DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 01/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/23/26.
Since claim 1 is non-elected and withdrawn, Applicant is advised to incorporate the text thereof into each of claims 15 and 18.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it begins with the phrase “The present disclosure relates to,” and repeats the phrase in the third sentence; these phrases can be implied. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 15 and 18 each refer to “a/the wellbore fluid according to claim 1.” Reading each of claims 15 and 18 as incorporating the text of claim 1, claim 1 recites “a non-crosslinked copolymer of non-carboxylated monomers selected from a compound having the formula (1):…; a compound having the formula (2)…; and a mixture thereof.” It is unclear if Applicant is intending to use Markush language here and thus limit the monomers of the copolymer to include only those of formula (1), formula (2) and a mixture thereof, as would be encompassed by the phraseology “selected from the group consisting of,” i.e., in this instance, for example – selected from the group consisting of of or if the copolymer may include, for example, one of such monomers, i.e., a compound of formula (1) only with an additional monomer outside of those represented by formulas (1) and (2) so as to form a copolymer. Clarification is required. Claim 16 is rejected by virtue of its dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claim 17 recites “a non-crosslinked copolymer of monomers selected from a compound having the formula (1):…; a compound having the formula (2)…; and a mixture thereof.” It is unclear if Applicant is intending to use Markush language here and thus limit the monomers of the copolymer to include only those of formula (1), formula (2) and a mixture thereof, as would be encompassed by the phraseology “selected from the group consisting of,” i.e., in this instance, for example – selected from the group consisting of of or if the copolymer may include, for example, one of such monomers, i.e., a compound of formula (1) only with an additional monomer outside of those represented by formulas (1) and (2) so as to form a copolymer. Clarification is required.
Claims 15, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 15 and 18 each refer to “a/the wellbore fluid according to claim 1.” Reading each of claims 15 and 18 as incorporating the text of claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation "a compound having the formula (1)" and “a compound having the formula (2).” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as neither ‘a formula (1)’ nor ‘a formula (2)’ was previously claimed. Clarification is required. Claim 16 is rejected by virtue of its dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 17 recites the limitation "a compound having the formula (1)" and “a compound having the formula (2).” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as neither ‘a formula (1)’ nor ‘a formula (2)’ was previously claimed. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guichard et al. (US 2004/0129459).
With respect to independent claim 15, Guichard et al. discloses a method for conducting an oilfield operation in a wellbore comprising placing a wellbore fluid according to claim 1 into the wellbore ([0030]), wherein, as per claim 1, Guichard et al. discloses a wellbore fluid comprising a water-based fluid ([0019]; [0040]) and a latex comprising a non-crosslinked ([0034], wherein the polymer is disclosed as linear) copolymer of non-carboxylated monomers selected from a compound having the formula (1)/(2)/and mixtures thereof ([0035]-[0036], wherein the copolymer is formed by polymerization using emulsion/controlled radical techniques and includes monomers such as alkyl acrylates, including Applicant’s further dependently claimed butylacrylate and 2-ethylhexylacrylate).
Guichard et al. discloses wherein a wide variety of polymers or copolymers can be utilized, and, further, wherein such are prepared by various polymerization processes, including emulsion polymerization and controlled radical solution polymerization ([0035]). Monomers used to form such polymers/copolymers are further disclosed to include alkyl acrylates such as 2-ethylhexylacrylate, butyl acrylate, vinyl acetate and combinations thereof ([0036]). The Examiner notes, these specific monomers are disclosed as options of compounds of formula (1) and formula (2) in [0028]-[0029] of the instant specification as filed. As such, when forming the polymer/copolymer of Guichard et al., it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide for a non-crosslinked/linear copolymer of monomers of a compound having the formula (1), formula (2) or a mixture thereof since such compounds are part of a finite number of options disclosed as suitable for forming the copolymer of Guichard et al. and one having ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize suitable copolymers that can be formed therefrom in order to yield the predictable result of reducing fluid loss therewith. A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
With respect to dependent claim 16, Guichard et al. discloses wherein the oilfield operation is one as claimed ([0030]).
With respect to independent claim 17, Guichard et al. discloses a method of modifying fluid loss properties of a wellbore fluid ([0017]-[0018]) containing a water-based fluid ([0019]; [0040]), the method comprising the step of adding a latex comprising a non-crosslinked ([0034], wherein the polymer is disclosed as linear) copolymer of monomers selected from a compound having the formula (1)/(2)/and mixtures thereof ([0035]-[0036], wherein the copolymer is formed by polymerization using emulsion/controlled radical techniques and includes monomers such as alkyl acrylates, including Applicant’s further dependently claimed butylacrylate and 2-ethylhexylacrylate).
