DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovett et al. (US 2025/0100140) in view of Bono et al. (US 2021/0007688).
In re claim 1, Lovett discloses a robot apparatus (fig 1: 102) comprising:
a movable body portion (102);
a robot arm disposed on the body portion (104) to perform a predetermined operation ([0110]: “the arms may be used… to perform a task”);
a first tool changer coupled to the robot arm (106);
a second tool changer to which a tool is coupled (126; fig 7A: 708, 714; [0118]: the gripper mount on the robotic arm interacts with the gripper on the tool) and which is detachable from the first tool changer ([0022]: first sentence);
a wall (fig 1: 132; [0043]: last sentence) on which the second tool changer is mounted (122; [0116]: last sentence); and
a control unit for controlling an operation of the robot arm [0111].
Lovett lacks
a surgical robot apparatus
a second tool changer to which a medical tool is coupled and which is detachable from the first tool changer;
a hanger on which the second tool changer is mounted; and
Bono teaches a computer-controlled robot that can be used for surgical procedures [0022]. The robot has an arm (fig 1: 11) with a distal end that has a tool change coupler (16) that allows the robot to couple and uncouple medical tools from it [0022]. The tools are held in a tool hanger (18).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the system of Lovett by having the robot apparatus be used in surgery and by providing the tools on a hanger as taught by Bono, as robotic apparatuses are known to be used for surgical procedures and surgical tools may have to be changed out during the surgery so having the tools positioned in a hanger would save space in an operating room.
In re claim 2, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein the control unit controls the operation of the robot arm to couple the first tool changer to the second tool changer (fig 2: 208; [0111]) according to predetermined position data of the hanger ([0059]: “grippers may be arranged in predetermined location on a gripper wall”).
In re claim 3, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein, in a state where the first tool changer and the second tool changer are coupled, the control unit controls the operation of the robot arm according to the predetermined position data of the hanger ([0111]; [0059] “grippers may be arranged in predetermined location”)
to mount the second tool changer on the hanger ([0116]: tools are positioned for mounting and unmounting; [0124]: last sentence) and
then separate the first tool changer from the second tool changer ([0119]: gripper can be unmounted from the robot arm).
In re claim 4, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein the first tool changer comprises:
a first tool changer body coupled to the robot arm (fig 1: 106; [0047]: “end effector mounted structure”; and
a coupling protrusion protruding from the first tool changer body ([0124]: gripper mount is in the shape of a bulb or spheroid; fig 8: 802), inserted into the second tool changer, and including a coupling groove coupled to the second tool changer ([0124]; 804).
In re claim 5, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein the second tool changer comprises:
a second tool changer body to which the medical tool is coupled and which includes an insertion hole into which the coupling protrusion is inserted ([0124]; 804); and
a locking part provided on the second tool changer body, coupled to the hanger when the hanger is disposed ([0124]: last sentence), and coupled to the first tool changer when detached from the hanger [0119].
In re claim 7, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses further comprising a coupling block to which the second tool changer is coupled at one side and to which at least one medical tool is coupled at the other side (fig 7A: 708, 710, 714; [0118-0120]: the gripper has tabs on one side that allow for attachment to the robotic arm and the tool on the other side).
In re claim 14, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses further comprising:
a vision marker provided on at least one of the hanger and the second tool changer and indicating the type of the medical tool coupled to the second tool changer [0051, 0052], and
a vision sensor recognizing the vision marker (fig 1: 122, camera; [0051]).
In re claim 15, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein the control unit controls the operation of the robot arm to couple the first tool changer to the second tool changer by identifying the position of the hanger from the vision marker photographed by the vision sensor [0059].
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovett et al. (US 2025/0100140) in view of Bono et al. (US 2021/0007688) in view of Griffiths et al. (US 2022/0000571).
In re claim 16, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein the hanger is disposed [0043],
a plurality of second tool changers each coupled with different medical tools are coupled to the hanger (fig 1: multiple grippers are attached), and
a plurality of vision markers are provided on the hanger [0051, 0077].
The proposed combination lacks
wherein the hanger is disposed in plurality,
a plurality of second tool changers each coupled with different medical tools are coupled to the plurality of hangers, and
a plurality of vision markers are provided on the plurality of hangers.
Griffiths teaches a computer assisted surgical system that has a computer assisted device that has two arms ([0030, 0031]; fig 2). The arms have a manipulator (232a, 232b) that interface with different tools (240a, 240b; [0032]) that can be exchanged [0044]. To exchange to a different tool, the system identifies the sources of the different tool which could be on one of multiple tool racks [0053] and can be located by visual markers [0052].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the system of the proposed combination by having multiple tool hangers with tools as taught by Griffiths, as having multiple tool hangers would allow for more tools to be accessible for the system to exchange between.
