DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2020-0069330, filed on 06/08/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/20/2026, 01/26/2026 amnd 08/18/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,719,182 in view of Inoue Daisuke [JP2006025035].
Instant Application 19/302,856
U.S. Patent No. 12,719,182
1. An antenna device comprising: an antenna including a radiation portion and folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion, wherein the antenna includes a first edge between the radiation portion and the first folded portion and a second edge between the radiation portion and the second folded portion, and wherein the first edge and the second edge face each other; and a first feeding line electrically connected to the first edge of the antenna and configured to apply a first signal to the first edge of the antenna in a feeding direction perpendicular to the first edge, wherein the feeding direction is from the first edge toward the second edge and the first signal corresponds to a first polarization, and wherein a direction of the first polarization is parallel with the feeding direction.
2. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the direction of the first polarization is perpendicular to the first edge and a direction of a second polarization is parallel with the first edge such that a second signal corresponding to the second polarization is reduced, and wherein the second polarization is a cross polarization over the first polarization.
3. The antenna device of claim 2, wherein the direction of the first polarization is +45 degrees and the direction of the second polarization is -45 degrees.
4. The antenna device of claim 1, further comprising: a second feeding line, wherein the folded portions include a third folded portion and a fourth folded portion, wherein the antenna includes a third edge between the radiation portion and the third folded portion and a fourth edge between the radiation portion and the fourth folded portion, wherein the third edge and the fourth edge face each other, and wherein the second feeding line is electrically connected to the third edge and configured to apply a signal corresponding to a second polarization to the third edge of the antenna in a feeding direction perpendicular to the third edge.
5. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the radiation portion has an octagonal shape which is formed by folding corners of a square patch, and wherein each of the corners is included in each of the folded portions.
6. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the radiation portion includes a first end including the first edge and a second end including the second edge, and wherein an electric field for the first signal is concentrated in the first end and the second end.
7. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the first folded portion is folded to form the first edge which is a boundary between the radiation portion and the first folded portion, and wherein the second folded portion is folded to form the second edge which is a boundary between the radiation portion and the second folded portion.
8. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the antenna is a dual polarized antenna, and wherein the first edge and the second edge are symmetrical with respect to a center of the antenna.
9. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the antenna corresponds to a first antenna and the radiation portion of the antenna corresponds to a first radiation portion, and wherein the antenna device further comprises: a plurality of antennas including the first antenna and a second antenna, wherein the second antenna includes a second radiation portion and folded portions including a third folded portion and a fourth folded portion, anda second feeding line.
10. The antenna device of claim 9, wherein the second antenna includes a third edge between the second radiation portion and the third folded portion and a fourth edge between the second radiation portion and the fourth folded portion, and wherein the second feeding line is electrically connected to the third edge of the second antenna and configured to apply a second signal to the third edge of the second antenna in the feeding direction.
11. The antenna device of claim 10, wherein the second signal corresponds to the first polarization.
12. The antenna device of claim 10, wherein the second radiation portion includes a third end including the third edge and a fourth end including the fourth edge, and wherein an electric field for the second signal is concentrated in the third end and the fourth end.
13. The antenna device of claim 10, wherein the third folded portion is folded to form the third edge which is a boundary between the second radiation portion and the third folded portion and wherein the fourth folded portion is folded to form the fourth edge which is a boundary between the second radiation portion and the fourth folded portion.
14. The antenna device of claim 10, wherein the third edge and the fourth edge are symmetrical with respect to a center of the second antenna.
15. The antenna device of claim 9, wherein the second radiation portion has an octagonal shape which is formed by folding corners of a square patch.
16. An antenna device comprising: a plurality of antennas including a first antenna and a second antenna, wherein the first antenna includes a first radiation portion and folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion, wherein the second antenna includes a second radiation portion and folded portions including a third folded portion and a fourth folded portion, wherein the first antenna includes a first edge between the first radiation portion and the first folded portion and a second edge between the first radiation portion and the second folded portion, and wherein the second antenna includes a third edge between the second radiation portion and the third folded portion and a fourth edge between the second radiation portion and the fourth folded portion; afirst feeding line electrically connected to the first edge of the first antenna and configured to apply a first signal to the first edge of the first antenna in a first feeding direction perpendicular to the first edge, wherein the first feeding direction is from the first edge toward the second edge and the first signal corresponds to a first polarization; and a second feeding line electrically connected to the third edge of the second antenna and configured to apply a second signal to the third edge of the second antenna in the first feeding direction, wherein the second signal corresponds to the first polarization,wherein a direction of the first polarization is parallel with the first feeding direction, andwherein the first edge faces the second edge and the third edge faces the fourth edge.
