Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 states “An apparatus for actuating a pump rod string in a downhole well, comprising,” and should be amended to recite “An apparatus for actuating a pump rod string in a downhole well, comprising[[,]]:”
Claim 12 states “A system for pumping liquid from a well, comprising,” and should be amended to recite “A system for pumping liquid from a well, comprising[[,]]:”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gregory et al (U.S Patent 8,668,475) (“Gregory”).
Regarding Claim 1, Gregory discloses an apparatus for actuating a pump rod string in a downhole well (Abstract; Col 5, lines 55-67), comprising:
a lifting platform configured to surround the pump rod string (Col 6, lines 9-19; Col 12, lines 29-53 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a mounting apparatus);
a pump rod attachment platform coupled to the pump rod string (Col 5 lines 55-67; Col 6, lines 9-19 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a substantially vertically movable member attached to the polished rod of the sucker-rod);
a plurality of hydraulic cylinders coupled to the lifting platform and the pump rod attachment platform (Col 6, lines 20-24 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses the use of a compressible gas cylinder; Fig 13, #412 cylinder chamber); and
a plurality of telemetry position sensors configured to measure a vertical position of the pump rod attachment platform (Col 10, lines 19-44; Col 11, lines 16-29 and lines 55-67 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses sensing arrangements such as upper and lower sensor flags),
wherein the plurality of cylinders is configured to be actuated to vertically move the pump rod attachment platform (Col 6, lines 20-24 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses the use of a compressible gas cylinder; Fig 13, #412 cylinder chamber), wherein vertical movement of the pump rod attachment platform is configured to vertically move the pump rod string (Col 5, lines 55-67; Col 7, lines 26-34 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a mechanical actuator arrangement that has a vertically movable member attached to the rod).
Regarding Claim 2, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the lifting platform comprises a base platform (Col 6, lines 9-19; Col 12, lines 29-53 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a mounting apparatus) and a plurality of vertical members (Col 5, lines 55-67; Col 7, lines 26-34 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a mechanical actuator arrangement that has a vertically movable member attached to the rod).
Regarding Claim 3, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the pump rod string extends upwardly through the base platform (Col 5, lines 55-67; Col 7, lines 26-34 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a mechanical actuator arrangement that has a vertically movable member attached to the rod).
Regarding Claim 4, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of hydraulic cylinders is configured to slow downward movement of the pump rod attachment platform (Col 6, lines 20-24 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses the use of a compressible gas cylinder; Fig 13, #412 cylinder chamber).
Regarding Claim 5, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders is configured to be selectively and individually actuated (Col 6, lines 20-24 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses the use of a compressible gas cylinder; Fig 13, #412 cylinder chamber that can be actuated individually).
Regarding Claim 6, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of pneumatic cylinders coupled to the lifting platform and the pump rod attachment platform (Col 6, lines 20-24 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses the use of a compressible gas cylinder; Fig 13, #412 pneumatic cylinder chamber), wherein the plurality of pneumatic cylinders is configured to align the pump rod attachment platform based on measurements from the plurality of telemetry position sensors (Col 10, lines 19-44; Col 11, lines 16-29 and lines 55-67 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses sensing arrangements such as upper and lower sensor flags).
Regarding Claim 7, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the plurality of pneumatic cylinders is configured to produce pressurized air as the pump rod attachment platform is moved vertically downward (Col 6, lines 20-24 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses the use of a compressible gas cylinder; Fig 13, #412 pneumatic cylinder chamber).
Regarding Claim 8, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of DC generators configured to generate power based on vertical movement of the pump rod attachment platform (Col 6, lines 33-40; Col 23, lines 17-30 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses the use of a drive and/or a controller when the motor acts as a generator).
Regarding Claim 9, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the plurality of DC generators is configured to slow downward movement of the pump rod attachment platform (Col 6, lines 33-40; Col 23, lines 17-30 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses the use of a drive and/or a controller when the motor acts as a generator).
Regarding Claim 10, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of permanent magnets configured to slow downward movement of the pump rod attachment platform (Col 6, lines 33-40; Col 23, lines 17-30 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses the use of a drive and/or a controller).
Regarding Claim 11, Gregory discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more alignment rails located in a plurality of vertical members of the lifting platform (Figure 14; rails #510 and #512; Col 20, lines 54-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory et al (U.S Patent 8,668,475) (“Gregory”) in view of Brecheisen (U.S Patent 10,107,295) (“Brecheisen”).
