DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 filed November 5th, 2026, are pending in the current action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “wherein the first camera utilizes a first bandpass filter in conjunction with digital rolling shutters synchronized with strobing of the projector” is duplicated. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casas (US2016/0191887) in view of Maad (US2011/0135190) in view of Muller et al. (US2015/0215547)
Consider claim 1, where Casas teaches a method for generating a three-dimensional external model of a surgical field, the method comprising: projecting a structured light onto a surgical field by a projector; (See Casas ¶78, 118 where a 3D scanner system 110 may include a structured-light 3D scanner and the display system 126 is a projector which projects the processed images 124 over the target portion of the patient 118) capturing a first image of a structured light by a first camera; capturing a second image of the structured light by a second camera located at a different angle to the surgical field than the first camera, wherein the first image and the second image are captured at the same time; (See Casas ¶83 where the 3D scanner system 110 is composed of a dedicated stereoscopic camera system, composed of at least a pair of 2D video cameras. The stereoscopic camera system may be configured to capture stereoscopic video images, wherein the cameras are positioned in a desired position with respect to the other cameras forming the system to obtain the more precise surface reconstruction. The two-dimensional images taken by the cameras are converted to point clouds or mesh surfaces, or both, using known methods for surface reconstruction, for example range imaging methods (e.g. structure-from-motion). and constructing a three-dimensional external wireframe model of the surgical field based on the first image and the second image. (See Casas ¶78-80 where 2D-3D registration of intraoperative or preoperative 2D images is done with help from volume rendering 104 of the available images (e.g. from CT scan or MR scan of the target portion of the patient 118) or from the surface reconstruction 112 of anatomical structures of the patient done during surgery. In embodiments, computer means 100 make use of techniques of surface reconstruction 112 (e.g. Delaunay triangulation, alpha shapes, ball pivoting, etc.) for converting the point cloud to a 3D surface model (e.g. polygon mesh models, surface models, or solid computer-aided design models))
Casas teaches structured light; however Casas does not explicitly teach a random pattern of speckled non-visible light and a dot pattern. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Maad teaches a random pattern of speckled non-visible light and a dot pattern. (See Maad Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-87, 90 where The pattern projector 70 of the positioning system is preferably configured to project the 2D or 3D pattern in the form of passive structured light or active structured light. The projected light structures can be regular ones, such as cross patterns, circles e.g., speckled or random, or striped patterns. The pattern projector 70 is then preferably configured to project the 2D or 3D pattern as a beam 40 of non-visible light. For instance, ultraviolet (UV) light in the range of about 10 to 400 nm or IR light in the range of about 700 to 3.000 nm can be used by the pattern projector 70.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structured light of Casas to be a random speckled dot pattern as taught by Maad. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known methods of creating structured light to yield the desired results.
Casas teaches real-time image registration with automatic patient 118 pose change adaptation (See Casas ¶193) However, Casas does not explicitly teach wherein the projector is dynamically adaptive to provide intensity adjustment and wherein the first camera utilizes a first bandpass filter in conjunction with digital rolling shutters synchronized with strobing of the projector and wherein the second camera utilizes a second bandpass filter in conjunction with digital rolling shutters synchronized with strobing of the projector. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Muller teaches wherein the projector is dynamically adaptive to provide intensity adjustment (See Muller ¶45 where image data from the pixel array detector is used as feedback to adjust the illumination pattern geometry, pattern period, pattern exposure time, spatial-temporal synchronization between the illumination patterns and the rolling shutter exposure of the pixel array detector, the rolling shutter exposure time of the pixel array detector, the operating parameters of the pixel array detector, such as: the frame rate, gain and pixel region of interest; or other common operating parameters of digital light projectors, such as: illumination source driving current, driving current frequency, driving current phase, driving current pulse width and duty cycle) and wherein the first camera utilizes a first bandpass filter in conjunction with digital rolling shutters synchronized with strobing of the projector (See Muller ¶44 where the phase-shifted fringe images are digitally filtered using a comb or bandpass filter to separate the fringe spatial frequency signal from the rest of the image. The digital filtering step is performed in order to remove noise from the fringe images, in particular light scattered from the target that is outside the current depth window set by the rolling shutter width and trigger delay offset.) and wherein the second camera utilizes a second bandpass filter in conjunction with digital rolling shutters synchronized with strobing of the projector. (See Muller ¶44 where the phase-shifted fringe images are digitally filtered using a comb or bandpass filter to separate the fringe spatial frequency signal from the rest of the image. The digital filtering step is performed in order to remove noise from the fringe images, in particular light scattered from the target that is outside the current depth window set by the rolling shutter width and trigger delay offset.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the 3D scanner of Casas would utilize an existing configuration for 3D video as taught by Muller. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using existing imaging apparatuses for their intended purpose. (See Muller ¶50)
Consider claim 2, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the projector is mounted on a headset. (See Casas Fig. 4 and ¶66 where the cameras 401, 402 are head-mounted 403 along with the stereo display 404, and worn by the surgeon 405. The 3D scanner 406 is attached to an articulated arm 407, or alternatively, a 3D scanner is also head-mounted close to the cameras 401, 402.)
