CTNF 19/301,917 CTNF 89666 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on August 15, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zhang et al., US 20170366818 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “ Zhang ”) . Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for video processing, comprising: performing a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video (Zhang: Decoding first and non-first chroma component. Fig. 4 blocks 440 and 460) , wherein a first chroma component of the current video block is coded based on a first coding scheme, a second chroma component of the current video block is coded based on a second coding scheme, the second chroma component is different from the first chroma component and the second coding scheme is different from the first coding scheme (Xu: decode Intra prediction coded chroma data that allows two different chroma blocks in a coding unit to use different chroma Intra prediction modes. ¶ [0029]). Regarding claim 2, Zhang disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first chroma component is a Cb component and the second chroma component is a Cr component (Zhang: non-first chroma component (e.g. Cr) and first component (e.g. Cb) ¶ [0032]). Regarding claim 15 , Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein whether to and/or how to apply the method is indicated at one of the following: a sequence level, a group of pictures level, a picture level, a slice level, or a tile group level, or wherein whether to and/or how to apply the method is indicated in one of the following: a sequence header, a picture header, a sequence parameter set (SPS), a video parameter set (VPS), a dependency parameter set (DPS), a decoding capability information (DCI), a picture parameter set (PPS), an adaptation parameter sets (APS), a slice header, or a tile group header, or wherein whether to and/or how to apply the method is indicated at a region containing more than one sample or pixel, or wherein whether to and/or how to apply the method is dependent on coded information (Zhang: Figs. 4 and 5) . Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream (Zhang: The flowcharts (e.g., fig. 4) shown above are intended to illustrate examples of improved chroma Intra prediction for a video encoder and a decoder incorporating embodiments of the present invention. ¶ [0067]). Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream (Zhang: Fig. 4 Decoding method). Regarding claim 18, claim 1 is sustainably similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. Regarding claim 19, claim 1 is sustainably similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. Regarding claim 20, claim 1 is sustainably similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-6 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in further view of Wang et al., (WO 2023016439 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “ Wang ”) . Regarding claim 3, Zhang does explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first coding scheme and the second coding scheme are based on cross-component prediction (CCP). However, Wang discloses wherein the first coding scheme and the second coding scheme are based on cross-component prediction (CCP). (Wang: discloses cross-component linear model prediction to determine a prediction for at least one chroma component of a target block. Abstract, and Page 20). Cross-chroma prediction, as disclosed by Zhang, is a specialized type of cross-component prediction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with the first coding scheme and the second coding scheme are based on cross-component prediction (CCP), as taught by Wang, in order to improves video coding efficiency by reducing inter-channel redundancy. Regarding claim 4, Zhang does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first coding scheme and the second coding scheme are determined based on template-cost-based scheme. However, Zhang discloses wherein the first coding scheme and the second coding scheme are determined based on template-cost-based scheme (Zhang: Fig. 20… the DIMD calculates the absolute difference (SAD) between the reconstructed template samples and its prediction samples obtained from the reference samples of the template. The intra prediction mode that yields the minimum SAD is selected as the final intra prediction mode of the target unit. ¶ [0030]. Figs. 25a-25j illustrate templates used in the derivation of 1PM for Chroma, respectively ¶ [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with the first coding scheme and the second coding scheme are determined based on template-cost-based scheme, as taught by Wang, in order to improve prediction accuracy for each chroma component without increasing the bitrate. Regarding claim 5, Zhang does not disclose the method of claim 4, wherein a template cost for the first chroma component and a template cost for the second chroma component are determined separately. However, Wang discloses wherein a template cost for the first chroma component and a template cost for the second chroma component are determined separately (Wang: Figs. 25a-25j illustrate templates used in the derivation of 1PM for Chroma, respectively ¶ [0035]. iii. In one example, the template consists of samples of component A may be used to derive the IPM for component A. (e.g., A may be Cb or Cr). iv. In one example, the template consists of samples of component A may be used to derive the IPM for component B. (e.g., A may be Cb, and B may be Cr. e.g., A may be Y, and B may be Cr). 1) In one example, A may consist of more than one component and B may consist of more than one component. Pages 43-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with wherein a template cost for the first chroma component and a template cost for the second chroma component are determined separately, as taught by Wang, in order to improve prediction accuracy for each chroma component without increasing the bitrate. Regarding claim 6, Zhang does not disclose t he method of claim 1, wherein the first coding scheme comprises a first intra chroma fusion scheme, and the second coding scheme comprises a second intra chroma fusion scheme different from the first intra chroma fusion scheme. However, Wang discloses the first coding scheme comprises a first intra chroma fusion scheme, and the second coding scheme comprises a second intra chroma fusion scheme different from the first intra chroma fusion scheme (Wang: Wang discloses determining a prediction for at least one chroma component of a target block. See Abstract. In one example, fusion of the predicted signals generated by more than one IPMs may be used as the final prediction of the block for chroma components. Page 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with the first coding scheme comprises a first intra chroma fusion scheme, and the second coding scheme comprises a second intra chroma fusion scheme different from the first intra chroma fusion scheme, as taught by Wang, in order to improve color prediction accuracy using information from multiple