DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 18, 27, and 29 were previously objected to and have been amended; Examiner accordingly withdraws the previous objections.
Claims 1-26 and 29-30 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness; the indefiniteness of claims 29-30 remains, however claims 1-26 have been amended to overcome the previous indefiniteness rejections and thus the previous indefiniteness rejections are withdrawn. Note that claim 18 has been amended to positively require the anesthetic cartridge in the amended claims.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 4, 12, 18, 21, 27, and 29. Claims 1-30 remain pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 27 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 27 is objected to where it has improper antecedent basis where the claim recites “to contact the anesthetic cartridge first end” and should instead recite either “to contact an anesthetic cartridge first end” or “to contact the anesthetic cartridge end” as antecedent basis has not been established for a cartridge first end, but has been established for a cartridge end.
Claim 29 is objected to where it has improper antecedent basis where the claim recites “to contact the anesthetic cartridge first end” and should instead recite “to contact an anesthetic cartridge first end” as antecedent basis has not yet been established for an anesthetic cartridge or a first end thereof at that point in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a mechanism configured to prevent the plunger in the buffer compartment from moving outward” in claims 1, 18, 27, and 29.
These limitations use terms which do not denote any specific structures (mechanism is a nonce term), are limited by functional language (configured to prevent the plunger from moving outward), and lack specific further structures, thus leading to the interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 29-30 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear if the anesthetic is meant to be an exact numerical value of osmolality (308 mOsm/L as in claim 30), or is meant to be substantially equal to that osmolality value. For the purposes of compact prosecution and in keeping with Applicant’s Specification at [0065] which teaches that the target range is from 200-416 mOsm/L, it appears as though the exact numerical value is not critical, and thus the claim is understood to require an osmolality which is substantially similar to 308 mOsm/L – since no basis is given for what is meant to be substantial equivalence, this is understood to be +/- 5% of 308 mOsm/L.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 14-15, 17-20, and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stepovich et al. (US 20090292271, henceforth Stepovich).
Regarding claim 1, Stepovich discloses a device (device 10, fig. 1) comprising: a buffer compartment (housing 14, fig. 1) comprising a plunger (plunger 58, fig. 3) and containing a buffer (see [0038], buffer cartridge 16 contains buffer); an anesthetic compartment (receptacle region 44, fig. 3) configured to receive an anesthetic cartridge ([0037], the anesthetic cartridge is 28; Examiner notes that the anesthetic cartridge is not positively recited and the device is only required to be functionally capable of use with an anesthetic cartridge as claimed; the anesthetic cartridge and features thereof called out here are for illustrative purposes to demonstrate the claimed functionality of the claimed device) the anesthetic cartridge comprising a first end (the end where neck 32 is shown is the first end, see fig, 1) comprising a septum (septum end 32 of cartridge 28, fig. 6, is understood to have a septum which is why it is the septum end) and containing an anesthetic (see [0043], anesthetic cartridge 28 has anesthetic in it); a needle assembly (needles 36 and 38, fig. 5) comprising a transfer needle (transfer needle 36, fig. 5) having a first end (proximal end 50, fig. 5) and a second end (distal end 40, fig. 5), wherein the second end of the needle is configured to penetrate the septum of the anesthetic cartridge (see fig. 6); and a mechanism (pusher 20, spring 18, stop member 62, and window 64 make up the claimed mechanism) configured to prevent the plunger in the buffer compartment from moving outward (the called out mechanism prevents plunger 58 from moving proximally outward from the device where it keeps plunger 58 moving distally during use, see at least [0041] and [0042]), and to contact the anesthetic cartridge first end (the called out mechanism elements contact the anesthetic cartridge first end via intervening structures such as housing 14 and knob 12 when cartridge 28 is inserted into receptacle 44 as shown in figs. 6 and 7; additionally or alternatively, the called out mechanism could be considered to be functionally and structurally capable of contacting the neck 32 of cartridge 28 where pusher 20 is exposed to the exterior of the device and could be brought into direct surface contact by a user with neck 32) and engage with the plunger (see at least figs. 3-4 and 6-7, the called out mechanism engages with the plunger where its distal advancement causes plunger 58 to be distally advanced as shown in figs. 6 and 7, and the spring 18 which is a part of the mechanism also engages directly with plunger 58 where the spring pushes on the plunger as shown in figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 2, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the plunger is located completely within the buffer compartment (see fig. 6, housing 14 completely surrounds plunger 58).
