Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 27-29 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventura et al., US 2020/0228747 in view of Ram et al., US 2014/0280223.
Regarding claims 21, 39 and 40, Ventura discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to acquire input content and consumer information, wherein the consumer information includes at least one of consumer characteristic information or consumer status information (fig. 9, paragraph 98); and
generate new content that is highly evaluated by a target consumer using the input content and a prediction model trained such that a consumer and content highly evaluated by the consumer are brought closer (paragraph 74-75, 79-80, 84 and 106).
Ventura is silent about using a feature space.
In an analogous art, Ram discloses using a feature space (paragraph 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ventura’s apparatus with the teachings of Ram. The motivation would have been to have a clear way of interpreting the data for the benefit of improving accuracy and discriminatory power.
Regarding claim 22, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the prediction model is configured to predict an evaluation of the new content by the target consumer based on a distance in the feature space between a content vector representing the new content and a consumer vector representing the target consumer (Ventura figure 7; Ram paragraph 22).
Regarding claim 27, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the input content comprises at least one of a still image, a video, a storyboard, a character string, a melody, or a scenario (Ventura paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 28, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21,wherein the consumer status information includes biological information or reaction data acquired from the consumer during consumption of content, and the reaction data includes at least one of a viewing completion status. a pause action, or a gaze movement (Ventura paragraph 36 and 47).
Regarding claim 29, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the target consumer based on statistical information extracted from action logs of a plurality of consumers who have purchased or highly evaluated specific existing content (Ventura paragraph 36 and 47).
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventura in view of Ram in view of Rostami et al., US 2021/0019632.
Regarding claim 23, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21.
Ventura and Ram are silent about generating the new content by decoding a feature point located in a region of the feature space where vectors corresponding to a group of target consumers gather.
In an analogous art, Rostami discloses to generate the new content by decoding a feature point located in a region of the feature space where vectors corresponding to a group of target consumers gather (paragraph 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ventura and Ram’s apparatus with the teachings of Rostami. The motivation would have been to continuously improve the data for the benefit of always provide better recommendations.
Claims 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventura in view of Ram in view of Nice et al., US 2014/0181121.
Regarding claim 24, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21.
Ventura and Ram are silent about the prediction model utilizes Matrix Factorization (MF) to create the feature space reflecting consumer evaluation.
In an analogous art, Nice discloses the prediction model utilizes Matrix Factorization (MF) to create the feature space reflecting consumer evaluation (paragraph 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ventura and Ram’s apparatus with the teachings of Nice. The motivation would have been to better filter data for the benefit of giving better recommendations.
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventura in view of Ram in view of Ickin et al., US 2023/0319321.
Regarding claim 25, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21.
Ventura and Ram are silent about prediction model comprises a Variational Autoencoder (VAE) having an encoder configured to vectorize the input content and a decoder configured to generate the new content from the feature space.
In an analogous art, Ickin discloses prediction model comprises a Variational Autoencoder (VAE) having an encoder configured to vectorize the input content and a decoder configured to generate the new content from the feature space (paragraph 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ventura and Ram’s apparatus with the teachings of Ickin. The motivation would have been to better analyze the data for the benefit of giving better recommendations.
Claims 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventura in view of Ram in view of Russell et al., US 2022/0148242.
Regarding claim 26, Ventura and Ram discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 21.
Ventura and Ram are silent about receiving control-use information identifying an optional condition for the new content, and generate the new content based on the control-use information and a specific dimension in the feature space associated with the optional condition.
In an analogous art, Russel discloses receiving control-use information identifying an optional condition for the new content, and generate the new content based on the control-use information and a specific dimension in the feature space associated with the optional condition. (paragraph 3, 18, 32 and 55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ventura and Ram’s apparatus with the teachings of Russell. The motivation would have been to better analyze the data for the benefit of giving better recommendations.
Claims 30-31 and 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventura in view of Ram in view of Holtz et al., US 2002/0053078.
Regarding claim 30, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine at least one of the new content or existing content stored in a database as to-be-presented content (Ventura paragraph 71).
Ventura and Ram are silent about outputting the to-be-presented content to a display for review by a creator.
In an analogous art, Holtz discloses outputting the to-be-presented content to a display for review by a creator (paragraph 86 and 190).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ventura and Ram’s apparatus with the teachings of Holtz. The motivation would have been to better analyze the data for the benefit of giving better recommendations.
Regarding claim 31, Ventura, Ram and Holtz disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 30,wherein the processing circuitry is configured to sort the new content based on a predicted purchase rate or audience rating by the target consumer, and select the to-be-presented content based on said sorting (Ventura paragraph 81-86 and 106).
Regarding claim 32, Ventura, Ram and Holtz disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive feedback input from the creator regarding the to-be-presented content, update generation-use information based on the feedback, and regenerate the new content based on the updated generation-use information (Holtz paragraph 190).
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventura in view of Ram in view of Zhang et al., US 10,915,798.
Regarding claim 33, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21.
Ventura and Ram are silent about predicting emotional ups and downs of the target consumer for the new content, and present the predicted emotional ups and downs to a creator.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses predicting emotional ups and downs of the target consumer for the new content, and present the predicted emotional ups and downs to a creator (col. 17, line 39 to col. 18, line 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ventura and Ram’s apparatus with the teachings of Zhang. The motivation would have been to better analyze the data for the benefit of giving better recommendations.
Regarding claim 34, Ventura, Ram and Zhang disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 33, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to present a plurality of scene candidates for the new content in association with predicted excitement values derived from the emotional ups and downs (figure 9b; col. 17, line 39 to col. 18, line 7).
Regarding claim 35, Ventura, Ram and Zhang disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 33, wherein the predicting the emotional ups and downs includes converting the consumer status information into a one-dimensional numerical value representing an emotion (figure 9b; col. 17, line 39 to col. 18, line 7).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventura in view of Ram in view of el Kaliouby et al., US 2022/0101146.
Regarding claim 36, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21.
Ventura and Ram are silent about utilizing a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN), and a discriminator of the GAN is configured to classify content based on the consumer information and consumer evaluation information.
In an analogous art, el Kaliouby discloses utilizing a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN), and a discriminator of the GAN is configured to classify content based on the consumer information and consumer evaluation information (paragraph 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ventura and Ram’s apparatus with the teachings of el Kaliouby. The motivation would have been to better analyze the data for the benefit of giving better recommendations.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventura in view of Ram in view of Lin et al., US 2018/0267997.
Regarding claim 37, Ventura and Ram disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 21.
Ventura and Ram are silent about the input content includes a keyword representing a concept and the processing circuitry is configured to convert the keyword into a topic vector to map the keyword to the feature space.
In an analogous art, Lin discloses the input content includes a keyword representing a concept and the processing circuitry is configured to convert the keyword into a topic vector to map the keyword to the feature space (paragraph 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ventura and Ram’s apparatus with the teachings of Lin. The motivation would have been to better analyze the data for the benefit of giving better recommendations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
OM
Oschta Montoya
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2421
/OSCHTA I MONTOYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421