color components. Regarding claim 9, Zhang does not disclose the method of claim 6, wherein both the first intra chroma fusion scheme and the second intra chroma fusion scheme are multi-model based, and a threshold used for classifying samples of the first chroma component for the first intra chroma fusion scheme is different from a threshold used for classifying samples of the second chroma component for the second intra chroma fusion scheme, or wherein both the first intra chroma fusion scheme and the second intra chroma fusion scheme are single-model based, and a range of training samples used for determining a CCP model of the first chroma component for the first intra chroma fusion scheme is different from a range of training samples used for determining a CCP model of the second chroma component for the second intra chroma fusion scheme. However, Wang discloses wherein both the first intra chroma fusion scheme and the second intra chroma fusion scheme are multi-model based, and a threshold used for classifying samples of the first chroma component for the first intra chroma fusion scheme is different from a threshold used for classifying samples of the second chroma component for the second intra chroma fusion scheme (Wang: Classification thresholds for multi-model linear models. Page 25) , or wherein both the first intra chroma fusion scheme and the second intra chroma fusion scheme are single-model based, and a range of training samples used for determining a CCP model of the first chroma component for the first intra chroma fusion scheme is different from a range of training samples used for determining a CCP model of the second chroma component for the second intra chroma fusion scheme (The claim limitation is written in the alternative. Therefore, only one or the other limitation applies). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with wherein both the first intra chroma fusion scheme and the second intra chroma fusion scheme are multi-model based, and a threshold used for classifying samples of the first chroma component for the first intra chroma fusion scheme is different from a threshold used for classifying samples of the second chroma component for the second intra chroma fusion scheme, as taught by Wang, in order to improve coding efficiency while using multiple models. Regarding claim 10, Zhang does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first coding scheme comprises a first multi-model CCP scheme, and the second coding scheme comprises a second multi-model CCP scheme different from the first multi-model CCP scheme. However Wang discloses wherein the first coding scheme comprises a first multi-model CCP scheme, and the second coding scheme comprises a second multi-model CCP scheme different from the first multi-model CCP scheme (Wang: Cross Component prediction modes such as multi-model linear models. Page 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with the first coding scheme comprises a first multi-model CCP scheme, and the second coding scheme comprises a second multi-model CCP scheme different from the first multi-model CCP scheme as taught by Wang, in order to improve compression efficiency by leveraging correlations between brightness and color components. Regarding claim 11 , Zhang does not disclose the method of claim 10, Zhang does not disclose wherein a threshold used for classifying samples of the first chroma component for the first multi-model CCP scheme is different from a threshold used for classifying samples of the second chroma component for the second multi-model CCP scheme. However, Wang discloses a threshold used for classifying samples of the first chroma component for the first multi-model CCP scheme is different from a threshold used for classifying samples of the second chroma component for the second multi-model CCP scheme (Wang: Classification thresholds for multi-model linear models. Page 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with a threshold used for classifying samples of the first chroma component for the first multi-model CCP scheme is different from a threshold used for classifying samples of the second chroma component for the second multi-model CCP scheme, as taught by Wang, , in order to improve coding efficiency while using multiple models. Regarding claim 12, Zhang does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein training samples used for determining a CCP model of the first chroma component for the first intra chroma fusion scheme is different from training samples used for determining a CCP model of the second chroma component for the second intra chroma fusion scheme, or wherein a first range of training samples used for determining a CCP model of the first chroma component for the first intra chroma fusion scheme is different from a second range of training samples used for determining a CCP model of the second chroma component for the second intra chroma fusion scheme (The claim limitation is written in the alternative. Therefore, only one or the other limitation applies). However, Wang discloses training samples used for determining a CCP model of the first chroma component for the first intra chroma fusion scheme is different from training samples used for determining a CCP model of the second chroma component for the second intra chroma fusion scheme (Wang: discloses training samples for cross component prediction. Page 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with raining samples used for determining a CCP model of the first chroma component for the first intra chroma fusion scheme is different from training samples used for determining a CCP model of the second chroma component for the second intra chroma fusion scheme, as taught by Wang, in order to improve coding efficiency using multi model cross component prediction. Regarding claim 13 , Zhang does not disclose the method of claim 12, wherein the first range comprises at least one of M rows of training samples or N rows of training samples, the second range comprises at least one of R rows of training samples or Q rows of training samples, and each of M, N, R and Q is a non-negative integer. However, Wang discloses wherein the first range comprises at least one of M rows of training samples or N rows of training samples, the second range comprises at least one of R rows of training samples or Q rows of training samples, and each of M, N, R and Q is a non-negative integer (Wang: discloses training samples for cross component prediction. Page 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with the first range comprises at least one of M rows of training samples or N rows of training samples, the second range comprises at least one of R rows of training samples or Q rows of training samples, and each of M, N, R and Q is a non-negative integer, as taught by Wang, in order to improve coding efficiency using multi model cross component prediction. Regarding claim 14, Zhang does not disclose the method of claim 3, wherein a CCP parameter for coding the first chroma component is stored for coding the