DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 20 February 2023 (JP2023-024296). It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 18 August 2025, 22 September 2025, 17 November 2025, 20 February 2026, and 26 May 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to Claim 16, there is not antecedent basis for the term “the motion member.” Accordingly, the claim is unclear. For purposes of examination, Claim 16 is presumed to depend from Claim 15, which recites a motion member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by JP 2007-266185 to Imai et al., an English translation of which is provided herewith and referred-to herein, (“Imai”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 11-12, Imai teaches a method for producing a thin film via cyclic atomic layer deposition comprising vaporizing a raw material liquid comprising a raw material compound in a vaporizer, introducing vaporized raw material into a film deposition chamber, and introducing a reactive gas into the film deposition chamber to form a thin film on a substrate while discharging a gas phase of the raw material from the vaporizer (see FIG. 1; ¶¶ [0001], [0030], [0033]-[0037], [0042]). Imai teaches vaporizing a raw material at temperatures within the claimed range (see ¶¶ [0045]-[0046]), and continuous discharge of raw material gas from the vaporizer to maintain a ready supply of raw material vapor for additional process steps (see ¶ [0037]).
Further regarding Claim 12, Imai teaches introducing raw material compound into the deposition chamber, exhausting excess raw material therefrom, introducing a reactive gas into the deposition chamber for film formation on the substrate, and exhausting excess reactive gas and purging the chamber (see ¶¶ [0036]-[0039]).
With regard to Claim 14, Imai teaches a film deposition apparatus comprising a vaporizer 18, a discharging member 19 for discharging gas from the vaporizer, an ALD film deposition chamber 2, a pipe and valve 21 connecting the vaporizer to the deposition chamber, and exhaust pipes 44, 52, 53 and valves 54, 55 (see FIG. 1; ¶¶ [0025], [0037], [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 2-4 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai as applied to Claims 1 and 14, and further in view of JP H09 217175 to H. Jinba, an English translation of which is provided herewith and referred-to herein, (“Jinba”).
With regard to Claims 2-4 and 15-16, Imai emphasizes the importance of a steady supply of vaporized raw material, and teaches agitation of raw material gas (see ¶¶ [0034], [0037]); however the reference does not teach stirring in the vaporizer. Jinba is directed to devices and methods for supplying vaporized raw material to a film deposition chamber, and teaches equipping a vaporizer with a rotating stirrer to increase contact area between liquid raw material and gas within the vaporizer, which promotes vaporization of liquid raw material and stable provision of vaporized raw material (see ¶¶ [0001], [0015]-[0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated a vaporizer stirring device in the process and apparatus of Imai, as taught by Jinba, in order to obtain the advantages identified by Jinba. To the extent the stirring device of Jinba does not implicitly entail raw material liquid – vaporizer gas contact area within the claimed range, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjust stirring parameters to increase contact area among the liquid raw material and gases residing in the vaporizer, including values within the claimed range, throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization to promote liquid raw material vaporization.
4. Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai as applied to Claims 1 and 14, and further in view of US 2007/0042119 to Matthysse et al. (“Matthysse”).
With regard to Claims 5 and 17, Imai remarks upon the importance of raw material vapor pressure as it relates to supplying the deposition chamber, and teaches pressure control within the deposition chamber (see ¶¶ [0005]-[0007], [0025]). Imai also instructs maintaining a flow of raw material vapor from the vaporizer to ensure a ready supply thereof (see ¶ [0037]); however the reference does not expressly teach equalization of raw material partial pressure in the vaporizer and connections therefrom. To the extent that it is not implicitly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have maintained partial pressure of reactive gases from source to destination in order to facilitate delivery of process feeds to the deposition chamber or otherwise maintain supply-sufficient pressure, Matthysse is directed to a vaporizer for an ALD system, and teaches raw material partial pressure is result-effective regarding successful deposition (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0003]-[0004]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have maintained raw material partial pressure throughout the method and device of Imai in order to ensure successful deposition and otherwise maintain a ready state of raw material vapor supply.
5. Claims 6-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2021/0324516 to Schweinfurth et al. (“Schweinfurth”).
With regard to Claims 6-7, Imai teaches deposition of thin films using organometallic complexes (see ¶ [0006]); however the reference does not expressly teach the claimed types of raw materials. Schweinfurth is directed to processes for deposition of metal-containing thin films, and teaches ALD deposition of carbonyl and amidinate complexes comprising cobalt and tungsten from a gaseous state (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0016]-[0018]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed types of raw material compounds in the method of Imai, as taught by Schweinfurth, in order to deposit films comprising cobalt or tungsten.
With regard to Claim 10, Imai does not particularly limit the type of substrate material (see ¶ [0016]); however the reference does not expressly teach copper. Schweinfurth teaches copper substrates (see ¶ [0018]).
6. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2008/0099147 to Myo et al. (“Myo”).
With regard to Claim 8, Imai teaches deposition of thin films using organometallic complexes (see ¶ [0006]); however the reference does not expressly teach the claimed types of raw materials. Myo is directed to a vapor deposition apparatus and methods, and teaches ALD deposition of the claimed types of raw materials (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0034]-[0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed types of raw material compounds in the method of Imai, as taught by Myo, with a reasonable expectation of success.
7. Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai as applied to Claims 1 and 11, and further in view of Jinba, Schweinfurth, and US 2019/0203358 to Babayan et al. (“Babayan”).
With regard to Claims 9 and 13, the teachings of Imai, Jinba, and Schweinfurth as applied to Claims 1, 3, and 10 are reiterated. Further, Imai teaches deposition of thin films using organometallic complexes (see ¶ [0006]); however the reference does not expressly teach the presence of decomposition products or the claimed raw material. Babayan is directed to methods and devices for controlling raw material flow in vapor deposition systems, and teaches exemplary atomic layer deposition of the claimed raw material and that some decomposition of raw materials occurs during transport thereof (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0040]-[0041]). Babayan is also noted as teaching control of raw material partial pressure via temperature (see ¶ [0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed raw material in the method of Imai in view of Jinba and Schweinfurth to deposit a cobalt-containing metal film layer on a copper substrate with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712