DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08-18-2025 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 10-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guyan (2016/0360828).
Regarding claim 1, Guyan discloses a sole for an article of footwear, the sole (figs 1-5) comprising:
a three-dimensional mesh, the mesh comprising: a lattice structure (member 210) comprising a plurality of interconnected unit cells (member 300), each interconnected unit cell comprising a plurality of struts defining a three-dimensional structure and a plurality of nodes at which one or more unit cell struts (member 310) are connected (figs 3A to 5), and
an undulating lower side comprising a plurality of bumps, wherein the bumps are at least partially defined by one or more unit cells of the lattice structure (figs 3B annotated above),
wherein a first bump of the plurality of bumps comprises a first slope angle relative to a plane that is tangential to a first peak of the first bump, and a second bump of the plurality of bumps comprises a second slope angle relative to a plane that is tangential to a second peak of the second bump, and wherein the second slope angle is different from the first slope angle (fig 3B annotated above).
Regarding claim 2, Guyan discloses the first bump of the plurality of bumps is located in a toe region of the sole and the second bump of the plurality of bumps is located in a heel region of the sole (fig 3B annotated above).
Regarding claim 4, Guyan discloses a plurality of traction elements formed on the plurality of bumps (fig 3B annotated above).
Regarding claim 5, Guyan discloses each one of the plurality of traction elements comprises a separate continuous skin that covers a portion of a respective one of the plurality of bumps (fig 3B annotated above which has the structure on both sides).
Regarding claim 6, Guyan discloses a plurality of connecting ribs formed on the undulating lower side of the mesh and extending between adjacent traction elements of the plurality of traction elements (fig 3B annotated above which has the structure on both sides).
Regarding claim 7, Guyan discloses a sole for an article of footwear, the sole (figs 1-5) comprising:
a three-dimensional mesh, the mesh comprising: a lattice structure (member 210) comprising a plurality of interconnected unit cells (member 300), each interconnected unit cell comprising a plurality of struts defining a three-dimensional structure and a plurality of nodes at which one or more unit cell struts (member 310) are connected (figs 3A to 5), and
an undulating lower side comprising a plurality of bumps, wherein the bumps are at least partially defined by one or more unit cells of the lattice structure (figs 3B annotated above),
wherein a medial side of a first bump comprises a first slope angle relative to a plane that is tangential to a peak of the first bump and a lateral side of the first bump comprises a second slope angle relative to the plane, and wherein the first slope angle is different from the second slope angle (fig 3D annotated above).
Regarding claim 10, Guyan discloses a plurality of traction elements formed on the plurality of bumps (fig 3B annotated above).
Regarding claim 11, Guyan discloses each one of the plurality of traction elements comprises a separate continuous skin that covers a portion of a respective one of the plurality of bumps (fig 3B annotated above which has the structure on both sides).
Regarding claim 12, Guyan discloses a plurality of connecting ribs formed on the undulating lower side of the mesh and extending between adjacent traction elements of the plurality of traction elements (fig 3B annotated above which has the structure on both sides).
Regarding claim 13, Guyan discloses a sole for an article of footwear, the sole comprising: a three-dimensional mesh, the mesh comprising: a lattice structure (member 210) comprising a plurality of interconnected unit cells (member 300), each interconnected unit cell comprising a plurality of struts defining a three-dimensional structure and a plurality of nodes at which one or more unit cell struts (member 310) are connected (figs 3A to 5), and
an undulating lower side comprising a plurality of bumps, wherein the bumps are at least partially defined by one or more unit cells of the lattice structure (figs 3B annotated above),
a ground-facing portion on the lower side comprising a plurality of traction elements disposed on the bumps (figs 3B annotated above);
wherein a first traction element of the plurality of traction elements comprises a first skin covering at least two unit cells of the lattice structure, wherein the first skin is spaced apart from an adjacent second skin of a second traction element of the plurality of traction elements (figs 3B annotated above).
Regarding claim 14, Guyan discloses a first surface area of the first skin is different from a second surface area of the second skin (figs 3B annotated above).
Regarding claim 15, Guyan discloses each of the first and second skins comprise a ribbed traction pattern (figs 3B annotated above).
Regarding claim 17, Guyan discloses at least one connecting rib formed on the undulating lower side of the mesh and extending between the first skin and the second skin (figs 3B annotated above).
Regarding claim 18, Guyan discloses the at least one connecting rib is integrally formed with the first and second skins (figs 3B annotated above).
Regarding claim 19, Guyan discloses the at least one connecting rib comprises a wave or ripple shape between the first and second skin (figs 3B annotated above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guyan (2016/0360828).
Regarding claims 3 and 8-9, Guyan teaches all limitations except the first and second slope angles are between 5 degrees and 30 degrees and the first and second slope angles are between 50 degrees and 85 degrees.
However, figs 3A to 3H show the slope angles seems to fall between 15 to 130 degrees. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Gyan by using different slope angles as suggested in figs 3A to 3H in order to provide stability and cushioning to the footwear. In addition, applicant does not provide any criticality or unexpected results why the angles must be that specific; therefore the court held that the particular placement of a structure was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. The prior art must provide a motivation or reason for the worker in the art, without the benefit of appellant’s specification, to make the necessary changes in the reference device." Ex parte Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co., 223 USPQ 351, 353 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1984).
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guyan (2016/0360828) as applied to claims 15 and 17 above, and further in view of Redon et al. (11,819,088).
Regarding claim 16, Guyan teaches all limitations except the ribbed traction pattern comprises overlapping ribbed circles.
Redon teaches a sole having ribbed traction pattern comprises overlapping ribbed circles (fig 2, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Guyan by using the tractions of Redon in order to provide rigidity and stiffness where needed, and accommodating the natural movement and flexion of a foot inside of an article of footwear.
Regarding claim 20, Guyan teaches all limitations except of the at least one connecting rib extends across a width of the sole from a medial side to a lateral side of the sole.
Redon teaches a sole having at least one connecting rib extends across a width of the sole from a medial side to a lateral side of the sole (fig 2, member 116 and 126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Guyan by using the tractions of Redon in order to provide rigidity and stiffness where needed, and accommodating the natural movement and flexion of a foot inside of an article of footwear.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,414,602. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as a lattice structure with plurality of interconnected unit cells, a plurality of bumps on the ground facing surface, a separate continuous skin that covers a portion of the bumps. In addition, U.S. Patent No. 12,414,602 teaches the bump heights are different; therefore the slope angles also different (slope = height over distance).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732