DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20240187575 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 18, and 19, Wang discloses an apparatus (figs. 1, 2, and 3) for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor ([0006]-[0007] a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to derive, during a conversion between a target unit of a video and a bitstream of the target unit, an intra prediction mode (IPM) for at least one chroma component of the target unit, the target unit being applied with a target coding tool; obtain a prediction for the at least one chroma component of the target unit using the IPM; and perform the conversion based on the prediction), cause the processor to:
determine, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video ([0006] and [0007] during a conversion between a target unit of a video and a bitstream of the target unit, an intra prediction mode (IPM) for at least one chroma component of the target unit, the target unit being applied with a target coding tool; [0292] the mode conversion process for extended IPMs in the derivation of the IPM for chroma or luma may be same as or different from the mode conversion process for extended IPMs used in intra prediction for chroma or luma; [0409], [0439], and [0440] conversion process), at least one reference sample used by a cross-component prediction (CCP) for the current video block ([0006] and [0007] obtaining a prediction for the at least one chroma component of the target unit using the IPM; [0286], [0287], and [0434] reference samples used in an intra prediction for the first template during the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be unfiltered. Alternatively, reference samples used in an intra prediction for the first template during the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be filtered using a same way as one of the followings: an intra prediction for chroma component, an intra prediction for luma component, or a derivation of an IPM for a luma component; [0311] the pre-defined modes or signalled modes may be cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L; [0424] the first IPM candidate list may comprise one or more cross-component prediction modes. For example, the first IPM candidate list for chroma may consist of cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L; [0484] Clause 26. The method of clause 23, wherein the first IPM candidate list comprises one or more cross-component prediction modes) based on at least one of: a position of the current video block, a shape of the current video block, a size of the current video block, a position of a current coding tree unit (CTU) ([0249], [0403], [0454] The term ‘block’ may represent a coding block (CB), or a coding unit (CU), or a prediction block (PB), or a prediction unit (PU), or a transform block (TB), or a transform unit (TU), or a coding tree block (CTB), or a coding tree unit (CTU), or a rectangular region of samples/pixels), a shape of the current CTU or a size of the current CTU ([0295] the shape/size/dimensions of the template for chroma components may be different from that used in the calculation of gradients for luma component; [0419] and [0420] the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be same as a derivation of an IPM for a luma component. In an example embodiment, a first template (for example, shape/size) used for the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be same as a second template used for the derivation of the IPM for the luma component);
determine the CCP of the current video block based on the at least one reference sample ([0255] the IPM candidate list for chroma may consist of cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L; [0311] i. In one example, the pre-defined modes or signalled modes may be cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L; [0407] and [0408] At block 2620, a prediction for the at least one chroma component of the target unit is obtained using the IPM. In other words, a reconstruction of the target unit for the at least one chroma component may be obtained using the IPM; [0424] In an example embodiment, the first IPM candidate list may comprise one or more cross-component prediction modes. For example, the first IPM candidate list for chroma may consist of cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L; [0434] reference samples used in an intra prediction for the first template during the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be unfiltered. Alternatively, reference samples used in an intra prediction for the first template during the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be filtered using a same way as one of the followings: an intra prediction for chroma component, an intra prediction for luma component, or a derivation of an IPM for a luma component); and
perform the conversion based on the CCP ([0006], [0007], [0409] At block 2630, the conversion is performed based on the prediction; [0439] to [0440] conversion process for generating the bitstream).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein the at least one reference sample comprises at least one of a luma sample or a chroma sample (Chroma of fig. 9; 2020, 2022, and Target of fig. 28; [0006] and [0007] at least one chroma component for the target unit), wherein the at least one reference sample is determined based on whether the current video block is on a boundary of a CTU, or wherein the at least one reference sample is determined based on whether the current video block is on a boundary of a CTU row ([0132]the CTU boundary, [0196] boundary sample; [0286], [0287], and [0434] reference samples used in an intra prediction for the first template during the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be unfiltered. Alternatively, reference samples used in an intra prediction for the first template during the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be filtered using a same way as one of the followings: an intra prediction for chroma component, an intra prediction for luma component, or a derivation of an IPM for a luma component).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein whether a reference sample used by the CCP is in a valid region or out of the valid region is based on a position of the reference sample (reference lines of fig. 17; 2020 and 2022 of fig. 2, FIG. 20 illustrates target samples, template samples and the reference samples of template used in the DIMD. For each intra prediction mode, the DIMD calculates the absolute difference (SAD) between the reconstructed template samples and its prediction samples obtained from the reference samples of the template. The intra prediction mode that yields the minimum SAD is selected as the final intra prediction mode of the target unit; [0181] to [0182] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor),
