DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Application No. 19/302,260 filled on 08/18/2025.
Claims 1-4 are presented for examination.
Drawing/Specification Objections
The drawing is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. In the drawing, a reference number 38 and 32 is labeled for the same entity in Fig. 2, where the specification cites in para. [0023], “the movable stand 30 comprises a body 32 and a plurality of wheels 34 attached to the body 32”. Then what is referred to reference number 38?
b. The drawings are also objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first recognizer” and “second recognize” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 cites “a third control process in which the robot moves the workpiece gripped with the gripper to the second placement region after the working machine has worked on the workpiece” on lines 21-22”, where in the lines 24-26 of the claim 1 cites the similar claimed feature with wording variation as the feature is cited in lines 21-22 except for a citation of fourth process in line 24. It is not clear how the applicant’s invention as cited in third control process is different than the task performed in the fourth control process. Further clarification is required.
Claims 2-4 are also rejected by the virtue of their dependency on rejected base claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first recognizer” and “second recognizer” in Claims 1; have has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim elements “first recognizer” and “second recognizer” in claim 1; are limitations that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the corresponding entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material or acts to the function. The specification does not provide sufficient details such as one of ordinary skills in the art would understand which structures perform(s) the corresponding claim function in claim 1. Therefore, the claim 1 is indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because of its dependency on the rejected claims.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As described above from the 112(f) interpretation and 112 (b) rejection, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure for “recognizer” to perform the corresponding claimed function in claims 1-4. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Therefore, the claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 2-4 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph because of its dependency on the rejected claims.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/ columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching
all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakasugi et al. (US 2013/0055560 A1) (hereinafter Nakasugi).
Claim 1. Nakasugi teaches a robot system (See Fig. 1, “a robot cell apparatus 100” construed as robot system) comprising:
a movable stand (See Fig. 1, Para. [0020], “table 1 with casters 16 are provided so as to be movable);
a robot mounted on the movable table (See Fig. 1, “Robot arms 2 and 3 are mounted on movable table 1);
a working machine mounted on the movable stand at a different position from the robot (See Fig. 1, discloses “parts supplier 9 with tool stand 19 and a grasping jig 11 [construed as working machine] are mounted on the movable table for assembling workpieces”);
a first placement region at which a workpiece is placed before the working machine works on the workpiece (See Fig. 1, Para. [0033], “the parts placed on supplier 9 are moved to grasping jig 11 [construed as first placement region] for assembling); and
a second placement region at which the workpiece is placed after the working machine has worked on the workpiece (See Para. [0031]-[0033], “After the assembly work is completed, the hand 5 grasps the workpiece, and conveying the workpiece to the plane 8 [i.e., second placement region as claimed] of the table of the robot cell apparatus in a subsequent process”),
wherein
the robot (See Fig. 1) comprises:
a gripper configured to grip the workpiece (See Para. [0019], Fig. 1, discloses “At the distal ends 2b and 3b, hands 4 and 5 [construed as gripper] capable of grasping a workpiece are provided”);
a first recognizer configured to recognize a state of the workpiece at the first placement region (See Para. [0023], [0031]-[0032], “camera [construed as recognizer] which detects a position of a workpiece”, where in Para. [0032], discloses camera 6 [construed as first recognizer as claimed]); and
a second recognizer configured to recognize a state of the second placement region (See Para. [0031], “the camera detects that the assembled workpiece is conveyed from the preceding process and placed on the plane 8 [i.e., second placement region of the workpiece] of the table 1”, where in Para. [0032], discloses camera 7 [construed as second recognizer as claimed]), and
the robot is configured to perform:
a first control process in which the robot grips the workpiece with the gripper after the state of the workpiece has been recognized by the first recognizer (See Para. [0032], “the control device 12 controls each joint portion and the hand 5 of the robot arm 3 so that the hand 5 of the robot arm 3 grasps the part placed on the parts supplier 9”);
a second control process in which the robot moves the workpiece gripped with the gripper to the working machine (See Para. [0023], [0032], “grasp and place the part on Jig 11 [i.e., working machine]“);
a third control process in which the robot moves the workpiece gripped with the gripper to the second placement region after the working machine has worked on the workpiece (See Para. [0033], “After the assembly work is completed, the hand 5 grasps the workpiece, and conveying the workpiece to the plane 8 of the table of the robot cell apparatus in a subsequent process”); and
a fourth control process in which the robot places the workpiece gripped with the gripper onto the second placement region after the second placement region has been recognized by the second recognizer (See Para. [0031], “the camera detects that the assembled workpiece is conveyed from the preceding process and placed on the plane 8 [i.e., second placement region of the workpiece] of the table 1”, where in Para. [0032], discloses camera 7 [construed as second recognizer as claimed], and/or see Para. [0033], “After the assembly work is completed, the hand 5 grasps the workpiece and conveying the workpiece to the plane of the table of the robot cell apparatus in a subsequent process”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasugi et al. (US 2013/0055560 A1) (hereinafter Nakasugi) in view of Sun et al. (US 2022/0289502 A1) (hereinafter Sun).
Claim 2. Nakasugi teaches the robot system according to claim 1, wherein the robot is further configured to perform a control process in which the workpiece gripped with the gripper after the working machine has worked on the workpiece and before the third control process is performed (See Para. [0023], [0031]-[0033], Fig. 1, discloses “a grasping jig 11 that grips the workpiece for assembling the workpiece, and after assembling the workpiece, the robot grasps the workpiece and convey to plan 8 of the table). Nakasugi does not explicitly spell out that the grip position is claimed.
However, Sun et al. (US 2022/0289502 A1) teaches , “a robotic arm mounted on a mobile cart or chassis” (See Para. [0096], [0208]), and “change a location on the item at which the item is grasped” (See Para. [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Nakasugi with a feature of changing the grasping location of the workpiece as taught by Sun in order to place each workpiece in a corresponding available defined location for machine identification and sorting.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasugi et al. (US 2013/0055560 A1) (hereinafter Nakasugi) in view of Konolige et al. (US 2016/0136808 A1) (hereinafter Konolige).
Claim 3. Nakasugi teaches the robot system according to claim 1, but fails to teach, where the system further comprising a solar power generation device configured to supply power to the robot.
However, Konolige et al. (US 2016/0136808 A1) teaches a solar power generation device configured to supply power to the robot (See Para. [0041], “The mechanical system 120 may include motor 122 powered by a power source, such as solar power”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Nakasugi with a solar power as taught by Konolige in order for financial savings, and additionally, it is more convenient to move the table/stand around the work space by a solar power as no external power connection would be required.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasugi et al. (US 2013/0055560 A1) (hereinafter Nakasugi) in view of Sun et al. (US 2022/0289502 A1) (hereinafter Sun) and further in view of Konolige et al. (US 2016/0136808 A1)
Claim 4. The teaching of Nakasugi as modified by the teaching of Sun teaches the robot system according to claim 2, but fails to teach where the robot system further comprising a solar power generation device configured to supply power to the robot.
However, Konolige teaches a solar power generation device configured to supply power to the robot (See Para. [0041], “The mechanical system 120 may include motor 122 powered by a power source, such as solar power”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Nakasugi in view of the teaching of Sun with a solar power as taught by Konolige in order for financial savings, and additionally, it is more convenient to move the table/stand around the work space by a solar power as no external power connection would be required.
Conclusion
/B M M HANNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657