Regarding Claim 12, Gregory discloses a system for pumping liquid from a well (Abstract; Figure 3; Col 5, lines 55-67), comprising:
a well head (Figure 1; Col 12, lines 29-53), a sucker rod (Col 5, lines 55-67), and a downhole pump (Abstract; Col 29-40);
a ground platform configured to surround the sucker rod at the well head (Col 6, lines 9-19; Col 12, lines 29-53 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a mounting apparatus);
an attachment platform coupled to the sucker rod (Col 5 lines 55-67; Col 6, lines 9-19 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a substantially vertically movable member attached to the polished rod of the sucker-rod);
a plurality of lifting actuators coupled to the attachment platform (Abstract; Col 7, lines 4-25 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a mechanical actuator arrangement), wherein the plurality of lifting actuators is configured to vertically reciprocate the attachment platform (Col 5, lines 55-67; Col 7, lines 26-34 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Gregory discloses a mechanical actuator arrangement that has a vertically movable member attached to the rod); and
a platform guide system coupled to the attachment platform and the ground platform (Col 6, lines 9-19), wherein the guide system is configured to measure a vertical position of the attachment platform (Col 5, lines 55-67; Col 12, lines 29-45; Col 14, lines 20-46).
Gregory, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the system comprises a control system configured to individually and selectively actuate each of the plurality of lifting actuators based on measurements by the platform guide system.
Brecheisen teaches the systems above including a control system configured to individually and selectively actuate each of the plurality of lifting actuators based on measurements by the platform guide system (Abstract; Col 13, lines 10-43; platform #405, Col 15, lines 26-40) for the purpose of controlling the pump apparatus assembly in order to allow the compressed/pressurized fluids to flow through the cylinder assemblies for lifting mechanisms (Abstract; Col 13, lines 54-67; Col 14, lines 28-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Gregory to include a control system configured to individually and selectively actuator a lifting actuator, as taught by Brecheisen, because doing so would help control the pump apparatus assembly in order to allow the compressed/pressurized fluids to flow through the cylinder assemblies for lifting mechanisms.
Regarding Claim 13, Gregory discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the platform guide system comprises a plurality of telemetry position sensors (Col 10, lines 19-44; Col 11, lines 16-29 and lines 55-67).
Regarding Claim 14, Gregory discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the platform guide system comprises a plurality of rails located in vertical members of the ground platform, wherein a portion of the attachment platform is configured to vertically move within the plurality of rails (Figure 14; rails #510 and #512; Col 20, lines 54-60).
Regarding Claim 15, Gregory discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the platform guide system comprises a plurality of adjustable vertical stop members configured to control vertical movement of the attachment platform (Figure 12; stop block #314 and clamping arrangements #310 and #312; Col 19, lines 57-67).
Regarding Claim 16, Gregory discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising a plurality of alignment actuators coupled to the attachment platform (Abstract; Col 7, lines 4-25), wherein the plurality of alignment actuators is configured to align the attachment platform based on measurements by the platform guide system (Col 5, lines 55-67; Col 12, lines 29-45; Col 14, lines 20-46).
Regarding Claim 17, Gregory discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising a power source, wherein the power source is selected from the group comprising an electric power station, a solar array, a battery source, and an electric grid (Col 6, lines 41-67).
Regarding Claim 18, Gregory discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising a hydraulic pump and an air compressor (Col 3, lines 3-19; Col 5, lines 55-67; Col 6, lines 20-25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Robinson et al (U.S Patent 10,844,852) – discloses a pumping unit including a tower and a counter-weight assembly moving along the tower; the pumping unit further includes a motor having a stator mounted to the crown and a rotor connected to the sprocket along with a sensor used to detect a position of the assembly (Abstract; Col 2, lines 8-25).
Marshall et al (U.S Patent 9,567,838) – discloses lifts and methods for reciprocating a downhole pump including a linear actuator and a piston-cylinder arrangement that connects with a rod and a stopper (Abstract; Col 2, lines 31-56).
Yin (U.S Patent 10,047,739) – discloses a pump jack system for vertically reciprocating a pump that includes a cylinder assembly and a piston in the drive cylinder with a sucker rod (Abstract; Figure 1; Col 2, lines 7-26).
/ASHISH K VARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674