wherein the position of the reference sample is (x, y), if y is less than or equal to (YO-M), the reference sample is out of the valid region, (X0, YO) being a top-left position of the current CTU, M being an integer ([0145] The prediction sample pred(x′,y′) is predicted using an intra prediction mode (DC, planar, angular) and a linear combination of reference samples according to the Equation 2-8 as follows: pred(x′,y′)=Clip(0,(1<<BitDepth)−1,(wL×R.sub.−1,y′+wT×R.sub.x′,−1+(64−wL−wT)×pred(x′,y′)+32)>>6) (2-9)
where R.sub.x,−1, R.sub.−1,y represent the reference samples located at the top and left boundaries of current sample (x, y), respectively., [0255] left and above samples; [0147] ).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein a restriction of a number of rows of reconstruction ([0181]-0182] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor. For reference line index, which is greater than 0, only include additional reference line modes in MPM list and only signal MPM index without remaining mode, [0197] to [0200] rows and colums) or prediction samples (Window and 4x4 block of fig. 22; [0105], [0145], and [0147] intra prediction sample) above a top boundary of a CTU ([0145], [0147], and [0215] prediction samples, [0180] intra picture prediction use the nearest reference line) or a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU) that is allowed to be accessed is aligned for intra mode coding ([0319] 6. Whether to and/or how to apply the disclosed methods above may be signalled at PB/TB/CB/PU/TU/CU/VPDU/CTU/CTU row/slice/tile/sub-picture/other kinds of region contains more than one sample or pixel; [0454]),
wherein the number of rows of samples above the top boundary of the CTU or the VPDU is restricted to a same value for at least two of the following intra modes:
a cross-component linear model (CCLM) ([0114], [0115]),
a multi-model linear model (MMLM) ([0140] and [0141], and [0142]),
a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM),
a variant of the CCCM ([0180] to [0182]),
wherein the variant of the CCCM comprises at least one of: a gradient and location based CCCM (GL-CCCM), or a CCCM without down-sampling,
a gradient linear model (GLM) ([0148]-[0149] the gradient-based approach),
a GLM with luma,
a variant of the GLM (figs. 13 and 14, [0155]),
a template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL),
a variant of the TMRL, a multiple reference line (MRL) ([0180]-[0182]),
a variant of the MRL ([0180] to [0182]),
an intra chroma fusion ([0231] prediction fusion, [0393] The cost factor used to determine whether to use the fusion method in intra prediction of current block may be dependent on block size and/or block dimensions),
a chroma fusion with luma,
a variant of the intra chroma fusion,
a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) ([0235]),
a variant of the DIMD ([0224] and [0227]), a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD), a variant of the TIMD ([0232] to [0234]),
an intra template matching (fig. 20, template matching), a variant of the intra template matching ([0214]),
a spatial geometric partitioning mode (SGPM),
a variant of the SGPM, a derived block vector (DBV) chroma, or
a variant of the DBV chroma.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the method of claim 4, Wang further teaches wherein a template of an intra mode comprises at least one sample above a first row of a top boundary of a CTU (reference lines of fig. 17, template of fig. 20, Template A of fig. 25c; [0181] to [0182] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor),
wherein the template is used for a template based intra mode coding (2020 and 2022 of fig. 20 and Template A of fig. 25c),
wherein the template based intra mode comprises at least one of: a template based multiple reference line selection (reference lines of fig. 17, [0128] to [0130] template; [0132] reference line; [0180] and [0182] reference lines for intra prediction; [0214] to [0215]), wherein the template based multiple reference line selection comprises at least one of: a template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL), or an extended multiple reference line (MRL) list ([0144] MRL index; [0180] to [0182]),
a CCP mode ([0275] 3) In one example, the IPM candidate list for chroma may consist of cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L), wherein the CCP mode comprises at least one of: a cross-component linear model (CCLM)([0331] 1) In one example, the existing chroma mode may refer to one of CCLM modes, or one of MMLM modes, or the chroma DM mode, or one of the pre-defined traditional intra prediction modes (e.g., Planar, DC, horizontal mode, vertical mode); [0336] iii. In one example, one of the CCLM or MMLM modes may be replaced by the derived IPM), a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM), a gradient linear model (GLM) ([0298] 1) In one example, the Sobel operator, or Isotropic Sobel operator, or Roberts operator, or Prewitt operator, Laplacian operator, or Canny operator may be used to calculate the gradients), a CCCM with down-sampling, a CCCM without down-sampling, a gradient and location based CCCM (GL-CCCM), a history-based CCP mode, a non-adjacent-based CCO mode, a non-local CCP mode, or a cross-component merge (CCMerge) mode,
a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) mode ([0404] In one example, the DDIPM could also be interpreted to a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) method or a template-based intra prediction mode (TIMD) method), wherein the DIMD mode comprises at least one of: a DIMD luma, a DIMD chroma, or a location dependent DIMD,
a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) mode ([0247] In this disclosure, the term decoder-side derivation of intra prediction mode (DDIPM) represents a coding tool that derives intra prediction mode using previously decoded blocks/samples. In one example, the DDIPM could also be interpreted to a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) method or a template-based intra prediction mode (TIMD) method),
a template cost based intra chroma fusion ([0235] A DIMD method with prediction fusion using Planar was integrated in EE2. When EE2 DIMD flag is equal to true, the proposed TIMD flag is not signalled and set equal to false),
an intra template matching prediction (intraTMP),
a related mode of the intraTMP, or
a derived block vector (DBV) mode.