In re claim 17, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein the control unit identifies the positions and alignment directions of the plurality of hangers from the plurality of vision markers photographed by the vision sensor ([0050]: first sentence; [0059]: the control unit can determine where the wall is with the grippers).
In re claim 18, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein the control unit identifies the types of the plurality of medical tools disposed on the plurality of hangers from the plurality of vision markers provided on the plurality of hangers ([0060, 0077]).
In re claim 19, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein the control unit controls the operation of the robot arm to couple the first tool changer to the second tool changer coupled with the medical tool necessary for a predetermined operation among the plurality of second tool changers ([0096]: the robot can select a tool depending on the application or task to be performed; [0111]).
In re claim 20, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Lovett) discloses wherein the control unit controls the operation of the robot arm such that, when the use of the medical tool of the second tool changer coupled to the first tool changer is completed, the second tool changer is coupled to the hanger, and the first tool changer is coupled to a second tool changer to which the medical tool necessary for the set next operation is coupled (fig 2; [0111]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In re claim 6, Lovett et al. (US 2025/0100140) and Bono (US 2021/0007688) fail to yield wherein the locking part comprises:
a locking lever rotatably disposed on the second tool changer body that is rotationally constrained by a locking protrusion provided on the hanger;
a locking block arranged to be slidingly movable on the second tool changer body and inserted into or separated from the coupling groove in response to the rotation of the locking lever; and
an elastic member engaged with the locking block and exerting elastic force to enable insertion of the locking block into the coupling groove.
The closest prior art is Lovett et al. (US 2025/0100140) and Nanbu et al. (2024/0401623).
Lovett teaches a mount fixed to the robot arm that mounts a gripper by inserting the mount into a recess in the gripper, compressing a spring, and then rotating the mount so pins engage recesses defined by overhangs on the gripper (fig 9; [0125]).
Nanbu teaches a connecting tool used for connecting two components [0002]. Two components are locked together by one component having a locking groove and the other component having a elastically deformable clip and engaging the clip to the groove (fig 16; [0003]).
Prior art does not teach a reason why it would be obvious to modify the device of the proposed combination to have a locking mechanism for attaching the second tool changer to the hanger using a locking lever, locking block, and an elastic member that function as explained.
In re claim 8 and In re claim 10, Lovett et al. (US 2025/0100140) and Bono (US 2021/0007688) yields (all mapping directed to Lovett)
In re claim 8, further comprising:
a support portion provided on the body portion and to which the robot arm is coupled (fig 1: 102, 104: the robot arm 104 is mounted to the movable body 102, the semi-oval structure would be the support); and
In re claim 10, further comprising:
a support portion provided on the body portion and to which the robot arm is coupled (fig 1: 102, 104: the robot arm 104 is mounted to the movable body 102, the semi-oval structure would be the support);
In re claim 8 and In re claim 10, Lovett et al. (US 2025/0100140) and Bono (US 2021/0007688) fail to yield
In re claim 8,
at least one slide bar coupled to the support portion to slide in parallel to the direction in which the body portion moves,
wherein the hanger is detachably coupled to the slide bar.
In re claim 10,
a coupling plate coupled to the support portion, at least one slide portion detachably coupled to the coupling plate and sliding; and
a hanger coupling portion detachably coupled to the slide portion and provided with the hanger.
The closest prior art is Sun et al. (US 7,387,600). Sun teaches a machine tool that has a housing, a tool storage rack that can be rotatably attached to the housing, and a plate that can be rotatably received in the housing. The plate and tool storage rack can be rotated relative to the tool (col 1, ln 63-67; col 2, ln 1-16).
Prior art does not teach a reason why it would be obvious to attach the tool hanger to a slide bar or a coupling plate that has a slide portion, the slide bar or coupling plate being attached to a support portion of the robot arm, as the robotic arms are already able to be moved relative to where the tool hanger is located, even if it is unattached to the robot itself.
Claims 9 and 11-13 are indicated as allowable subject matter due to their dependence on claims 8 and 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hsu et al. (US 2023/0173685) teaches a robotic tool changer system that has an automatic locking and unlocking mechanism to attach or detach a tool [0001]. A robotic arm has a first coupling unit at the end of the arm (fig 1: 1), that connects to a second coupling unit (fig 2: 3) that is attached to a tool changer gripper (fig 2: 2). A tool is fixed to the second coupling unit [0063].
Contact
/HALEY N PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/DAVID HAMAOUI/SPE, Art Unit 3796