DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed August 15, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WU et al. (US 2021/0044488 A1).
With respect to claim 1, WU discloses a communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a first network element, configuration information from a second network element, wherein the configuration information comprises a performance indicator of a first artificial intelligence (AI) model and a preset condition corresponding to the performance indicator (Abstract, Figure 4, and [0006], second function entity determines model meets update condition); and
changing, by the first network element, the first Al model when a value of the performance indicator of the first AI model meets the preset condition (Abstract and [0008], update model to prevent performance deterioration).
With respect to claim 2, WU discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining, by the first network element, an actual result and an inference result, wherein the inference result is obtained through inference based on the first AI model, and the actual result is obtained based on actual measurement ([0137]);
determining, by the first network element, the value of the performance indicator of the first AI model based on the actual result and the inference result ([0142]); and
determining, by the first network element, that the value of the performance indicator of the first AI model meets the preset condition ([0008]).
With respect to claim 3, WU discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the first AI model is deployed in a terminal device (Abstract); and
obtaining, by the first network element, the actual result and the inference result comprises:
receiving, by the first network element, the actual result and the inference result from the terminal device ([0137] and [0142])), wherein the actual result is first channel state information obtained by the terminal device by measuring a reference signal at a target moment, the inference result is second channel state information at the target moment and that is predicted by the terminal device based on the first AI model and third channel state information obtained by measuring the reference signal at a historical moment, the historical moment preceding the target moment ([0040], [0137], and [0142]).
With respect to claim 4, WU discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the first AI model comprises first and second AI submodels, the first AI submodel is deployed in a terminal device, and the second AI submodel is deployed in the first network element ([0012]); and
obtaining, by the first network element, the actual result and the inference result comprises:
receiving, by the first network element, the actual result from the terminal device, wherein the actual result comprises channel state information obtained by the terminal device by actually measuring a reference signal ([0137] and [0142]); and
receiving, by the first network element, a compression result from the terminal device and decompressing the compression result based on the second AI submodel to obtain the inference result, wherein the compression result is obtained by the terminal device by compressing channel state information based on the first AI submodel ([0015] and [0033]).
With respect to claim 5, WU discloses the method according to claim 3, further comprising:
obtaining, by the first network element, an actual result and an inference result, wherein the inference result is obtained through inference based on the first AI model, and the actual result is obtained based on actual measurement ([0137] and [0142]), wherein:
the first AI model is deployed in a terminal device (Abstract); and
the obtaining, by the first network element, the actual result and the inference result comprises:
receiving, by the first network element, the actual result and the inference result from the terminal device, wherein the actual result is first channel state information obtained by the terminal device by measuring a reference signal at a target moment, the inference result is second channel state information at the target moment and that is predicted by the terminal device based on the first AI model and third channel state information obtained by measuring the reference signal at a historical moment, the historical moment preceding the target moment ([0040], [0137], and [0142]).
With respect to claim 6, WU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein changing, by the first network element, the first AI model comprises at least one of: switching, by the first network element, the first AI model to a second AI model ([0008]);
updating, by the first network element, a parameter or structure in the first AI model; deactivating, by the first network element, the first AI model; or making, by the first network element, a communication network fall back from an AI mode to a non-AI mode ([0008]).
With respect to claim 7, WU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first network element is a distributed unit (DU), the second network element is a central unit (CU), and the DU and the CU are connected through an F1 interface ([0088]).
With respect to claim(s) 8-20, the network element of claim(s) 8-20 does/do not limit or further define over the method of claim(s) 1-7. The limitations of claim(s) 8-20 is/are essentially similar to the limitations of claim(s) 1-7. Therefore, claim(s) 8-20 is/are rejected for the same reasons as claim(s) 1-7. Please see rejection above.
Conclusion
/ESTHER B. HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458 October 29, 2026