DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 10-11, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1 and 10, every instance of “pool automatic cleaning device” should be replaced with “pool cleaning device”
In claims 2 and 11, “a mode for cleaning both a bottom surface and a side wall” should be “a mode for cleaning both [[a]] the bottom surface and a side wall”
In claim 20, “and position of platform relative to the bottom surface” should be “and position of the platform relative to the bottom surface”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“cleaning device” configured to move around and clean a surface in claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-18
“downward detector” configured to detect obstacles and an edge of a platform in claim 19
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification reveals the following:
“cleaning device” : disclosed as a cleaning robot in paragraph [0012] and Fig. 1 of the specification. This is adequate structure to perform the claimed function.
“downward detector” : disclosed as being implement by sensors and a controller in paragraph [0023] of the specification. This is adequate structure to perform the claimed function.
Since there is adequate structure to perform the claimed functions in the specification, no 112 rejections are given and no further action is required by applicant with respect to the above 112(f) interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-11, 15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by van der Meijden et al. (US 20240254796 A1), hereinafter referred to as van. Where appropriate, claims containing similar limitations are grouped together for readability and all claims in such groups are rejected.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, van discloses An automatic pool cleaning device (van discloses an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) [See at least van, 0101]), comprising:
a controller (van discloses a controller (processor and/or memory) [See at least van, 0034]) configured to perform instructions (van discloses that the APC may be controlled (e.g., using a controller onboard the APC) [See at least van, 0042]) to determine a cleaning mode of the pool automatic cleaning device (van discloses that the sensors may facilitate detection of a stair edge [See at least van, 0041]. Van further discloses that a tilt sensor and a controller “configured to detect ascending or descending a stair of [a pool] stairway in accordance with a sensed tilt of the pool cleaner.” [See at least van, 0002]. The art described in [van, 0002] is fully incorporated by reference [See at least van, 0002]. Van further discloses that the APC 10 may include a tilt sensor (e.g., an accelerometer, level sensor, presence sensor, distance sensor, and/or other suitable sensor) that may detect tilting of the APC 10 and recognize the edge of the step [See at least van, 0052]. The situation in which stairs are detected may be regarded as a stair cleaning mode of the APC), to determine a cleaning strategy for the pool automatic cleaning device to clean a pool with a platform (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The stairs may broadly be regarded as platforms), based on the determined cleaning mode (van discloses that the sensors may facilitate detection of a stair edge [See at least van, 0041]. Van further discloses that a tilt sensor and a controller “configured to detect ascending or descending a stair of [a pool] stairway in accordance with a sensed tilt of the pool cleaner.” [See at least van, 0002]. Van further discloses that the APC 10 may include a tilt sensor (e.g., an accelerometer, level sensor, presence sensor, distance sensor, and/or other suitable sensor) that may detect tilting of the APC 10 and recognize the edge of the step [See at least van, 0052]. The situation in which stairs are detected may be regarded as a stair cleaning mode of the APC), and to control the pool automatic cleaning device to clean a bottom surface and/or a side wall of the pool according to the determined cleaning strategy (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, van discloses The automatic pool cleaning device of claim 10, wherein the cleaning strategy in a case where the cleaning mode corresponds to a mode for cleaning both a bottom surface and a side wall of the pool (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”) comprises:
controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to clean the bottom surface (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”); and
controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to clean a first part of the side wall after cleaning the bottom surface, the first part being at one side of the platform (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”. As the method is repeated, it will be appreciated that a rise is cleaned after each run. So wall/rise 602 may be regarded as applicant’s “first part of the side wall” and the floor/run of stair 601 may be regarded as applicant’s “bottom surface”).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, van discloses The automatic pool cleaning device of claim 10, wherein the cleaning strategy in a case where the cleaning mode corresponds to a mode for cleaning only a side wall of the pool (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”. To read on the current claim limitation, all that is needed is to interpret the part where the APC cleans the rise as a different from the mode from the part where the APC cleans the run) comprises:
controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to clean a first part of the side wall, the first part being at one side of the platform (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”. To read on the current claim limitation, all that is needed is to interpret the part where the APC cleans the rise as a different from the mode from the part where the APC cleans the run).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, van discloses The automatic pool cleaning device of claim 10, wherein the cleaning strategy in a case where the cleaning mode corresponds to a mode for cleaning only a bottom surface of the pool (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”. To read on the current claim limitation, all that is needed is to interpret the part where the APC cleans the rise as a different from the mode from the part where the APC cleans the run) comprises:
controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to clean the bottom surface (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”. To read on the current claim limitation, all that is needed is to interpret the part where the APC cleans the rise as a different from the mode from the part where the APC cleans the run); and
in a case where the platform is still to be cleaned after cleaning the bottom surface, controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to move to the platform based on an orientation information of the platform relative to the bottom surface, and to clean the platform (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The run of step 601 may be regarded as applicant’s “bottom surface” and the run of step 603 may be regarded as applicant’s “platform”).
