DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-21 are pending in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 12. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-12, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotta et al (or hereinafter "Hotta") (US 20090292810) in view of Granstrom et al (or hereinafter "Gran") (US 8924476) and Vander Broek (or hereinafter "Vander") (US 20150213631).
As to claim 2, Hotta teaches a method comprising:
“defining, by one or more computing devices, a query processing scheme for obtaining and processing the set of data” as defining, by one or more processors 109, 111, 113, 115 as one or more computing devices, a system outline of message binding processing apparatus or message binding processing apparatus as a query processing scheme (fig. 5, paragraphs 34-35) for receiving and storing as processing messages of data as the set of data (fig. 5, paragraphs 34-36), “the query processing scheme including a dynamic allocation of partitions to process the messages” as the message binding processing apparatus includes the message allocation unit 103 that dynamically allocates messages in the allocation queue 1031 to binding queues 1091, 111, 1131 and 1151 to process messages (figs. 5, paragraphs 34-36). The allocation of messages to binding queues 1091, 111, 1131 and 1151 is performed dynamically when allocation rule is changed (paragraphs 40, 43-44). When the allocation rule is changed and the binding processing unit of the allocation destination is changed, the messages are allocated again by the message allocation unit (paragraphs 56-57);
“wherein defining the query processing scheme includes: dynamically allocating ……to individual partitions” as defining message binding processing apparatus (abstract, fig. 5, paragraphs 34-35) comprises allocating messages to binding queues 1091, 111, 1131 and 1151 as individual partitions (paragraphs 34, 39) associated with associated with message allocation unit 103 of the message binding processing apparatus (fig. 5, paragraphs 18, 34). The allocating of messages to the binding queues 1091, 111, 1131 and 1151as individual partitions is performed dynamically when allocation rule is changed (paragraphs 40, 43-44). When the allocation rule is changed and the binding processing unit of the allocation destination is changed, the messages are allocated again by the message allocation unit (paragraphs 56-57);
“the individual partitions to repeatedly collect messages from a corresponding allocated individual queue” as the binding queues 1091, 111, 1131 and 1151as the individual partitions repeatedly receive messages from a allocation queue 1031 as a corresponding allocated individual queue1091 over completion of processing of messages in allocation queue 1031 or a timing the processing is terminated that is not the plurality of time windows (figs. 5, 7-8, paragraphs 34-36, 39-40).
For example, the binding processor 109 identifies messages to be outputted to other binding processors based on the allocation rule after the change among the messages stored in the binding queue 1091 (step S45) (figs. 9-10, paragraphs 40, 43- 44).
In particularly, the message allocation unit 103 reads out one message from the allocation queue 1031 in an order of receiving the message (FIG. 7: step S11), and identifies one binding processor, which should process the read message, based on the data concerning the allocation rule, which is stored in the allocation rule storage 105, and the transaction ID included in the read message (step S13). Then, the message allocation unit 103 outputs the read message to the identified binding processor (step S15). The processing of the steps S11 to S15 is repeated until a timing the processing is terminated (step S17) (paragraph 39).
The message allocation unit 103 that has an allocation queue 1031 temporarily storing messages received by the message receiving unit 101, and allocates messages stored in the allocation queue 103 to one binding processor in charge of the message, according to the allocation rule stored in the allocation rule storage 105; binding processors 109 to 115 that respectively have one of binding queues 1091 to 1151 storing messages allocated from the message allocation unit 103 (paragraph 34), and
“at the end of each time window, cause the messages received during a time window to be processed by a processing partition” as when all of the messages belonging to the specific transaction have become complete as at the end of time window, the binding processor 109 outputs all messages from its queue to the data processor 117 (step S35). The steps S31 to S35 are repeated until the binding processor 109 stops its processing or the termination of the processing is instructed (step S37) (fig. 9, paragraph 42).
In particularly, when the message allocation unit 103 receives, from the message receiving unit 101, the message received by the message receiving unit 101, the message allocation unit 103 temporarily stores the received message into the allocation queue 1031. The message received from the binding processors 109 to 113 is also stored into the allocation queue 1031. Then, the message allocation unit 103 reads out one message from the allocation queue 1031 in an order of receiving the message (FIG. 7: step S11), and identifies one binding processor, which should process the read message, based on the data concerning the allocation rule, which is stored in the allocation rule storage 105, and the transaction ID included in the read message (step S13). This processing has been explained above. Then, the message allocation unit 103 outputs the read message to the identified binding processor (step S15). The processing of the steps S11 to S15 is repeated until a timing the processing is terminated (step S17) (paragraph 39).
