DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ree and Jimenez.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-14, 16-18 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ree US 9534601 in view of Jimenez US 11680578.
Regarding claim 1 Ree discloses a tapered rotary disc pump (Fig. 4), comprising:
a disc assembly (Fig. 7) comprising a first disc and a second disc, the first disc comprising a first inner surface and the second disc comprising a second inner surface, the first disc and second disc forming a chamber between the first disc and the second disc (Fig. 7); a plurality of standoffs (73) coupling the first disc with the second disc; and
a plurality of vanes comprising a first plurality of vanes and a second plurality of vanes (71 and 72), wherein the first plurality of vanes is disposed on the first inner surface and the second plurality of vanes is disposed on the second inner surface, each of the plurality of vanes comprising:
a vane inner end (radially inner end of vane) and a vane outer end (radially outer end of vane) opposite the vane inner end, the vane outer end terminating at a disc periphery of the first disc or the second disc such that the vane outer end and the disc periphery form a flush relationship (Fig. 7), wherein the vane inner end extends inwardly toward a center of the first disc or the second disc (Fig. 7),
a vane leading face and a vane trailing face, the vane trailing face comprising an orthogonal configuration with a respective inner surface (Fig. 7);
wherein at least one of the plurality of vanes tapers from the vane outer end toward the vane inner end (Fig. 7).
However, it does not teach that the at least one of the plurality of vanes tapers from the respective inner surface toward the chamber.
Jimenez teaches a disc assembly with vanes tapering from an inner surface towards a chamber (Fig. 6). Jimenez so teaches in order to improve pump efficiency (col. 5 ln. 41-42). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vanes as taught by Ree by incorporating a taper as taught by Jimenez in order to improve pump efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, The combination further teaches that each of the plurality of vanes tapers from the vane outer end toward the vane inner end (Ree, Fig. 7), and further wherein each of the plurality of vanes tapers from the respective inner surface toward the chamber (Jimenez, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Ree further discloses that the first disc is in parallel alignment with the second disc (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Ree further discloses that the first disc is concentrically aligned with the second disc (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Ree further discloses that the first plurality of vanes comprises a first quantity and the second plurality of vanes comprises a second quantity, wherein the first quantity equals the second quantity (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Ree further discloses that each of the first plurality of vanes is aligned with one of the second plurality of vanes such that two opposing vanes are at equal radial positions during rotation of the tapered rotary disc pump (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Ree further discloses that each of the plurality of standoffs is orthogonal to the first disc and the second disc (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Jinenez further teaches that the vane leading face (64 adjacent to 62,72) further comprising a convex portion and a concave portion (Fig. 5), wherein the concave portion extends from the respective inner surface toward the convex portion, and the convex portion extends from the concave portion to the vane trailing face (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, see claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, see claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 5.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, see claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 6.
Regarding claims 21, 23 and 25, the Ree further discloses that the respective inner surface comprises a first boundary edge and a second boundary edge formed by adjacent vanes, wherein the first boundary edge and the second boundary edge are each substantially linear (Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 22, 24 and 26, Ree further discloses that the first boundary edge and the second boundary edge converge towards a center portion of the first disc or the second disc (Fig. 7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745