Regarding claim 3, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the mechanism is further configured to prevent gas from leaving solution in the buffer (see [0041] and [0042], advancement of pusher 20 pushes the contents of cartridge 16 only into cartridge 28 and thus is configured to prevent has from leaving solution as claimed since it only allows for proximal advancement of plunger 58; note also that [0041] of Stepovich is understood to have a typographical error where it refers to anesthetic cartridge 16).
Regarding claim 4, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the mechanism is further configured to not allow the plunger to displace outward if carbon dioxide evolves out of solution (the called out mechanism prevents plunger 58 and pusher 20 from displacing outward in the proximal direction under all circumstances as disclosed in [0041]).
Regarding claim 5, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the buffer compartment is proximal to a first end of the device (the claimed first end of the device is the threaded portion of housing 14 which connects to knob 12 as shown in fig. 5 and the proximal direction points from cartridge 28 towards cartridge 16 in fig. 6; housing 14 exists in this proximal direction from this first end) and the anesthetic compartment is proximal to a second end of the device (the claimed second end of the device is the end of knob 12 which is furthest from pusher 20 as shown in fig. 6; receptacle region 44 is proximal to this distal most end as claimed).
Regarding claim 6, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the buffer compartment is substantially cylindrical (see figs. 1 and 2, housing 14 is shown as being hollow and tube-shaped, or cylindrical as claimed).
Regarding claim 8, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the buffer is a sodium bicarbonate solution ([0015]).
Regarding claim 9, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 8 wherein the buffer is 8.4% sodium bicarbonate in aqueous solution ([0015]).
Regarding claim 10, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 8 wherein the buffer is in a stable condition with minimal pH change (see [0015], since pH is maintained it is considered to be in stable condition with minimal change, see also [0017]) and carbon dioxide loss prior to use ([0017]).
Regarding claim 11, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 10 wherein the buffer is pressurized to inhibit evolution of carbon dioxide ([0024] and [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the anesthetic compartment comprises an open end distal to the buffer compartment (see fig. 3, receptacle region 44 is an open end as claimed).
Regarding claim 15, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 14 wherein the open end is configured for the anesthetic cartridge to be inserted into the device by placing the anesthetic cartridge into the open end (see figs. 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 17, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the transfer needle provides a fluid path between the buffer compartment and the anesthetic cartridge ([0014]).
Regarding claim 18, Stepovich discloses a method, comprising: providing a device (device 10, fig. 1) comprising: a buffer compartment (device 10, fig. 1) comprising a plunger (plunger 58, fig. 3) and containing a buffer (see [0038], buffer cartridge 16 contains buffer); an anesthetic compartment (receptacle region 44, fig. 3) configured to receive an anesthetic cartridge ([0037], the anesthetic cartridge is 28; Examiner notes that the anesthetic cartridge is not positively recited and the device is only required to be functionally capable of use with an anesthetic cartridge as claimed; the anesthetic cartridge and features thereof called out here are for illustrative purposes to demonstrate the claimed functionality of the claimed device) comprising a septum (septum end 32 of cartridge 28, fig. 6, is understood to have a septum which is why it is the septum end) and containing an anesthetic (see [0043], anesthetic cartridge 28 has anesthetic in it); a needle assembly (needles 36 and 38, fig. 5) comprising a transfer needle (transfer needle 36, fig. 5) having a first end (proximal end 50, fig. 5) and a second end (distal end 40, fig. 5); a mechanism (pusher 20, spring 18, stop member 62, and window 64 make up the claimed mechanism) configured to prevent the plunger in the buffer compartment from moving outward (the called out mechanism prevents plunger 58 from moving proximally outward from the device where it keeps plunger 58 moving distally during use, see at least [0041] and [0042]), and to contact the anesthetic cartridge (the called out mechanism elements contact the anesthetic cartridge via intervening structures such as housing 14 and knob 12 when cartridge 28 is inserted into receptacle 44 as shown in figs. 6 and 7; additionally or alternatively, the called out mechanism could be considered to be functionally and structurally capable of contacting cartridge 28 where pusher 20 is exposed to the exterior of the device and could be brought into direct surface contact by a user with cartridge 28) and engage with the plunger (see at least figs. 3-4 and 6-7, the called out mechanism engages with the plunger where its distal advancement causes plunger 58 to be distally advanced as shown in figs. 6 and 7, and the spring 18 which is a part of the mechanism also engages directly with plunger 58 where the spring pushes on the plunger as shown in figs. 3 and 4); inserting the anesthetic cartridge ([0037], the anesthetic cartridge is 28), comprising the septum (septum end 32 of cartridge 28, fig. 6, is understood to have a septum which is why it is the septum end) and containing the anesthetic (see [0043], anesthetic cartridge 28 has anesthetic in it), into the anesthetic compartment (see fig. 6, cartridge 28 is inserted into receptacle region 44 as claimed); causing the second end of the transfer needle to penetrate the septum (see fig. 6) and the plunger to be moved into the buffer compartment (see figs. 6 and 7, plunger 58 moves distally further into housing 14 during use), whereby; buffer is transferred from the buffer compartment via the transfer needle into the anesthetic cartridge ([0043]).