Hotta does not explicitly teach limitations
receiving a query from a client device, the query including criteria for identifying search results from a set of data comprising messages published to a publish-subscribe messaging system; and
to identify the search results; individual queues of the message queues;
determining a number of messages queues on the publish-subscribe messaging system in which the messages are placed;
over a plurality of time windows of a specified duration;
executing the query based on the query processing scheme.
Gran teaches limitations
“receiving a query from a client device, the query including criteria for identifying search results from a set of data comprising messages published to a publish-subscribe messaging system” as receiving a request or query from a client computer (figs. 1, 4, col. 7, lines 5-35), the request or query includes information, including the stream ID as criteria that can enable the partitions of the repository as criteria (fig. 4, col. 12, lines 60-67; col. 13, lines 1-5; col. 5, lines 50-67; col. 6, lines 1-20) for identifying search results from a set of data includes include video or data patterns or structures, such as digital video fingerprints, associated with digital media content or segments of a data stream from the plurality of partitions of the system 100 (col. 17, lines 10-67). The segments as messages distributed to the repository 102 as a publish-subscribe messaging system (fig. 1. col. 11, lines 10-30);
“to identify the search results” as to process segments to identifying results (abstract, fig. 4, col. 12, lines 5-67);
“individual queues of the message queues” as dynamically distributing queues of message queues to partitions of repository (col. 10, lines 1-20) e.g., the number of queues M can be adjusted (e.g., increased, decreased) based at least in part on (e.g., in response to) a change (e.g., increase, decrease) in the number of partitions N of the repository. For example, a queue management component can modify the number of queues M of the queue component 300 in response to a change in the number of partitions N of the repository (col. 11, lines 54-60), re-delivery or redistributing data segments from queues to partitions over a period of time such as time window, such as, for example, a day, a week, a month (abstract, col. 6, lines 59- 67; col. 18, lines 20-67). A day that includes 24 hours, a week that includes 7 days or a month that includes 30 days is represented as a plurality of time windows. The partitions of repository is associated with a request of the repository (fig. 10, col. 19, lines 4-40). The queues of the message queues associated with the driver component;
“determining a number of messages queues on the publish-subscribe messaging system in which the messages are placed” as defining a query schema (fig. 3) includes determining a number of messages queues on adjusting a number of messages queues on the publish-subscribe messaging system in which the messages are placed (col. 5, lines 50-67; col. 6, lines 1-20; col. 11, lines 35-67);
“executing the query based on the query processing scheme” as executing the query based on the structure (figs. 1, 3-4, 7; col. 17, lines 10-35).
Gran further teaches limitations
“defining, by one or more computing devices, a query processing scheme for obtaining and processing the set of data, the query processing scheme including a dynamic allocation of partitions to process the messages to identify the search results” as defining, by one or more devices, a query processing structure (fig. 1; col. 5, lines 30-67; col. 6, lines 1-25) for obtaining and processing the set of data (col. 7, lines 15-67) and the query processing structure (fig. 1) includes dynamic allocation of partitions e.g., redistribute one or more data segments to the partition (fig. 9, col. 18, lines 50-65) to process segments to identifying results (abstract, fig. 4, col. 12, lines 5-67);
“dynamically allocating individual queues of the message queues to individual partitions” as dynamically distributing queues of message queues to partitions of repository (col. 10, lines 1-20) e.g., the number of queues M can be adjusted (e.g., increased, decreased) based at least in part on (e.g., in response to) a change (e.g., increase, decrease) in the number of partitions N of the repository. For example, a queue management component can modify the number of queues M of the queue component 300 in response to a change in the number of partitions N of the repository (col. 11, lines 54-60), re-delivery or redistributing data segments from queues to partitions over a period of time such as time window, such as, for example, a day, a week, a month (abstract, col. 6, lines 59- 67; col. 18, lines 20-67). A day that includes 24 hours, a week that includes 7 days or a month that includes 30 days is represented as a plurality of time windows. The partitions of repository is associated with a request of the repository (fig. 10, col. 19, lines 4-40). The queues of the message queues associated with the driver component;
wherein defining the query processing scheme includes: determining a number of messages queues on the publish-subscribe messaging system in which the messages are placed as defining a query schema (fig. 3) includes determining a number of messages queues on adjusting a number of messages queues on the publish-subscribe messaging system in which the messages are placed (col. 5, lines 50-67; col. 6, lines 1-20; col. 11, lines 35-67).
