DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This office action for US Patent application 19/302791 is responsive to communications filed on August 18th, 2025. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C §102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A method for processing video data, comprising:
determining to employ one or more transform methods or one or more transform kernels to a video unit when applying an intra block copy (IBC) to the video unit [i.e. a transform type associated with an intra block copy block; paragraph. 0031, 0181]; and
performing a conversion between a visual media data comprising the video unit and a bitstream of the visual media data based on the determining [i.e. output bitstream; Fig. 2].
Regarding claim 3, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more transform methods include a primary transform, a secondary transform, a subblock based transform, a separable transform, a non-separable transform, or a combination thereof [i.e. i.e. the transform type include a non-separable transform (LFNST); paragraph. 0181], or wherein the one or more transform methods include multiple transform selection (MTS), non-separable primary transform (NSPT), low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST), subblock transform (SBT), discrete sine transform (DST), discrete cosine transform (DCT), separable Karhunen-Loeve transform (KLT), non- separable KLT, a zero out transform, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein whether to and/or how to perform the one or more transform methods or the one or more transform kernels for the IBC is the same as that for intra prediction mode or inter prediction mode, or wherein whether to and/or how to perform the one or more transform methods or the one or more transform kernels for the IBC is different from that for intra prediction mode or inter prediction mode [i.e. a transform type associated with an IBC block may be different or the same as a transform type associated with an inter coding block; paragraph. 0201-0202].
Regarding claim 5, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more transform kernels are used for the IBC, and wherein the one or more transform kernels include a multiple transform selection (MTS) kernel, a discrete cosine transform (DCT) kernel, a discrete sine transform (DST) kernel, a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) kernel, a non-separable primary transform (NSPT) kernel, kernels which are not used in the MTS kernel for intra/inter prediction, kernels used for intra/inter prediction, or a combination thereof [i.e. different transformation types as DCT, DST, etc.; paragraph. 0073].
Regarding claim 6, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein a minimum transform size and/or a maximum transform size for the IBC is set the same as that for other coding tools, and wherein the minimum transform size and/or the maximum transform size for the IBC are set individually, predefined, signaled, derived, based on video content, or a combination thereof [i.e. the transform size is arbitrary or even equal to the maximum allowed transform size; paragraph. 0121].
Regarding claim 16, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein subblock transform (SBT) is applied for intra prediction, or wherein low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) or non-separable primary transform (NSPT) is applied for inter prediction [i.e. the transform type includes a LFNST; paragraph. 0181].
Regarding claim 17, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the visual media data into the bitstream [i.e. Fig. 2].
Regarding claim 18, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes decoding the visual media data into the bitstream [i.e. Fig. 1-2].
Regarding claims 19-20, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C §103 unpatentable over Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) in view of Naser et al. (US 20250039357 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
In the same field of endeavor, Naser et al. (US 20250039357 A1) discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the IBC includes intra prediction with template matching (intraTMP) or other coding tools as variants of the IBC [i.e. the intra template matching as an IBC candidate; paragraph. 0063].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Nalci et al. (US 20230188738 A1) with Naser et al. (US 20250039357 A1) in order to create a method as the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAM D PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487