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein a restriction of a number of rows of reconstruction (reference lines of fig. 17; fig. 20 illustrating the reconstructed template samples; [0181] to [0182] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor, [0195] reconstrued neighboring boundary samples; and [0255] for reconstructed samples); or prediction samples above a top boundary of a CTU (Window, 4x4 block of fig. 22, [0145] and [0147] for prediction samples) or a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU) that is allowed to be accessed is aligned for inter mode coding ([0106] For each inter-predicted CU, motion parameters consisting of motion vectors, reference picture indices and reference picture list usage index, and additional information needed for the new coding feature of VVC to be used for inter-predicted sample generation. The motion parameter can be signalled in an explicit or implicit manner. When a CU is coded with skip mode, the CU is associated with one PU and has no significant residual coefficients, no coded motion vector delta or reference picture index),
wherein the number of rows of samples above the top boundary of the CTU or the VPDU is restricted to a same value for at least two of the following inter modes ([0056] and [0057] inter prediction, rows as reference lines of fig. 17, [0106] and [0239]):
an inter template matching based mode (, wherein the inter template matching based mode comprises at least one of: a template matching (TM) merge, a GPM TM, a combined inter and intra prediction (CIIP) TM ([0056] the mode select unit 203 may select a combination of intra and inter predication (CIIP) mode in which the predication is based on an inter predication signal and an intra predication signal), a sub-temporal motion vector prediction (subTMVP) TM, a bi-prediction with coding unit (CU)-level weights(BCW) TM, an affine TM, a merge with motion vector prediction (MMVD) TM, or a TM refinement ([0106] a merge mode; [0110] block matching, [0111] merge mode),
an inter template cost based mode, wherein the inter template cost based mode comprises at least one of: an adaptive reordering-based motion compensation (ARMC), a block-based reference picture reordering, a GPM split mode reordering, a motion vector difference (MVD) sign prediction ([0063] the motion estimation unit 204 may identify, in a syntax structure associated with the current video block, another video block and a motion vector difference (MVD)), or a merge list reordering, a geometric partitioning mode (GPM) inter-intra, a variant of the GPM inter-intra, an overlapped block motion compensation (OBMC),a variant of the OBMC,a local illumination compensation (LIC),a variant of the LIC, a multi-hypothesis prediction (MHP), or a variant of the MHP ([0231] the choice of prediction modes is different and makes use of the combined hypothesis intra-prediction method proposed in [2], where the Planar mode is considered to be used in combination with other modes when computing an intra-predicted candidate).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the method of claim 6, Wang further teaches wherein a template of an inter mode ([0057] inter prediction, [0106] and [0107] inter prediction mode) comprises at least one sample above a first row of the top boundary of the CTU (fig. 17 and 20; [0181] to [0182] multiple reference line (MRL); Window, 4x4 block of fig. 22), wherein the template is used for a template (figs. 20 and 25A-25j) based inter mode coding ([0057] perform inter prediction, [0106] each inter-predicted CU), and/or
wherein the template based inter mode comprises at least one of:
a template matching (TM) merge ([0106] A merge mode is specified whereby the motion parameters for the current CU are obtained from neighbouring CUs, including spatial and temporal candidates),
a TM advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP),
a template-based merge with motion vector difference (MMVD),
a template-based combined inter and intra prediction (CIIP) ([0056] the mode select unit 203 may select a combination of intra and inter predication (CIIP) mode in which the predication is based on an inter predication signal and an intra predication signal),
a template-based geometric partitioning mode (GPM) prediction,
a template-based Affine prediction,
a template-based subblock temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) ([0109] sub-blocks match; [0403] a sub-block of a block, 4x4 block of fig. 22),
a template-based AMVP prediction ([0064] As discussed above, video encoder 200 may predictively signal the motion vector. Two examples of predictive signaling techniques that may be implemented by video encoder 200 include advanced motion vector predication (AMVP) and merge mode signaling),
a template-based reference picture reordering,
a template-based motion vector difference (MVD) sign prediction, or
a template-based MVD coefficient prediction ([0063] the motion estimation unit 204 may identify, in a syntax structure associated with the current video block, another video block and a motion vector difference (MVD)).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein a restriction of a number of rows of reconstruction ([0184] In ISP, the dependence of 1×N/2×N subblock prediction on the reconstructed values of previously decoded 1×N/2×N subblocks of the coding block is not allowed so that the minimum width of prediction for subblocks becomes four samples) or prediction samples above a top boundary of a CTU (reference lines of fig. 17; [0181] to [0182] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor) or a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU) that is allowed to be accessed is aligned for screen content coding (SCC) mode coding ([0053] an intra block copy unit is treated as SCC mode coding, [0107, 0108], [0111] to [0113]),
wherein the number of rows of samples above the top boundary of the CTU (reference lines fig. 17, see also fig. 20, Template A of fig. 25c) or the VPDU is restricted to a same value for at least two of the following SCC modes:
a regular intra block copy (IBC) ([0107] to [0108] and [0111] to [0113,
a reconstruction-reordered IBC (RR-IBC),
a block vector difference (BVD) sign prediction,
a template matching based block vector (BV) refinement,
a template cost-based BV candidate reordering ([0427] In some embodiments, IPMs in the first IPM candidate list may be reordered during the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component. In some embodiments, whether to check next one or more IPMs in the first IPM candidate list may depend on costs of IPMs that have been checked),
a derived block vector (DBV) chroma ([0107] The chroma block vector rounds to integer precision as well), or
a variant of the DBV chroma,
an intra template matching (fig. 20), or
a variant of the intra template matching ([0110] In block matching search, the search range is set to cover both the previous and current CTUs), and/or
wherein a template of the SCC mode comprises at least one sample above a first row of the top boundary of the CTU (reference line 1 of fig. 17; Yellow of fig. 22), wherein the template is used for a template-based SCC mode coding (reference lines of fig. 17, template matching of fig. 20),
wherein the template-based SCC mode comprises at least one of: an intra template matching prediction (intraTMP) mode, a mode related to the intraTMP, a derived block vector (DBV) mode, a template-based IBC prediction ([0107] and [0108]; [0111] IBC mode is signalled with a flag and it can be signalled as IBC AMVP mode or IBC skip/merge mode as follows: [0112] IBC skip/merge mode: a merge candidate index is used to indicate which of the block vectors in the list from neighbouring candidate IBC coded blocks is used to predict the current block. The merge list consists of spatial, HMVP, and pairwise candidates, [0113] IBC AMVP mode: block vector difference is coded in the same way as a motion vector difference. The block vector prediction method uses two candidates as predictors, one from left neighbour and one from above neighbour (if IBC coded). When either neighbour is not available, a default block vector will be used as a predictor. A flag is signalled to indicate the block vector predictor index), a template-based RR-IBC prediction, a template-based BVD sign prediction, or a template-based merge with block vector difference (MBVD).