Regarding claim 19, Stepovich discloses the method of claim 18 further comprising: withdrawing the anesthetic cartridge from the device (see [0019], multiple anesthetic cartridges can be used sequentially, meaning the first anesthetic cartridge is removed from the device).
Regarding claim 20, Stepovich discloses the method of claim 18 wherein the method comprises compounding an anesthetic medication (see [0003] and [0010], the combining of buffer with anesthetic is a compounding of medication as claimed).
Regarding claim 25, Stepovich discloses the method of claim 18 wherein the buffer is a sodium bicarbonate solution ([0015]).
Regarding claim 26, Stepovich discloses the method of claim 25 wherein the buffer is 8.4% sodium bicarbonate in aqueous solution ([0015]).
Regarding claim 27, Stepovich discloses a method, comprising: providing a device (device 10, fig. 1) comprising; a buffer compartment (housing 14, fig. 1) comprising a plunger (plunger 58, fig. 3) and containing a buffer (see [0038], buffer cartridge 16 contains buffer); an anesthetic compartment (receptacle region 44, fig. 3) configured to receive an anesthetic cartridge ([0037], the anesthetic cartridge is 28; Examiner notes that the anesthetic cartridge is not positively recited and the device is only required to be functionally capable of use with an anesthetic cartridge as claimed; the anesthetic cartridge and features thereof called out here are for illustrative purposes to demonstrate the claimed functionality of the claimed device) comprising an end (septum end 32, fig. 6) that comprises a septum (septum end 32 of cartridge 28, fig. 6, is understood to have a septum which is why it is the septum end) and containing an anesthetic (see [0043], anesthetic cartridge 28 has anesthetic in it); a needle assembly (needles 36 and 38, fig. 5) comprising a transfer needle (transfer needle 36, fig. 5) having a first end (proximal end 50, fig. 5) and a second end (distal end 40, fig. 5); a mechanism (pusher 20, spring 18, stop member 62, and window 64 make up the claimed mechanism) configured to prevent the plunger in the buffer compartment from moving outward (the called out mechanism prevents plunger 58 from moving proximally outward from the device where it keeps plunger 58 moving distally during use, see at least [0041] and [0042]), and to contact the anesthetic cartridge first end (the called out mechanism elements contact the anesthetic cartridge first end via intervening structures such as housing 14 and knob 12 when cartridge 28 is inserted into receptacle 44 as shown in figs. 6 and 7; additionally or alternatively, the called out mechanism could be considered to be functionally and structurally capable of contacting the neck 32 of cartridge 28 where pusher 20 is exposed to the exterior of the device and could be brought into direct surface contact by a user with neck 32; Examiner notes that the neck 32 of cartridge 28 is the first end of cartridge 28 in this interpretation as the first end has not has antecedent basis established prior) and engage with the plunger (see at least figs. 3-4 and 6-7, the called out mechanism engages with the plunger where its distal advancement causes plunger 58 to be distally advanced as shown in figs. 6 and 7, and the spring 18 which is a part of the mechanism also engages directly with plunger 58 where the spring pushes on the plunger as shown in figs. 3 and 4); inserting the anesthetic cartridge into the anesthetic compartment (see fig. 6, cartridge 28 is inserted into receptacle region 44 as claimed), wherein the second end of the transfer needle penetrates the septum (see fig. 6), the anesthetic cartridge end that comprises the septum contacts the mechanism (see fig. 6, septum end 32 of cartridge 28 contacts pusher 20 via knob 12 and housing 14) and the mechanism engages with the plunger (see fig. 6, pusher 20 engages with plunger 58 via spring 18 as shown); applying force to the anesthetic cartridge (an insertion force must be applied to cartridge 28 to cause the needles 36 and 38 to puncture the septum of cartridge 28 during assembly to achieve the state of fig. 6) causing advancement of the mechanism (pusher 20 advances distally relative to cartridge 28 when the insertion force is applied to cartridge 28 such as to achieve the septum piercing of cartridge 28 which is an advancement as claimed) and movement of the plunger into the buffer compartment (see figs. 6 and 7, plunger 52 moves further distally into housing 14 as shown) to expel buffer from the buffer cartridge into the anesthetic cartridge via the transfer needle ([0043]).