first chroma component and the second chroma component of a further video block of the video, the current video block being coded before the further video block. However, Zhang discloses, wherein a CCP parameter for coding the first chroma component is stored for coding the first chroma component and the second chroma component of a further video block of the video, the current video block being coded before the further video block (Wang: a prediction of the target unit for the at least one chroma component may be obtained using the 1PM. A bitstream of the target unit may be generated based on the prediction and stored in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. ¶ [00136]) , or the CCP parameter for coding the first chroma component is inherited for coding the first chroma component and the second chroma component of the further video block, or wherein a CCP parameter for coding the second chroma component is stored for coding the first chroma component and the second chroma component of a further video block of the video, the current video block being coded before the further video block, or the CCP parameter for coding the second chroma component is inherited for coding the first chroma component and the second chroma component of the further video block, or wherein a CCP parameter for coding the first chroma component is stored for coding the first chroma component of a further video block of the video, and a CCP parameter for coding the second chroma component is stored for coding the second chroma component of the further video block, the current video block being coded before the further video block, or the CCP parameter for coding the first chroma component is inherited for coding the first chroma component of the further video block, and the CCP parameter for coding the second chroma component is inherited for coding the second chroma component of the further video block (The claim limitation is written in the alternative. Therefore, only one or the other limitation applies) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with wherein a CCP parameter for coding the first chroma component is stored for coding the first chroma component and the second chroma component of a further video block of the video, the current video block being coded before the further video block, as taught by Wang, in order to improve coding efficiency . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in further view of Wang and Hou et al., US 20250233986 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Hou”) . Regarding claim 7, Zhang and Wang do not disclose the method of claim 6, wherein a prediction for the first chroma component determined with a non-linear model (non-LM) mode is fused with a further prediction for the first chroma component determined with a first type of linear model (LM), and a prediction for the second chroma component determined with a non-LM mode is fused with a further prediction for the second chroma component determined with a second type of LM different from the first type of LM. However, Hou discloses wherein a prediction for the first chroma component determined with a non-linear model (non-LM) mode is fused with a further prediction for the first chroma component determined with a first type of linear model (LM), and a prediction for the second chroma component determined with a non-LM mode is fused with a further prediction for the second chroma component determined with a second type of LM different from the first type of LM (Wang: a neural network may be used to correct the prediction output of the CP-CCCM mode to obtain the final prediction value. ¶ [0488]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and Wang with a prediction for the first chroma component determined with a non-linear model (non-LM) mode is fused with a further prediction for the first chroma component determined with a first type of linear model (LM), and a prediction for the second chroma component determined with a non-LM mode is fused with a further prediction for the second chroma component determined with a second type of LM different from the first type of LM, as taught by Wang, in order to improve coding efficiency by capturing complex, non-linear relationships, as taught by Hou, in order to improve the prediction performance of the linear LM (Hou, ¶ [0488]). Regarding 8, Zhang does not disclose the method of claim 7, wherein the first type of LM comprises a multi-model cross-component linear model (MM-CCLM) mode, and the second type of LM comprises a multi-model convolutional cross-component model (MM-CCCM) mode. However, Wang disclose discloses the first type of LM comprises a multi-model cross-component linear model (MM-CCLM) mode (Wang: Page 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang with the first type of LM comprises a multi-model cross-component linear model (MM-CCLM) mode, as taught by Wang, in order to improve coding efficiency. Zhang and Wang do not disclose the second type of LM comprises a multi-model convolutional cross-component model (MM-CCCM) mode. However, Wang discloses the first type of LM comprises a multi-model cross-component linear model (MM-CCLM) mode, and the second type of LM comprises a multi-model convolutional cross-component model (MM-CCCM) mode (Wang: a neural network may be used to correct the prediction output of the CP-CCCM mode to obtain the final prediction value. ¶ [0488]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and Wang with the first type of LM comprises a multi-model cross-component linear model (MM-CCLM) mode, and the second type of LM comprises a multi-model convolutional cross-component model (MM-CCCM) mode, as taught by Wang, in order to improve coding efficiency by capturing complex, non-linear relationships, as taught by Hou, in order to improve the prediction performance of the linear LM (Hou, ¶ [0488]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DEIRDRE L BEASLEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0452. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8 a.m. -5 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Kelley can be reached at (571) 272-7331. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DLB/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482 /CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 2 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 3 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 4 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 5 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 6 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 7 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 8 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 9 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 10 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 11 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 12 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 13 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 14 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/301,917 Page 15 Art Unit: 2482