1C 108-1 thru 108N and Fig. 7A-7E output would provide a common output voltage and see 0122 and 0125]; wherein each of the smart battery modules [see Fig. 1 and 7 and modules 108-1 thru 108N] comprises, terminals [see Fig. 3A , ports 1 and 2 in and 0081, 0087 and 0098] and for outputting an output voltage to a device [see load 101 in Fig. 1] external to the smart battery module [see Fig. 1A-1C 108-1 thru 108N and Fig. 7A-7E]; a battery assembly [see Fig. 3A, energy source 206 and Fig. 4, 206 and 0083] configured to supply a DC voltage between two poles [see Fig. 3A and ports 101 and 102 corresponding to the two poles]; a power converter [see Fig. 3A, and converter 202A] comprising a semiconductor stage [see 202A in Fig. 6A], electrically connected to the terminals [see Fig. 3A, ports 1 and 2] and the poles [see Fig. 3A, 101 and 102], wherein the power converter [see Fig. 3A and 202A] is configured to convert the DC voltage into the output voltage and is adapted to provide the output voltage to the terminals [see Fig. 3, ports 1 and 2 and 0081 and 0098], and a controller [see Fig. 3A, load control device “LCD” 114] operably coupled to the semiconductor stage [see Fig. 3A and converter 202A] and configured to control the semiconductor stage for regulating voltage conversation of the DC voltage into the output voltage [see 0098-0099 and Figs. 3A, 118-3 and Fig. 8]; and a control unit [see Figs. 1A 102 and/or Figs. 3A 112 and 0066] operably coupled to the controller [see Fig. 3A and 114] of each smart battery module and configured to set an output voltage or current setpoint or limit for each controller [see 0075 and 0117] individually or configured to set an output voltage or current setpoint or limit for all controllers [see 0075 and 0117] collectively, the respective controllers [see respective controller in Fig. 3A, 114] of the smart battery modules [see Fig. 1A-1C 108-1 thru 108N and Fig. 7A-7E is configured to carry out real-time monitoring of a state of its respective smart battery module in the string [such that the monitoring carried out or done by the respective controller with respect time or period is considered real-time monitoring, see 0075 and 0117].
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 1 and 16, wherein the common output voltage corresponds to a sum of output voltages outputted by each smart battery module [such as through the configuration of the plurality of strings in series connected smart modules, see Fig. 1A-1C 108-1 thru 108N and Fig. 7A-7E output would provide a common output voltage and see 0122 and 0125].
Regarding claims 3, 18 and 21, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 1, 16 and 20, comprising an inductance [see L3 in Fig. 16] connected in series with the plurality of smart battery modules or set of smart battery modules [such as ports 1 and 2 are connected to each respective string shown in Fig. 3A].
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 3 and 18 wherein the inductance [see L3 in Fig. 16] is provided as a conductor [such as the inductor L3 structure includes a conductor which is how the inductor is connected to the wire or cable harness of the circuit] or cable of which a given parasitic inductance and resistance are used to establish a required impedance [the parasitic inductance and resistance is inherently part of the inductor L3 in Fig. 16 to establish a impedance].
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 1 and 16, wherein the plurality of smart battery modules comprises a first set and the electrical power supply system comprises a plurality of sets of smart battery modules, where the plurality of sets are connected in parallel [see Figs. 7B-7E, 10A, 10C, 10F and 0014-0015] , wherein the parallel connected sets of smart battery modules are configured to supply a common output current corresponding to a sum of output currents outputted by each set of smart battery modules [such as through the configuration of the plurality of strings in series connected smart modules, see Fig. 7B-7E, 10A, 10Cm 10F output would provide a common output voltage and see 0014-0015].
Regarding claims 6 and 22, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system according to claims 1 and 16, wherein the control unit [see Figs. 1A 102 and/or Figs. 3A 112 and 0066] is configured to set the output voltage and/or current setpoint [see 0075 and 0117]or limit to a predetermined fixed value, or the control unit [see Figs. 1A 102 and/or Figs. 3A 112 and 0066] is configured to vary the output voltage and/or current setpoint[see 0075 and 0117] or limit or setpoints in dependency of a control value provided by a control instance external to the electrical power supply system [see Fig. 1A communication of 102 with external and 0066 and 0072-0075].
Regarding claims 7 and 23, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 1 and 16, wherein the control unit [see Figs. 1A 102 and/or Figs. 3A 112 and 0066] is configured to provide a synchronization signal to the controllers[see Fig. 3A and 114] of the smart battery modules for synchronizing timing of consecutive switching cycles of the smart battery modules [see 0115], and/or the control unit is configured to provide a timing setpoint to the controllers of the smart battery modules for varying the timing of each switching cycle with reference to the timing synchronized [see 0115].