Regarding claim 19, van discloses The automatic pool cleaning device of claim 10, further comprising:
a downward detector configured to detect obstacles below the automatic pool cleaning device (van discloses that a tilt sensor and a controller “configured to detect ascending or descending a stair of [a pool] stairway in accordance with a sensed tilt of the pool cleaner.” [See at least van, 0002]. The art described in [van, 0002] is fully incorporated by reference [See at least van, 0002]. The step may broadly be regarded as an “obstacle”), wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether the automatic pool cleaning device has arrived at an edge of the platform, based on detected data from the downward detector (Van discloses that the APC 10 may include a tilt sensor (e.g., an accelerometer, level sensor, presence sensor, distance sensor, and/or other suitable sensor) that may detect tilting of the APC 10 and recognize the edge of the step [See at least van, 0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van der Meijden et al. (US 20240254796 A1) in view of Goldenberg et al. (US 20250027328 A1), hereinafter referred to as Goldenberg.
Regarding claim 20, van discloses The automatic pool cleaning device of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to determine and record a direction and position of platform relative to the bottom surface (van discloses that a tilt sensor and a controller “configured to detect ascending or descending a stair of [a pool] stairway in accordance with a sensed tilt of the pool cleaner.” [See at least van, 0002]. The art described in [van, 0002] is fully incorporated by reference [See at least van, 0002]. The step may broadly be regarded as an “obstacle”).
However, van does not explicitly teach the device wherein the direction and position of a platform are recorded based on changes of yaw angles of the automatic pool cleaning device during moving from the platform to the bottom surface.
However, Goldenberg does teach a method for operating a pool cleaning device wherein the direction and position of a platform are recorded based on changes of yaw angles of the automatic pool cleaning device (See at least Fig. 2 in Goldenberg: Goldenberg teaches that pool shape may be determined by ordering the walls of the water pool 204 detected during the scan based on their detected value of yaw angle (e.g. by magnetometer, gyroscope and/or the like included in sensors 254) [See at least Goldenberg, 0167]. It will be appreciated from Fig. 2 that this pool shape includes both a platform S3 and a bottom area S1) during moving from the platform to the bottom surface (See at least Fig. 2 in Goldenberg: Goldenberg teaches that the pool equipment unit 202 is initially located at surface 206 S3 from where it is operated to start exploring the water pool 204 [See at least Goldenberg, 0137]. Goldenberg further teaches that In such case, based on analysis of the sensory data captured by the sensors 254 of the pool equipment unit 202, the mapping engine 220 may map the surface 206 S3, and operate the pool equipment unit 202 accordingly to move to the surface 206 S2, and from the surface 206 S2 to the surface 206 S1 which may be identified by the mapping engine 220 as a lowest node (surface) 206 in the water pool 204, or at least a local lowest node 206 [See at least Goldenberg, 0137]). Both Goldenberg and van teaches methods for operating pool cleaning robots in pools with platforms located at various elevations. However, only Goldenberg explicitly teaches where those areas may be mapped based on detected changes in yaw while descending from a higher elevation (i.e., a platform) to a lower elevation (i.e., a bottom area).
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pool cleaning robot of van to also map the areas located at various elevations in the pool based on detected changes in yaw while descending from a higher elevation (i.e., a platform) to a lower elevation (i.e., a bottom area), as in Goldenberg. Doing so improves safety and efficiency by providing the robot with this valuable map information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 12-14, and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record is van der Meijden et al. (US 20240254796 A1) in view of Goldenberg et al. (US 20250027328 A1), hereinafter referred to as van and Goldenberg, respectively. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 12, van discloses The automatic pool cleaning device of claim 11, wherein the cleaning strategy further comprises:
controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to move to a second part of the side wall after cleaning the first part, the second part being below the platform (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. Different parts of the rise may be broadly regarded as first and second parts of the side wall);
in a case where the platform is sensed during cleaning the second part, controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to climb onto the platform along the second part after cleaning the second part (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]);
controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to clean the platform (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]).
However, none of the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, teaches or suggests controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to move from the platform to a third part of the (same) side wall after cleaning the platform, the third part being above the platform; and
controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to clean the third part.