17. The antenna device of claim 16, wherein the direction of the first polarization is perpendicular to the first edge and a direction of a second polarization is parallel with the first edge such that a signal corresponding to the second polarization is reduced, andwherein the second polarization is a cross polarization over the first polarization.
18. The antenna device of claim 17, wherein the direction of the first polarization is +45 degrees and the direction of the second polarization is -45 degrees.
19. The antenna device of claim 16, wherein the first radiation portion has an octagonal shape which is formed by folding corners of a square patch, and wherein the second radiation portion has an octagonal shape which is formed by folding corners of a square patch.
20. The antenna device of claim 16, wherein the first edge and the second edge are symmetrical with respect to a center of the first antenna, and wherein the third edge and the fourth edge are symmetrical with respect to a center of the second antenna.
1. An antenna device comprising: a first antenna including a first edge, a second edge and a third edge connected with the first edge and the second edge; a second antenna; a first feeding line connected to the first edge of the first antenna and configured to apply a first signal to the first edge of the first antenna in a first feeding direction perpendicular to the first edge, wherein the first signal has a first polarization; and a second feeding line connected to the second edge of the first antenna and configured to apply a second signal to the second edge of the first antenna in a second feeding direction perpendicular to the second edge, wherein the second signal has a second polarization, wherein a direction of the first polarization is parallel with the first feeding direction, wherein the second antenna is spaced apart from the first antenna in a direction parallel with the third edge, and wherein the direction of the first polarization of the first signal applied to the first edge is +45 degrees with respect to the direction parallel with the third edge.
2. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the direction of the first polarization is perpendicular to the first edge and a direction of the second polarization is parallel with the first edge such that a signal having the second polarization is reduced, and wherein the second polarization is a cross polarization over the first polarization.
3. The antenna device of claim 2, wherein the direction of the second polarization is −45 degrees.
4. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the first antenna has an octagon shape.
5. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the first antenna further includes a fourth edge facing the first edge, wherein the first antenna includes a first end including the first edge and a second end including the fourth edge, and wherein an electric field for the first signal is concentrated in the first end and the second end.
6. The antenna device of claim 5, wherein the first antenna is a dual polarized antenna, and wherein the first edge and the fourth edge are symmetrical with respect to a center of the first antenna.
7. An antenna module comprising: a plurality of antennas including a first antenna having an octagon shape and a second antenna having an octagon shape, wherein the first antenna includes a first edge, a second edge, and a third edge connected with the first edge and the second edge; a first feeding line connected to the first edge of the first antenna and configured to apply a first signal to the first edge of the first antenna in a first feeding direction perpendicular to the first edge, wherein the first signal has a first polarization; and a second feeding line connected to the second edge of the first antenna and configured to apply a second signal to the second edge of the first antenna in a second feeding direction perpendicular to the second edge, wherein the second signal has a second polarization, wherein a direction of the first polarization is parallel with the first feeding direction, wherein the second antenna is spaced apart from the first antenna in a direction parallel with the third edge, and wherein the direction of the first polarization of the first signal applied to the first edge is +45 degrees with respect to the direction parallel with the third edge.
8. The antenna module of claim 7, wherein the direction of the first polarization is perpendicular to the first edge and a direction of the second polarization is parallel with the first edge such that a signal having the second polarization is reduced, and wherein the second polarization is a cross polarization over the first polarization.
9. The antenna module of claim 8, wherein the direction of the second polarization is −45 degrees.
10. The antenna module of claim 7, further comprising: a third feeding line for the first polarization and a fourth feeding line for the second polarization, wherein the second antenna further includes a fourth edge, a fifth edge and a sixth edge connected with the fourth edge and the fifth edge, wherein the third feeding line is electrically connected to the fourth edge and configured to apply a third signal having the first polarization to the fourth edge of the second antenna in the first feeding direction, and wherein the fourth feeding line is electrically connected to the fifth edge and configured to apply a fourth signal having the second polarization to the fifth edge of the second antenna in the second feeding direction.
