DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12282824. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the following claims of instant application recites most of limitations in the following claims of above-identified patent, as shown below:
Claim 19 of 19/303136
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,282,824
19. A system for processing an image , the system comprising: one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to: receive an image; binarize the image into digital data; determine that data values of a first row in the digital data and the data values of a second row in the digital data are similar; identify a selected region in the digital data, wherein the selected region comprises the first row and the second row; and process the digital data associated with the selected region to extract data associated with the selected region.
20. The system of Claim 19 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to store the digital data associated with the selected region in memory.
1. A system for extracting a region of interest from a captured image of an item, the system comprising: an imaging device configured to capture an image of an item; and one or more processors in communication with the imaging device, the one or more processors configured to: convert the captured image of the item into digital data, wherein the digital data comprises data values; determine that the data values of a first row and the data values of a second row are the same; identify a computer readable code region in the digital data, wherein the computer readable code region comprises the first row and the second row; and process the digital data associated with the computer readable code region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 12 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aller et al. (US 20110244919 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Aller discloses methods and systems for determining image processing operations relevant to particular imagery comprising:
passing the captured image of the item through a filter to generate a modified captured image, wherein the filter generates an outer boundary of black pixels around a computer readable code region (¶357);
performing edge detection on the modified captured image between the outer boundary of the computer readable code region and a background area excluding the computer readable code region (¶402);
identifying the computer readable code region in the modified captured image based on at least the edge detection of the outer boundary of the computer readable code region (¶276);
processing the computer readable code region to extract data associated with the computer readable code region (¶387).
Regarding claim 12, Aller disclose the method of claim 10 above and further discloses wherein the filter downsamples the captured image of the item (¶388).
Regarding claim 14, Aller disclose the method of claim 10 above and further discloses wherein binarizing the captured image to create digital data (¶387).
Regarding claim 15, Aller disclose the method of claim 10 above and further discloses wherein the computer readable code region comprises a two-dimensional barcode comprising white spaces and black spaces (¶557).
Regarding claim 16, Aller disclose the method of claim 15 above and further discloses wherein the two-dimensional barcode is a QR code (¶557).
Regarding claim 17, Aller disclose the method of claim 14 above and further discloses wherein the digital data associated with the computer readable code region is stored in memory (¶387, ¶666).
Regarding claim 18, Aller disclose the method of claim 17 above and further discloses wherein the memory is further configured to store pixel numbers of horizontal and vertical sides of the computer readable code region. (¶355-¶360: Each source pixel is mapped independently). Since, each source pixel is mapped independently, pixel numbers are necessarily stored at least temporarily.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art of record does not teach, fairly suggests or make obvious a system for extracting a region of interest from a captured image of an item, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to: receive an image of an item; pass the captured image of the item through a first filter to generate a modified captured image, wherein the first filter generates an outer boundary of black pixels around a computer readable code region within the captured image with black pixels; perform edge detection between the outer boundary of the computer readable code region and a background area excluding the computer readable code region; identify the computer readable code region in the modified captured image based on at least on the edge detection of the outer boundary of the computer readable code region; pass the modified captured image of the item through a second filter; process the computer readable code region to extract data associated with the computer readable code region (claim 1).
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art of record does not teach, fairly suggests or make obvious a method of extracting a region of interest from a captured image of an item, the method comprising: passing the captured image of the item through a filter to generate a modified captured image, wherein the filter generates an outer boundary of black pixels around a computer readable code region; performing edge detection on the modified captured image between the outer boundary of the computer readable code region and a background area excluding the computer readable code region; identifying the computer readable code region in the modified captured image based on at least the edge detection of the outer boundary of the computer readable code region; processing the computer readable code region to extract data associated with the computer readable code region; passing the modified captured image through a second filter (claims 10 & 11); nor a method of extracting a region of interest from a captured image of an item, the method comprising: passing the captured image of the item through a filter to generate a modified captured image, wherein the filter generates an outer boundary of black pixels around a computer readable code region; performing edge detection on the modified captured image between the outer boundary of the computer readable code region and a background area excluding the computer readable code region; identifying the computer readable code region in the modified captured image based on at least the edge detection of the outer boundary of the computer readable code region; processing the computer readable code region to extract data associated with the computer readable code region, wherein the filter converts the computer readable code region into a solid black shape, wherein the solid black shape has identical dimensions to the computer readable code region (claims 10 & 13).
Conclusion
/TOAN C LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876