Van comes close to teaching this missing limitation, since van teaches cleaning a first part of a first side wall below a platform and a second side wall above a platform, since the robot of van is cleaning stairs and the vertical parts of stairs may broadly be regarded as “side walls” (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”). But this is not the same as cleaning part of a wall of a platform, then cleaning another part of the same wall above the platform, which is what is claimed, because the two vertical parts of the two steps above and below the horizontal part of a step in van are not both part of the same wall. The idea claimed is illustrated in at least Figs. 3-4 of specification and it is not taught by van.
Goldenberg also comes somewhat close to teaching this missing limitation, since Goldenberg teaches a cleaning robot which starts at a higher elevation in a swimming pool and gradually works its way down (See at least Fig. 2 in Goldenberg: Goldenberg teaches that the pool equipment unit 202 is initially located at surface 206 S3 from where it is operated to start exploring the water pool 204 [See at least Goldenberg, 0137]. Goldenberg further teaches that In such case, based on analysis of the sensory data captured by the sensors 254 of the pool equipment unit 202, the mapping engine 220 may map the surface 206 S3, and operate the pool equipment unit 202 accordingly to move to the surface 206 S2, and from the surface 206 S2 to the surface 206 S1 which may be identified by the mapping engine 220 as a lowest node (surface) 206 in the water pool 204, or at least a local lowest node 206 [See at least Goldenberg, 0137]). But this is still not the same as splitting a single wall into two parts where the order of cleaning is one part of the wall, the platform, and then a second part of the wall above the platform. In other words, Goldenberg has the exact same deficiencies as van and also does not read on the missing limitation.
For at least the above stated reasons, claims 3 and 12 contain allowable subject matter.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 13-14, these claims also contain allowable subject matter at least by virtue of their dependence from claims 2 and 12, respectively.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, van discloses The automatic pool cleaning device of claim 15, wherein the cleaning strategy further comprises:
controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to move to a second part of the side wall after cleaning the first part, the second part being below the platform (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. Different parts of the rise may be broadly regarded as first and second parts of the side wall);
in a case where the platform is sensed during cleaning the second part, controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to climb onto the platform along the second part after cleaning the second part (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]).
However, none of the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, teaches or suggests controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to move from the platform to a third part of the (same) side wall, the third part being above the platform; and
controlling the automatic pool cleaning device to clean the third part.
Van comes close to teaching this missing limitation, since van teaches cleaning a first part of a first side wall below a platform and a second side wall above a platform, since the robot of van is cleaning stairs and the vertical parts of stairs may broadly be regarded as “side walls” (See at least Fig. 6 in van: van discloses that the APC 10 may clean the stairs 600 in a “going up” direction, meaning that the APC 10 starts on the bottom surface of the pool, cleans a wall (rise) 602 of the stair 601 (represented by arrow 611), climbs up the stair 601 and cleans all along the floor (run) of the stair 601 horizontally/diagonally, and repeats as needed [See at least van, 0051]. The runs may be broadly regarded as “bottom surfaces” and the rises may be broadly regarded as “side walls”). But this is not the same as cleaning part of a wall of a platform, then cleaning another part of the same wall above the platform, which is what is claimed, because the two vertical parts of the two steps above and below the horizontal part of a step in van are not both part of the same wall. The idea claimed is illustrated in at least Figs. 3-4 of specification and it is not taught by van.
Goldenberg also comes somewhat close to teaching this missing limitation, since Goldenberg teaches a cleaning robot which starts at a higher elevation in a swimming pool and gradually works its way down (See at least Fig. 2 in Goldenberg: Goldenberg teaches that the pool equipment unit 202 is initially located at surface 206 S3 from where it is operated to start exploring the water pool 204 [See at least Goldenberg, 0137]. Goldenberg further teaches that In such case, based on analysis of the sensory data captured by the sensors 254 of the pool equipment unit 202, the mapping engine 220 may map the surface 206 S3, and operate the pool equipment unit 202 accordingly to move to the surface 206 S2, and from the surface 206 S2 to the surface 206 S1 which may be identified by the mapping engine 220 as a lowest node (surface) 206 in the water pool 204, or at least a local lowest node 206 [See at least Goldenberg, 0137]). But this is still not the same as splitting a single wall into two parts where the order of cleaning is one part of the wall, the platform, and then a second part of the wall above the platform. In other words, Goldenberg has the exact same deficiencies as van and also does not read on the missing limitation.
For at least the above stated reasons, claims 7 and 16 contain allowable subject matter.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, these claims also contain allowable subject matter at least by virtue of their dependence from claims 7 and 16, respectively.
Conclusion
/NAEEM TASLIM ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668