11. The antenna module of claim 7, wherein the first antenna further includes a fourth edge facing the first edge, wherein the first antenna includes a first end including the first edge and a second end including the fourth edge, and wherein an electric field for the first signal is concentrated in the first end and the second end.
12. The antenna module of claim 7, wherein the second antenna further includes a fifth edge and a sixth edge facing the fifth edge, and wherein the second antenna includes a third end including the fifth edge and a fourth end including the sixth edge.
13. The antenna module of claim 12, wherein each of the first antenna and the second antenna is a dual polarized antenna, wherein the first edge and the fourth edge are symmetrical with respect to a center of the first antenna, and wherein the fifth edge and the sixth edge are symmetrical with respect to a center of the second antenna.
14. The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the first edge is located in a third quadrant of a plane of the first antenna with respect to a center of the first antenna.
15. The antenna module of claim 7, wherein the first edge is located in a third quadrant of a plane of the first antenna with respect to a center of the first antenna.
Choi of U.S. Patent No. 12,719,182 does not specify folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion
Inoue Daisuke discloses folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion (Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025] “The patch conductor 11 is formed with a perturbation portion 11a at one corner of a square outer shape, and a perturbation portion 11b at one corner facing the perturbation portion 11a across the patch center C. These two perturbation parts 11a and 11b are formed by cutting out a predetermined area of a square two corners. The perturbation portions 11a and 11b are not limited to being provided by notches as shown in FIG. 1, and can be formed in various forms”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings Inoue Daisuke with Choi to disclose or teach folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion for purpose of providing a perturbation section that can give a predetermined difference to the electrical length of the two, it is possible to easily design the adjustment of the phase difference, that is, the adjustment of the degenerate separation amount. Thereby, the characteristic of circular polarization can be improved easily and reliably as disclosed by Inoue (Paragraph [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsin-Hsien by [WO1999034477] in view of Inoue Daisuke [JP2006025035]
In regards to claim 1. Hsin-Hsien discloses an antenna device (Fig. 7b, 50) comprising:
an antenna (Fig. 7b, 50) including a radiation portion (Fig. 7b, 50) and, wherein the antenna (Fig. 7a, 50) includes a first edge between the radiation portion (It is further observed that the geometry of the radiating element (see Paragraph [44] “Each octagonal patch antenna element 50 feeds respective cross polarization feeder lines 37, through a horizontal polarization feed 25 and a vertical polarization feed 27 connected to the octagonal patch antenna element 50 at two orthogonal positions, a horizontal feed point 42 and a vertical feed point 44. Thus, each octagonal patch antenna element 50 has two feed points 42 and 44, formed integrally with the octagonal patch antenna element 50, and at its two feed points 42 and 44 feeds the feed network columns 26 and 28 with propagated microwave energy”)and the first portion (Fig. 7b, 55) and a second edge (Fig. 7b, see the second edge on annotations below) between the radiation portion (Fig. 7b, 50) and the second portion (Fig. 7b, 55), and wherein the first edge and the second edge (Fig. 7b, see the first and second edge on annotations below) face each other; and
a first feeding line (Fig. 7b, 25 is feeding direction) electrically connected to the first edge of the antenna (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations below) and configured to apply a first signal to the first edge of the antenna (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations below) in a feeding direction (Fig. 7b, 25 is feeding direction) perpendicular to the first edge (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations below),
wherein the feeding direction (Fig. 7b, 25 is feeding direction) is from the first edge (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations below) toward the second edge (Fig. 7b, see the second edge on annotations below) and the first signal corresponds to a first polarization (Paragraph [0042-47]), and
wherein a direction of the first polarization (Paragraph [0042-47]) is parallel with the feeding direction (Fig. 7b, 25 is feeding direction).