Regarding claim 9, , Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein a restriction of a number of rows of reconstruction (reference lines of fig. 17; [0181] to [0183] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor) or prediction samples above a top boundary of a CTU (Window, 4x4 block of fig. 22) or a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU) ([0386] Whether to and/or how to apply the disclosed methods above may be signalled at PB/TB/CB/PU/TU/CU/VPDU/CTU/CTU row/slice/tile/sub-picture/other kinds of region contains more than one sample or pixel) that is allowed to be accessed is aligned for intra mode coding, inter mode coding and screen content coding (SCC) mode coding ([0107] An IBC-coded CU is treated as the third prediction mode other than intra or inter prediction modes), and/or wherein at least one reference sample out of a valid region is padded (([0178] and [0180] for padded samples, [0437] interpolation filter perform padding), or wherein at least one reference sample out of a valid region is not used to determine a CCP model (unavailable area of fig. 22).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein for a first prediction mode, a reference line is restricted to not exceed a first number of rows of samples above a top boundary of a CTU (reference lines of fig. 17; [0181] to [0182] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor),
wherein for chroma samples, the first number comprises one of: 1, 6 or 12 ([0181] to [0182] mrl_index encompasses 1, 6, or 12 for intra prediction), and/or
wherein for non-down-sampled luma samples, the first number comprises one of: 1, 6 or 12, and/or
wherein for down-sampled luma samples, the first number comprises one of: 1, 6 or 12,
wherein if the reference line exceeds a k-th row of samples above the top boundary of the CTU, k being the first number, the first prediction mode is not allowed or used or enabled or applied to the current video block, or
wherein if the reference line exceeds a k-th row of samples above the top boundary of the CTU, k being the first number, the reference line is not used for the current video block, and the first prediction mode is allowed or used or enabled or applied to the current video block, wherein the first number of rows of reference samples are used ([0182] For MRL mode, the derivation of DC value in DC intra prediction mode for non-zero reference line indices are aligned with that of reference line index 0. MRL requires the storage of 3 neighbouring luma reference lines with a CTU to generate predictions. The Cross-Component Linear Model (CCLM) tool also requires 3 neighbouring luma reference lines for its down-sampling filters. The definition of MRL to use the same 3 lines is aligned as CCLM to reduce the storage requirements for decoders), and/or
wherein difference values of the first number are used for different modes, or wherein at least two prediction modes have a same restriction on a value of the first number (Fig. 23, indicated two or more modes for predictions are used; [0231] the choice of prediction modes is different and makes use of the combined hypothesis intra-prediction method proposed in [2], where the Planar mode is considered to be used in combination with other modes when computing an intra-predicted candidate. In the current version, the two IPMs corresponding to two tallest HoG bars are combined with the Planar mode).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein for luma value-based intra chroma fusion, a set of neighboring samples is used as training samples to modulate an intra chroma fusion model ([0231] a fusion of three predictors for each block),
the set of neighboring samples comprising at least one of: a first number of rows of neighboring samples, the first number being less than or equal to a first threshold (reference lines of fig. 17, [0180] more reference lines), or
a second number of columns of neighboring samples, the second number being less than or equal to a second threshold ([0180] multiple reference lines, reference lines of fig. 17),
wherein the first threshold is 6, and the second threshold is 6 ([0180] use more reference lines for intra prediction, [0181] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor, so the index of selection reference is considered as the first threshold that is 6 the same as the second threshold)
wherein the neighboring samples comprises at least one of: neighboring chroma samples ([0157] neighboring blocks), or neighboring down-sampled luma samples ([0182] The Cross-Component Linear Model (CCLM) tool also requires 3 neighbouring luma reference lines for its down-sampling filter), or wherein the first threshold is 12, and the second threshold is 12 ([0181] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor, so the index of selection reference line encompasses 12),
wherein the neighboring samples comprises at least one of: neighboring chroma samples ([0255] and [0266] i. In one example, the derivation of the IPM for chroma components may be same as the derivation of IPM for luma component), or neighboring non-down-sampled luma samples,