Consider claim 3, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first camera is mounted on the headset. (See Casas Fig. 4 and ¶66 where the cameras 401, 402 are head-mounted 403 along with the stereo display 404, and worn by the surgeon 405. The 3D scanner 406 is attached to an articulated arm 407, or alternatively, a 3D scanner is also head-mounted close to the cameras 401, 402.)
Consider claim 5, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the projector comprises an illuminated-pattern projector. (See Casas ¶78, 118 where a 3D scanner system 110 may include a structured-light 3D scanner and the display system 126 is a projector which projects the processed images 124 over the target portion of the patient 118)
Consider claim 6, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the projector comprises one or more of a light-emitting diode or a laser comprising a beam splitter. (See Maad ¶94 where the light sources 71 can be LEDs or lasers for example.)
Consider claim 8, where Casas teaches a system for generating a three-dimensional external model of a surgical field, the system comprising: a projector configured to project a structured light onto a surgical site of a patient; (See Casas ¶78, 118 where a 3D scanner system 110 may include a structured-light 3D scanner and the display system 126 is a projector which projects the processed images 124 over the target portion of the patient 118) a first camera configured to capture a first image of a pattern formed by the structured light; a second camera located at a different angle to the surgical field than the first camera, the second camera configured to capture a second image of the pattern, wherein the first image and the second image are captured at the same time; (See Casas ¶83 where the 3D scanner system 110 is composed of a dedicated stereoscopic camera system, composed of at least a pair of 2D video cameras. The stereoscopic camera system may be configured to capture stereoscopic video images, wherein the cameras are positioned in a desired position with respect to the other cameras forming the system to obtain the more precise surface reconstruction. The two-dimensional images taken by the cameras are converted to point clouds or mesh surfaces, or both, using known methods for surface reconstruction, for example range imaging methods (e.g. structure-from-motion). and a processor configured to construct a three-dimensional external wireframe model of the surgical field based on the first image and the second image. (See Casas ¶78-80 where 2D-3D registration of intraoperative or preoperative 2D images is done with help from volume rendering 104 of the available images (e.g. from CT scan or MR scan of the target portion of the patient 118) or from the surface reconstruction 112 of anatomical structures of the patient done during surgery. In embodiments, computer means 100 make use of techniques of surface reconstruction 112 (e.g. Delaunay triangulation, alpha shapes, ball pivoting, etc.) for converting the point cloud to a 3D surface model (e.g. polygon mesh models, surface models, or solid computer-aided design models))
Casas teaches structured light; however Casas does not explicitly teach a random pattern of speckled non-visible light and a dot pattern. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Maad teaches a random pattern of speckled non-visible light and a dot pattern. (See Maad Figs. 8-11 and ¶85-87, 90 where The pattern projector 70 of the positioning system is preferably configured to project the 2D or 3D pattern in the form of passive structured light or active structured light. The projected light structures can be regular ones, such as cross patterns, circles e.g., speckled or random, or striped patterns. The pattern projector 70 is then preferably configured to project the 2D or 3D pattern as a beam 40 of non-visible light. For instance, ultraviolet (UV) light in the range of about 10 to 400 nm or IR light in the range of about 700 to 3.000 nm can be used by the pattern projector 70.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structured light of Casas to be a random speckled dot pattern as taught by Maad. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known methods of creating structured light to yield the desired results.