Hotta and Gran teach a method for distributing messages to one or more nodes or devices. These references are in the same field as application's field. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Gran's teaching to Hotta's system to provide a search results corresponding client's request quickly, to recover data quickly after a network communication disruption, and further to replicate data virtually as many times as desired.
Vander teaches the claimed limitation:
"over a plurality of time windows of a specified duration" as retrieve all
events as messages over a plurality of time slots or time periods of time range (fig. 1, paragraphs 50, 61, 71). A plurality of time slots or time periods of time range is represented as a plurality of time windows of a specified duration.
For example, a single query which may be used to retrieve all events that occur within a given time range (paragraph 50). The different time periods (e.g., including one or more time slots) within the time range (paragraph 104).
Hotta, Vander teach a method for distributing resources or sources to one or
more nodes or devices. These references are in the same field as application's field. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention Vander's teaching to Hotta's system to
quickly find events containing the keyword without having to examine again each
individual event, thereby greatly accelerating keyword searches (paragraph 60), to
provide search and data analysis functionality to a user in gaining a better
understanding of the performance and security of an enterprise organization's
information technology infrastructure (paragraph 32) and further to enable parallel
searching of events in response to a query initiated by a user or within an enterprise
network environment (paragraph 62).
As to claim 3, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation “wherein each time window is a predetermined length of time” as a time window is a selected time range as a predetermined length of time (Vander: fig. 5A, paragraphs 20, 84), e.g., seconds, minutes, hours, days, weeks, and months (Vander: paragraphs 47-48).
As to claim 4, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation “wherein dynamically allocating individual queues of the message queues to individual partitions comprises evenly allocating the individual queues among one or more worker node computing devices” as dynamically allocating individual queues of the message queues to individual partitions comprises evenly distributing the queues among the storage nodes ( Gran: col. 11, lines 35-67; Hotta: paragraphs 43-44; Vander: fig. 2, paragraphs 41, 51, 53-54).
As to claim 5, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation “wherein a number of the individual partitions is equal to a number of message queues, and wherein dynamically allocating individual queues to individual partitions comprises allocating a single queue to each individual partition” as a number of the partitions is equal to a number of the queues, and wherein dynamically allocating individual queues to individual partitions comprises allocating a queue to each partition (Gran: col. 11, lines 35-67) and dynamically allocating individual queues to individual partitions comprises allocating a single transaction that includes messages to each processor (Hotta: paragraph 36; Vander: fig. 2, paragraphs 41, 51, 53-54).
As to claim 6, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation “wherein a number of the individual partitions is less than a number of the message queues, and wherein dynamically allocating individual queues to individual processors comprises allocating multiple queues to each of the individual partitions” as a number of the partitions is less than a number of the queues, and wherein dynamically allocating individual queues to individual partitions comprises allocating multiple queues to each of the partitions (Gran: fig. 3, col. 11, lines 35-67) and dynamically allocating transactions to individual processors comprises allocating multiple messages to each of the partitions (Hotta: paragraphs 34-36; Vander: fig. 2, paragraphs 41, 51, 53-54).
As to claim 7, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation “wherein at least two of the individual partitions are implemented within a common worker node computing device” as two partition are executed within a device (Gran: fig. 1, col. 5, lines 50-67; col. 6, lines 1-40) or processor (Hotta: fig. 5, paragraphs 40, 43-44; Vander: fig. 2, paragraphs 41, 51, 53-54).
As to claim 8, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation “wherein each of the individual partitions is implemented within a different worker node computing device” as each of the partitions is implemented within a different devices (Gran: fig. 1, col. 5, lines 50-67; col. 6, lines 1-40) or different processors (Hotta: fig. 5, paragraphs 37, 40; Vander: fig. 2, paragraphs 41, 51, 53-54).