wherein the intra chroma fusion comprises a mode fusing a non-linear model (LM) chroma prediction with a collocated down-sampled luma reconstruction ([0342] a. In one example, if the current chroma block is not coded with the linear model mode (e.g., including CCLM, MMLM), the DDIPM_CHROMA mode may be inferred to be used),
and/or wherein the intra chroma fusion is based on a linear or non-linear model ([0114] and [0130] In LM mode, left and above templates are used to calculate the linear model coefficients; [0383] b. Alternatively, the weights may be derived using the same way as derivation of linear parameters in CCLM and/or MMLM), coefficients of the model are trained from neighboring samples,
the neighboring samples comprising at least one of: neighboring luma samples or neighboring chroma samples ([0130] In LM mode, left and above templates are used to calculate the linear model coefficients, [0140] Multi-Model Linear Model (MMLM): with MMLM, there can be more than one linear models between the luma samples and chroma samples in a CU),
or wherein the intra chroma fusion is based on a single model, or wherein the intra chroma fusion is based on a plurality of models, wherein samples are separated into a plurality of groups, each group corresponding to a model of the plurality of models ([0140] With MMLM, there can be more than one linear models between the luma samples and chroma samples in a CU. In this method, neighboring luma samples and neighboring chroma samples of the current block are classified into several groups, each group is used as a training set to derive a linear model (i.e., particular α and β are derived for a particular group). Furthermore, the samples of the current luma block is also classified based on the same rule for the classification of neighboring luma samples).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the method of claim 11, Wang further teaches wherein training samples above a first row of a top boundary of the CTU is not allowed to be accessed ([0180] HEVC intra-picture prediction uses the nearest reference line (i.e., reference line 0). In MRL, 2 additional lines (reference line 1 and reference line 2) are used, so samples of the reference line 3 is not used at this time), wherein the first row of the top boundary of the CTU is allowed to be accessed ([0180] HEVC intra-picture prediction uses the nearest reference line (i.e., reference line 0)).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein for a cross-component linear model (CCLM) mode ([0125] FIG. 9 shows an example of the location of the left and above samples and the sample of the current block involved in the CCLM mode), samples above a first row of a top boundary of a CTU is allowed to be accessed for determining model coefficients (Fig. 9, [0125] FIG. 9 shows an example of the location of the left and above samples and the sample of the current block involved in the CCLM mode), wherein luma samples above the first row of the top boundary of the CTU is used to determine down- samples luma values ([0131] to [0132] down-sampling; [0142] A neighboring sample with Rec′L[x,y]<=Threshold is classified into group 1; while a neighboring sample with Rec′L[x,y]>Threshold is classified into group 2. Similar to CCLM, there are 3 modes in MMLM, namely MMLM, MMLM_T, and MMLM_L. Two models are derived).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein for an intra luma prediction mode, samples above a first row of a top boundary of a CTU are allowed to be accessed for determining model coefficients ([0266] i. In one example, the derivation of the IPM for chroma components may be same as the derivation of IPM for luma component. [0267] 1) In one example, the template (e.g., shape/size) used in the derivation of the IPM for chroma may be same as luma. [0268] 2) In one example, the IPM candidate list used to derive the IPM for chroma may be same as luma. [0269] 3) In one example, how to calculate the cost used to derive the IPM for chroma may be same as luma),
wherein samples above the first row of the top boundary of the CTU are used as reference samples for an intra luma prediction mode, wherein the reference samples are used for an intra mode using multiple reference lines (fig. 20),
wherein the intra mode comprises at least one of: a multiple reference line (MRL), or an extended MRL ([0180] Multiple reference line intra prediction), or
wherein the reference samples are used for an intra mode using template-based multiple reference lines, wherein the intra mode comprises a template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL) (reference lines of fig. 17, intra template prediction of fig. 20; [0211] and [0213] template based intra mode derivation, [0214] template for intra prediction).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein the conversion comprises encoding the current video block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion comprises decoding the current video block from the bitstream ([0409] At block 2630, the conversion is performed based on the prediction. In some embodiments, the conversion may comprise encoding the video unit into the bitstream. In some embodiments, the conversion may comprise decoding the video unit from the bitstream).