Casas teaches real-time image registration with automatic patient 118 pose change adaptation (See Casas ¶193) However, Casas does not explicitly teach wherein the projector is dynamically adaptive to provide intensity adjustment and wherein the first camera utilizes a first bandpass filter in conjunction with digital rolling shutters synchronized with strobing of the projector and wherein the second camera utilizes a second bandpass filter in conjunction with digital rolling shutters synchronized with strobing of the projector. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Muller teaches wherein the projector is dynamically adaptive to provide intensity adjustment (See Muller ¶45 where image data from the pixel array detector is used as feedback to adjust the illumination pattern geometry, pattern period, pattern exposure time, spatial-temporal synchronization between the illumination patterns and the rolling shutter exposure of the pixel array detector, the rolling shutter exposure time of the pixel array detector, the operating parameters of the pixel array detector, such as: the frame rate, gain and pixel region of interest; or other common operating parameters of digital light projectors, such as: illumination source driving current, driving current frequency, driving current phase, driving current pulse width and duty cycle) and wherein the first camera utilizes a first bandpass filter in conjunction with digital rolling shutters synchronized with strobing of the projector (See Muller ¶44 where the phase-shifted fringe images are digitally filtered using a comb or bandpass filter to separate the fringe spatial frequency signal from the rest of the image. The digital filtering step is performed in order to remove noise from the fringe images, in particular light scattered from the target that is outside the current depth window set by the rolling shutter width and trigger delay offset.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the 3D scanner of Casas would utilize an existing configuration for 3D video as taught by Muller. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using existing imaging apparatuses for their intended purpose. (See Muller ¶50)
Consider claim 9, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the projector is mounted on a headset. (See Casas Fig. 4 and ¶66 where the cameras 401, 402 are head-mounted 403 along with the stereo display 404, and worn by the surgeon 405. The 3D scanner 406 is attached to an articulated arm 407, or alternatively, a 3D scanner is also head-mounted close to the cameras 401, 402.)
Consider claim 10, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the first camera is mounted on the headset. (See Casas Fig. 4 and ¶66 where the cameras 401, 402 are head-mounted 403 along with the stereo display 404, and worn by the surgeon 405. The 3D scanner 406 is attached to an articulated arm 407, or alternatively, a 3D scanner is also head-mounted close to the cameras 401, 402.)
Consider claim 12, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the projector comprises an illuminated-pattern projector. (See Casas ¶78, 118 where a 3D scanner system 110 may include a structured-light 3D scanner and the display system 126 is a projector which projects the processed images 124 over the target portion of the patient 118)
Consider claim 13, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the projector comprises one or more of a light-emitting diode or a laser comprising a beam splitter. (See Maad ¶94 where the light sources 71 can be LEDs or lasers for example.)
Claim(s) 4, 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Schneider et al. (US2015/0173846)
Consider claim 4, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the method of claim 1, however, they do not explicitly teach comprising collimating the speckled light through a collimating lens to extend coherency of spots of the speckled light to a useful distance. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Schneider teaches collimating the speckled light through a collimating lens to extend coherency of spots of the speckled light to a useful distance. (See Schneider ¶67 where A set of first lenses can be used to collect the light rays from the source to the shutter array. As an example, the first lenses focus the light beam to the shutter array. When the all the mirrors of the array are in the ON position the set of second lenses collimates the image created on the shutter array to the operated area. Thus, the act of focusing performed by the first set of lenses extends coherency of the projection at a useful distance) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the headset of Casas would similarly comprise collimating lenses as taught by Schneider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of appropriately focusing the dots to allow for accurate tracking.
Consider claim 7, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the method of claim 1, however, they do not explicitly teach comprising scaling the dot pattern to a desired size. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Schneider teaches scaling the dot pattern to a desired size. (See Schneider ¶35-36 where the displayed ROI sequences can further include metadata relating to magnification, illumination levels, data on of objects to be viewed, symbolics, guidance and data that may be presented within the ROI sequences such as messages and alerts. Thus, scaling the dot pattern used to guide the tracking system to the desired size) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structured light of Casas to allow for scaling as taught by Schneider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of adapting the projected area to the appropriate region of interest.
Consider claim 11, where Casas in view of Maad in view of Muller teaches the system of claim 8, however, they do not explicitly teach comprising collimating the speckled light through a collimating lens to extend coherency of spots of the speckled light to a useful distance. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Schneider teaches collimating the speckled light through a collimating lens to extend coherency of spots of the speckled light to a useful distance. (See Schneider ¶67 where A set of first lenses can be used to collect the light rays from the source to the shutter array. As an example, the first lenses focus the light beam to the shutter array. When the all the mirrors of the array are in the ON position the set of second lenses collimates the image created on the shutter array to the operated area. Thus, the act of focusing performed by the first set of lenses extends coherency of the projection at a useful distance) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the headset of Casas would similarly comprise collimating lenses as taught by Schneider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of appropriately focusing the dots to allow for accurate tracking.
Conclusion
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624