Applicant Figure 3
Prior art fig 7b
[AltContent: textbox (a first edge)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Center of the antenna)][AltContent: textbox (a second edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Hsin-Hsien does not specify folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion
Inoue Daisuke discloses folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion (Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025] “The patch conductor 11 is formed with a perturbation portion 11a at one corner of a square outer shape, and a perturbation portion 11b at one corner facing the perturbation portion 11a across the patch center C. These two perturbation parts 11a and 11b are formed by cutting out a predetermined area of a square two corners. The perturbation portions 11a and 11b are not limited to being provided by notches as shown in FIG. 1, and can be formed in various forms”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings Inoue Daisuke with Hsin-Hsien to disclose or teach folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion for purpose of providing a perturbation section that can give a predetermined difference to the electrical length of the two, it is possible to easily design the adjustment of the phase difference, that is, the adjustment of the degenerate separation amount. Thereby, the characteristic of circular polarization can be improved easily and reliably as disclosed by Inoue (Paragraph [0012]).
In regards to claim 2. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 1, wherein the direction of the first polarization (Fig. 7b, 25 for a first polarization) is perpendicular to the first edge (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations above) and a direction of a second polarization (Fig. 7b, see the second polarization on annotations below) is parallel with the first edge (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations above) such that a second signal corresponding to the second polarization (Fig. 7b, see the second polarization on annotations below) is reduced, and wherein the second polarization (Fig. 7b, see the second polarization on annotations below) is a cross polarization over the first polarization (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50 & Paragraph [0043] “In the preferred embodiment of the present invention, each antenna element is preferably disposed on a common surface of the antenna aperture layer 14, and designed as a dual polarization octagonal patch antenna element 50, as shown in Figs. 7a and 7b, but it can have other shapes as well. Each dual polarization octagonal patch antenna element 50 feeds a respective feed network columns 26 and 28 at two orthogonal positions, thus generating two spatially orthogonal linear polarized waves, of vertical and horizontal polarization, which are independent of each other. Thus, individual dual polarization octagonal patch antenna elements 50 provide a low level of cross polarization between the respective feed network circuits 22 associated with each of the two polarizations.”).
[AltContent: textbox (the first polarization)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (the second polarization)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
In regards to claim 3. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 2, wherein the direction of the first polarization is +45 degrees (Fig. 7b, see the first polarization is +45 degree) and the direction of the second polarization is -45 degrees (Fig. 7b, see the first polarization is -45 degree).
[AltContent: textbox (the first polarization)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (the second polarization)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
In regards to claim 4. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50 & Paragraph [0043] “In the preferred embodiment of the present invention, each antenna element is preferably disposed on a common surface of the antenna aperture layer 14, and designed as a dual polarization octagonal patch antenna element 50) of claim 1, further comprising: a second feeding line (Fig. 7b, 25), wherein the folded portions include a third folded portion and a fourth folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025] “The patch conductor 11 is formed with a perturbation portion 11a at one corner of a square outer shape, and a perturbation portion 11b at one corner facing the perturbation portion 11a across the patch center C. These two perturbation parts 11a and 11b are formed by cutting out a predetermined area of a square two corners. The perturbation portions 11a and 11b are not limited to being provided by notches as shown in FIG. 1, and can be formed in various forms”), wherein the antenna (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50 & Paragraph [0043] “In the preferred embodiment of the present invention, each antenna element is preferably disposed on a common surface of the antenna aperture layer 14, and designed as a dual polarization octagonal patch antenna element 50, ) includes a third edge (Fig. 7b, a third edge) between the radiation portion and the third folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025] “The patch conductor 11 is formed with a perturbation portion 11a at one corner of a square outer shape, and a perturbation portion 11b at one corner facing the perturbation portion 11a across the patch center C. These two perturbation parts 11a and 11b are formed by cutting out a predetermined area of a square two corners. The perturbation portions 11a and 11b are not limited to being provided by notches as shown in FIG. 1, and can be formed in various forms”) and a fourth edge (Fig. 7b, a fourth edge) between the radiation portion and the fourth folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025] “The patch conductor 11 is formed with a perturbation portion 11a at one corner of a square outer shape, and a perturbation portion 11b at one corner facing the perturbation portion 11a across the patch center C. These two perturbation parts 11a and 11b are formed by cutting out a predetermined area of a square two corners. The perturbation portions 11a and 11b are not limited to being provided by notches as shown in FIG. 1, and can be formed in various forms”), wherein the third edge (Fig. 7b, a third edge) and the fourth edge (Fig. 7b, a fourth edge) face each other, and wherein the second feeding line (Fig. 7b, 25) is electrically connected to the third edge (Fig. 7b, a third edge) and configured to apply a signal corresponding to a second polarization to the third edge (Fig. 7b, a third edge) of the antenna in a feeding direction (Fig. 7b, 25) perpendicular to the third edge (Fig. 7b, a third edge).