Regarding claim 20, Wang further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing ([0551] A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises: deriving an intra prediction mode (IPM) for at least one chroma component of a target unit of the video for at least one chroma component, the target unit being applied with a target coding tool; obtaining a prediction for the at least one chroma component of the target unit using the IPM; and generating a bitstream of the target unit based on the prediction), wherein the method comprises:
determining least one reference sample used by a cross-component prediction (CCP) for the current video block ([0006] and [0007] obtaining a prediction for the at least one chroma component of the target unit using the IPM; [0286] vii. In one example, the reference samples used in the intra prediction for the template during the derivation of the IPM for chroma may be unfiltered. [0287] 1) Alternatively, the reference samples used in the intra prediction for the template during the derivation of the IPM may be filtered using the same way as intra prediction for chroma, or intra prediction for luma, or the derivation of the IPM for luma; [0292] x. In one example, the mode conversion process for extended IPMs in the derivation of the IPM for chroma or luma may be same as or different from the mode conversion process for extended IPMs used in intra prediction for chroma or luma; [0311] i. In one example, the pre-defined modes or signalled modes may be cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L; [0424] In an example embodiment, the first IPM candidate list may comprise one or more cross-component prediction modes. For example, the first IPM candidate list for chroma may consist of cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L; [0484] Clause 26. The method of clause 23, wherein the first IPM candidate list comprises one or more cross-component prediction modes) based on at least one of: a position of the current video block, a shape of the current video block, a size of the current video block, a position of a current coding tree unit (CTU) ([0249], [0403], [0454] The term ‘block’ may represent a coding block (CB), or a coding unit (CU), or a prediction block (PB), or a prediction unit (PU), or a transform block (TB), or a transform unit (TU), or a coding tree block (CTB), or a coding tree unit (CTU), or a rectangular region of samples/pixels), a shape of the current CTU or a size of the current CTU ([0295] ii. In one example, the shape/size/dimensions of the template for chroma components may be different from that used in the calculation of gradients for luma component; [0419] and [0420] the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be same as a derivation of an IPM for a luma component. In an example embodiment, a first template (for example, shape/size) used for the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be same as a second template used for the derivation of the IPM for the luma component);
determining the CCP of the current video block based on the at least one reference sample ([0255] the IPM candidate list for chroma may consist of cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L; [0311] i. In one example, the pre-defined modes or signalled modes may be cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L; [0407] and [0408] At block 2610, during a conversion between a target unit of a video and a bitstream of the target unit, an intra prediction mode (IPM) for the at least one chroma component of the target unit is derived; [0408] At block 2620, a prediction for the at least one chroma component of the target unit is obtained using the IPM. In other words, a reconstruction of the target unit for the at least one chroma component may be obtained using the IPM; [0424] In an example embodiment, the first IPM candidate list may comprise one or more cross-component prediction modes. For example, the first IPM candidate list for chroma may consist of cross-component prediction mode such as LM, and/or LM_T, and/or LM_L, and/or MMLM, and/or MMLM_T, and/or MMLM_L); [0434] reference samples used in an intra prediction for the first template during the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be unfiltered. Alternatively, reference samples used in an intra prediction for the first template during the derivation of the IPM for the at least one chroma component may be filtered using a same way as one of the followings: an intra prediction for chroma component, an intra prediction for luma component, or a derivation of an IPM for a luma component); and
generating the bitstream based on the CCP ([0006], [0007], [0409] At block 2630, the conversion is performed based on the prediction; [0439] to [0440] conversion for generating the bitstream).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20220150538 A1).