As to claim 9, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation “wherein the set of data corresponds to a topic of the publish-subscribe messaging system” as events corresponds to a field of the publish-subscribe messaging system (Vander: abstract, paragraphs 5-6; Gran: fig. 12, col. 21, lines 30-67; col. 22, lines 1-25).
As to claim 10, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitations
“wherein the set of data corresponds to a topic of the publish-subscribe messaging system” as the set of data corresponds to (Gran: fig. 12, col. 21, lines 30-67; col. 22, lines 1-25; Hotta: fig. 5, paragraph 37) a topic of the publish- subscribe messaging system (Vander: paragraphs 5-6; Gran: fig. 12, col. 21, lines 30-67; col. 22, lines 1-25; Hotta: fig. 5, paragraph 37), and
“wherein determining the number of messages queues on the publish-subscribe messaging system in which the messages are placed comprises querying the publish-subscribe messaging system for identifying information of one or more message queues corresponding to the topic” as determining number of messages queues on the publish-subscribe messaging system, the messages placed on the publish-subscribe messaging system comprises querying the publish-subscribe messaging system for identifying information of one or more message queues corresponding to (Gran: fig. 12, col. 21, lines 30-67; col. 22, lines 1-25; Hotta: fig. 5, paragraph 37) a field as topic (Vander: abstract, paragraphs 5-6).
As to claims 11-12, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation
“identifying, from the criteria, that the query is directed to data on the publish-subscribe messaging system based at least in part on the criteria of the query” as identifying, from the criteria, that the query is directed to data on the publish- subscribe messaging system based at least in part on the criteria of the query (Gran: fig. 12, col. 21, lines 30-67; col. 22, lines 1-25; Vander: fig. 2, paragraphs 41, 51, 53-54; Hotta: paragraph 3).
As to claim 15, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation
“wherein the messages are associated with a topic on the publish-subscribe messaging system” as events as messages are associated with field as topic on the publish-subscribe messaging system (Gran: fig. 12, col. 21, lines 30-67; col. 22, lines 1-25; Hotta: paragraph 3; Vander: abstract, paragraphs 5-6);
“transmitting the search to the publish-subscribe messaging system as messages for a second topic” as transmitting the search results as messages to (Gran: fig. 12, col. 21, lines 30-67; col. 22, lines 1-25; Hotta: paragraph 3) the publish-subscribe messaging system for a field as a second topic (Vander: abstract, paragraphs 5-6).
As to claim 16, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation
wherein the publish-subscribe messaging system queues the messages for delivery to indexers that index data within the messages” as the publish-subscribe messaging system queues the messages for delivery to indexers that index data within the messages (Vander: fig. 2, paragraphs 51-54, 75-76).
As to claim 17, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation
“ wherein the publish-subscribe messaging system queues the messages for delivery to indexers that index data within the messages, and wherein the indexers place indexed data generated from the messages within a common storage also accessible to the processors” as the publish-subscribe messaging system queues the messages for delivery to indexers that index data within the messages, and the indexers place indexed data generated from the messages within a common storage also accessible to processors (Vander: fig. 2, paragraphs 238, 51-54, 75-76) or processors (Hotta: paragraphs 34-36, fig. 5).
Claim 18 has the same limitations as discussed in claim 2; thus claim 18 is rejected under the same reason as discussed in claim 2. In addition, Hotta and Gran teach a system comprising: a data store including computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions causes the system to: (as a memory as data store includes instructions and processor configured to execute the computer-executable instructions, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions causes the system to: Hotta: paragraphs 61-62; Gran: fig. 11, col. 21, lines 5-60).
Claim 20 has the same limitations as discussed in claim 2; thus claim 20 is rejected under the same reason as discussed in claim 2. In addition, Hotta and Gran teach non-transitory computer-readable media including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to: (Hotta: paragraphs 61-62; Gran: fig. 11, col. 21, lines 5-60).
Claims 13-14, 19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotta in view Gran and Vander and further in view of Traversat et al (US 20020152299).