[AltContent: textbox (a fourth edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (a third edge)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
In regards to claim 5. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 1, wherein the radiation portion has an octagonal shape which is formed by folding corners of a square patch (Hsin-Hsien Paragraph [0046] “The octagonal patch antenna element 50 can be formed from a square patch, by cutting out the four corners, thus creating eight alternating sides, four a-sides 54 and four b-sides 55, placed between respective a-sides”), and wherein each of the corners is included in each of the folded portions (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025] “The patch conductor 11 is formed with a perturbation portion 11a at one corner of a square outer shape, and a perturbation portion 11b at one corner facing the perturbation portion 11a across the patch center C. These two perturbation parts 11a and 11b are formed by cutting out a predetermined area of a square two corners. The perturbation portions 11a and 11b are not limited to being provided by notches as shown in FIG. 1, and can be formed in various forms”).
In regards to claim 6. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device (Fig. 7b, 50) of claim 1, wherein the radiation portion includes a first end including the first edge (Fig. 7b, the first edge) and a second end including the second edge (Fig. 7b, the second edge), and wherein an electric field for the first signal is concentrated in the first end (Fig. 7b, the first end of the first edge) and the second end (Fig. 7b, the second end of the second edge).
In regards to claim 7. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 1, wherein the first folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025] “The patch conductor 11 is formed with a perturbation portion 11a at one corner of a square outer shape, and a perturbation portion 11b at one corner facing the perturbation portion 11a across the patch center C. These two perturbation parts 11a and 11b are formed by cutting out a predetermined area of a square two corners. The perturbation portions 11a and 11b are not limited to being provided by notches as shown in FIG. 1, and can be formed in various forms”) is folded to form the first edge (Fig. 7b, the first edge) which is a boundary between the radiation portion and the first folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]), and wherein the second folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]) is folded to form the second edge (Fig. 7b, the second edge) which is a boundary between the radiation portion and the second folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]).
In regards to claim 8. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 1, wherein the antenna is a dual polarized antenna (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50 & Paragraph [0043] “In the preferred embodiment of the present invention, each antenna element is preferably disposed on a common surface of the antenna aperture layer 14, and designed as a dual polarization octagonal patch antenna element 50, ), and wherein the first edge (Fig. 7b, the first edge see above) and the second edge (Fig. 7b, the second edge see above) are symmetrical with respect to a center of the antenna (Fig. 7b, the center of the antenna see above).
In regards to claim 9. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 1, wherein the antenna (Fig. 7b, 50) corresponds to a first antenna (Fig. 7b, 50) and the radiation portion of the antenna (Fig. 7b, 50) corresponds to a first radiation portion (Fig. 7b, 50), and wherein the antenna device (Fig. 7b, 50) further comprises: a plurality of antennas (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50) including the first antenna and a second antenna (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50), wherein the second antenna includes a second radiation portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]) and folded portions including a third folded portion and a fourth folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]), and a second feeding line (Fig. 7b, 25).
In regards to claim 10. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 9, wherein the second antenna (Fig. 7b, 50) includes a third edge (Fig. 7b, the third edge see above) between the second radiation portion and the third folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]) and a fourth edge (Fig. 7b, the fourth edge see above) between the second radiation portion and the fourth folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]), and wherein the second feeding line (Fig. 7b, 25) is electrically connected to the third edge (Fig. 7b, the third edge see above) of the second antenna (Fig. 7b, 50) and configured to apply a second signal to the third edge of the second antenna in the feeding direction (Fig. 7b, 25).
In regards to claim 11. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 10, wherein the second signal corresponds to the first polarization (Fig. 7b, 50 and 25).