Claim 20 recites a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises: “determining at least one reference sample used by a cross-component prediction (CCP) for a current video block of the video based on at least one of: a position of the current video block, a shape of the current video block, a size of the current video block, a position of a current coding tree unit (CTU), a shape of the current CTU or a size of the current CTU; determining the CCP of the current video block based on the at least one reference sample; and generating the bitstream based on the CCP” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the recording medium for storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the determining at least one reference sample used by a cross-component prediction (CCP); determining the CCP of the current video block; and generating the bitstream based on the CCP and other information manipulated by the steps.
To be given patentable weight, the recording medium and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the recording medium to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The recording medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 20 merely services as a support for the recording medium of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and recording medium.
Therefore, the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III).
Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Choi ([0013] a digital storage medium may be provided, in which image data including encoded image information and bitstream generated according to an image encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus is stored).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240187575 A1) in view of Xu (US 20250260807 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the method of claim 11, Wang does not teach wherein training samples above a first row of a top boundary of the CTU is allowed to be accessed, wherein a first number of rows of neighboring samples is acceded for generating a model regardless of a top boundary of a CTU, the neighboring samples comprising neighboring chroma samples and/or down- sampled luma samples, wherein the first number is 6, or wherein a second number of rows of neighboring samples is acceded for generating a model regardless of a top boundary of a CTU, the neighboring samples comprising neighboring chroma samples and/or non-down- sampled luma samples, wherein the second number is 12.
Xu teaches wherein training samples above a first row of a top boundary of the CTU is allowed to be accessed, wherein a first number of rows of neighboring samples is acceded for generating a model regardless of a top boundary of a CTU, the neighboring samples comprising neighboring chroma samples and/or down- sampled luma samples, wherein the first number is 6, or wherein a second number of rows of neighboring samples is acceded for generating a model regardless of a top boundary of a CTU, the neighboring samples comprising neighboring chroma samples and/or non-down- sampled luma samples, wherein the second number is 12 ([0157] the template region for the current block is located in a reference line 30 with an index of 0, and to construct the TMRL_IP mode candidate list, N extended reference lines that can be used are selected from predefined extended reference lines with indexes of {1, 3, 5, 7, 12}. If there are more than 13 reference lines between the upper side of the current block and the boundary of the CTU, 5 extended reference lines with indexes of {1, 3, 5, 7, 12} are selected to participate in combination. If there are 6 or 7 reference lines between the upper side of the current block and the boundary of the CTU, 3 extended reference lines with indexes of {1, 3, 5} are selected to participate in combination, and so on).
Taking the teachings of Wang and Xu together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of rows of Xu into the intra prediction of Wang to reduce the cost for encoding and improve the performance of encoding ([0028] of XU).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches the method of claim 15, Wang further teaches wherein whether a multiple reference line (MRL) index is valid is jointly determined based on a location of a reference line (reference lines of fig. 17, [0180] to [0182]), a location of the current video block (Segment B and E of fig. 17), and a maximum allowed number of reference rows above a top boundary of a CTU ([0181] The index of selected reference line (mrl_idx) is signalled and used to generate intra predictor).