Regarding claims 8 and 24, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 1 and 16, wherein a control value of the output voltage setpoint and/or current provided by a control instance external to the electrical power supply system is a time-invariant control value [see 0068 and 0115].
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 8 and 24, wherein the common output voltage is a DC voltage with a residual periodic variation of the DC voltage for supplying a DC load external to the electrical power supply system [see 104 via 0105].
Regarding claims 10 and 26, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 8 and 24, wherein a control value of the output voltage and/or current setpoint provided by a control instance external to the electrical power supply system is a time-variant control value [see 0068 and 0115].
Regarding claims 11 and 27, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 10 and 26, wherein the common output voltage is an AC voltage for supplying an AC load external to the electrical power supply system [see 0061 and 0109].
Regarding claims 12 and 28, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 1 and 16, wherein the battery assembly of each respective smart battery module comprises a plurality of battery cells and/or a plurality of ultracapacitors for storing and releasing electrical energy [see 0084-0085 and 0095].
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 1 and 16, wherein in each respective smart battery module the power converter is configured to switchably connect one pole of the battery assembly to one of the terminals for converting the DC voltage into the output voltage .
Regarding claims 14 and 30, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claims 1 and 16, wherein in each respective smart battery module the power converter is configured as a non-isolated DC/DC converter [see 0176], comprising an input end arranged with an input filter stage, wherein the input end is connected to the poles of the battery assembly and the power converter comprises a semiconductor stage configured to switchably connect the input filter stage to one of the terminals [see 0061 and 0083-0085].
Regarding claim 15, Mousavi et al. discloses the electrical power supply system of claim 14, wherein in each respective smart battery module the input filter stage comprises an inductor connected to one pole of the battery assembly [see 0086], wherein the semiconductor stage is arranged to switchably connect the inductor to one of the terminals [see 0083-0085].
Regarding claim 16, Mousavi et al. discloses an electrical power supply system [see Fig. 1, modular energy system 100] for an electric [see 0163] or hybrid aircraft comprising:
a plurality of smart battery modules [see Fig. 1A-1C 108-1 thru 108N and Fig. 7A-7E and 0125], wherein the string is configured to provide a common output voltage [such as through the configuration of the plurality of strings in series connected smart modules, see Fig. 1A-1C 108-1 thru 108N and Fig. 7A-7E output would provide a common output voltage and see 0122 and 0125]; wherein each of the smart battery modules [see Fig. 1 and 7 and modules 108-1 thru 108N] comprises, terminals [see Fig. 3A , ports 1 and 2 in and 0081, 0087 and 0098] and for outputting an output voltage to a device [see load 101 in Fig. 1] external to the smart battery module [see Fig. 1A-1C 108-1 thru 108N and Fig. 7A-7E]; a battery assembly [see Fig. 3A, energy source 206 and Fig. 4, 206 and 0083] configured to supply a DC voltage between two poles [see Fig. 3A and ports 101 and 102 corresponding to the two poles]; a power converter [see Fig. 3A, and converter 202A], comprising a semiconductor stage [see 202A in Fig. 6A], electrically connected to the terminals [see Fig. 3A, ports 1 and 2] and the poles [see Fig. 3A, 101 and 102], wherein the power converter [see Fig. 3A and 202A] is configured to convert the DC voltage into the output voltage and is adapted to provide the output voltage to the terminals [see Fig. 3, ports 1 and 2 and 0081 and 0098], and a controller [see Fig. 3A, load control device “LCD” 114] operably coupled to a semiconductor stage [see Fig. 3A and converter 202A] see 0106] and configured to control the semiconductor stage for regulating voltage conversation of the DC voltage into the output voltage [see 0098-0099 and Figs. 3A, 118-3 and Fig. 8]; and a control unit [see Figs. 1A 102 and/or Figs. 3A 112 and 0066] operably coupled to the controller [see Fig. 3A and 114] of each smart battery module and configured to set an output voltage or current setpoint or limit for each controller [see 0075 and 0117] individually or configured to set an output voltage or current setpoint or limit for all controllers [see 0075 and 0117] collectively, the respective controllers [see respective controller in Fig. 3A, 114] of the smart battery modules [see Fig. 1A-1C 108-1 thru 108N and Fig. 7A-7E is configured to carry out real-time monitoring of a state of its respective smart battery module in the plurality of smart battery modules [such that the monitoring carried out or done by the respective controller with respect time or period is considered real-time monitoring, see 0075 and 0117] and to operate each of the smart battery modules to output a volage which is proportional to an energy available in that smart battery module [see Fig. 6 and 0106].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRENCE R WILLOUGHBY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 1/26/26
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836