In regards to claim 12. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 10, wherein the second radiation portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]) includes a third end including the third edge (Fig. 7b, the third edge see above) and a fourth end (Fig. 7b, the fourth edge see above) including the fourth edge, and wherein an electric field for the second signal is concentrated in the third end (Fig. 7b, third end see above) and the fourth end (Fig. 7b, fourth end see above).
In regards to claim 13. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 10, wherein the third folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]) is folded to form the third edge (Fig. 7b, 50 and 25) which is a boundary between the second radiation portion (Fig. 7b, 50 and 25) and the third folded portion and wherein the fourth folded portion is folded (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]) to form the fourth edge (Fig. 7b, 50 and 25) which is a boundary between the second radiation portion (Fig. 7b, 50 and 25) and the fourth folded portion (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]).
In regards to claim 14. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 10, wherein the third edge (Fig. 7b, the third edge see above) and the fourth edge (Fig. 7b, the fourth edge see above) are symmetrical with respect to a center of the second antenna (Fig. 7b, 50 and 25).
In regards to claim 15. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 9, wherein the second radiation portion has an octagonal shape (Fig. 7b, 50 and 25) which is formed by folding corners of a square patch (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]).
In regards to claim 16. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses an antenna device comprising:
a plurality of antennas (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50) including a first antenna and a second antenna, wherein the first antenna includes a first radiation portion and, wherein the second antenna includes a second radiation portion (Paragraph [0043], in “each antenna element 20 of the array of antenna elements 20 is preferably a dual polarization antenna element 20, disposed on a common surface of the antenna aperture layer”) and, wherein the first antenna (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50) includes a first edge (Fig. 7b, first and second edge) between the first radiation portion and the first portion and a second edge (Fig. 7b, first and second edge) between the first radiation portion and the second folded portion, and
Applicant Figure 3
Prior art fig 7a
[AltContent: textbox (a first edge)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Center of the antenna)][AltContent: textbox (a second edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
wherein the second antenna (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50 & Paragraph [0043] “In the preferred embodiment of the present invention, each antenna element is preferably disposed on a common surface of the antenna aperture layer 14, and designed as a dual polarization octagonal patch antenna element 50, as shown in Figs. 7a and 7b, but it can have other shapes as well. Each dual polarization octagonal patch antenna element 50 feeds a respective feed network columns 26 and 28 at two orthogonal positions, thus generating two spatially orthogonal linear polarized waves, of vertical and horizontal polarization, which are independent of each other. Thus, individual dual polarization octagonal patch antenna elements 50 provide a low level of cross polarization between the respective feed network circuits 22 associated with each of the two polarizations.”) includes a third edge between the second radiation portion and the third portion and a fourth edge (Fig. 7b, third and fourth edge) between the second radiation portion and the fourth portion;
Hsin-Hsien Figure 2
Hsin-Hsien Figure 7b
[AltContent: textbox (a fourth edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (a third edge)]
a first feeding line (Fig. 7, 25) electrically connected to the first edge (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations below) of the first antenna (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50) and configured to apply a first signal to the first edge of the first antenna (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50) in a first feeding direction (Fig. 7b, 25 is feeding direction) perpendicular to the first edge (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations below), wherein the first feeding direction is from the first edge (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations below) toward the second edge (Fig. 7b, first and second edge) and the first signal corresponds to a first polarization (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50); and
Applicant Figure 3
Prior art fig 7b
[AltContent: textbox (a first edge)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Center of the antenna)][AltContent: textbox (a second edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
a second feeding line (Fig. 7b, 25) electrically connected to the third edge (Fig. 7b, third edge see annotation above) of the second antenna (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50) and configured to apply a second signal (Fig. 7b, 25 & Paragraph [44-46]) to the third edge (Fig. 7b, third edge see annotation above) of the second antenna (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50) in the first feeding direction (Fig. 7b, 25 is feeding direction), wherein the second signal (Fig. 7b, 25 & Paragraph [44-46]) corresponds to the first polarization (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50), wherein a direction of the first polarization (Paragraph [0045] “In another preferred embodiment of the present invention, they are printed in a separate layer, underneath the printed circuit antenna aperture layer 14, and are electromagnetically coupled to the octagonal patch antenna elements 50, as shown in Fig. 7B.”) is parallel with the first feeding direction (Fig. 7b, 25 is feeding direction), and wherein the first edge faces the second edge and the third edge faces the fourth edge (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50 & Paragraph [0043]).