It is noted that Wang does not teach wherein if the current video block does not belong to a first row of a current CTU of a current picture, and if (h + max) < length, the MRL index is not valid, where h denotes a vertical coordinator of the current video block relative a vertical coordinator of the current CTU, max denotes a maximum allowed number of reference rows above a top boundary of the current CTU, and length denotes a distance between the MRL or template- based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL) indexed reference line and the current video block, or wherein if the current video block does not belong to a first row of a current CTU of a current picture, and if (h + max) < (length - tmpSize), a template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL) index is not valid, where h denotes a vertical coordinator of the current video block relative a vertical coordinator of the current CTU, max denotes a maximum allowed number of reference rows above a top boundary of the current CTU, length denotes a distance between the MRL or TMRL indexed reference line and the current video block, and tmpSize denotes a template size of TMRL mode, or wherein if the current video block belongs to a first row of a current CTU of a current picture, and if h < length, the MRL index is not valid, where h denotes a vertical coordinator of the current video block relative a vertical coordinator of the current CTU, and length denotes a distance between the MRL or template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL) indexed reference line and the current video block, or wherein if the current video block belongs to a first row of a current CTU of a current picture, and if h < (length - tmpSize), a template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL) index is not valid, where h denotes a vertical coordinator of the current video block relative a vertical coordinator of the current CTU, length denotes a distance between the MRL or TMRL indexed reference line and the current video block, and tmpSize denotes a template size of TMRL mode.
Xu teaches wherein if the current video block does not belong to a first row of a current CTU of a current picture ([0049] the current block is not located at an upper boundary of a CTU, and TIMD is used for the current block, decoding an MRL index for the current block, where the MRL index indicates the position of a reference line selected for the current block in an MRL index list), and if (h + max) < length, the MRL index is not valid, where h denotes a vertical coordinator of the current video block relative a vertical coordinator of the current CTU, max denotes a maximum allowed number of reference rows above a top boundary of the current CTU, and length denotes a distance between the MRL or template- based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL) indexed reference line and the current video block ([0054] the current block is a block in a luma picture; the current block is not located at an upper boundary of a CTU; MRL is allowed for the current block; the size of the current block is not greater than the maximum size of a current block for which the MRL_IP mode is allowed; or an aspect ratio of the current block meets a requirement for an aspect ratio of a current block for which the MRL_IP mode is allowed; [0138] the condition that the current block is not located at the upper boundary of the CTU is taken as a condition for allowing use of the MRL_IP mode; [0157] In FIG. 8A, the template region for the current block is located in a reference line 30 with an index of 0, and to construct the TMRL_IP mode candidate list, N extended reference lines that can be used are selected from predefined extended reference lines with indexes of {1, 3, 5, 7, 12}. If there are more than 13 reference lines between the upper side of the current block and the boundary of the CTU, 5 extended reference lines with indexes of {1, 3, 5, 7, 12} are selected to participate in combination. If there are 6 or 7 reference lines between the upper side of the current block and the boundary of the CTU, 3 extended reference lines with indexes of {1, 3, 5} are selected to participate in combination, and so on), or
wherein if the current video block does not belong to a first row of a current CTU of a current picture, and if (h + max) < (length - tmpSize), a template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL) index is not valid, where h denotes a vertical coordinator of the current video block relative a vertical coordinator of the current CTU, max denotes a maximum allowed number of reference rows above a top boundary of the current CTU, length denotes a distance between the MRL or TMRL indexed reference line and the current video block, and tmpSize denotes a template size of TMRL mode, or
wherein if the current video block belongs to a first row of a current CTU of a current picture, and if h < length, the MRL index is not valid, where h denotes a vertical coordinator of the current video block relative a vertical coordinator of the current CTU, and length denotes a distance between the MRL or template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL) indexed reference line and the current video block, or
wherein if the current video block belongs to a first row of a current CTU of a current picture, and if h < (length - tmpSize), a template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL) index is not valid, where h denotes a vertical coordinator of the current video block relative a vertical coordinator of the current CTU, length denotes a distance between the MRL or TMRL indexed reference line and the current video block, and tmpSize denotes a template size of TMRL mode.
Taking the teachings of Wang and Xu together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the allowable rows of Xu into the intra prediction of Wang to reduce the cost for encoding and improve the performance of encoding ([0028] of XU).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deng et al. (US 20230344990 A1) discloses for chroma intra mode coding, a total of 8 intra modes are allowed for chroma intra mode coding. Those modes include five traditional intra modes and three cross-component linear model modes (CCLM, LM_A, and LM_L). Chroma mode coding directly depends on the intra prediction mode of the corresponding luma block.
Chang et al. (US 20260032281 A1) discloses Method And Apparatus Of Novel Intra Prediction With Combinations Of Reference Lines And Intra Prediction Modes In Video Coding System.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425