Regarding claim 28, Stepovich discloses the method of claim 27 further comprising withdrawing the anesthetic cartridge from the device (see [0019], multiple anesthetic cartridges can be used sequentially, meaning the first anesthetic cartridge is removed from the device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stepovich et al. (US 20090292271, henceforth Stepovich) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Erickson (US Pat. No. 5603695, henceforth Erickson, previously made of record).
Regarding claim 7, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1.
Stepovich is silent as to the materials used in the device and thus does not disclose that the device comprises plastic. Erickson teaches a device (cartridge 10, fig. 1) to be used with anesthetic (Col. 1 lines 4-6) configured for buffering an anesthetic cartridge (Col. 1 lines 38-47) which comprises plastic (Col. 2 lines 44-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the device of Stepovich out of plastic as in Erickson to allow the device to be disposable (see Erickson Col. 1 lines 38-47) and to allow for ease of use (Col. 1 lines 56-61).
Claim(s) 12-13 and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stepovich et al. (US 20090292271, henceforth Stepovich) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above as evidenced by Berchtold et al. (Berchtold JF, Constable PD, Smith GW, Mathur SM, Morin DE, Tranquilli WJ. Effects of intravenous hyperosmotic sodium bicarbonate on arterial and cerebrospinal fluid acid-base status and cardiovascular function in calves with experimentally induced respiratory and strong ion acidosis. J Vet Intern Med. 2005 Mar-Apr;19(2):240-51., henceforth Berchtold) and further in view of Eggers et al. (US 20030225401, henceforth Eggers) and Klement et al. (Klement W, Arndt JO. Pain on i.v. injection by some anaesthetic agents is evoked by the unphysiological osmolality or pH of their formulations. British Journal of Anaesthesia. 1991; 66: 189-195., henceforth Klement).
Regarding claims 12 and 21, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1 and the method of claim 18 wherein the buffer is 8.4% aqueous sodium bicarbonate solution ([0015]).
Stepovich does not explicitly disclose that the buffer is hyperosmotic when compared to the osmolarity of human blood or tissues. Berchtold evidences that buffer which is 8.4% aqueous sodium bicarbonate, which is the buffer of Stepovich, is hyperosmotic (see Abstract) having an osmolarity of 2,000 mOsm/L (see pg. 240, second column, first paragraph).
Stepovich additionally discloses that the buffering of anesthetics is done to create stable chemical compositions with stable pHs ([0013]) and that the combination of the buffer and the anesthetic creates this desired chemical profile ([0013]).
Stepovich does not explicitly disclose that the anesthetic is hypoosmotic when compared to the osmolarity of human blood or tissues. Eggers teaches that anesthetics need to be diluted to create desirable osmolarity prior to injection ([0022]) where the desirable osmolarity is in the range of 240-340 mOsm/L ([0022]), especially where cellular fluids and plasma have an osmolarity of 310 mOsm/L ([0022]). Klement teaches that injection of anesthetics with pHs and osmolalities which are outside of a physiological range causes pain (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the anesthetic of Stepovich hypoosmotic since the buffer is hyperosmotic and a mixture of the two solutions could then yield a resultant solution which is in the desired range of osmolality (isosmotic with cellular fluids and plasma) such as to avoid the pain associated with injection of a solution which is beyond the physiological range of osmolalities (see Klement Abstract) and to minimize the possibility of nerve injury and provide for safe injections (see Eggers [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Stepovich as modified discloses the device of claim 12 wherein after compounding the buffer and the anesthetic, the combined solution is isosmotic (see the rejection of claim 12 above).
