DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 is dependent from claim 16. Claim 17 is further dependent from claim 16. A claim cannot depend from itself. Therefore claim 16 and 17 are not treated on the merits. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations
“an automated medication dispensing device” as recited in claim 10 line 2;
“powered rollers” as recited in claim 10 line 4;
“one or more cutters” as recited in claim 10 line 6;
“one or more sensors” as recited in claim 10 line 8;
“non-transitory storage media” as recited in claim 10 line 11;
“one or more microprocessors” as recited in claim 10 line 12;
“an operator” as recited in claim 10 line 13;
“a dispensing module casing” as recited in claim 10 line 16;
“a medication strip reel” as recited in claim 10 line 17;
“its structure” as recited in claim 10 line 17;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
It is suggested the Applicant review the claimed limitations and assure the structure as claimed is present in the drawings provided to expedite examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14,15,18-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s claims 11 recites the limitations “The system of claim 10 further comprises at least a second automated medication dispensing device for synchronized parallel dispensing in a central pharmacy.” However, Applicant’s specifications do not disclose the specifics of a system wherein the “dispensing device for synchronized parallel dispensing in a central pharmacy.” Therefore, claim 11 recites subject matter not originally in procession of the Applicant at the time of the invention.
Claims 11-14 include new matter thus, claims 11-14 are not treated on the merits.
Applicant’s claim 15 recites the limitations “wherein the one or more sensors comprise at least one scanner to scan encoded identifying information of the one or more medication pouches.” However, Applicant’s specifications do not disclose the specifics of a system wherein the “the one or more sensors comprise at least one scanner to scan encoded identifying information of the one or more medication pouches.” Therefore, claim 15 recites subject matter not originally in procession of the Applicant at the time of the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitations “further comprises a transport module attached to the automated medication dispensing device to store the one or more medication pouches, wherein the transport module is interchangeable, and wherein the transport module is equipped with a digital display that imparts information about distribution process and status information.” However, Applicant’s specifications do not disclose the specifics of the claimed limitations. Therefore, claim 18 recites subject matter not originally in procession of the Applicant at the time of the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitations “wherein the automated medication dispensing device is overridden by an operator interacting with the automated medication dispensing device directly when there is a failure that prevents the automated medication dispensing device from receiving dispensing orders.” However, Applicant’s specifications do not disclose the specifics of the claimed limitations. Therefore, claim 20 recites subject matter not originally in procession of the Applicant at the time of the invention.
Claims 21 recites the limitations “assigning dispensing orders of medications to automated medication dispensing devices… and alerting an operator once the order of medications is completed.” However, Applicant’s specifications do not disclose the specifics of the claimed limitations. Therefore, claims 21-27 recite subject matter not originally in procession of the Applicant at the time of the invention.
Claims 28 recites the limitations “autonomously checking that a transport module is attached to the automated medication dispensing device … taking picture of the one or more medication pouches.” However, Applicant’s specifications do not disclose the specifics of the claimed limitations. Therefore, claims 28-29 recite subject matter not originally in procession of the Applicant at the time of the invention.
**It is suggested the Applicant review the claimed limitations and assure the structure as claimed is present in the provided specifications to expedite examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “one or more sensors to record data from the one or more medications pouches as they are pulled,” as recited in line 8. It is unclear as to how the one or more sensors are configured to record data. Generally, in view of the Examiner sensors detect events and the information is transmitted to processors where the data is directed to be recorded on a recording media. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “they” in line 9. The limitations as recited are narrative and it is not clear as to what specifically “they” refers to. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitations “dispensing in a central pharmacy” in line 2. It is unclear as to whether the automated medication dispensing device is being claimed to be specifically present in a central pharmacy. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Bae (US 2014/0346184 A1).
Referring to claim 10. Bae discloses a system (Figure 1) comprising:
an automated medication dispensing device (Figure 3) of one or more medication pouches (10; Figure 4) comprising:
one or more powered rollers (152 and 155; Figure 6) to unfurl a held medication strip (strip of pouches 10) comprising the one or more medication pouches (10) by pulling action;
one or more cutters (252) to sever the one or more medication pouches from the held medication strip (The packet cutter 252 cuts the medication packets one by one; Para. [0077]);
one or more sensors (253) to record data from the one or more medications pouches as they are pulled (In one example, the packet detector 253 may be an optical sensor. To enable the optical sensor to detect the medication packets one by one, each medication packet may have a detectable mark printed thereon; Para. [0077]);
an electronic display (130);
non-transitory storage media (The storage component 220 is configured to include a non-volatile memory and to store a control program for medication management and relevant data used for control; Para. [0076]);
one or more microprocessors (260) to receive information of any held or dispensed medication from an operator and the one or more sensors, store any received information on the non-transitory storage media (Alternatively, the identification information may be provided as 2-dimensional code or 3-dimensional code on the delivery packet. The controller 260 may determine whether the delivery packet is correctly delivered, based on the identification information read by the reader 282. For example, the identification information read by the reader 282 is compared to identification information previously stored in a storage component 220, and when the read identification information is identical with the stored identification information, it is determined that the delivery packet is successfully delivered; Para. [0090]), and display any received information on the electronic display (The controller 121 may output biological signal information to the display component 130 so that the display component 130 can display the information on a screen thereof; Para. [0051]); and
a dispensing module casing (113), wherein the dispensing module casing comprises a medication strip reel (142; Figure 5) within its structure (111) to unfurl as medication is dispensed (see Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US 2014/0346184 A1) in view of Willoughby (US 7,963,201).
Referring to claim 11. (new matter present in claim) Bae does not specifically disclose further comprises at least a second automated medication dispensing device for synchronized parallel dispensing in a central pharmacy.
Willoughby discloses a medication dispensing apparatus (310; Figure 12) comprises at least a second automated medication dispensing device (second member 386) for synchronized parallel dispensing in a central pharmacy (wherein said feed mechanisms can feed separate packages at the same time; claim 9 of Willoughby).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Bae to include at least a second automated medication dispensing device for synchronized parallel dispensing in a central pharmacy as taught by Willoughby because multiple medications can be dispensed by the dispensing system at the same time.
Referring to claim 19. Willoughby discloses a medication dispensing apparatus (310; Figure 12) further comprises an infrastructural software to track the
one or more medication pouches and the transport module throughout their routes and
centralize collection of data for record-keeping and troubleshooting, and wherein the
infrastructural software updates destination and schedule according to changing needs (entral control of information passing between the pharmacy 10 and the dispenser 20 permits supervision and management of data, alerts, leave of absence (LOA) notices, inventory levels, and other information; Col. 4 lines 6-11; This connection enables the dispenser 20 to communicate with the data center 14 to receive information such as updates, electronic manifests, schedules, and alerts. The dispenser 20 will also use this communication path to send out requests for replenishment or help or to communicate discrepancies in data or a change in data or schedules; Col. 7 line 39-44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651