Applicant Figure 3
Prior art fig 7b
[AltContent: textbox (a first edge)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Center of the antenna)][AltContent: textbox (a second edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Hsin-Hsien does not specify folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion; folded portions including a third folded portion and a fourth folded portion
Inoue Daisuke discloses in Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025] “The patch conductor 11 is formed with a perturbation portion 11a at one corner of a square outer shape, and a perturbation portion 11b at one corner facing the perturbation portion 11a across the patch center C. These two perturbation parts 11a and 11b are formed by cutting out a predetermined area of a square two corners. The perturbation portions 11a and 11b are not limited to being provided by notches as shown in FIG. 1, and can be formed in various forms”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings Inoue Daisuke with Hsin-Hsien to disclose or teach folded portions including a first folded portion and a second folded portion; folded portions including a third folded portion and a fourth folded portion for purpose of providing a perturbation section that can give a predetermined difference to the electrical length of the two, it is possible to easily design the adjustment of the phase difference, that is, the adjustment of the degenerate separation amount. Thereby, the characteristic of circular polarization can be improved easily and reliably as disclosed by Inoue (Paragraph [0012]).
In regards to claim 17. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 16, wherein the direction of the first polarization (Fig. 7b, 25 for a first polarization) is perpendicular to the first edge (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations above) and a direction of a second polarization (Fig. 7b, see the second polarization on annotations below) is parallel with the first edge (Fig. 7b, see the first edge on annotations above) such that a signal corresponding to the second polarization (Fig. 7b, see the second polarization on annotations below) is reduced, and wherein the second polarization (Fig. 7b, see the second polarization on annotations below) is a cross polarization over the first polarization (Fig. 2, 20 & Fig. 7b, 50 & Paragraph [0043] “In the preferred embodiment of the present invention, each antenna element is preferably disposed on a common surface of the antenna aperture layer 14, and designed as a dual polarization octagonal patch antenna element 50, as shown in Figs. 7a and 7b, but it can have other shapes as well. Each dual polarization octagonal patch antenna element 50 feeds a respective feed network columns 26 and 28 at two orthogonal positions, thus generating two spatially orthogonal linear polarized waves, of vertical and horizontal polarization, which are independent of each other. Thus, individual dual polarization octagonal patch antenna elements 50 provide a low level of cross polarization between the respective feed network circuits 22 associated with each of the two polarizations.”).
[AltContent: textbox (the first polarization)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (the second polarization)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
In regards to claim 18. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 17, wherein the direction of the first polarization is +45 degrees (Fig. 7b, see the first polarization is +45 degree) and the direction of the second polarization is -45 degrees (Fig. 7b, see the first polarization is -45 degree).
[AltContent: textbox (the first polarization)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (the second polarization)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
In regards to claim 19. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 16, wherein the first radiation portion(Fig. 7b, 50 and 25) has an octagonal shape which is formed by folding corners of a square patch (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]), and wherein the second radiation portion has an octagonal shape which is formed by folding corners of a square patch (Inoue Daisuke Fig. 1, 11a and 11b & Paragraph [0025]).
In regards to claim 20. Hsin-Hsien in view of Inoue Daisuke discloses the antenna device of claim 16, wherein the first edge and the second edge (Fig. 7b, the first and second edge see above) are symmetrical with respect to a center of the first antenna (Fig. 7b, 50 and 25), and wherein the third edge and the fourth edge (Fig. 7b, the third and fourth edge see above) are symmetrical with respect to a center of the second antenna (Fig. 7b, 50 and 25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al [US 2023/0110601 A1] who teaches An electronic device is provided. The electronic device includes a housing including a front cover, a rear cover facing the direction opposite to that of the front cover, and a lateral member encompassing the space between the front cover and the rear cover, a display panel, a dielectric sheet, a first mesh pattern part formed through a plurality of first conductive lines in the dielectric sheet, and a wireless communication circuit, and which is electrically connected to the first mesh pattern part, wherein the first mesh pattern part is formed so that the inner length of a first line facing a first direction, is longer than the inner length of a second line, and the unit pattern is formed so that the inner length of a third line, is longer than the inner length of a fourth line.
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845