Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there are no reference characters shown in the drawings or discussed in the specification. The drawings do not specifically show where the various elements are located on the vest.
The drawings are objected to for excessive shading, see MPEP 1.84(m). New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because some of the drawings are shaded in black and grey, which reduces legibility. According to MPEP CFR 1.84(m), shading is only acceptable if it does not reduce legibility. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20190081598 A) in view of Marmen (US 11647733 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a system for taking care of dog, comprising:
a smart vest (10), configured to be worn by a dog (wearable device 10, see fig 4);
a user device (user terminal 20), configured to be used by an owner of the dog for remote interaction with the smart vest (see page 2); and
a server (40), communicating with the smart vest (10) and the user device (20) respectively to implement the remote interaction (management server 40 and dog care device 30, see page 2);
wherein the smart vest (10) comprises one or more physiological information sensors (bio-signal sensor 11), wherein the dog's physiological information monitored by the one or more physiological information sensors is sent by the smart vest to the server for analyzing the dog's emotional status (measures biometric signals & transmits them to user, different colors for display unit based on normal vs abnormal heart rate, see pages 4-5).
Lee fails to disclose wherein the vest comprises an array of vibration motors and a microprocessor, and the remote interaction is configured to include that the owner sends an instruction to the smart vest through the user device, wherein the microprocessor is configured to, in response to the instruction, activate the array of vibrator motors to simulate a hug of the owner, in view of the dog's emotional status received by the user device from the server.
Marmen teaches wherein the vest (harness, see col 5, lines 57-58) comprises an array of vibration motors (vibration motors 120i-j and 120w-z, see figs 1c-d, 2b and 2d, and col 6, lines 47-65) and a microprocessor (microprocessor 132, see col 7, lines 42-52 and col 8, lines 4-24), and the remote interaction is configured to include that the owner sends an instruction to the smart vest through the user device (microprocessor receives commands from remote user device to activate the vest, see col 2, lines 23-31), wherein the microprocessor is configured to, in response to the instruction (see col 7, lines 33-41), activate the array of vibrator motors to simulate a hug of the owner (vibration pattern, see col 1, lines 60-67, and col 8, lines 29-41), in view of the dog's emotional status received by the user device from the server (see col 7, lines 33-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the smart vest with the vibrator array and microprocessor of Marmen with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for increased communication and diversity of cues via the array of vibration motors (see col 1, lines 60-67 and col 10, lines 58-67 and col 11, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 4, the modified reference teaches the system of claim 1, and Lee further discloses wherein the one or more physiological information sensors comprise a heartbeat sensor, and the dog's physiological information comprises the dog's heartbeat information (sensor/bio-signal detecting unit 11, can detect heart rate, see page 6), and the dog's emotional status comprises the dog's anxiety level (emotional states such as fear and anxiety, see page 3).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the smart vest comprises a speaker (speaker 342), and the remote interaction includes that speaker is configured to be remotely operated by the owner through the user device to talk to the dog (see page 9).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the smart vest comprises a location tracker (GPS tracker 124, location management unit 121, see page 12), and the remote interaction includes that the smart vest is configured to send the dog's location information recorded by the location tracker to the user device via the server (step S208 transmits the detected position of the wearable 10 to the user terminal 20, see page 12).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20190081598 A) in view of Marmen (US 11647733 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kapoustin (US-10993416-B2).
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the system of claim 1, and Lee further discloses wherein the server can analyze the dog's emotional status based on the dog's physiological information (sensor/bio-signal detecting unit 11, can detect heart rate, see page 6, determine emotional states such as fear and anxiety, see page 3).
The modified reference fails to teach an AI module for determining the dogs emotional status.
Kapoustin teaches wherein the server comprises an AI module to analyze the dog's emotional status based on the dog's physiological information (AI analyzes the emotional state and body biometrics of the support animals, see abstract and col 3, lines 50-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the AI module for data analysis as taught by Kapoustin with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for the AI learning algorithm to learn the animals usual biometrics to more quickly and accurately identify when the animal feeling off.
Claim(s) 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20190081598 A) in view of Marmen (US 11647733 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Davino (US-20170223928-A1).
Regarding claim 5, the modified reference teaches the system of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the smart vest comprises a heartbeat simulator, and the user device configured to receive the owner's heartbeat information from another device, wherein the user device is configured to send the owner's heartbeat information to the smart vest via the server, in order for the smart vest to simulate the owner's heartbeat through one of the vibrators or the heartbeat simulator while simulating the hug of the owner.
Davino teaches wherein the smart vest comprises a heartbeat simulator (vibration generator 425), and the user device is configured to receive the owner's heartbeat information from another device (input from user external device, see para 0034), wherein the user device is configured to send the owner's heartbeat information to the smart vest via the server (sends user heartbeat to animals bed, see para 0055 and 0071), in order for the smart vest to simulate the owner's heartbeat through one of the vibrators or the heartbeat simulator while simulating the hug of the owner (sends user heartbeat to animals bed, see para 0055, see also para 0071, heartbeat presented by the vibration generator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the heartbeat simulation of Davino with a reasonable expectation of success as this will help soothe and calm the animal while the owner is away (comfort mode, see para 0071).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20190081598 A) in view of Marmen (US 11647733 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Neskin (US-10085423-B2).
Regarding claim 7, the modified reference teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the smart vest comprises a camera (photographing unit 37).
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the smart vest comprises a laser pointer, and the remote interaction includes that the laser pointer and the camera are configured to be remotely operated by the owner through the user device to play the laser point with the dog.
Neskin teaches wherein a remote laser pointer (laser beam 110), and the remote interaction includes that the laser pointer and the camera are configured to be remotely operated by the owner through the user device to play the laser point with the dog (see col 5, lines 12-48 and figs 2 and 6-7b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the smart vest with the laser pointer and remote control of Neskin with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for the owner to remotely entertain the dog and ensure it receives play and exercise when they are not home.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 necessitated a new grounds of rejection.
However, it is noted that Applicant argues that the “simulating a hug” is the crux of the invention, and that simulating a hug requires that “the concept of an "array" of motors implies a specific spatial arrangement to deliver pressure at multiple points, and the control by a "microprocessor" implies a level of coordinated actuation that goes far beyond simple on/off vibration.” However, the claim merely requires “an array of vibrator motors, and a microprocessor; wherein the microprocessor is configured to, in response to the instruction, activate the array of vibrator motors to simulate a hug of the owner.” The specification does not mention this requirement of “coordinated actuation of multiple vibrators across the vest to replicate the encompassing physical pressure of an embrace” or “a coordinated pattern designed to mimic an embrace.” While the specification does discuss the array of vibrators being operated by the microprocessor, the specification does provide any specific methodology or detail regarding a coordinated pattern or timing of the vibration motor array that is activated such that the vibration motors specifically simulate a hug, or how that is distinguished from calming vibration motors in the prior art of record.
In regard to Applicant’s comment on the drawings objections, as mentioned in the Non-Final Office action dated 04/17/2026 and the Final Office Action dated 07/07/2026, the objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Applicant must provide corrected drawings. MPEP CFR 1.85 states “a request to hold objections to the drawings in abeyance will not be considered a bona fide attempt to advance the application to final action.” Therefore, if Applicant continues to request that the objections to the drawings be held in abeyance, the response will not be considered a bona fide response.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those references cited on the attached 892 form, but not referenced in the rejection above, exhibit similarities to the present invention, particularly, Kasravi (US 10117802 B2), which discloses microprocessors and an array of vibration motors on a dog vest.
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642