As to claims 13, 19, 21, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the claimed limitation
“wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions causes the system to” as execution of the computer-executable instructions causes the system (Hotta: paragraphs 61-62; Gran: fig. 11, col. 21, lines 5-60) or “wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions causes the computing system to” as execution of the computer-executable instructions causes the computing system to; and/or
“transmit or transmitting search results generated from a collection of messages to a data destination and, subsequent to transmitting the search results search results generated from the collection of messages, transmitting” as transmitting partial search results generated from search requests or collection of events to the search head, and subsequent to transmitting the search results generated from search requests or collection of events to the search head (Vander: paragraphs 53; 75, fig. 4C), displaying as transmitting results to client 105 and user 115 (Vander: paragraphs 46, 53, fig. 1).
Hotta, Gran and Vander do not explicitly teach the limitations
an acknowledgement of each message within the collection of messages to the publish-subscribe messaging system.
Tra teaches limitation “an acknowledgement of each message within the collection of messages to the publish-subscribe messaging system” as transmitting an acknowledgement of messages within buffer to the source peer as publish-subscribe messaging system (paragraphs 64-65).
Tra further teaches limitation “transmitting an acknowledgement of each message within the collection of messages to the publish-subscribe messaging system” as transmitting an acknowledgement of messages within buffer to the source peer as publish-subscribe messaging system (paragraphs 64-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Tra's teaching to Hotta's system in order to enable a system discard the duplicate received messages, or alternatively may overwrite the previously received copies of the messages and further to provide reliable bi-directional message deliver.
As to claim 14, Hotta, Gran and Vander teach the limitations
“transmitting search results generated from a collection of messages to a data destination and, subsequent to transmitting the search results search results generated from the collection of messages, transmitting……” as transmitting partial search results generated from search requests or the collection of events to the search head, and subsequent to transmitting the search results generated from search requests or collection of events to the search head (Vander: paragraphs 53; 75, figs. 4A, 4C), displaying as transmitting results to client 105 and user 115 (Vander: paragraphs 46, 53, fig. 1);
“wherein transmitting ……comprises instructing individual partitions that collected each message within the collection of messages to transmit……” as transmitting partial search results to the search head comprises (Vander: paragraphs 53; 75, fig. 4C) requesting as instructing, via indexers, data stores as individual partitions that are collected events in collection of events to return as transmit each result for each request to (Vander: paragraphs 53, 66, 76) a repository 102 as the publish-subscribe messaging system (Gran: fig. 1, col. 11, lines 10-30).
Hotta, Gran and Vander do not explicitly teach limitations
an acknowledgement of each message within the collection of messages to the publish-subscribe messaging system;
the acknowledgement of each message within the collection of messages to the publish-subscribe messaging system;
acknowledgements for each message to the publish-subscribe messaging system.
Tra teaches the limitations
" an acknowledgement of each message within the collection of messages to the publish-subscribe messaging system" transmitting an acknowledgement of messages within buffer to the source peer as publish-subscribe messaging system (paragraphs 64-65),
"the acknowledgement of each message within the collection of messages to the publish-subscribe messaging system " as transmitting acknowledgement of messages within buffer to the source peer as publish-subscribe messaging system (paragraphs 64-65);
“acknowledgements for each message to the publish-subscribe messaging system” as transmitting acknowledgements for messages within buffer to the source peer as publish-subscribe messaging system (paragraphs 64-65).
Tra teaches further the limitations
"transmitting an acknowledgement of each message within the collection of messages to the publish-subscribe messaging system" transmitting an acknowledgement of messages within buffer to the source peer as publish-subscribe messaging system (paragraphs 64-65),
"transmitting the acknowledgement of each message within the collection of messages to the publish-subscribe messaging system " as transmitting acknowledgement of messages within buffer to the source peer as publish-subscribe messaging system (paragraphs 64-65);
“transmit acknowledgements for each message to the publish-subscribe messaging system” as transmitting acknowledgements for messages within buffer to the source peer as publish-subscribe messaging system (paragraphs 64-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Tra's teaching to Hotta's system in order to enable a system discard the duplicate received messages, or alternatively may overwrite the previously received copies of the messages and further to provide reliable bi-directional message deliver.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Meng et al (US 20170085653) discloses distributing message queues corresponding to terminal service platforms (paragraph 42).
Contact information
/CAM Y T TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169