Regarding claim 22, Stepovich as modified discloses the method of claim 21 wherein after expelling the buffer into the anesthetic cartridge via the transfer needle, the solution is isosmotic (see the rejection of claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 23, Stepovich as modified discloses the method of claim 21 wherein after expelling the buffer into the anesthetic cartridge via the transfer needle, the combined solution is in a target range of osmolarity (see the rejection of claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 24, Stepovich as modified discloses the method of claim 21 wherein when the buffer and anesthetic are combined, the combined solution is an intended target osmolarity (see the rejection of claim 21 above).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stepovich et al. (US 20090292271, henceforth Stepovich) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 20190184103, henceforth Johnson).
Regarding claim 16, Stepovich discloses the device of claim 1. Stepovich additionally discloses that its device can be used for dental applications ([0013]) with conventional anesthetic cartridges ([0013]).
Stepovich does not disclose that the anesthetic cartridge has an interior volume of 1.7 ml, 1.8 ml, or 3 ml. Johnson teaches that 1.7 mL is a conventional size of dental ampules ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sized the anesthesia cartridge to be 1.7 mL as claimed as Johnson teaches that 1.7 mL anesthesia cartridges are well known to be used in conventional dental procedures ([0047]) and because using such a size of anesthesia cartridge would have yielded the same, predictable result of an anesthesia cartridge which is usable for dental use and which can be buffered by the device of Stepovich.
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stepovich et al. (US 20090292271, henceforth Stepovich) as evidenced by Berchtold et al. (Berchtold JF, Constable PD, Smith GW, Mathur SM, Morin DE, Tranquilli WJ. Effects of intravenous hyperosmotic sodium bicarbonate on arterial and cerebrospinal fluid acid-base status and cardiovascular function in calves with experimentally induced respiratory and strong ion acidosis. J Vet Intern Med. 2005 Mar-Apr;19(2):240-51., henceforth Berchtold) in view of Eggers et al. (US 20030225401, henceforth Eggers) and Klement et al. (Klement W, Arndt JO. Pain on i.v. injection by some anaesthetic agents is evoked by the unphysiological osmolality or pH of their formulations. British Journal of Anaesthesia. 1991; 66: 189-195., henceforth Klement).
Regarding claim 29, Stepovich discloses a method for preparing an anesthetic, comprising: providing a device (device 10, fig. 1) comprising; a buffer compartment (housing 14, fig. 1) comprising a plunger (plunger 58, fig. 3) and containing a buffer (see [0038], buffer cartridge 16 contains buffer); an anesthetic compartment (receptacle region 44, fig. 3); a needle assembly (needles 36 and 38, fig. 5) comprising a transfer needle (transfer needle 36, fig. 5) having a first end (proximal end 50, fig. 5) and a second end (proximal end 50, fig. 5); a mechanism (pusher 20, spring 18, stop member 62, and window 64 make up the claimed mechanism) configured to prevent the plunger in the buffer compartment from moving outward (the called out mechanism prevents plunger 58 from moving proximally outward from the device where it keeps plunger 58 moving distally during use, see at least [0041] and [0042]), and to contact the anesthetic cartridge first end (the called out mechanism elements contact the anesthetic cartridge first end via intervening structures such as housing 14 and knob 12 when cartridge 28 is inserted into receptacle 44 as shown in figs. 6 and 7; additionally or alternatively, the called out mechanism could be considered to be functionally and structurally capable of contacting the neck 32 of cartridge 28 where pusher 20 is exposed to the exterior of the device and could be brought into direct surface contact by a user with neck 32; Examiner notes that the neck 32 of cartridge 28 is the first end of cartridge 28 in this interpretation as the first end and cartridge have not had antecedent basis established prior) and engage with the plunger (see at least figs. 3-4 and 6-7, the called out mechanism engages with the plunger where its distal advancement causes plunger 58 to be distally advanced as shown in figs. 6 and 7, and the spring 18 which is a part of the mechanism also engages directly with plunger 58 where the spring pushes on the plunger as shown in figs. 3 and 4); inserting an anesthetic cartridge (cartridge 28, fig. 6), comprising a septum (septum end 32 of cartridge 28, fig. 6, is understood to have a septum which is why it is the septum end) and containing an anesthetic (see [0043], anesthetic cartridge 28 has anesthetic in it) into the anesthetic compartment (see fig. 6, cartridge 28 is inserted into receptacle region 44 as claimed); causing the second end of the transfer needle to penetrate the septum (see fig. 6) and the plunger to be moved into the buffer compartment (see figs. 6 and 7, plunger 52 moves further distally into housing 14 as shown), whereby; buffer is transferred from the buffer compartment via the transfer needle into the anesthetic cartridge ([0043]). Stepovich additionally discloses that the buffer is 8.4% aqueous sodium bicarbonate solution ([0015]).