Guichard et al. discloses wherein a wide variety of polymers or copolymers can be utilized, and, further, wherein such are prepared by various polymerization processes, including emulsion polymerization and controlled radical solution polymerization ([0035]). Monomers used to form such polymers/copolymers are further disclosed to include alkyl acrylates such as 2-ethylhexylacrylate, butyl acrylate, vinyl acetate and combinations thereof ([0036]). The Examiner notes, these specific monomers are disclosed as options of compounds of formula (1) and formula (2) in [0028]-[0029] of the instant specification as filed. As such, when forming the polymer/copolymer of Guichard et al., it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide for a non-crosslinked/linear copolymer of monomers of a compound having the formula (1), formula (2) or a mixture thereof since such compounds are part of a finite number of options disclosed as suitable for forming the copolymer of Guichard et al. and one having ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize suitable copolymers that can be formed therefrom in order to yield the predictable result of reducing fluid loss therewith. A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
With respect to independent claim 18, Guichard et al. discloses a method of sealing of an interval of a wellbore ([0050], i.e., by formation of a filter cake therein) comprising injecting the wellbore fluid according to claim 1 into the wellbore ([0030]), wherein, as per claim 1, Guichard et al. discloses a wellbore fluid comprising a water-based fluid ([0019]; [0040]) and a latex comprising a non-crosslinked ([0034], wherein the polymer is disclosed as linear) copolymer of non-carboxylated monomers selected from a compound having the formula (1)/(2)/and mixtures thereof ([0035]-[0036], wherein the copolymer is formed by polymerization using emulsion/controlled radical techniques and includes monomers such as alkyl acrylates, including Applicant’s further dependently claimed butylacrylate and 2-ethylhexylacrylate).
Guichard et al. discloses wherein a wide variety of polymers or copolymers can be utilized, and, further, wherein such are prepared by various polymerization processes, including emulsion polymerization and controlled radical solution polymerization ([0035]). Monomers used to form such polymers/copolymers are further disclosed to include alkyl acrylates such as 2-ethylhexylacrylate, butyl acrylate, vinyl acetate and combinations thereof ([0036]). The Examiner notes, these specific monomers are disclosed as options of compounds of formula (1) and formula (2) in [0028]-[0029] of the instant specification as filed. As such, when forming the polymer/copolymer of Guichard et al., it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide for a non-crosslinked/linear copolymer of monomers of a compound having the formula (1), formula (2) or a mixture thereof since such compounds are part of a finite number of options disclosed as suitable for forming the copolymer of Guichard et al. and one having ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize suitable copolymers that can be formed therefrom in order to yield the predictable result of reducing fluid loss therewith. A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,391,862 (‘862 herein). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because method claims 15, 16 and 18 are fully encompassed by the method as previously issued in ‘862, wherein a narrower wellbore fluid was claimed. As such, instant claims 15, 16 and 18 would indeed be obvious thereover. Instant claim 17 would further be obvious over claims 11-13 as issued in ‘862 in that instant claim 17 merely requires the addition of the latex additive comprising a non-crosslinked copolymer of monomers selected from a compound having formula (1), (2), or a mixture thereof to the wellbore fluid; since claims 11 and 12 of ‘862 provide for the inclusion of the same additive in the wellbore fluid, such would indeed provide for modification of the fluid loss properties thereof since it has been held “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable; if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present, and, as such, the method of modifying fluid loss properties of a wellbore fluid with the additive instantly claimed would be obvious over the methods as patented in ‘862.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2011/0281778 discloses methods of reducing fluid loss in oil based wellbore fluids using an aqueous dispersion of a copolymer that comprises a 2-ethylhexyl acrylate monomers.
US 2016/0130497 discloses wellbore fluids that include monomers of a compound of instantly claimed formula (1) and defines a film-forming emulsion copolymer as a latex.
US 2002/0161087 discloses aqueous based wellbore fluids that include a latex of a block copolymer that may include various alkyl acrylates and vinyl acetate.
US 2016/0304769 discloses a dispersion polymer used in a high salt brine that include vinyl acetate and 2-ethylhexyl acrylate.
US 2018/0312621 discloses a rheology agent useful in high salt base fluids that includes a copolymer of various monomers, such as 2-ethylhexyl acrylate and vinyl acetate.
US 2013/0319667 discloses degradable latexes in aqueous carriers that include copolymers formed from monomers that include vinyl acetate and 2-ethylhexyl acrylate.
/Angela M DiTrani Leff/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
ADL
03/09/26