Stepovich does not explicitly disclose that the buffer is hyperosmotic when compared to the osmolarity of human blood or tissues. Berchtold evidences that buffer which is 8.4% aqueous sodium bicarbonate, which is the buffer of Stepovich, is hyperosmotic (see Abstract) having an osmolarity of 2,000 mOsm/L (see pg. 240, second column, first paragraph).
Stepovich additionally discloses that the buffering of anesthetics is done to create stable chemical compositions with stable pHs ([0013]) and that the combination of the buffer and the anesthetic creates this desired chemical profile ([0013]).
Stepovich does not explicitly disclose that the anesthetic is hypoosmotic. Eggers teaches that anesthetics need to be diluted to create desirable osmolarity prior to injection ([0022]) where the desirable osmolarity is in the range of 240-340 mOsm/L ([0022]), especially where cellular fluids and plasma have an osmolarity of 310 mOsm/L ([0022]). Klement teaches that injection of anesthetics with pHs and osmolalities which are outside of a physiological range causes pain (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the anesthetic of Stepovich hypoosmotic since the buffer is hyperosmotic and a mixture of the two solutions could then yield a resultant solution which substantially isosmotic as claimed (as compared with cellular fluids and plasma) such as to avoid the pain associated with injection of a solution which is beyond the physiological range of osmolalities (see Klement Abstract) and to minimize the possibility of nerve injury and provide for safe injections (see Eggers [0022]).
Regarding claim 30, Stepovich as modified discloses the method of claim 29 wherein substantially isosmotic is 310 mOsm/L (see the rejection of claim 29 above).
Stepovich as modified does not disclose the method of claim 29 where substantially isosmotic is 308 mOsm/L. However, due to the claim language requiring that the anesthetic is substantially isotonic, and because Applicant’s Specification demonstrates that “the target osmolarity is between 200 mOsm/L and 416 mOsm/L” and “substantially isosmotic at 308 mOsm/L”, the value of 308 mOsm/L is not considered to be critical or novel; additionally, the value of 310 in Stepovich as modified is substantially close to 308 as claimed, and thus Stepovich is considered to disclose the method where the resultant anesthetic is substantially equivalent to 308 mOsm/L as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that Stepovich (and the secondary references relied upon for rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103) does not disclose the new claim limitations of a mechanism configured to prevent the plunger in the buffer compartment from moving outward, and to contact the anesthetic cartridge first end and engage with the plunger. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The mechanism called out above prevents the plunger of Stepovich from moving proximally outward from the device as called out in Stepovich [0041] and [0042], especially regarding the stop element 62 as part of the mechanism. The mechanism is configured to, or structurally or functionally capable of (note that this is a functional requirement), contacting a first end of the anesthetic cartridge having a septum, which is true in Stepovich as contact is made between the elements as shown in fig. 6 via intervening housing structures, or alternatively, the end of the cartridge could be directly touched by the pusher 20 of the mechanism in an alternative configuration prior to the cartridge being inserted into receptacle 44. The called-out mechanism is also configured to engage with the plunger as claimed where the spring part of the mechanism is in direct contract with the plunger 58 and pushes it distally in an engagement as shown in figs. 3 and 4.
Additionally, regarding the remaining rejection of claims 29 and 30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness, Examiner notes that no amendment was made to claim 29 regarding the indefinite language, nor was any persuasive argument or explanation included to clarify the requirements of the indefinite language, and thus the rejection is not withdrawn.
Thus, Examiner respectfully finds Applicant’s arguments unpersuasive and rejects all pending claims as indicated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL J MARRISON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783